Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ursula Von Der Leyen - addressing the Oireachtas yesterday. Opinions on her speech?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Things like homelessness and the housing crisis are probably happening in spite of EU membership and are caused by internal factors.

EU immigration policies are without doubt a large reason for the housing shortage. Not building enough too of course.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,039 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The government didn't build enough houses and apartments for the last 10-20 years, that's all it boils down to. It should have been obvious to anyone that with such a young population and net inward immigration there would be a need for huge house building initiatives, especially social housing.

If it wasn’t for the free for all immigration policies our population would be stable and the need for housing would solely be for replacement of older houses.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,480 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

No, it wouldn't. We'd have rampant emigration and poverty.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,720 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

There wasn't rampant poverty and emigration in the 90's and early 00's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 337 ✭✭What.Now

From a simple chart got from Wiki -https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Demographics_of_the_Republic_of_Ireland it would suggest that the EU has had a major contribution in the ability of Ireland to hold and attract more people to our shores.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Uncharted2

Best boys in the class are in debt up to their eyes. The EU own us. The Government is set to next year start paying back the €40 billion-plus EU part of its international bailout, four years earlier than had been expected when it was granted an extension on repayments at the height of the euro zone debt crisis.

Ireland is the European Union's lap dog and has to do what ever they tell us. 40 Billion in debt!!!!!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,273 ✭✭✭xxxxxxl

Same EU that went nuclear and did not Call Dublin ? Defiantly had Ireland back on the Article.....

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 41,480 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Really IIRC there were phone in the EU ringing off the hook from out lads that got wind of it they were not told.

This is just one of those tropes that gets wheeled out now and again by the anti-EU brigade.

Are you from Northern Ireland? The issue of the supposed Article 16 triggering is something that would have only impacted on them vis a vis the importation of vaccines to the region. Strictly speaking, it was a EU-UK issue but the Irish government got involved on 'behalf' of NI.

How utterly disingenuous.

The Brits have been threatening this for ages and the Eurosceptics are quiet as mice. The EU mention it once and it's wall to wall wailing.

Brits can threaten all they want article says it was triggered. Square that circle.

How long was it active for if indeed it was actually triggered and what damage was done? With sources please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,311 ✭✭✭lmao10

Good thing the EU gave Ireland 40 billion euro that has gone a long way to rapidly develop the country.

Not sure the Irexit loons even know that.

Irrelevant when push come to shove Ireland was not consulted and the EU triggered it. We can dance around all day. Facts are facts. It's not Eurosceptic to point out when it suits Ireland is Irrelevant to EU institutions. They had to back peddle or severe reputational damage would have ensued. Brits threatened the EU actually triggers.

edit spelling

Did the EU trigger the protocol yes or no. I will wait.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭sameoldname

It was triggered on the EU end just not implemented. Pretty clear timeline. UK/IRE were outraged. NI too.

5.30pm

Reports emerge that the European Commission has triggered Article 16 of the Northern Ireland protocol as part of wider EU controls on vaccine exports, in order to prevent vaccines being exported to the North, and thus into the UK.

The move effectively implements a hard border (although in this case, for vaccines only) on the island of Ireland.

Stormont First Minister Arlene Foster brands the move an “incredible act of hostility”.

“By triggering Article 16 in this manner, the European Union has once again shown it is prepared to use Northern Ireland when it suits their interests but in the most despicable manner – over the provision of a vaccine which is designed to save lives,” she says.

Foster calls on the UK government to step up and says she will urge Prime Minister Boris Johnson to act.

Yeah world leader ring for rumours. I have a bridge we can buy. If we put it your way. It was being triggered without anyone's input apart from the EU We have no issue with that ? Ireland not consulted UK or NI we just hand wave that away yes ?

It wasn't triggered, how many more times do I have to say it?

Answer the question ? Why is it so hard to criticise this move. No one outside of the EU heads knew about this until it was triggered behind the scenes. You have Irish leaders Uk leaders NI leaders talking about it I think they know more than us what was going on.

Why would I criticise something that didn't happen?

So were now suggesting Irish British NI governments did not need to ring the EU as everything was fine. Why do you think these Governments rang the EU for the lotto numbers ?

