Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,120 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The UK has had a right wing government for the last 13 years, backed by a heavily right wing (and clearly racist) tabloid press. What's gone wrong?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,593 ✭✭✭✭Sand

"Right wing" and "left wing" can be broadly understood as referring to two cheeks of the same neo liberal arse when it comes to mass migration. The only distinguishing factor is the "right wing" neoliberals weakly protest that mass migration should happen legally, with due process. Whereas the "left wing" neoliberals don't really care how it happens (refugees/economic migration/illegal border crossing whatever), so long as it happens.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

IPAS report for October

1382 arrivals for the month - maintaining the trend of continued growth in numbers month on month.

Arrivals are increasing not decreasing

204 incidents requiring Gardaí or ambulance in the month. Great additional pressure to add to our strained emergency services.

124 requests for family reunification

We've had Fine Gael here for years.

If anything, people are sick and tired of right wing government.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,748 ✭✭✭✭Loafing Oaf

Potatoeman seemed to be talking about 'right wing' primarily in the sense of cracking down on immigration. Liitle sign FG are going to go down that road...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,613 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

That number is staggering for Nigeria but it's not surprising.

Is there any breakdown of how many arrivals Ireland rejects and sends back?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

I'm seriously thinking that would be too embarrassing for the government to make public. We must be the biggest joke of a country in the EU.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Gussoe

It's also probable that they don't have accurate records. I believe that a person's application for asylum can be rejected, but they can re-apply under a different criteria. So are we counting the total number of rejected applications, or are we counting the number of people rejected?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 901 ✭✭✭JPCN1

Under Leo and Helen they are no longer right wing, their main driving philosophy is whatever will get them a pat on the head from Brussels.

That's 100% correct. Even though you are denied asylum you can appeal it . And God knows how many times you could do this. I would say total deportation at point of entry is 0.

• Registered Users Posts: 229 ✭✭minimary

Was just watching a video about New York, their migrant crisis has gotten so bad that they've limited stays in accommodation to 30 days and are now offering plane tickets to whoever wants to leave. You would hope the crisis being so close to the UN's headquarters will make them realise how broken the asylum system is worldwide and how its abused by economic migrants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,218 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

Gript aside, I’m irritated by Varadkar attempting to muddy the waters in his answer to what was a direct question.

We’ve seen it umpteen times in this thread - someone mentions overly generous welfare benefits for refugees and someone responds talking about immigration and the benefits of it as if they are at all the same thing. So disingenuous. He knows exactly what he’s doing and what he’s saying.

Asked about our overly generous supports being a pull factor (which they indisputably are) and he starts going on about FDI and our health service. Snakey behaviour.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Why is there only one man in this country out of 5 million people who asks/can ask awkward questions on this subject to these politicians in this country?

it’s absolutely mental when you stand back and think about it for a few minutes

all the thousands of hours of media shows,panels etc and nobody asks these simple questions that the vast majority want answered

democracy?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,040 ✭✭✭dmakc

Even if it did slip through the cracks and reach national attention, you can bet the coverage would only consist of the need to educate all the godforsaken men born and raised in this country to treat women with respect. F*cking shambles

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,371 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

No wonder we’re still getting 800 a week arriving.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

43 grand with absolutely no bills, nice one fair play to them, a few months and they can buy an apartment at home, a few years and they're landlords raking it in.

It wwonderfulthat everyone around the world coming here gets a better deal than those living here.

Roll on the recession, only way for this stupidity to stop.

Anyone voting Leo/FG in the next election after that gript video needs their head examined.

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,686 ✭✭✭Real Donald Trump

Real insult and slap in the face to people working here and trying to get by on so little. Disgraceful!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 925 ✭✭✭Vologda69

And there's talk that any new welfare cap for Ukrainians will not be retrospective i.e. will only apply to future arrivals. Talk about turkeys voting for Xmas. What do they pay policy advisers for? Utterly clueless.

