Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

Do you see what I’m getting at though?

If someone lands at the IPA office in Dublin tomorrow claiming asylum and they say they’re from Sudan. They’re asked how they got to Dublin and they say they travelled over land to Tunisia. They then got on a boat to Italy and travelled over land to Calais. They then got in a boat to UK and travelled over land and boat to Northern Ireland. Then they got a bus to Dublin.

If they didn’t claim asylum until Dublin then why is our government looking at emergency laws to send them back to the UK? Where are the emergency laws to send them to Tunisia?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,663 ✭✭✭jackboy

Amazingly we may have panicked politicians making statements without even considering such basics. I suspect the anti English rhetoric from our politicians in the last few days is a desperate attempt to distract from their incompetence.

They call irish citizens far right but they can't go that far with the UK but its the same strategy.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,757 ✭✭✭DeadHand

This will not stop until measures are take to stop it.

The government prefer to silence public opinion on the subject rather than address the core issue. That is the function of their anti-democratic new hate legalisation and the official/media campaign to cast much of the opposition to their practices and policies on immigration as "Far Right".

Just as not a single person need be sent to Rwanda for that strange policy to work as deterrent to illegal immigration, not a single person need be prosecuted under the new hate legalisation for it to act as deterrent to public dissent.

Tackling the problem effectively would require political will, courage and risk taking. Simply suppressing public discourse instead is easier and less risky (to their own careers).

They withhold key information on migration. They spread disinformation about it while soberly warning us of the dangers of the same. They hide behind ignorance (see McEntee's shameful performance). They hide behind dishonest claims of powerlessness (international obligations).

There is nothing morally right or inevitable about the current shambles.

There are no warzones near us. The choice is never between death and Ireland. Not a single IPA NEEDS to be here.

Even the Department of Justice has now acknowledged what was known by many of us for a decade: the Asylum system is not about asylum. It is a reliable means for immigrants to eventually access the economy and generous social welfare of this country regardless of their skills, suitability and history, criminal or otherwise.

There is no moral problem with rejecting or detering people claiming asylum. They will not be endangered if we do. They have multiple other options. This fact should inform policy.

There are ways out of this.

People laughed at the Rwanda plan, but it's already working as deterrent. It's diverting the flow towards us, we need to divert in turn.

Denmark makes it nighmarishly difficult to gain residency. As a result, IPA applications have dried up, social cohesion has been maintained and the legs cut from under a nascent (and existent) Far Right.

We need our own plan.

We need a deterrent.

We need it fast.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,376 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Absolutely, just listen to any NGO spokesman on the radio like Nick Henderson. The solution to the ever increasing number of asylum seekers (up 87% this year compared to the same period last year) is not to try and limit the numbers but to find more accommodation for them.

The likes of PBP and MASI are against any deportations. McEntee can say we will go for quicker descions but it’s meaningless if they just end up staying anyway.

The UK must be delighted now that they have shifted their asylum problem over to us. The Sunday times reports increased checks on transport from the North planned but what’s the point when anyone stopped can just claim asylum?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ooter

Brendan O'Connor just said gardai are setting up checkpoints along the "border" to check for illegal immigrants coming across from mainland UK .

Really? So the guards are going to stop genuine asylum seekers fleeing an unsafe country now. That will end well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭ooter

Didnt know Britain was deemed an unsafe country in the Irish courts recently, that was kept quiet.

https://www.telegraph.co.uk/news/2024/03/22/britain-not-safe-migrants-threat-rwanda-irish-high-court/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 773 ✭✭✭scottser

The obvious solution is to take the North back by force. 2 birds, 1 stone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,947 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Mail screams:

• Registered Users Posts: 2,266 ✭✭✭combat14

who are the "we" that decided to accept "them"?

the irish people certainly havent been asked in a referendum or vote

just because some tom, dick or harry arrives here doesnt mean they are "genuine"

and if we dont have the resources at present to accomodate our own 4000 homeless children we certainly dont have unlimited resources to give free homes to the millions of so called "genuine" illegal migrants on the way here

its time for the government to get real or there could be very different politicians elected here shortly

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2024/apr/28/ireland-plans-to-send-asylum-seekers-back-to-uk-under-emergency-law

The we is those that run the country on our behalf. No matter how valid your points are the courts have decided that it is not valid to send asylum seekers back to the UK as that is now deemed an unsafe country.

Another sh1tshow of our own making.

Guard : Where are you going?

Immigrant: I’m in Ireland seeking asylum

Guard: Grand, when you get to Dublin ask for directions to Mount street, they’ll look after you there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,223 ✭✭✭StrawbsM

I’m about to head to a garden centre in the north. During the troubles there was always a custom checkpoint on the road I’ll be driving on.
    I’ll report back 😜

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,575 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Harris was the Minister for Justice for 6 months (finished July 2023) and did nothing. He will do nothing in 6 weeks.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,382 ✭✭✭tom23

Henderson would ride rough shod over any accommodation for irish citizens for use for his clientele. Plenty of land, blah blah.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,330 ✭✭✭suvigirl

Now you understand! That's exactly how it is. So all those posters saying don't let people in? Pretty impossible.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,668 ✭✭✭DebDynamite

“Looks out for the tents; that’s where you need to go”

Oh I understand completely, where we differ is you believe in they should be given accommodation immediately not just given tents, if I’m wrong please correct me

Post edited by Patrick2010 on

I don't think anyone should be living in tents. Do you?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Jizique

It was in the Irish Times, I think I read that the judge is "close to" the Greens and has done some stuff for them before - remember judges still appoby the politicians. The article may have mentioned that the decision is being appealed to a higher court

If we have absolutely no accommodation to offer, what we do then? Offer them a tent or not?

ah the greens… everything they touch turns to gold.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,206 ✭✭✭riddles

they couldn’t check on people coming in on planes - I doubt they can man the 275 crossing points on the border

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,344 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Why doesn't Micheal O Leary check those flights with the big stupid gormless marketing face he puts on for publicity photos.

illegal migrants will have to find a different place to go so as all we got is tents at present and even they are in short supply

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,007 ✭✭✭Gen.Zhukov

It's okay everybody. The bestest Justice minister we've ever had will be travelling to the UK tomorrow to meet the British Home Sec James Cleverly - At this meeting, Ms McEntee is expected to unleash her brilliant negotiating skills and put Mr Cleverly and the British government firmly in their place.

She will have the added advantage that, as the British team are so worried about tomorrow's meeting, they will be burning the midnight oil well into the early hours, meaning they will be sleep deprived and not at their best.

She will be pictured at T2 tomorrow evening waving a piece of paper (Neville Chamberlain style) as Antony Blinken watches a live feed in awe.

looks like the UK mean business with their new Rwanda plan - rounds up now starting this week (weeks earlier than planned) - im sure the republic here will have its own initiative shortly if not we will have a new government in power before long

Home Office to detain asylum seekers across UK in shock Rwanda operation

https://www.theguardian.com/uk-news/2024/apr/28/home-office-to-detain-asylum-seekers-across-uk-in-shock-rwanda-operation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,701 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

I don't understand this.

Why involve a third country?

Why don't the UK (and Ireland) processs the asylum claims, and then return the AS to their country of origin?