Are you posting here as a British commenter? Article 16 was an issue between the EU and the UK government and didn't impact on Ireland in any way whatsoever. The Irish govt only got involved at that point because it was something that might impact on ordinary citizens in NI.

Even the issue of regular customs checks between GB and NI under the Protocol is not something that usually concerns them.

I'm suggesting that the EU never triggered article 16. I think I've been pretty clear on that.

I'm From Europe why does where I'm from matter ? It created a hard boarder for vaccines Irish government did not just put NI first they were speaking on the issue of triggering the article in the first place. Ireland was not even in the loop.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 244 ✭✭bytheglass

Didn’t we have ghost estates 10 years ago?

this is in a reply to government not building enough houses in the last 20 years

The only people upset at the time about that European Commission statement were the likes of the DUP, the Tories and the English right wing press. Even nationalist parties in NI were quite relaxed about it and accepted von der Leyen's explanation that an error had been made and quickly rectified.

The matter (a one day wonder) has long since been forgotten by most people but keeps on being raised by pro-Brexit or anti-Protocol types.

Yet the error was made Ireland was not consulted. Just because the Irish government went soft on it does not change the issue. I'm not pro Brexit it's a reality. Anti-Protocol nope there needs to be a deal done there should be no hard border. The UK did not inadvertently setup one. I support the Idea of the EU just not a federal one it should devolve a load of powers. Europe will never be one country like the USA. russia being a dead duck disproves the existential threat. A tight trading block with freedom of movement is all that is needed. I would probably ditch the Euro also.

The supposed 'triggering' or press statement about intention to trigger A16 was a relatively minor bureaucratic blunder by officials within the Commission (they're human after all) and was literally reversed within a few hours. The way it keeps getting raised by the usual suspects in GB and NI is disingenuous nonsense - these guys still hate the EU and are still attempting to justify their car crash Brexit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,177 ✭✭✭Fandymo

One of the richest? We’re one of the most indebted countries in the world. Our “richness” is built on sand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,003 ✭✭✭RobbieTheRobber

I don't like sand. It's coarse and rough and irritating and it gets everywhere.

Most self proclaimed free speech absolutists are giant big whiny snowflakes!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,880 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Not exactly.

Debt versus % of household income.

A reasonable position when you look at the countries that surround us in terms of their economies, quality of life etc.

And Irelands position when it comes to external debt.

Again, not too bad a position when you consider the countries around us, no?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 296 ✭✭Ham_Sandwich

without eu even less money for services and social welfare the brexit types can go to england and see how they get on over there without the eu

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

@xxxxxxl: Does not matter who it effected the EU triggered it not Ireland.

Ireland is the EU

Ireland is a nodding dog to the EU.

It matters not whether FG or FF or even SF are in power, the trajectory will always remain the same, and will always align with the interests of the EU first, then Ireland second.

This country prides itself on attaining independence from the UK, yet it only took 50-years for us to slavishly hand that independence to the European Union.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 159 ✭✭Uncharted2

Look at what Ireland has sacrificed in return. Have to follow orders which means destroying Ireland in the process. Irish culture heritage and identity is dying all by design. Varadkar when he was Taoiseach went to Marrakesh in 2018 to sign the UN Migration Pact on behalf of Ireland, without any debate with the Irish people. This Pact legalised international MASS migration and is criminalising any criticism of same as hate speech. The climate agenda, Ursula Von Der Leden also demanded that Ireland (education system) must include lgbt agenda. Every year the EU must approve the budget, remember Kenny when he was Taoiseach ran to Brussels days before the budget to get it approved by daddy EU. The whole unlimited amount of 'refugees' is also under EU orders. 40 Billion isn't worth destroying Ireland forever.

• Moderators, Politics Moderators Posts: 42,146 Mod ✭✭✭✭Seth Brundle

Look at what Ireland has sacrificed in return. Have to follow orders which means destroying Ireland in the process.

Nice use of military referencing there. What orders have we been given thought because I can't think of any?

Irish culture heritage and identity is dying all by design.

