Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

First time license applicant - Buying a shotgun from my Club

Options
  • 20-11-2022 6:18pm
    Registered Users Posts: 9,557 ✭✭✭

Started shooting this year. My club has a few new and secondhand shotguns for sale to members.

As this is my first time applying for a license, I'm a little concerned that my club advised me that my money wouldn't be returned on the purchase of a firearm if my FCA1 application is declined. Is this normal practice for clubs, or should I approach a dealer instead?

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 1,010 ✭✭✭dazed+confused

No, absolutely not.

Some clubs have been burnt by members in the past and have signs saying that proof of refusal is required to get a refund, but I've never heard of a no refund policy.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 28,557 Mod ✭✭✭✭Cass

It's a "thing" and I personally dislike the practice but you have the choice not to buy from them and go elsewhere. Use a deposit, apply, and then if successful pay the balance.

Worse case scenario you lose your deposit so make is small, but I'd still discuss this with any potential seller before buying.

Forum Charter - Useful Information - Photo thread: Hardware - Ranges by County - Hunting Laws/Important threads - Upcoming Events - RFDs by County

If you see a problem post use the report post function. Click on the three dots on the post, select "FLAG" & let a Moderator deal with it.

Moderators - Cass otmmyboy2 , CatMod - Shamboc , Admins - Beasty , mickeroo

• Registered Users Posts: 11,788 ✭✭✭✭BattleCorp