Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭amykl_1987

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭20silkcut

He was going to introduce a new pan African currency linked to North African oil wealth. The Dollar was threatened . Can’t be having that. Gaddaffi had to go.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Don't recall any role for NGO's and Ipas in all that time, think off all the wars in Africa genocide in Rwanda/Famines/wars in Iraq/Afghanistan where were all the people fleeing …Mihole Martin has been in politics a loong time but only in the past few years giving his opinion on the need for open borders and obligations to the rest of the world, where's it all come from ? is it a mass hypnosis or a new doctrine that must be obeyed

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 92 ✭✭amykl_1987

Money. It's all about redirecting tax payers money

Landlords in Dail eireann

The limerick mayor for example

All doing very well out of low housing supply with ridiculously high demand

Likewise the hotel owners. Government should not be paying over the odds to these guys.

Wasn't there a nursing home in roscommon IIRC shut down by it's owner because being an IPA centre was more profitable

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Geert von Instetten

Policies of deterrence consistent with the Danish model are becoming increasingly common - these policies are designed to be consistent with EU and international obligations and are being implemented by progressive EU Member States with establishment Governments, it would be perfectly acceptable for the Government to implement these policies. Unlikely, unfortunately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,614 ✭✭✭20silkcut

There was no route to Europe in the 1990’s and noughties. It all opened up post gaddaffi . Just like he always said it would if he was ever removed.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,120 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

The unskilled labour market is still a problem though. We don't appear to have the Irish born citizens available to do the work.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Jizique

Sure, but do we really need so many of these unskilled workers working in businesses like fast food and retail?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,568 ✭✭✭Damien360

We have plenty. The problem is social welfare is far too generous and it makes little sense to work, pay tax and have to save to buy a home. Raising minimum wage is not the answer if we just keep increasing social welfare. It needs to be rained in massively. The newly imported people will be no different. They don't bring new skills as the vast majority have zero qualifications and will just join our own that don't work. Those coming via the visa system are completely different and come with education and skills required and pay tax.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Funny, we had more people seeking asylum in Ireland in the late nineties and early noughties than we do now.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,348 ✭✭✭Jack Daw

I see the far left have been causing trouble by the canal in Dublin today.

So they are apparently overflowing with kindness and humanity they want to take down barriers so people can be allowed to sleep rough by the canal.Which is a very odd type of kindness you'd have to say.

Surely the nicest thing they could do seeing as continually preach kindness is any immigrants who are homeless they can offer them a bed in their house and the problem would be solved overnight.There is nothing stopping any person in Ireland offering a bed to a homeless person so I don't want to here this nonsense about "the government aren't asking private citizens to house asylum seekers in their homes", if you really cared you wouldn't need to be asked.

It's almost like these far left "protestors" are just a bunch of rabble rousers who like causing trouble and don't actually care about the issues they are claiming to care about.

Truth is the far left and far right (the scumbag type not people with fairly legitimate concerns about excessive immigration) are just as moronic as each other it's just one of them are seen as scumbags and trouble makers while the others are seen as heroes in the media.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,936 ✭✭✭Jizique

Indeed, I have argued for years that raising benefits only leads to creating disincentives to work- to offset this, the govt then raises the minimum wage which increases costs for small local businesses (cafes, restaurants, shops) which leads to higher prices hence inflation, which leads to more increases in benefits, all pushed for by the clueless charity industry

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭susan678

Nursing homes hospitals have a lot of staff from Nigeria and the Philippines so I have no time for Racism.

The women in these jobs are angles and there are many immigrants in these jobs not just from the two nations I mentioned and we are lucky to have them all.

We need to be able to pick and choose who gets to stay in the country however there is good and bad everywhere we need to be able to reject the bad.

• Registered Users Posts: 137 ✭✭susan678

This is another insidious problem is this country teens and young adults flying around on scrambler bikes and never getting a job.

The problems our society faces are complex but anybody pointing them out is attacked.

Education and a decent moral upbringing is what is lacking from young people from many backgrounds.

People stuck in their phones is another cancer on us all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,301 ✭✭✭Vote4Squirrels

Well that’s a complete and utter lie.

