Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Help identifying hedge / trees

Options
  • 28-10-2022 11:27am
    Registered Users Posts: 1,047 ✭✭✭

Hey all, I'm a total gardening novice and have just bought a house with a large garden which is surrounded by these very popular trees.

I'm trying to identify the exact type they are so I can figure out how best to manage them, They get quite tall and the limbs stick out a bit.

I'd like to cut them back a little and maybe take a few meters off the top eventually but as I said I'm and novice and have no clue if this is the right thing to do, if these trees can be pruned tight like other hedge row type trees.

any help identifying, tips on how to manage etc would be greatly appreciated.

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 6,722 ✭✭✭The Continental Op

Buying a chainsaw now and getting rid of them would be a good investment.

Looks like a golden form of Leylandii to me?

Growth rate is up to a meter a year so you have to trim them and the real bad thing as a hedge is if you cut back beyond new growth the plants won't produce any more new growth from old wood.

As you can guess I don't like them ;-) but honestly there are better hedges you can plant.

Wake me up when it's all over.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,429 ✭✭✭✭looksee