Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Body and soul 2023 (initial line up announced)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Norasheen

• I’m so impressed with the line up now that I’ve gone through it all. There’s so much there. If we get the weather for it it’s going to be the best wkend of the year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,295 ✭✭✭✭MadYaker

I think it's great, I wish they'd move this festival to a different weekend so it wasn't so close to Glasto, I had a great time in 2018.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 120 ✭✭Landers11

Which is the better festival? BTP or B&S? Going to B&S regardless as always love it there and been there the last 4 or 5 years. I heard BYP had a few issues with the sound interference between stages last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 ForzaForward1

What less known electronic acts are yis looking forward too? I love the Blaze and Moderat and like some of the Blessed Madonna and Avalon Emerson stuff. Anything else I should check out?

How likely is this to sell out?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,791 ✭✭✭Fanirish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,745 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

Add Fabio Grooverider, Nightmares on Wax (DJ set), Bon Voyage (90's Rave Madchester style), Kormac (Electro Swing). I see Neil Flynn in there excellent Techno DJ, in fact look out for Home Beats, which is the crowd that Flynn plays with, so whatever stage they're curating check out all the acts. Good thumping techno stuff.

Post edited by bodhrandude on

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• never heard of Sara miller before the line up and she’s a must see for me now

https://youtu.be/qaxNfqVsf4w

Day by day breakdown: Sunday tickets going on sale soon as well

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 378 ✭✭Whipping Boy

Any idea how BTP is faring and whether that will sell out?

Has BTP not doubled capacity though, could probably still sell out as it is a stellar line up.

Heard it’s doing okay but won’t be selling out by any means.

I think the 10,000 capacity was wishful thinking, similarly last year the application was 7,000 and I declared it “sold out” on the day at 3,500 tickets

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,050 ✭✭✭crl84

Would recommend Real Lies for anyone not familiar with them:

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,815 ✭✭✭Charlie

Was planning on doing Fri & Sat, as I have a heavy week’s work the following week, but that Sunday lineup has thrown a spanner in the works!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,186 ✭✭✭El Director

Never been to B&S but have been threatening now for the last few years to go. I like the sounds of it, chilled, relaxed kind of vibe. Plenty acts there too that I’d like to see. I’ll push the button on it next week.

Is it only Sunday they do the day ticket for?

Yeah unless you get artist guestlist for the Friday or Saturday.

Besides driving yourselves no way out of the site Friday or Saturday

Or volunteer to work it, additional parking space and crew camping areas for staff. Here's a taster of Body&Soul from last year.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 49 ForzaForward1

Cheers for that, never heard of them and enjoying their stuff

Where's the love for this thread why is Beyond the Pale getting all the attention.

Attention correlation to number of people going

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 263 ✭✭citycentre

New site layout looks great, they have finally abandoned the old main arena (it's now "boutique camping") making the site more compact with the new main stage located where the old Midnight Circus tent used to be. The beacon stage going into the woodlands is a great idea and as usual the walled garden area is filled with delights!

The Friday night lineup at the beacon soundsystem is class, I won't be moving too far from there (though the superb Beth Orton is on ridiculously early on the main stage and Fabio & grooverider could be a good one too).

Both Saturday and Sunday at the main stage have a great flow. Meute into Goldfrapp into Moderat into Weval is the stuff of dreams. Kurt Vile into Fever Ray into The Blaze not far behind and I'm really looking forward to Tinariwen. Saw them in Galway a while back and they were mindblowing.

Some great stuff on in the Secret Orchard too. Thumper, Real Lies and Sorcha Richardson standing out for me.

I'm not the biggest hip-hop head but this is a serious lineup at the Hennesey house. There was a great atmosphere there last year. Looking forward to catching Strange Boy of Friday evening.

Loads more going on of course but this is what has me most excited as well as just the magic of the place itself. Fair play to the organizers, they have really pulled it out of the bag this year in the face of "challenges"! Now all we need is some decent weather... It's going to be an amazing weekend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,160 ✭✭✭Stillill42

It all looks great. If I'd been around, this is the one I would have gone for. Best of luck to everyone going.

• was raging when I saw the BTP line up but after going through the line up for this and knowing all the magic there I’m so happy to be going next wkend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,837 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

I wonder how many tickets they've sold relative to BTP, both are 5k capacity right?

I can't wait, always my favourite weekend of festival season.

btp applied for 10k capacity but can size up and down within that. Heard early sales were good for BTP.

heard b&s has sold a 1/3 of btp sales as of a month or so ago.

Do ye think it will be the least busiest to date? I can't wait for it regardless. Always epic.

