Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Green Party ministers jetting off for Paddy’s Day.

• 16-02-2023 9:34pm

The exodus of our ministers for St Patrick’s Day is a well worn tradition at this stage. Normally it’s policy for a couple of ministers to stay at home to keep the lights on. Considering the Green Party are always telling us to reduce our carbon footprint I thought they would volunteer to stay at home, but no they are all heading abroad (3 of them).

Ok I thought, surely to partly practice what they preach, they must be only going to the UK or Western Europe? Actually it turns out Eamon Ryan is heading to Singapore, Catherine Martin is heading to the US West coast while Roderic O Gorman is going to India. F**k me, talk about ‘do as we say not as we do’. The Greens suffered electoral wipeout once. Its on the cards again with this type of behaviour IMO. What say ye AH?

Post edited by [Deleted User] on

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

They're hypocrites, end of.

Pauline O'Reilly jetted off to the US to be a poll monitor for the US mid terms. You'd think in a country of 350m people, they wouldn't need to fly in people from Europe?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,903 ✭✭✭✭elperello

If they decided not to go there would be a thread criticising them for that.

They are in a coalition government it's part of the job they signed up for.

• Registered Users Posts: 16,918 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

is it eamonn that makes a big deal of cycling in, while a car runs the files behind him?

There is no other example of such a small country exercising soft power than our ministers and Taoiseach flying to countries around the world on St Patrick's Day. 200k was being mentioned in the papers as the overall cost of the exercise. Buttons.

For that we get pretty much an entire day of engagements with the US President, a bigwig dinner, and lots of coverage in the papers and on their news channels. We also get loads of countries to light up their national monument in green, meet other heads of state, fire in the Enterprise Ireland/IDA business card, and do a bit of plámásing.

I'm sure the Green Party ministers will offset their carbon emissions as a result of flying. If that's not already a thing the Government does.

Nothingburger outrage.

Hypocrites alright. Eamon Ryan has no problem signing off on an interconnector with France that will supply power to Ireland and no doubt some of that will come from French nuclear power stations. Meanwhile here we have a law (Electricity Regulation Act 1999) that forbids nuclear power as a way to generate electricity. Nimbyism or what.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,637 ✭✭✭Trampas

Eamo will justify sitting at the front of the plane which increase his footprint and will get us to pay to “offset” it. So he can sleep comfortably in his bed. I thought he was giving a cross bar to o Gorman or he maybe he could have stood on his front nuts

• Registered Users Posts: 6,308 ✭✭✭alias no.9

Don't worry they will use taxpayers money to buy their indulgences carbon offset and be absolved of their sins and restored to 100% smugness

• Registered Users Posts: 637 ✭✭✭gary550

good lord what will the Singaporeans think of us when he arrives

• Registered Users Posts: 827 ✭✭✭farmingquestion

And what does that get Ireland exactly?

If you think these meetings actually result in any FDI you are naive. .

Imagine for the next 10 years no one jets away for paddies day. Do you think we're going to see a noticeable hit to our tax intake or something?

Also offsetting emissions is just a scumbags approach. Why not just stay at home and "offset" the same amount of emissions, would be far better for the environment!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,443 ✭✭✭brokenbad

These guys take the term "junket" to the next level.......

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,443 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

source? or is this a tired old trope, as i suspect?

do ministers usually get followed around by people laden with paperwork?

• Registered Users Posts: 82,415 ✭✭✭✭Atlantic Dawn
    M

Eamon Ryan heading to Beijing and Shanghai has to be a piss take on someone's part, the Chinese can show him how their clean burning coal power plants work.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

• Registered Users Posts: 11,099 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Pure hypocrisy on behalf of the Greens in this instance. Indefensible.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭micosoft

There is a dictionary out there with the term false equivalence and your picture beside it. I suppose it's to be expected that people that don't care about the environment or the consequences of climate change will find any possible excuse to justify their appalling behavior but that unfortunately is part of human nature.

• Registered Users Posts: 22 Olympush

Do as I say, not as I do!

Hopefully these morons will be no more after the next election.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,364 ✭✭✭micosoft

Yes. Yes we would. An enormous impact. That you don't understand the level of soft power Ireland excudes and the astonishing returns we have made from this says a lot about your own naivety tbh.

Why is it false equivalence? The 3 GP ministers in question will be jetting off on long haul flights that will directly contribute to increasing CO2 levels in the atmosphere. It's stuff that people will remember at election time if it's brought up.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,160 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Did the Greens ask us not to fly or something? I don't get how this is hypocritical unless they asked us not to fly. Also top politicians flying for diplomatic reasons is probably different to a bunch of lads jetting off to Las Vegas for a Conor McGregor fight, maybe some flights are more important than others.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,450 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

A coalition means there are others who could make the trip instead, which would allow the "Greens" to stand by the courage of their convictions and abstain from unnecessary long haul journeys.

That they clearly don't stand by their convictions is rather the issue, is it not?

There is now international consensus that we have just a decade to make the changes necessary to halt the warming of our planet and save our natural world. We need to rethink how we live, how we travel, how we work and how we consume.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,033 ✭✭✭Smee_Again

The gardai have made the decision that Ministers have personal protection and Ryan's will usually follow him on a bike, but may follow in a vehicle for operational reasons. It is not a ministerial car that is following him.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Arts Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 49,443 CMod ✭✭✭✭magicbastarder

ah, so if the greens said 'we won't go, but you go in our place and cause the same amount of CO2 production', people wouldn't accuse them of hypocrisy?

yes well they are making great strides on public transport and walking and cycling infrastructure in ireland, more public transport projects underway now than ever in the history of the state, so good news on that front and we will become far less car reliant with more options available. they haven't come up with an alternative to flying yet though and haven't asked anyone to stop flying.

Clearly sending someone else on the same journey wouldn't reduce the emissions.

Imagine the furore if they were insisting that members of other parties go on flights to ease their conscience.

They have a job to do on behalf of Ireland Inc. and the flight is just one of the tools they use to carry it out.

We live on an island so planes or ships are our only way to connect with other countries.

The government are just backing up the various state agencies who are always on every day of the year working to improve trade and get investment into the country.

The improvements to our economy mean more people can get jobs at home and they don't end up on planes.

Imagine the furore if they were insisting that members of other parties go on flights to ease their conscience.

Who says they had to insist on anything? Who says they were forcing others to go?

All they had to do was do nothing, to say nothing, to sit quietly and let the numerous other people in government go off on the jolly instead.

Do nothing and they easily avoid this entire situation, it would have been the easiest possible way to stand by their principles. Nobody would have criticised them, probably nobody would even have noticed exactly what ministers went where, the job still gets done, everybody wins.

Instead they get to look like big fat hypocrites. Well done lads.

And to those saying the emissions would still exist if others went, you are rather missing the point. Nobody expects the greens to remove all emissions at a stroke, or to be responsible for all emissions. But if they want to lecture on these things then they need to be seen to be doing all they can on their own part. The look of the thing is often as important as the substance. This isn't exactly complicated.

That still doesn't reduce the emissions that you are so worried about.

Instead of being cute hoors as you suggest they shape up and go to work for the country and still get called hypocrites for their trouble.

As for being a jolly long haul flights are anything but jolly.

They will have a full programme of events organised and even allowing for the down time they will be working hard.

That still doesn't reduce the emissions that you are so worried about.

You haven't even read my posts, have you? Give it a go there.

Every word including the edit paragraph you added.

If there is anything else you want to add it will have my full attention.

Travelling for work is horrible anyway. I used to think it'd be great and fun and glamorous but once you get sent away a few times it's just awful and screws with your life.