Advertisement
If you have a new account but are having problems posting or verifying your account, please email us on hello@boards.ie for help. Thanks :)
Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Not feeling Bench press in my chest

Options
  • 23-02-2023 11:49pm
    Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭

I have started back lifting recently having not done anthing properly for about 6 years. SO you could say I am a beginner.

I think I have a problem with my bench press and not being able to feel it in my chest. I seem to feel it mostly in my front delts and arms.

I have watched videos on form and I feel I am doing everthing right (arching your back, feet on the floor, squeezing your chest.

Any advice on how to fix this?

Is it just a case that the chest muscle has become too weak and that I will feel it more when it starts to grow?

Comments

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 3,091 Mod ✭✭✭✭Black Sheep

There are a couple of general observations to make, some of which might be relevant to you, but without seeing you bench it's hard to be certain.

Although 'mind muscle connection' and feeling a contraction in a muscle can be a useful guide it is not definitive and it's possible that even though you don't feel your pecs working hard when you're benching, they could still doing a lot of work or enough work to make the movement worthwhile. If your bench goes from 60kg to 120kg (for sake of argument) your chest will have grown.