Well last year was fairly empty, Steward on the Friday evening last year said to me they only had about 1,500 thru the doors by 8pm

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,921 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

Gilles Peterson is a phenomenal DJ tbf. Underrated. Seen him many times at his festival in Sete called Worldwide Festival. Epic times. Sad I can't make it this year. Fingers crossed for next year though.

Looking forward to these lads.

Going to be mindblowing...

Been going through some of my unknowns from the lineup and one of our own, Aoife Nessa Frances is a revelation. Gorgeous layered Beach House-y sound. The whole of her latest album "Protector" is right up my street. Another one for the list.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=yH09JuKKZsQ

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 Norasheen

I know someone on the production , and as of this week , they are expecting it to sell out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,226 ✭✭✭endainoz

The Tulla ceili band will be great to get things going Sunday morning too!

• It’s gonna be a scorcher!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭RINO87

Looking dodgy for us....was always going to be touch and go with twins landing early July, but the heat this week has the better half banjaxed.... if the heat keeps up, which it looks like it will, then we will have a campervan pass and tier one tickets going here at face value 😥

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 238 ✭✭Heiser

I'm still debating whether to go or not, was going to make a call on it on Thursday. Did they give any more info on this?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 599 ✭✭✭fillup

I have a campervan ticket for sale if anyone here is interested

I put it up on toutless but no takers unfortunately

Please god the weather will be okay.

It will be alright Landers but bring waterproofs just in case, I always bring them with me as you never know.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,081 ✭✭✭✭Tusky

It’s looking like a complete washout unfortunately… 😬

Hopefully my Met Éireann app is wrong.

Well I felt a bit silly at Wild Roots as I'd packed waterproof trousers and a good quality rain mac, maybe I'll put them to good use then. :)

Forecast has improved a little, with most of the rain dropping overnight rather in day time. But it will probably change again by the weekend. It does look like a lot of rain will fall though.

Well that's me packed up and everything I can think of recharged, catching the Expressway in early evening down to my mates in Crusheen and we set off for the Body & Soul site tomorrow, bring it on. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,732 ✭✭✭RINO87

Enjoy! Hope Thursday not too hot for ye setting up. Still holding on to the slim chance that I'll make it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 254 ✭✭Granite Head

Weather forecast now looking biblical for Saturday😦

2024 Gigs and Events: Jarlath Regan, Depeche Mode, Roisin Murphy, Pip Blom, Gruff Rhys, Nouvelle Vogue, Orchestral Manoeuvres in the Dark, Murder Capital, Pixies, The Stranglers, Liam Gallagher & John Squires, The Jesus & Mary Chain, DJ Shadow, Cam Cole, Fight Like Apes, Somebody's Child, Kacey Musgraves, Sprints, Nadine Shah, Jane Weaver, Bob Log lll, Jimmy Carr, Coach Party, Beyond The Pale, LCD Sound System, Patti Smith, Night & Day Festival, Suede/Manic Street Preachers, The Beat, Muirean Bradley, All Together Now, Bonny Prince Billy, Phosphorescent, Ride, Dirt Birds, Katel Keinig, Tommy Tiernan, The Libertines, Godspeed You, Black Emperor, Melts, The Last Dinner Party, St. Vincent, Los Bitchos, Iron & Wine x2, John Grant, Okervil River & The Antlers, Therapy, Public Service Broadcasting, Liz Lawrence, Fat Dog, Ezra Collective, Nick Cave, Peter Hook & The Light, Gruff Rhys & BRJ, Idles, Nada Surf, MJ Lenderman, Khruangbin, Gurriers, Vampire Weekend, Lightning Seeds, Fontaines DC, Adore, Confidence Man, Amble, These Charming Men, Something Happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,837 ✭✭✭✭Pudsy33

Sunday not looking great either! Wellies and ponchos, be grand

Localized little weather miracles can happen where the rain manages to miss certain areas (fingers crossed for Ballinlough and Glendalough!) but yeah, realistically its looking like a very very wet weekend nationwide. Hopefully it won't get cold with it. I can cope with being drenched as long as it's still reasonably warm! Pack the boots and the waterproofs and don't be camping at the bottom of any hills or anywhere near the portaloos!!

I've been watching it all week and the "when" keeps changing for the rainfall. But it seems like a near-certainty that a lot of rain is coming over the weekend. Saturday looks like a washout, unfortunately. Friday and Sunday nights look really bad too.

It's such a shame as not being able to sit on the grass or walk around easily takes a good chunk out of what makes B&S a nice place to be.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭CoffeeImpala

Volumes of rain on Saturday (<5mm in 16 hours) and Sunday (<3mm in 10 hours) are very low on the met forecast for Clonmellon at the moment. It's Sunday night in the early hours of Monday that looks interesting.