• Registered Users Posts: 458 ✭✭Coolcormack1979

Thing is more and more are now openly talking about the **** show that’s going on and what they see every day of the week.ff and fg need to go and be given plenty of grief on the doors if they even have the balls to canvas.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

It’s unreal. We’re almost two years into the invasion now, with the bulk of Ukrainians arriving the first few months…soon they will have had two years to get themselves settled and secure accommodation and get a job, but there’s not even mention of trying to wean them off the benefits. As you said, the only talk has been bringing new arrivals into line with benefits given in other counties, and even at that nothing has been decided yet!! There’s no hurry though, there’s only 800 Ukrainians still arriving here every week, many coming from other countries purely for the benefits on offer 🙄

• Registered Users Posts: 641 ✭✭✭Phat Cat

Sure loads will be going home to Ukraine for Christmas holidays with a double week Christmas bonus in their back pockets before returning to their free accommodation here in the new year, without penalty or forfeit. You seriously couldn't make this stuff up!

Don’t forget the double child benefit too this December!

Post edited by DebDynamite on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Can you name me a mainstream party who won’t get lifted out of it at the doors come election time?

because they are all up to their necks in it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

As will the irish doleys, while we have literally tens of thousands of vacant job roles.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,553 ✭✭✭lmimmfn

Classic deflection, well done, importing more dole heads will solve that yes?

Ignoring idiots who comment "far right" because they don't even know what it means

The “Irish doleys” who, in a genius move by our government, have even less money at the end of the week than Ukrainians. Someone on the dole here more than likely either are in council house or on HAP, both of which they still have to pay a portion of rent themselves. But our Ukrainian guests are in accommodation of which the government cover the cost.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,736 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

There is no end goal..

not at EU or national level.

the long term guess from me is that in 50 years there won’t be an EU….unless it can get an about turn on its mindset to asylum / protection / immigration and start becoming practical, careful and loyal in terms of prioritising its paymasters ie. us EU citizens….the EU is pretty much solely funded by US, it’s paymasters… if another big hitter…say Spain, Italy, France, Germany quit, the rest will fall like a house of cards… your Varadkars won’t give a flying fûck… he’ll be sat back in luxury, a millionaire laughing at us all..

people across the continent will eventually kick up. We are only at the very beginning of this trouble…. The real consequences of what’s happening haven’t manifested themselves as yet. But in the end I’m predicting the EU will implode…

countries will be overpopulated, overwhelmed, underfunded and under resourced to cope . Dystopia will reign, no housing, no public transport, no easily accessible healthcare…crime rates will increase, they are increasing significantly here… we don’t have the Garda numbers or prison places to cope…..

the lunatics are running the asylum in Brussels, the Dàil is like an outpatient department… with Dr Varadkar in charge and poor Michael with his nerves not knowing where to look, what to say or where to turn to next…

CSO figures on crime are not good reading…rates of violent crime is now crazy high.

This is all known by politicians, it’s acknowledged by many but…. 🤷‍♂️ is their response. Also the IRPT report that ‘non’ Irish are way over represented in Irish jails… it was 1 out of 7 last time I saw the numbers last year.

No changes coming soon as there is no other options for changes needed to form a government that will save the country.

No changes coming soon, Although there is alot more people starting to become alot more vocal and in some instances active against the floods of migrants its still not enough for changes.

Change will try to be made when the country resembles the countries these people are leaving. No infrastructure, total service breakdown, no law and order etc etc.

Then It's too late. Just look at our neighbours across the way.

• Registered Users Posts: 558 ✭✭✭Gussoe

It's bonkers that this issue is in the forefront of every irish person's concern up and down the country. And yet we have zero public representatives taking it up and holding the government to account. Even just for the lack of planning ahead for the numbers arriving.

What is their excuse? The Housing crisis and Health System was already bad before bringing in 100k+ refugees. What did they think was going to happen?

I read a study a few years back from Netherlands that found refugees were a net fiscal burden for the duration of their lives. The study was comprehensive and followed test cases for like 15 or 20 years. Today, if you search google that article is long gone, replaced with obviously curated results all saying the exact opposite. All of them sourcing globalist NGOs. Makes me think this is part of a broader objective and gives me a bad feeling in my gut. I don't like it one bit.