Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings and threadbans - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

They probably don't have the resources. I can only imagine what it'll be like a year from now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,543 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

There is a difference.

The majority of DA claimants are disabled.

The majority of AS are making bogus claims - this has been known for years, stated by the Ministers, everybody knows it, we all know and accept it, the AS themselves state it when interviewed on television. They are economic migrants.

News article after news article over two decades have reported this over and over, again and again.

There have been various waves, 20 years ago it was west Africans. Later it was the sham marriages between Asian men and EU women.

Here is an account of a wave of bogus AS from Pakistan and Bangladesh in 2014 and 2015.

See ESRI (2018) Ireland's response to Recent Trends in IP applications

https://www.esri.ie/system/files/publications/RS72.pdf

These are all bogus AS, as they already lived in the UK, that well-known location of war, terror and persecution (not)

They already have a visa to be in the UK. They travelled from the UK to Ireland to claim asylum. The NGOs here will say "they are fleeing persecution".

Persecution? In Leeds, Liverpool and London? Cop on.

I suppose that by following these cases over two decades, I know the truth, whereas many people in Ireland are not as clued in, and therefore believe the NGOs.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,008 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

There is a difference.

The majority of DA claimants are disabled.

The only difference there is that you’re not comparing like with like, whereas if you were, well, have I got news for you! 😁

Data from the Department of Employment Affairs and Social Protection show 13,989 applications were turned down, while 13,298 claims processed last year were granted.Those applications included some leftover from 2020, and the department received 20,599 new applications for Disability Allowance in 2021.The figures also show that more than half of cases refused later appealed were later granted, in whole or in part or due to a revised decision by the department.There were 5,575 appeals on disability allowance decisions last year, almost half of which (2,611) were allowed. In another 101 cases the appeal was partly allowed and a revised decision was made in another 643 cases. Just 2,178 appeals were disallowed, with another 42 withdrawn.

https://archive.ph/mp4cq

The State denied up to 12,000 vulnerable people their disability allowance payments, RTÉ Investigates has learned.

And if those vulnerable citizens sued the State for the payments, the legal advice was that their cases were likely to succeed.

A secret memo prepared for the Cabinet in 2009 reveals that the State was told it could be facing up to €700 million in claims for maintenance payments from people with disabilities.

https://www.rte.ie/news/investigations-unit/2023/0131/1353022-state-denied-disability-payment-to-vulnerable-people/

A quarter of the country’s disabled population lives in poverty. While 42% of applications for disability allowance made in 2018 were rejected. It’s unacceptable, writes Joan O’Donnell.

More than 140,000 people in Ireland now live on a disability allowance, equivalent to the entire population of Wicklow. These numbers are rising every year, even though it is extremely tough to qualify and it almost guarantees a life of poverty.

Take Michelle from Cork, who was turned down four times for disability allowance, despite being unable to walk. 

https://www.disability-federation.ie/news/latest/2019/02/14/42-of-applications-for-disability-allowance-reject/

That’s just a small sample btw of the number of applications which you would, if you were to compare like with like, would claim are bogus claims. Rejected applications either for asylum or disability, does not mean their claims are bogus. It means they do not immediately qualify for either asylum or disability for one reason or another, and they have the right to appeal the decision.

I suppose that by following these cases over two decades, I know the truth, whereas many people in Ireland are not as clued in, and therefore believe the NGOs.

Sure you do horse 😒

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭amykl_1987

• Registered Users Posts: 2,239 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Never be a money grabbing scam. Oh god no. That and cheap labour for future endeavours by these same **** stains.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭bloopy

Quiet you!

As long as we get to call someone a racist, we can pick up the easy, shallow 'Leftie' support.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,534 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

an election in 25? they will find a way (to push it somewhere else)

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭jackboy

The Facts are not clear. It seems the Brogans were involved with that company at one stage but not sure if they still have any involvement in that company or it's operation.

They probably should release a statement with the facts.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Quitelife

The money these hotel owners are been paid to house these people is obscene. The famous Dublin football Brogan family were popping the champagne corks last night above in Dublin many miles from Dundrum in county Tipperary which they have destroyed.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,054 ✭✭✭Icsics

Millstreet already has asylum seekers in Drishane Castle & Ukrainians in the Green Glens. The same man owns both & is rumoured to have bought this hotel. The money being paid is mind boggling, all at the expense of the town.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,507 ✭✭✭prunudo

i see from X that Thornton Hall has a garda operation happening this morning. Very heavy handed show for a peaceful protest camp.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,627 ✭✭✭jackboy

The heavy handed approach has been proven to work at this stage and the population have shown they are OK with it. The government don't have to waste time tolerating such protests anymore, they can just send in the guards now straight away to clear protests.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,507 ✭✭✭prunudo

i got called a liar and mocked in previous posts/threads when I said the gardai stood by as vehicles with no number plates were escorted into Newtown.

Well look at this, same situation in Thornton Hall. The law of the land should apply to all, yet these ipas centres, both their implementation and operation seem to be above what applies to regular citizens.

https://x.com/SteRedmondNP/status/1823661892730056936

• Registered Users Posts: 1,779 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Yes I know that's the kind of go-to buzzword answer that gets likes on here and a few retweets on Twitter. Back in the real world, the provision of protection to residents at asylum centres has been necessitated by the fact that there is a clear risk of these people being subjected to harm and harassment — not to mention that other risks like arson attacks have been a feature.

