Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 2,488 ✭✭✭rgossip30

• Registered Users Posts: 327 ✭✭gerogerigegege

Jordan is a safe country. He'd be better off there. Deport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,184 ✭✭✭✭Goldengirl

This is true. More coming through that way than anywhere else.

But in order to police this as you describe, it would necessitate checking ID of passengers from Belfast / any NI town or city by bus, car or train..

As in the days when we had a border between us and NI.

Is that really what people want?

All the work of GFA and since Brexit just.. pffft?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,391 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Had reason to pass by the now infamous 'Crooksling site', which as we know is remote & mountainous, on the edge of the Pale as we are informed.

What looked like big double corrugated gates with an internal examination area staffed by lads in blue uniforms of some sort, in fact just like going through the army checkpoints of old at the border. Outside a big sign demanding something about a right of way back from the HSE. I'm not sure if this security is to prevent people entering or to keep the lads in? Or maybe both. I wonder do they have security fencing all round the site internally?

And after passing out of this bandit country, I descended downwards with a marvellous view over the mighty metropolis of Dublin laid out at my very own two feet.

Lest this be called 'anecdote' rather than reportage by our in house keepers of morality, I shall apologise in advance.

Leo gone. A heap of other FG pols not running in the next election.

For all the giving out about immigration on dark corners of the internet like this one, in the real world right wing FG'ers must know they are about to take some beating in the next election.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,881 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

Could Eoin O'Broin be any more out of touch with his SF working class base?

Irreconcilable.

• Registered Users Posts: 508 ✭✭✭Marcos

He specifically requested that he be given that brief, so of course he should take any blame that's going around. I mean he definitely would bask in the appreciation of the masses if his policies were a success. So less of the poor Roderic rubbish please.

When most of us say "social justice" we mean equality under the law opposition to prejudice, discrimination and equal opportunities for all. When Social Justice Activists say "social justice" they mean an emphasis on group identity over the rights of the individual, a rejection of social liberalism, and the assumption that unequal outcomes are always evidence of structural inequalities.

Andrew Doyle, The New Puritans.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭tom23

FFS. And FG/FF get lectured for listing to NGO’s. And the one with the biggest agenda who thinks Irish taxpayers should pay for the world’s unfortunate. Would ever go and ask my arse. The pair of them. Personally think Henderson should not be giving any airtime.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

So many have this attitude that this tiny country of approx 5 million people, which was such a basket case a few years ago that we had to call in the imf, this tiny country can afford to help an untold number of people from anywhere on the planet, AND continue to send billions out in overseas aid, AND continue to spend billions on refugee and asylum programmes.

Where is that magic money tree, seriously? Because many politicians, most NGO's and a lot of people seem to think it will just keep giving so our taxes can be used to provide for others.

How about we fix our own problems first like our health service, rural transport and roads, vastly increase our garda numbers, speed up our court services, look after our old people who have paid taxes all their lives, pay our nurses and teachers properly, help our young adults to buy a home etc etc. We have money in the kitty now for the first time, so why not reduce the tax burden on our 2.7m workforce? Why not leave the pension age as it is instead of threats to raise it for future retirees? Why not make public transport free? Why not abolish third level charges? The list of ways we can spend our tax money to improve the lives of our own citizens is endless. We do more to help than many other countries, we need to get our own house in order.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,132 ✭✭✭malinheader

Absolutely, sick hearing about how we're such a wealthy well off country but our services have completely broken down because of lack of funding under investment and a total disregard for the workers in these Jobs.

I love the statement ‘second wealthiest country in the world on paper’ like that case full of handwritten IOU’s in the film Dumb and Dumber.

second wealthiest country in the world on paper’ so let’s build a house for everyone in the audience and get back to that pre famine magical population number.

Remember now… second wealthiest country in the world on paper.

• Registered Users Posts: 402 ✭✭cal naughton

We had a good team on paper. Unfortunately, the game was played on grass.

Brian Clough

He has spent his entire life involved in working class politics, he fundamentally knows that when push comes to shove against the far right the working classes will stand shoulder to shoulder with migrants.

They will only stand shoulder to shoulder if it doesn't impact them... with the likes of housing and access to health. If it does, they wont. go to any working class area that have family members trying to get a house and listen to what they have to say about who's get what and where.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Since when ? His votes largely come from the allergic to work class. How anyone can think that the genuine working class who may need social housing and have waited on a list paying taxes for a decade to see someone swan in, sleep rough for a couple of weeks or a hotel for a while longer and then get a house BEFORE them - and that they'll be okay with this, nay stand "shoulder to shoulder" with them is naive at best.

The "far right bogeyman" is losing its effectiveness as a silencing tool I'm afraid.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,924 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Not true.

SF have by far the highest anti immigration support of any of the major parties, whilst also carrying the highest working class vote share.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,002 ✭✭✭ToweringPerformance

Let's see how that works out in the next election shall we.

I think we should be more afraid of the Far Left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,126 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

Indeed, though those anti-immigration people among SF's working class supporters don't even seem to be aware it is ostensibly a left wing and 'social justice' party. This is a bit of a dilemma for the party itself.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Repro212

There is no far right, just ordinary people increasingly frustrated with the impact of mass, uncontrolled immigration on everyday life in Ireland and anger at the politicians whose mismanagement of the situation is on another level.

• Registered Users Posts: 65 ✭✭Repro212

Yep and its why SF stay silent on the subject.

I am sure as the election approaches, FFG will push SF to be honest about their stance on immigration and we may well see FG toughen up on immigration under new leadership at the same time, thereby eroding SF support fron both ends.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,142 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Is it possible our economy could crash and we have none of out problems fixed?

It's problematic for the SF party itself internally. Many members and TDs would see themselves as genuinely left wing and would regard the far right with disgust - one could imagine they would feel very uncomfortable if the party started moving in a right wing direction on immigration. It would actually be far easier for FF or FG to go in this direction than for SF.

Not in the short term anyway. The economic outlook for the next two to three years at least seems good, with no sign of a big slowdown (that could change of course but there's nothing to indicate it at the moment).

Sure, it’s not as if 3,000 extra people a week to house, feed, clothe and support could have any impact on our funds eh ?

Exactly.

And I think that is what will happen.

FG move back toward the centre right, under new leadership - with a "back to our roots" campaign.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,866 ✭✭✭mrslancaster

If FFG were to move in the direction that Jim O'Callaghan spoke about recently over the Mount St debacle, a lot of folks would be reassured that our politicians are finally starting to listen to the concerns of ordinary citizens who are NOT far-right, nor facist, nor any of the other scurrilous labels thrown about in recent years.

It was particularly galling to hear some politicians and many in the media use such pejorative and vicious language when the evidence of our support for others is clear to see. Those of us who get up early in the morning, and those who worked to build up this country over many decades, deserve better.

Sinn Fein can stay left but have a proper immigration policy, that’s strict and fair. You speak of social justice and their voter base not understanding it. They do. They want it for themselves and rightly so. I would harbour a guess you are a middle income earner living in a middle class area… apart from Public transport you would be in very little competition for resources of all these ‘new’ people. Folks that normally vote for Sinn Fein are. And it’s not all lest hold hands and sing we are the world stuff… far from it.