The peak figure at that time was 11,634 - we’re looking at three times that now.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,348 ✭✭✭sonofenoch

Although some try conflate the issue, legal immigration is not the same topic those nurses and healthcare staff never came here to live in a tent and sign on the dole with hopes of progressing to a free hotel

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,958 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

Apologies we weren't quite as high in those years, my mistake

This year looks like hitting 20k, much higher than any previous year, but where are you getting circa 35k from?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,138 ✭✭✭nachouser

I'm still laughing at those claiming that Ian O'Doherty, who is now reduced to shilling as a paid mouth piece for The Spectator is someone worth listening to.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,757 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

If you want a takeaway delivered or your car cleaned, pay the full economic cost, without government subsidies with regard to housing benefit and welfare top-up's.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,757 ✭✭✭✭Francie Barrett

What you're proposing is illegal and discriminatory though.

Anyone who comes to Ireland must be afforded the same rights and equality in the eyes of the law that you or I have.

You're not allowed to selectively choose Nigerian and Filipino women.

Why not have men here instead? Why not have Islamic men? If they happen to support Islamic groups that hate the west, who are you to make accusations?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,911 ✭✭✭BlueSkyDreams

Thete are plenty of differences, but I still dont know which difference you are trying to point out.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,618 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

A modern version of "who will pick the cotten" , some Irish people think they are "Temu Billionaires" ;-)

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

I know many people from the Philippines in Ireland who are very hard workers. Do you ever hear of them causing trouble? Never.

Our elderly would be in serious trouble without them. Many are carers, work with the hse, nursing homes and also in hospitals. Many engineers I know too.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,565 ✭✭✭Irish_rat

The open border to the UK will cause massive problems I think.

• Registered Users Posts: 150 ✭✭2Greyfoxes

One side tell us that Mass Migration is good for the economy, helps prop up the health care system, etc.

The other side tell us that the influx is putting too much strain on an already struggling system, etc.

Meanwhile, we hear stories like this emerge. Like most things in life the truth will be somewhere in the middle. Funding is a very real issue, yes... but so is a rapid influx in population.

https://www.bbc.com/news/articles/cvg3wgjkedzo

Clever word play may win debates, but it doesn't make it true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,358 ✭✭✭facehugger99

The Irish electorate have, over the last couple of decades pushed to the left.

We're now in a situation where FF/FG are left of center, the main opposition parties are far left and the one right of center party we had (PDs) were obliterated.

The electorate has consistently rewarded big government, big social welfare, big spending and consistently punished fiscal prudence.

The situation we find ourselves in now is just a case of chickens coming home to roost.

We wonder how we ended up in this situation - because it's what we choose.

A lot of people are starting to wake up now with a bad case of buyers remorse but it's a little late.

There's no credible opposition to the current path. Anyone who thinks things won't get even worse with SF in government is quite frankly, a moron

We are stuck on this path for the foreseeable and things are going to get a hell of a lot worse in my view.

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Ozvaldo

I mean like seriously you come to Dublin with a tent and you get put up in a 5 star hotel and given social welfare with no background checks -are these lads been treated better than our own? and if you think yes the question is why do our own government resent us ?

• Registered Users Posts: 512 ✭✭✭Ozvaldo

No one thinks Sinn Fein are the answer they are finished they had their chance and deliberately dropped the ball as they dont want to be in government they just want to make noise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 euzyqua

Gaslighting is a colloquialism, defined as manipulating someone into questioning their own perception of reality.

The gaslighting on display in this country is simply staggering. Healthcare myths are the same as the myth about so many migrants will build all the housing. Its a proven dud.

The volume of money attached to illegal immigration is why it remains untouched, it is an entire industry at this point.

Whether legal or not, migration numbers growing into the millions, amongst the worst housing crisis ever, less gardai than ever, less prison space than ever, crap contracts for healthcare staff while importing cheaper people to suppress livable working conditions, the whole stinking lot of it.

It's nothing but gaslighting an entire country into accepting shite conditions that could only ever profit a few while damning the majority.

Even the die hards must be having second thoughts of the story they were sold by now.

If "growing" the population were anything like the promises, then why, a decade later, are so many important elements of society worse than ever? It was and is nothing but gaslighting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,044 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

Exactly. Healthcare in Ireland didn't start when mass immigration arrived. They say our healthcare will collapse without immigrants. What they mean is "we've run these jobs into the ground and so forced out many Irish qualified to other countries thus leaving us dependent on immigrants".