Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The rise of American Snacks in Ireland

They seem like they have novelty value.

You might buy one jar of Fluff, but let’s face, you’re unlikely to buy it twice.

BTW, one thing I would rate American versions of highly is ice cream. They’ve an ice cream culture that was driven by Italian gelato way earlier than ours was. The likes of HB / Unilever ice cream is total muck in comparison to that stuff. Ireland has caught up on this but it wasn’t the case 15+ years ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,309 ✭✭✭✭wotzgoingon

HB has nice ice cream. I hate going into shops and seeing Walkers crips the highlight star of crisps in an Irish shop we should support Irish produce. Another time I was in a pub and they had no club orange but had fanta, that pissed me off a lot as I said we should be promoting Irish produce.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

HB has familiar ice cream like Hershey’s has familiar chocolate. It’s also not an Irish product.

It’s owned by Unilever and one of many ‘Heart Brand’ products ranges - Wall’s, Miko, Ola, Frigo etc etc etc all of which were acquired and various historical products from those companies were globalised and rolled out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

And they still won't bring back the feckin Fat Frog! Convinced it was full of now illegal chemicals/additives, that's why they can't bring it back. I can't see any other reason.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,487 ✭✭✭✭PTH2009

And there was never a cheap substitute made either

It's hard to get a standard 'flavoured' ice lolly here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,363 ✭✭✭saabsaab

I don't know what ice cream the US cousins were used to but they preferred ours. Talking about the 1980s though.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,817 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

HB is made in the uk with some production in cavan.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭bmc58

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,657 ✭✭✭✭road_high

I remember I tried these Swordfish jelly things in super valu a few years back- packaging looked very attractive and tasty- they were vile. Half of them ended up in the bin. Not a patch on haribo or that likes for a fraction of the price

Most American chocolate is terrible shíte, so you will see European chocolate being sold in some of the fancier supermarkets over there. It's the same with the Mexican coca cola.

Overall, the food is awful in the States. You can eat world class food over there, but you'll pay top dollar for it. Like we don't know how lucky we are to be able to head to Dunnes and be able to pick up two 28 day dry-aged, grass fed steaks for 14 quid; to buy a block of mature cheddar for 2.50, or be able to pick up a loaf of brown bread made with 4 or 5 ingredients for 3 quid.

Different world.

I agree- that’s one good thing about the EU agricultural policy - food standards and quality are extremely high. And very affordable and plentiful too

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,455 ✭✭✭StreetLight

A family member visited Boston years ago and brought back some confectionery called Tootsie Rolls. Sort a liquorice-tasting fudge. I liked it and wouldn't mind sampling it again if it was available here.

A French journalist visited Ireland in the early 70's and told his readers in Le Figaro that Ireland had the best food in the world - until we decided to cook it. That has changed a lot in the past 25 years.

We still have a tendency to import pretty bland fruit and vegetables in plastic packaging when we should just be eating local produce in season, and the less said about our pork industry the better; but overall we have remarkably high quality beef, mutton, dairy, seafood and grains available for us to buy at prices that the "regular Joe" in the States could only dream about.

I do not know about sheep but my local cattle killing place still slits the throat of the cows and let them bleed out. Muslims doing it. You would think they would come up with a more humane way of killing the cattle?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,223 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

All my American cousins, aunts, uncles go back home with half a suitcase of Irish confectionery when they visit here…. Have done for decades…Tayto, various Cadbury’s… Crisps / snacks of various brands and flavours. Health conscious people too…

nobody going the opposite way does the same

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,186 ✭✭✭vixdname

In fairness Herseys Peanut Butter Cups are simply sublime !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

I think the Egyptians invented pastry but the jambon is Irish?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,581 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Nope. The coke float is irish. I'm updating Wikipedia to prove it now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,349 ✭✭✭sprucemoose

funyuns are made by frito-lay and smiths (like walkers) is one of the uk frito-lay brands, id imagine its just the uk and ire versions that are smiths branded

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,374 ✭✭✭SourSessions

I brought an extra empty suitcase to New York last year just to bring back food (but I grew up between the States and Ireland so I eat things for nostalgia reasons that most people don't have)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,456 ✭✭✭ceadaoin.

I live in the US and Lindt is the only chocolate I buy. Didn't realize it was ultra lux, it's under $3 for a biggish bar, only about a dollar more than Hershey's which I won't touch due to the vomit taste!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,212 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

Price has gone down then. Thanks for the info.

I can remember them upwards of $5 back in the day.

Possibly they may have a manufacturing facility in the USA to get around the big tariffs that would be likely slapped on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,382 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

All my giving out and today I picked up a box of Milk Duds. I thought I got them before and they were vile chalky things, but I was pleasantly surprised. They're basically barely shaped Poppets but with even cheaper chocolate. Reminds me of the chocolate on a Loop de Loop. But they're grand. Poppets are a bit better overall.

Then again, it shouldn't be hard to create a nice chocolate covered caramel lump.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 111 ✭✭getsome

There is a small American Candy Store online : https://candydrop.ie/ collection is always expanding :)

Jesus is there gold in those 'Prime' drinks ??

€15 plus P&P for a bottle of basically 'Powerade'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,454 ✭✭✭NSAman

You lot are buying American Snacks in Ireland???

I'm in the States and buying Irish snacks online...

American Chocolate tastes like wax, its bloody awful stuff.

Ya can't beat a bag of Tayto either. Our pantry here has two large bags of the things at all times. The kids love 'em and now the girlfriends/boyfriends of the kids love 'em. Bought every two weeks from an online Store here along with Barry's Tea!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,407 ✭✭✭Glaceon

I don't get the hype but then again I'm no Gen Z whippersnapper!

