Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,470 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Sweden sure improved when they let waves of refugees from similar areas in. It's clearly what we should strive for also.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,621 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

we're not going to just sit back and submit because of what some Irish people once did.

What is it exactly are you doing so?

Apart from ranting on the internet.

What tangible things are you actively engaged in to bring about this change you think is needed to stop 'the destruction of our great nation'?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,841 ✭✭✭TomTomTim

Why bother pretending to care about solutions, when you only care about antagonizing anyone who wants to find a solution?

Realistically though, there's too much damage done already, and there's no going back from that. If our servants actually did what they were meant to do, and deported all of those who didn't qualify for asylum in the first place, we wouldn't be here in the first place. We now have a justice minsters threatening us with the law, while the same department ignored the law for years and years, and even boasted about it. So in real terms, a political party that actually enforces our laws would be a good start.

“The man who lies to himself can be more easily offended than anyone else. You know it is sometimes very pleasant to take offense, isn't it? A man may know that nobody has insulted him, but that he has invented the insult for himself, has lied and exaggerated to make it picturesque, has caught at a word and made a mountain out of a molehill--he knows that himself, yet he will be the first to take offense, and will revel in his resentment till he feels great pleasure in it.”- ― Fyodor Dostoevsky, The Brothers Karamazov

So right now you are sitting back ranting on the internet?

we're not going to just sit back and submit because of what some Irish people once did.

Grand so.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

More far right talk on Newstalk at the moment, except for Pat Kenny the rest of the media are all on message

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭cal naughton

Pat Kenny is 75 and it's probably his last year on radio so has nothing to lose.

Any other presenter has to toe the party line or else they will never work again. Dublin is a small place!

• Site Banned Posts: 2,799 ✭✭✭Bobtheman

I think the Liberal orthodoxy makes it as awkward to speak out as the Conservative one did. That being said if I had to choose id pick the Liberal one.

That being said a journalist should be able to question the operation of the system. That's not racist.

I tend to not like Pat Kenny as he is generally pro establishment but my hats off to him today.

But again protesting outside centres housing refugees is just plain wrong.

We have no idea what these people have been through.

Any issue with the system should be addressed to the people who operate the system.

My main beef is with those who operate the system.

It's in need of reform. People need to have trust in the system. That deportations happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,640 ✭✭✭Hamachi

I don’t condone protesting outside the centers either.

However, I do want be clear on the nomenclature here. The non-Ukrainian IPAs are not ‘refugees’. They are asylum applicants, whose claim is yet to be determined.

Given that in 2022, 40% of this cohort destroyed their documentation en-route to Ireland, I have little sympathy and wish that their egregious behavior was not rewarded, with a lengthy stay in this country, all financed by the Irish taxpayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,395 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Mairead McGuinness on Newstalk just now spinning the recent protests being aimed at Ukrainians

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,186 ✭✭✭✭jmayo

They are spinning for all they are worth, but the day has gone where they can control the narrative through their friends in the media.

Social media has seen to that and for once I am glad of it.

We had an Arab spring maybe we will have an Irish spring, much milder of course.

Hell it would make all those North African and Middle Eastern lads feel at home.

I am not allowed discuss …

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,450 ✭✭✭PokeHerKing

Does seem to be a right $hit show lately. I mean surely they need to get a handle on the numbers currently on the island amd stopall further arrivals until they're on top of it?

Like if your bath is overflowing you turn off the tap first. You dont try filling up pots and pans.

Complete ideology at play. Anyone saying different is lying or foolish

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,857 ✭✭✭✭Beechwoodspark

She’s another dose

ear to the ground presenter was her level but she got where she was by bending every which way the elites want

bending every which way the elites want

What exactly did she do to achieve that?

Please be specific.

• Registered Users Posts: 715 ✭✭✭Mac_Lad71

Joe Duffy on liveline doing another pro immigration piece on how we all have benefited from immigration.

All was going well until a gentleman called from Donegal saying him and his family had been sick since Xmas..coughing up blood etc.

His GP asked him had he been in contact with Ukrainian refugees as the doctor believed he could have TB which is prevalent in the Ukrainian community. The man's wife is a teacher with Ukrainian pupils.

Him and his family are awaiting test results.

Joe was in panic mode...don't be saying that etc.

Ukraine is one of the most affected countries. Not only does it have the fourth-highest TB incidence in the WHO European Region, but it also has the fifth-highest number of confirmed cases of extensively drug-resistant TB in the world, as stated in the Lancet.

Never mind keep em coming.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,133 ✭✭✭✭ejmaztec

The Irish genealogy records are so bad that no one can know for certain what their ancestors got up to.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,194 ✭✭✭Jarhead_Tendler

Many of them are probably tired after their Lagos to Dublin connection flights

• Registered Users Posts: 209 ✭✭Bsharp

We definitely have benefited.

However, like everything in life, if something's not sustainable then it's not beneficial, be it personal health, financial, environmental. The current government plan is not sustainable and that's where the rubber is hitting the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,232 ✭✭✭realdanbreen

Nothing like a bit of barrel scraping scare mongering eh!

How have we benefited though?

Certainly, some immigrants are hard working and play a significant role in health care. I work in the tech sector, so certainly aware of their presence there.

However, conflating the contributions of legal immigrants, both from within and beyond the EU, with the persistent influx of ‘asylum seekers’ since the late ‘90s, is a nonsense. I’m struggling to think of one scenario in which the presence of said asylum seekers, has enhanced this country.

