Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Time for a zero refugee policy? - *Read OP for mod warnings - updated 11/5/24*

• Registered Users Posts: 226 ✭✭Annd9

Have seen lots of videos with lads saying they are from Gaza . It's incredibly difficult to actually leave Gaza so I'd imagine the migrants see palestine flags everywhere and just assume Irish people will be more sympathetic towards them if they say Gaza.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 304 ✭✭Yvonne007

Illegal immigrants lying?!?!?

Colour me surprised

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,956 ✭✭✭MegamanBoo

I portrayed these statistics in the same way you did reports about foreign people living in Denmark?

After that it's the same 'ol myths about unvetted males, unsustainable immigration… You're ideas about cultural segregation are at least presented in a someway novel fashion. Do you think people from cultures you deem dissimilar to our own should not come to live here in general, or only those who come to seek asylum? And what do you want to do about Irish people who might also be from, or identify as part of, these dissimilar cultures?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,120 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

David McWilliams has written a lot of articles about this in the last year. But he suggests the main problem is not immigration or a growing population, but that Irish governments in general are terrible at long term planning and building infrastructure.

To identify immigration as the problem would be missing the point - even without it, Irish governments would still be useless at building infrastructure, housing, transport links and so on (witness the children's hospital fiasco and its costs).

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 54,615 ✭✭✭✭Headshot

We all know why some of them come to Ireland it's because of the very generous benefits and they can stay as long as they want in the country

Basically Welfare tourists

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,900 ✭✭✭thomas 123

• the soft touch to entry
    • The benefits
    • Own door accommodation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,986 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

You'd be correct, over 1 million Palestinians have Jordanian citizenship so can travel on the passport… though that would go missing when they arrive here..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,114 ✭✭✭eggy81

Do you not think that it’s being taken advantage of and being tuned into an industry by a lot of the the same connections that seem to profit from everything in Ireland. I find it difficult to believe there’s a genuine humanitarian motive behind helping these people. Or if there is the structure around it is the usual lining of pockets of the people with means rather than a genuinely thought out and planned approach to providing asylum to those who seek it.

We seem to struggle to provide a proper plan and process of execution for every big issue that we encounter in this country lately. Everything seems money driven to me.

I'm not so sure our asylum system, and it's European counterparts, is all that much about humanitarian principles as it is about trying to find practical solutions for all the people who are going to come here with or without it.

As for the huge profits being made from accommodation, to me that's just these government parties doing what they've done for decades, turning to often dysfunctional private markets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

Fianna Gael must have shares in that Trespass tent company.

1: Fund the NGO,

2: Buy the tents, ("We are so very pleased to do business with you Irish guys")

3: Give the tents to the migrants

4: Bulldoze the tents

5: GOTO 1

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,000 ✭✭✭10000maniacs

The tent situation on Grand Canal are just the atoms on the surface of this Iceberg.

If taxpayers knew the full extent of money and resources being squandered here, they would literally cry.

Lets have a think of it, all that's involved in the Grand Canal

Government Fund NGOs

NGOs provide tents

When the eye sore gets to much the Government send the heavies in to get rid of the tents

So this involves Waterway Ireland, Gardai and a trash compactor attending site

Tents are trashed (which is kind Ironic since the greens are in power…)

Waterway Ireland installs barriers destroying the area

and with each merry go around the area gets worse and worse.

The NGOs are the real winners in all of this and never want their gravy train to end

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

It's very windy tonight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 100 ✭✭Scar001

Another remote village getting fucked over.

No fear it would be converted back to a nursing home for our elderly.

https://www.live95fm.ie/news/live95-news/county-limerick-residents-to-meet-to-address-concerns-about-accomodating-asylum-seekers/

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,105 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

"Leftie"/NGO', John Lannon, the chief executive of migrant rights charity Doras said: “There is no need for communities to be fearful of asylum seekers arriving to live in a centre. They are just like the rest of us, but with one difference: they have had to leave their homes and their countries to find safety and protection. They just want to get on with their lives, start working or continue their education. They just want to bring their families up in a safe environment.”

Stop, just Stop!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,280 ✭✭✭Mr. teddywinkles

If the money runs out in this country and theres tax increases or services cutbacks

There'll have to be massive public backlash.

If not its time for the youth to leave in droves and never look back.

Theyd be wasted here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,605 ✭✭✭prunudo

Families he says, what families, the majority of them are single males. What we're seeing is an invasion of scammers and chancers. I'm sure there is the odd genuine case, but I'm extremely skeptical of most.

We need mass detention centres and only once they are proved to be genuine do they move onto an ipas centre, if not they're deported. To many do-gooder believing everything they're told and too many ngo's making money off this shitshow.

There won’t be, there is no money according to the government, we have been keeping things tight(PAYE employees and public projects anyway) since the recession, remember pascals rainy day fund? Where is that now?

Squandering of public money on people not in genuine need(capped reasonably) of our assistance is a travesty in any economic climate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,465 ✭✭✭batman_oh

Bare faced liar and the same turds accusing everybody else of misinformation. The vast majority arriving at the moment as anybody who isn't full of crap can see are men chancing it

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,372 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

No, they are all fleeing war and persecution, did you not get the memo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,358 ✭✭✭facehugger99

Thankfully those lovable Palestinians have never caused any problems for host countries in the past.

Jordan probably very sad to see the back of them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭ArthurDayne

Why aren't there ever threads on overpopulation then?

For whatever reason — this whole "overpopulation" theme is trotted out regularly on here despite the fact that refugees / asylum seekers traditionally make up a tiny fraction of our population and are not even a big proportion of our foreign-born population anyway. The enormous spike of Ukrainian refugees from 2022 onwards had a clear link to there being a war in Eastern Europe — a specific event.

It rings hollow to me when people speak about their concerns on overpopulation when that concern is only ever asserted in the specific context of refugees or migration more generally and almost always ignores the fact that from a population perspective we also have an outward flow of people thanks to the global migration system. You could more or less switch our entire immigrant / emigrant population around and you are still faced with a largely similar population.

It often just feels like the usual practice of constantly placing migrants at the forefront of society's ills and over-inflating their effect on things that are either (a) due to things that are far broader and more complex than simply migrants or (b) are things that people only ever seem to push as high priority issues when those issues can be linked in some tangential way to migrants, and which aren't pushed as high priority issues when the context is not a discussion on migration.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,128 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Maybe they mean over population of town squares of people with nothing to do just hanging around, or over population of people in tents with nowhere to sh1t

• Registered Users Posts: 2,486 ✭✭✭rgossip30

The number of Irish who leave and return only differs by 1-2 thousand in the past 5 years . The focus needs to be on irregular migration as its escalating rapidy 26k expected by years end not too long ago it was 3500 . The overspend on those who make false claims .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,617 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

Thanks Hazel and Simon et al, from the river to the sea Dublin 4 is (temporarily) free , all the chancers have been moved from the Grand Canal (again) , how long are the Americans staying for? lol

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

delete

Post edited by Headshot on

what’s this about?

Post edited by thomas 123 on