Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Losing all your pension

• 17-10-2022 9:23pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 932 ✭✭✭

I'm have an AVC with Standard Life through an independent financial advisor. I've been paying into it for a few years. Recently I've been hearing stories about people who lose their entire pension fund to a rogue fund or broker. A man i met yesterday told me that each pension fund he went into called him after a while to tell him that the company had gone bust and all his money is gone.

And a friend told me that his parents had pensions with irish life and they lost all of it during the recession.

What are the chances of this actually happening? Are there protections in place to protect the money being put into these schemes now? I don't mind the value of the investment going down so much, but if there's a real risk of the investment fund company going bust and losing the entire pension, it doesn't seem like a good investment.

Post edited by Jim2007 on

Comments

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,604 ✭✭✭beachhead

If you are worried then contact Standard Life and not randomers telling stories.

People who lost money in schemes didn't do their research properly,you're probably thinking of 2008-there were a lot "fantastic" investment oppurtunities being floated prior to the property/bank collapse.They were being pushed by respected organisations as well as individual brokers

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭micar

All values can fall as well as rise.