I mean, it's a bloody convenient narrative isn't it? Let's create an environment where the presence of police is necessitated by any reasonable understanding of risk of harm and then claim that the presence of said police is because they "care more about them than us". It would be interesting to see what direction the petulant whines would take if the police did actually just decide to completely vacate the area and leave all these things completely un-policed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 743 ✭✭✭aziz

if the police did actually just decide to completely vacate the area and leave all these things completely un-policed.

So,in other words, back to normal

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭rgossip30

This article shows that imposing fines will have little effect unless those who arrive are detained until their identity can be verified . The airlines who co operate in the identity should have the fine waivered . 

https://gript.ie/mcentees-shameful-scapegoating-of-airlines-over-immigration/?ct=t(EMAIL_CAMPAIGN_5_17_2022_13_19_COPY_01)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Why are the Government paying so much to house asyulm seekers & Refugees when half the money would be more than adequate??

Are the Likes Of Seamus Banty McEnaney who has a number of properies in Dublin City Centre housing refugees or the Brogan GAA Family group of Dundrum House Co Tipperary friends of the FG/FF Government party who are making multi millionaires out of them..is their back handers & Brown envelopes involved in this Millionaires overnight contracts ??

Should we all buy run down or average hotels and have the debt paid back in 12 months with the millions the Government is throwing at these owners or do you have to be on the inside of the FG/FF golden circle ??

• Registered Users Posts: 2,475 ✭✭✭rgossip30

Can you post where HIV is more prevelant in the native irish population . !!

'' The backgroundrates of hepatitis B, hepatitis C, tuberculosis andHIV in the countries from which our migrants originate are considerably higher than comparablerates in Ireland26.''

https://www.lenus.ie/bitstream/handle/10147/43827/8319.pdf?sequence=1&isAllowed=y

https://www.breakingnews.ie/ireland/number-of-people-living-with-hiv-in-ireland-increases-to-100-cases-per-month-1531633.html

Post edited by rgossip30 on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 61 ✭✭amykl_1987

Keeping people on side in case they lose their seats and need a cushy number. That's why they are throwing money around.

Dept of integration seems to have a budget of 7 or 8 billion. Which is one third of the health service. It's mental.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 700 ✭✭✭creeper1

It's not only loads of vehicles without number plates going into Thornton hall

There's that video of masked heavies (possibly security but as mentioned here no identification and they are in casual clothes) intimidating a woman presumably trying to find out what was going on.

These guys are sculpted too. I'd be intimidated as well and I fancy I could handle myself.

It is simply unbelievable. It really is.

Well it wouldn't be would it?

It doesn't take much imagination to envisage the likely outcome of asylum seekers being transported into a centre without any form of escort in certain places right now, or without Gardai providing protection to the premises and staff. Or are we going to indulge in a fantasy that there would be no confrontation or aggression or strong possibility of a very violent situation developing and without police presence?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,164 ✭✭✭downtheroad

GAA seems to be a common denominator for some of the names that have been mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,705 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

Dept of integration seems to have a budget of 7 or 8 billion. Which is one third of the health service. It's mental.

I've been trying to beat this drum for awhile now. The sum of money being wasted is a significant percentage of government spending.

It's ordinary higher rate PAYE workers who are being burned to pay for all of it.

• Registered Users Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

It's just Gombeenomics. Feather the nests of the connected, with money from the Peons.

Throw the Peons a €750 a year tax break, and act like you are doing them a favour. But take all that back anyway though a combination of stealth taxes, handouts to RTE and increased charges to help the "Climate"

If you keep voting for the Status quo…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,458 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

What ever your thoughts of Gript are, they are are the only news outlet carrying this content and fair play to them.

RTE, Virgin Media, Irish Times etc should be ashamed of themselves

• Registered Users Posts: 971 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

Wonder which Gombeen friends of the Government got the contract to that and was there a fair and open tender process?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,458 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

Something very sinister about all of them wearing masks.

I'm sure the left nutters will show up and give out about them wearing masks/balaclavas …..

Out of interest, what does this lady say in this video that you deem to be a suppressed or ignored point in the so-called mainstream media?

She mentions the problem of poor communication by the government — a topic which I personally have seen and heard being discussed on mainstream TV, radio and newspapers. Here is an example:

https://m.independent.ie/regionals/kerry/tralee-news/sinn-feins-pa-daly-blasts-government-over-information-gap-on-migration/a1589080582.html

She mentions peoples concerns that too many are being allowed in and alludes to determining which asylum seekers are genuine. These are concerns that are regularly discussed and spoken about.

What is it there that you think is novel about the content?

https://www.irishtimes.com/politics/2023/10/25/accommodating-large-numbers-of-refugees-in-hotels-not-good-for-integration-and-cohesion/

https://www.newstalk.com/news/false-refugee-claims-an-ongoing-challenge-martin-1434010

• Registered Users Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭RoyalCelt

The government won't give the people the zero refugee policy we want but they should take the WHO seriously at least.

Europe would do well to completely prevent the flow of unvetted illegals after this news.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,832 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

There is no Department of Integration.

It's the Department of Children, Equality, Disability, Integration and Youth.

Which would explain why the budget is so high.