American Chocolate tastes like wax

I would agree. I was in New York one time and bought a Hersey's bar and had to force myself to eat it after taking one bite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭BoxcarWilliam99

Subway is like the most processed shite going.

It's mank

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,988 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

If you can get Bewleys Gold tea buy it- well recommended

I agree with you on American chocolate - vile stuff- but What corn snacks are worth trying if available over here?

I imagine there’s a serious ongoing campaign to convert the young Irish palate to American chocolate - essentially a predatory tactic towards children by Hersheys -since their palate hasn’t yet matured they can stomach the vile US chocolate taste and then will continue eating it as adults - us Irish adults know how rotten it is so won’t touch it

What is the online store you use? We always have plenty of Irish tea because visitors from home bring it and I've become awfully American and mainly drink coffee now. Taytos don't last so long though

Have a few suppliers, FoodIreland.com is one, Amazon is another (takes longer). Obviously its damned expensive compared to back home.

I am lucky in that I normally get home 2 to 3 times a year and shop the night before coming back. Cheeses, Biscuits, Chocolate, Tea etc etc stuff I cannot get here or pay a fortune for. Have been stopped a couple of times and asked if it is shop bought, which of course it is. No issues. Cheese... Dubliner small here is $12 the large one at home is euro3.99. Kerrygold is available everywhere here (thankfully) must have been my constant letters to them (I wish I had that power...😀)

The one problem is now that everyone in the office knows how good the chocolate is from home, they all want some brought back. So ONE back 32KG is full of food leaving me one further bag for my own stuff...😀

One thing I miss immensely and they are never the same here... Irish Sausages and Rashers. Dunnes Rashers are great, Shame Superquinn sausages have been changed and are no longer available in their original format/receipe.

Sorry... Barry's always here..family tradition ..😀

I simply cannot eat American Chocolate (not that I eat a lot). The Cadburys Creme Eggs here are NOTHING like the ones back home.

Lays are NOT a patch on Tayto.

Once the kids here try the Irish version they love it, hence the house always has Irish snacks in the pantry.

Oh and anyone coming to the States, always bring a fresh sliced pan from Brennans or someone else... The Bread here is absolutely SH!TE

I find Butterfingers the best 'American Chocolate'. I actually don't think there is a 'European' alternative

Jolly Ranchers are nice

Price is a big turnoff tbf

I’ve been watching a few of those videos on YouTube where famous Americans/English do a taste test on 3 American snacks vs 3 uk snacks- it’s actually quite good and the uk snacks like monster munch do very well compared to their rather bland American alternatives

Heres one of the series- quite amusing actually

Based on the ever shrinking shelves of American random high sugar items at my local SuperValu, I would predict this fad is coming to an end.

I'd suspect most people probably bought a jar of Fluff and some Hershey's, tried it once and never pick it up again.

There are some very specific preferences around those kinds of products that aren't universal.

Completely agree about the sausages. How can it be so hard to make them? Trader Joes have 'irish bangers ' for sale around this time of year, they're better than the usual offerings but nothing like home, they are more like English sausages tbh. There is a company in New York that make ones that actually taste decent, I've had them before in a gift hamper, but the shipping is stupidly expensive out to the west coast. Rashers are ok too and they do black and white pudding if you're into that sort of thing.

dubliner cheese in my local Walmart is only $5.28. you must live somewhere more expensive than me lol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,049 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Anyone see Snapple Lemon Ice Tea in Dublin? I see some other Snapple varieties (and knockoffs in Mr Price) but never the Ice Tea.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

I aint trying to 😀

Honestly, the quality of the food in America is generally SH!TE!!! Breads are all made with refined flour. Meat is injected with crap unless you can find a good butcher (luckily a friend is one ) Veggies are imported from Mexico and unless you go to the Farmers Markets, the veggies taste of nothing. Eggs have zero taste and are white??????

While there are some really good restaurants in the States, the majority are cooking by numbers joints or greasy spoons.

Honestly, first thing off the plane I run to the nearest Chipper for a bag of chips or grab an Irish breakfast..;)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,293 ✭✭✭Ubbquittious

I remember Statesians ranting and raving about these long before I ever tried one. Was expecting it to be like an orgasm in your mouth with the first bite instead of the tasteless crumbly stuff they actually are

You absolutely can get excellent food in the US, but the average quality of stuff in mid to low price supermarkets isn’t great. There’s a lot of over processed gunk, particularly in meat and dairy. In general the quality of meat and dairy in Ireland is probably amongst the best in the world. It’s definitely as good as some of the foodiest countries in Europe.

Good American fruit and veg can be very good though because of the climate. It just depends on where you shop. If you’ve access to a good local place or a farmers market (not that unusual) it’s as good as what you’d get in Spain or Italy. If you go to a bland supermarket, it often looks nice but doesn’t taste great.

Most supermarkets over there carry ranges stuff you’d struggle to sell here though, all on the over processed end of the scale - those chickens that look about the size of a turkey etc.

It also depends somewhat on where you are too. Big cities, foodie small cities, many of the west coast and northeastern cities have really good dining options, when you get into more bland places they get blander.

I don’t think you can really generalise about the US as if it’s one generic, homogenous place. It’s a land of contrasts where you can find ultra health and organic focused at one extreme being consumed by gym bunnies who are utterly obsessed with health to fast food that would probably classify as toxic waste under EU norms being consumed by people who’d need the double wide reinforced ambulance…