Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Airlock upstairs on fitting new boiler

• 05-11-2022 4:43pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭

All rads downstairs working.

Upstairs rads and DHW cylinder heating coil not working.

flow and return go under the floor from outside boiler room and I don't know where the upstairs circuit starts, may be under the DHW cylinder

2 bar pressure in the system

The bathroom rad is full of water when I bleed it

There is an air vent on a tee off the DHW heating coil in hot press

All suggestions welcome.

Thanks as always

“I can’t pay my staff or mortgage with instagram likes”.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭Pinoy adventure

There is a vent on the pump above the gas boiler.

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,305 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

What type of boiler?

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭jimf

turn off the downstairs rads

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,595 ✭✭✭✭Calahonda52

Grant Vortex outdoor oil 21-36 kW

Sealed system

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators Posts: 6,305 Mod ✭✭✭✭Wearb

They can be a hoor to bleed. Let off a few litres from the safety valve, run it for a while (a day or until it stops on high temperature) and repeat.

Because of the way the circulation pump is fitted, the air seems to gather in the top of the boiler.

Once you get rid of that, it'll be easier to get rid of the air in the rads.

BTW you could be dealing with scalding water from safety valve.

Perhaps some of the other experienced lads on here will have some tips....

Be sure to keep the water pressure up while doing above.

Please follow site and charter rules. "Resistance is futile"

Pump is external, didn't come with system,

Primary heat exchanger is empty of air.

all downstairs rads are fully bled

This solved the problem, lots of air in a few upstairs, but will bleed them in the morning

So, after working done for 3 weeks, upstairs rads didn't come on this morning, OH not happy

Pressure is 2 bar

Any thoughts?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,960 ✭✭✭jimf

do you have motorised valves fitted

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭10-10-20

Are you still thinking it's air-locked? I presume not?

Did it come on when triggered manually? Did the burner have a high temp alarm or can you tell?

Turned off the downstairs rads and it came on upstairs and is now working as before, all over the house so there may have been some air in it, need to change an air vent in hot press which may be sticking

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,562 ✭✭✭10-10-20

Maybe you also have an air-leak and pump pressure issue (such as a balancing problem) and it's not moving the air into the rads where it can be vented. Just a thought.