In what way? Again, I can't think of any examples so maybe you can help me out here.

Varadkar when he was Taoiseach went to Marrakesh in 2018 to sign the UN Migration Pact on behalf of Ireland, without any debate with the Irish people.

Shoudl our Taoiseach debate everything with us before they can do anything? Whjat other things should have been debated with the irish people? Maybe they should also debate things like tax changes because I'm in favour of everyone but me having to pay taxes.

This Pact legalised international MASS migration and is criminalising any criticism of same as hate speech.

So you're saying it is a good thing?

The climate agenda, Ursula Von Der Leden also demanded that Ireland (education system) must include lgbt agenda.

I'm confused by this one. Are you saying that Ms vdL told us that our climate agenda m,ust include an LGBT agenda? If she did then yeah, that's weird. When exactly did she demand this?

Or by making reference to a "climate agenda" and an lgbt agenda" are you someone who simply disagrees with these two (hint: the limate "agenda" is about minimising something that is based on scientific fact whilst the lgbt (or rather lgbtqia+) is based on equality and removing discrimination but presumably you're in favour of this also)

Every year the EU must approve the budget, remember Kenny when he was Taoiseach ran to Brussels days before the budget to get it approved by daddy EU.

Given how varous Irish governments have managed to bollix up our economy a few times, I'm happy that the EU keep an eye on our budget. It will also help make sure that the likes of Greece which didn't collect taxes properly will do so.

However, "daddy EU"? Are you a child with a comment like this?

The whole unlimited amount of 'refugees' is also under EU orders.

Wheer have we been told that we must take in unlimited refugees? You haven't except in your anti-EU/anti-immigration propoganda.

40 Billion isn't worth destroying Ireland forever.

Ireland hasn't been destroyed but yes, there are some Herman Kelly wannabes who want to rid Ireland of anyone who doesn't have Irish DNA. Personally, I'd like to see those people gone but unfortunately the EU haven't given us the orders to remove them!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,246 ✭✭✭amacca

The percentage of GDP column does give pause for thought.....

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

The EU is not some kind of external power, it is group of nations working together. That's what the Brits could not understand or chose not to understand.

The media for years presented the EU like some kind of imperial force controlling the UK which is utter nonsense.

The Brexiteers can never point to a single law which they have got rid off which has been a benefit. Just one example of a Brexit dividend.

I'm extremely happy your Farage loving politics has no traction in Ireland.

• Moderators, Business & Finance Moderators Posts: 10,718 Mod ✭✭✭✭Jim2007

Lets have some hard facts from you, if your opinion has any credibility:

Explain exactly, how the treaties of Rome can be amended without the specific approval of Ireland? This should be really easy for you since you must have examined these documents in great detail before your reached your conclusion.

What is the legal definition of treason, who has actually committed treason and why have you not made a complaint to the Garda?

So far I have seen nothing but repeated sound bites devoid of any analysis. If you want a discussion, then start putting some facts of those will opinions.

Those at the core of the EU, which includes Ursula Von Der Leyen, cannot be removed by a public vote or public election. She is appointed.

That's the very opposite of "a group of nations working together".

And you're right that "Farage-loving politics" has no traction in Ireland because, as I already said earlier in this thread, Ireland is a supine country; a peripheral irrelevance at the fringe of the EU.

We do as we are told, including to vote again on referenda because we chose the wrong option. What was that about "a group of nations working together" again? Oh yeah, turns out not to be exactly as you have portrayed it to be.

And just to polish off my point, here is a quote from the former president of the European Commission, Jean-Claude Juncker:

...there can be no democratic choice against the European treaties.

"A group of nations working together" you said. Well even Mr Juncker disagrees with you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,813 ✭✭✭joe40

I totally disagree with that. The Brexit discussion between the EU and the UK would have been much easier without the EUs insistence on protecting the GFA agreement. That was in our interest. Far from an irrelevance Irish interests were paramount in the discussions.

Now that the UK are no longer in the EU how have they benefitted. Is there any tangible benefit coming from Brexit or are all the wonderful trade deals just around the corner.

What EU regulations have they got rid off and how has that benefitted the UK.