Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dangerous Dogs Owners

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭bmc58

• Registered Users Posts: 3,059 ✭✭✭xhomelezz

• Registered Users Posts: 20,433 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

So will falling in the bath

The vast majority of deaths and serious injuries come from pit bull type dogs.

If there's anyone to blame, it's the owners, no dog breeds.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,208 ✭✭✭saabsaab

True. These breeds even kill their owners sometimes.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users Posts: 20,433 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Why are pit bulls such a high percentage of deaths and injuries then?

They're a dangerous dog as often as not owned by an irresponsible owner.

• Registered Users Posts: 19 longvacation

Dog breeds are definitely a factor. It takes a certain type of owner to properly manage the temperament of a dangerous breed. Your average Labrador owner would not have the discipline required to properly train, say, a pit bull.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 26,886 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

It's so weird how the majority of "poor dog owners" seem to own a similar breed of dog…

It ultimately doesn't matter whether or not it is the dog's fault. We value the life of humans over dogs, and whether it be by poor training or innate issues, these breeds of dogs of disfiguring and killing people.

• Registered Users Posts: 216 ✭✭REPTILEDAN88

Because banning American Pitbulls etc really helped eliminate them in the UK haha. Negligent/ignorant owners are the problem not any particular breed. Almost every so called attack/bite to especially kids has to do with kids being around both unsocialised/trained dogs or them poking, prodding or sitting on the dog or at them while they sleep or eat etc then people wonder why dogs bite.

The intimidation one is always funny as the vast majority of these dogs are soft as shite to randomers, Bully breeds of all sorts where never designed for protection work, like Shepherds, Dobermans etc that take to that like ducks to water, sure by the time a Belgian Malinois (Shepherd) is 12 weeks old it can be used to sleeve work thats how quick they take it up, i've seen them do it and its why they're used the world over by security, police and armed forces etc because they're no question the best breed for multiple purpose in the police and armed forces especially with their takedowns, bomb sniffing, drug detection abilities. I've seen all sorts of dogs trained for protection including Bull Terriers and French Bulldogs who despite not being designed for it they did well, thats going to be the case for every one of those breeds even with the same trainers as the ones who took to it as well as they did.

Im sure ive mentioned it before on here but when are the government going to hold parents/guardians responsible like they do others when a dog attacks someone, it seemed like everyone wanted the head of the owner of the dog that attacked A.Mizan in Wexford but not a word the same when (3month old) Mia O’Connell was killed by the dog her father took in that killed her as she slept, she was being minded by an aunt at the time, it wasn't a restricted breed though so the media didn't keep up the hysteria about them being dangerous as usual or when (8 year old) Glen Murphy was killed by the families Rottweilers were the parents in trouble, NO and I get that they have to deal with the loss of losing a child but do you not think they should be held at least partially responsible for his death and pay for it after all if my dog (Bull Terrier) whose since passed attacked someone in public you can be sure the media would be throwing out the usual devil dog rubbish and calling for me to be locked up and the dogs to be banned, you know the usual when its certain breeds, it just wasn't the case with the M.O'Connell incident.

I was attacked by a Siberian Husky one night about 1am that escaped from apartments in my town it grabbed my dog by the face and wouldn't let go, I couldn't do anything because if I did it would likely attack me then, my dog didn't fight back either despite their reputation because if he did he have no question made short work of it. I flagged down 2 local Gardai in a car as they left the station to keep an eye on people leaving pubs for the night told them what happened and one asked before asking was my dog ok if he was aggressive as my dog stood on his hind legs with head into the cars window looking at the Garda, if he was sure the Garda wouldn't have to ask as he'd be getting attacked by that time. Another night my brother was walking him and attacked by the same Beagle off lead not once but 3 times, but sure again as I said its my dog that'd get in trouble if he retaliated. We used to get neighbours calling Gardai over him not having a muzzle but nothing about the Leonberger that was let loose in my estate by another neighbour most nights that tore a Labrador to pieces one time, for those of you that don't know a Leonberger is a giant breed that looks like a German Sherpherd x St Bernard now imagine that attacking someone they're a 120-170lb dog.

As for the Pitbull types theres the American Pitbull Terrier, American Staffordshire Bull Terrier, Staffordshire Bull Terrier, American Bullys are NOT like the formers they're mutts made up of depending on the "TYPE" different Molosser (Bulldog/Mastiff) breeds to get desired looks breeders want or size increases like Hulk the so called giant Pitbull, I bet if you did a genetic test he'd be very low percentage APBT. The exotic ones with the gammy backs, deformed legs big chests are whats popular with a lot of young lads because the money they can make with them or the French Bulldog colour combos.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

These dogs are absolutely abhorrent and should all be put to sleep.

Every single person who owns one of them is an absolute scumbag. Whether an actual criminal or just want people to think they are, they're scum. If you have one of these yokes and think this doesn't apply to you, you're wrong.

