Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New home kitchen business - advice needed

Options
  • 22-01-2023 11:00am
    Registered Users Posts: 15

Hi,

I'm hoping for some advice please.

I'm hoping to start a small at home business. It's good based but I honestly only need my cooker, large pot, blender and fridge. So I don't want to invest in commercial kitchen.

I'm happy to purchased second fridge /freezer for storage. My Q is has anyone done this and successfully ran it from home with hse inspections etc.

I've no food experience apart from college waitressing. So haven't done good safety courses etc. But willing to once I know what's applicable.

I am also thinking on approachubg other food businesses in my area to rent their kitchen on their down time. This obviously has draw backs as to when I can work & cost. Unsure if hse accepts it.

Side note - I've ran my own business for 10 years now, did all the SYOB with Leo. I'm also due to start a food starter program with LEO in March.

I'm just hoping for practical advice from someone who has done this. Gotten hse and certified.

I recently purchased the products I want to produce from antohet business operating in Ireland, it came with nothing apart from brand logo. No ingredients, allergens etc. I don't want to fall into this area of not complying.

Thank you in advance

Comments

• Registered Users Posts: 4,275 ✭✭✭blackbox

I knew someone who had a small baking business. She was required to build a new kitchen, separate from the family kitchen.

I guess this was for hygiene and cross contamination reasons.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,297 ✭✭✭walterking