Oh no! Lagos! Isn't that where yer wan that left the new buggy at the bus stop came from!

Ah don't struggle. .its amazing how even a small mind can be broadened if you took the time to speak with someone from outside of your estate.

I can assure you Dan, my mind is a lot sharper than yours.

Now getting back to the discussion, can you enumerate how Ireland has been enhanced by the influx of asylum seekers since the late ‘90s?

In your own time 👍

You think I'm in a discussion with you! Your best chance of a discussion would be to go along to one of Ben Gilroy or Justin Barrett meetings.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,394 ✭✭✭Cody montana

We are seen as a progressive, friendly and welcoming country.

did some research since you posted.

Yes, Ukrainians have a very high prevalence of TB infections and severe TB infections .

I have to say I didn’t realise that.

You’ll have to enlighten me as to who they are Dan.

Never mind, I’m not keen to activate a few neurons engaging you either. I suspect it would be akin to rolling around in the muck.

..delete

also - is this a public health concern ??

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,305 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

Yes and not using having a domestic dispute with your husband to travel a 1000 miles skipping through safe countries to live here as an excuse would be nice.

People.

Drive throughout any town or village in Ireland.

Many empty and run down houses.

Blaming immigrants on a lack of housing is ridiculous.

This is our fault.

Btw. People who abuse the system should be immediately sent packing.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,622 ✭✭✭maninasia

I have gone and livec in other countries and many are vastly better run.

It was a shame seeing how my family members couldnt access the health service in time.

Also how there is a complete and utter lack of accommodation and public school places. Also the reliance on religious organisations to run public schools. The train system in Ireland is embarrassingly bad . Noisy polluting diesel trains as commuter services. Decrepit darts

Many of these things WERE better in the past and are better run in other countries. They are daily life issues so they aren't small things to deal with.

Korea, Japan, Taiwan, Singapore, Hong Kong all are vastly better run. Even large parts of Malaysia, China and Thailand are better run with better infrastructure in terms of healthcare, housing, schooling and transport. I brought overseas visitors to Ireland they laughed at the the state of the trains and public transport and couldn't understand why it was so hard to get timely medical treatment. In those countries its just another service.

And the idea of religious institutions running state schools is nuts to them, except for the Muslim countries. State schools still checking what religion you are is terrible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,274 ✭✭✭Packrat

I think we have found an imposter, something doesn't compute...

https://m.youtube.com/watch?v=fTS09G__CqQ

“The Party told you to reject the evidence of your eyes and ears. It was their final, most essential command”

You are a smart fella you figured out those countries are in Asia lol. Here's a bikkie.

You don't get to limit the terms of the discussion buddy.

Its a fact a lot of institutions in Ireland are very poorly run.

So upgrading a run down derilect house is the fault of the people of the country or government. Do people realise that every piece of land in this country does not need dwelling to accommodate refugees. It's not compulsory

I concur with your final statement Cody. Does this include the 40% of IPAs who destroy their passports en-route?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,843 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

It truly is. The likelihood is the same or more next year.

our two ‘leaders’ are like having an umbrella in the face of a hurricane.

the attainment of any sort of wellbeing going forward is about to become a dogfight…. ⬇️⤵️⬇️

our elected representatives basically have no problem with the possibility of 1.8 million people arriving here per decade. Seeking protection / assylum.

What's interesting is that in many of those countries the population has peaked and they have low to very low rates of immigration. They also have low birth rates.

What immigration they do have is tightly controlled according to their economic needs.

While this may have issues down the line , they benefit hugely from not having huge pressure on housing, schools and healthcare provision. Generally rentals are easily available and reasonably priced, school places are available and you can even see a specialist /neighbourhood doc on same day.

Countries with population growing at 3% a year (Ireland) can become severely stressed, especially if they have no plan or competency to deal with it. That's the reality.

(edit - I'm actually pro immigration, but it has to be managed and appropriate)

Post edited by maninasia on

The government needs to engage with this issue media wise.

We are a people who spread themselves all over the World.

We need the government to set out how the system works honestly.

Let's not forget that the majority of our nations children between 1920-80 left this nation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,843 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

There has been ZERO consultation up to now. So there is little to ZERO chance of any consultation.

we don’t have a say, we are so far down the list of priorities.

I used to like this country…. When it was a democracy…

What exactly does this mean for a population of 4 odd million in the vast vast ocean of culture and people of 6 billion and more and dont say integration.

We need a policy on immigration that is believable and practical.

Pure and simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,206 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Huge pressure on housing, schools and healthcare provision comes from the government failing to provide enough of the three, not from immigration.

If we go down the route of blaming immigrants for these pressures, why not target other groupings as well : too many old people in the country, too many families having children, too many people living on benefits, too many rural people moving to urban areas, too many Irish emigrants returning home etc?

They are two sides of the same coin, don't you see?

It's not about blame, its about dealing with reality.

If you don't have enough schools, hospitals and housing one of the quickest ways to deal with it is to be more selective about immigration.

It's not the only way, it's not enough. But 100,000s of immigrants per year (including refugees) is always going to put massive pressure on society. 3% of population growth in 1 year! There needs to be a cap.

Countries such as Australia do it like this.

It is reasonable and appropriate.

BTW Irish emigrants have a constitutional right to return home. Not sure where that came from lol.