The posters on this thread defending them are the worst of the lot. This idea that there's no such thing as a dangerous dog breed would be hilarious if so many people weren't being maimed and killed by these fncking things.

Post edited by Former Former Former on

• Registered Users Posts: 6,005 ✭✭✭Yeah_Right

I agree. I like cars, I like guns and I like dogs. And I think all of them should be regulated and owners should be required to have a license. Serious misuse should then result in the car/gun/dog being seized, license revoked or suspended and fines and/or jail time.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,873 ✭✭✭hoodie6029

And responsible dog owners (and gun and car owners) have no problem with sensible approaches to regulation.

The only argument you ever hear against restricting dogs from the owners of these dogs (the loudest ones anyway) is ‘they’re just big pets’. It’s so infantile it would be laughable if it wasn’t so serious. Why would you want a pet capable of killing when a sheltie or lab or any of the hundreds of other breeds and mongrels will provide the same companionship?

Good article on the BBC today about this too. Makes the valid point the decades of restricting breeds has made no difference. A new approach is needed.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-66775985

The road to Hell is paved with good intentions.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

I've owned 2 Pitbulls and a German Shepard, both rescue dogs. Wonderful animals in the right hands.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,184 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

The disingenuous bullshit from people saying " it's not the dogs , it's the owners" is really tedious .The owners are of course largely to blame but so are he dogs themselves and I think most sensible people recognise this.

A springer spaniel, basset hound, yorkshire terrier etc launches and attack on you it can be dealt with easily regardless of how god or bad the dogs owners is , one of these Bully XL type launches an attack it's a serious job to deal with them because they are so strong.

The type of people who want these types of dogs are generally scumbags who want to step around town looking tough.We ended up with a bullmastiff because my sisters ex boyfriend got one with her but of course they eventually broke up so the dog was left homeless. I can guarantee you he wanted a bullmastiff because he could step around town with this tough looking dog.She was a lovely dog but one day she snapped when my father tried to move her and pinned him to the ground, That is the issue with these types of dogs they have much more potential to cause a type of harm that most breeds don't.I like Bullmastiffs as a breed and one of my neighbours has one and she's lovely but I'd never get one myself and I'd never trust one near children.

It doesn't mater how well trained a dog is or how good the owner is some breeds are inherently more risky than others due to size and strength and this needs to be legislated and tacked properly by the authorities.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,771 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

So honestly the bully xl seems to have been bred for ill intent, the owners aren't people that should be allowed to own any animals. However the pitbull breeds themselves are a fair bit more complex so you will get problematic animals but also you get owners that are pushing aggression etc.

For transparency, I've rescued a lurcher years ago, later found out that she's part staffie etc. In her case she's a gentle giant outside of cats. Can be fearful of new dogs but will just bark at them if they get too close. But also I'm by default incredibly cautious so I'm very about controlled interactions with new dogs, people she is perfect with. I probably wouldn't intentionally get that mix but that's more me.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,987 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

A springer spaniel, basset hound, yorkshire terrier etc launches and attack on you it can be dealt with easily

Exactly this.

In that video above, you've a bully chasing down, overpowering and savaging a grown man for absolutely no reason, and everyone is too scared to intervene.

That's not going to be an issue with a Corgi like

Seize them all and put them to sleep.

‘The right hands’ is doing the heavy lifting there (no pun intended)

I doubt even a taser would have much effect on these animals when they are in attack mode as they are so high on adrenaline and instinct.

It is estimated that by 2021, pit bulls would have mauled 441 Americans to death since 1998. Compared that figure with bears, there have been over 180 fatal bear attacks in North America since 1784.

To break that down, simply it means that Pitbulls kill 20 times more humans than bears per year on average!

You wouldn’t keep an elephant as a pet and ignore the dangers of it. When something bad happens, the elephant crushing someone to death, you don’t say ‘it must have been the owner’. An inherently dangerous animal is dangerous regardless of the owner or what someone perceives as the animal’s temperament.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,921 ✭✭✭bmc58

No.Some dogs are bred to kill.And are killers,it's in their genes.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,901 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

Yeah, heard that the rabbits all have good owners. Haven't seen a rabbit maul anyone since that killer one in the Monty Python movie.

Again that's not true. In their genes...not this rubbish again please.

• Registered Users Posts: 698 ✭✭✭TedBundysDriver

It's actually embarrassing that some people still think this.

Or the curse of the Were-Rabbit. Pitbulls are way ahead even of other dogs clearly not their bad owners being the main factor.

• Registered Users Posts: 27,901 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

It's just so weird that if it is owners' faults and not the faults of breeds, that we don't have rabbits and cats running amok maiming people, only good people own cats?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,024 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

We all wish that mere embarrassment was the only consequence of denying that some dog breeds are simply too dangerous to be kept as pets. Embarrassment never killed anyone.