Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ryan Tubridy to step down from Late Late role when season ends

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,642 ✭✭✭squonk

Jebus no! Miriam O’Callaghan would be the kiss of death for any younger audiences. I do think the older demo do seem to like her. I had a conversation with my mum recently where she was convinced she was a lovely genuine person but to me I think she’s full of it and her heartfelt empathy schtick is a complete act.

Id never bother tuning in if she got it. I’d say it’s be an even bigger turn off to audiences younger than I am. Sadly though she’s probably the only competent choice RTE have if they want a woman at the helm. I hope they’re braver though.

its a farce now

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,221 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Daithi flying solo on a few afternoon programmes recently. He also seems more groomed too.

You could get Conan O’Brien himself to present it and some lads would still be complaining about it. That’s because they think complaining is a personality trait.

Some just love to complain. I always give out about them.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,748 ✭✭✭Pelvis Parsley

I see the NUIG naysayers are back.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,446 ✭✭✭✭kneemos

Yates someone mentioned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,347 ✭✭✭Man Vs ManUre

The new presenter should be a blown up male sex doll with big erection and the voice can be done by Chat GPT program running from the green room.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,622 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,744 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

New presenter confirmed this afternoon!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,909 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Terrible boring, obnoxious. Smug face.

Would be a continuation after the previous 11 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Alibaba

Kathryn Thomas for the Late Late wouldn't be a bad choice , maybe an outside bet ...

• Registered Users Posts: 1,471 ✭✭✭Caquas

Sorry that this thread is obsessed with personalities and has no vision for the future of the LLS. The first issue is why, not who. No one can revive the LLS unless they have a fresh vision for the show i.e. they can answer the key question- why should RTÉ continue with the LLS? If the answer is "it brings in advertising revenue", then the commercial tail is wagging the public service dog and the issue is not just the LLS, it's RTE's whole model.

The LLS is a bizarre mix of light entertainment, human interest stories and serious debate on topical issues. It is unlike any other show I have ever seen and I tried to explain its origins in my earlier post. It is an anachronism is contemporary Ireland where no subject is taboo (at least none that RTÉ would want to highlight) and there is no need for Gaybo's sugar-coating. It is an anachronism smothered in decades of media nostalgia (Toy Show!).

The American and British chat shows also used to have a mix of light/serious discussion e.g. Carson, Cavett, Parkinson, but they avoided the heavy-weight social/political issues that made the LLS a national institution. Now, CBS has given up on James Corden's LLS while NBC's Tonight Show is extremely lightweight - Jimmy Fallon clowning around with A-listers. Seth Meyers Late Show is more political/satirical but has just half of Fallon's audience.

The issue for Kevin Bakhurst is whether to simply kill this baby now or to re-invent it as light entertainment and leave the heavy stuff to the current affairs professionals. As a journalist, he must wince when he sees a light-weight like Tubs getting into the political sphere. Jon Stewart's Daily Show was a brilliant mix of news and comedy. Obviously indebted to Hall's Pictorial Weekly,😉 But today's RTE is simply incapable of political satire. Graham Norton keeps going on the strength of his A-list couch and his spontaneous wit (he is the true heir to Terry Wogan, another great talent that fled RTÉ).

I would love to see the LLS split into a light entertainment chat show (maybe Angela Scanlon) and a political comedy show (HIGNFY). The heavy-weight stuff should be left to Current Affairs. I don't believe anyone can make the LLS formula work in today's Ireland but a couple of lively, witty, youthful and personable hosts could make a success of two shows, political satire on Friday night, light entertainment on Saturday night (or any other night RTÉ can get actual stars to appear before a live audience, even for a recorded show).

• Registered Users Posts: 201 ✭✭Howitzer the 5th

It's a poisoned chalice. Who'd touch it? Seriously. Tubridy saw it out unintentionally at any rate. The brand is irrevocably damaged as evidenced clearly by talented young women steering well clear of it's caverous pitfalls. They're not daft. It's not worth pursuing. That relic need root and branch reform and fresh thinking that's well beyond what constitutes management. Foresight and far reaching clarity ain't the preserve of that citadel of the damned.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

Lottie Ryan and Jennifer Zamparelli ruled themselves out of Late Late.

There are many people ruling themselves out who were probably never contenders...

Nobody wants the position.

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

Perhaps Eddie Hobbs or David McWilliams? Or a more youthful option of Foil, Arms and Hog?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,408 ✭✭✭Gadgetman496

I'm surprised So Sue Me hasn't ruled herself out prior to moving back to Portugal, or maybe she has?

"Everybody is a genius. But if you judge a fish by its ability to climb a tree, it will live its whole life believing that it is stupid."

• Registered Users Posts: 751 ✭✭✭techman1

In fairness to RTE they have done good political satire, callans kicks is successful and long running, Irish pictorial weekly and the savage eye were notable, the savage eye took no prisoners. It's general comedy sitcoms and light entertainment that they have had little success at lately. Gay byrne gave alot of comedians their big breaks, the unbelievables, Tommy Kiernan, Dylan Moran, Dermot Morgan at even pat Kenny let David mcsavage loose on the LLS for a memorable and risky set.

However since Ryan took over it has been ultra safe, only pat shortt or Mario rosenstock or some unknown woke comedians . There are a lot of funny Irish comics like John colleary and others from the savage eye that never get any exposure. When Dermot Morgan was having difficulty with his career, gay Byrne would put him on to give him a reboot. Even the Dubliners 25 anniversary special was put on as a favour to Ronny drew by Byrne in order to give them a reboot as they were actually in the doldrums a bit during the mid 80s playing relatively small venues in the country and little internationally

Yeah what’s needed now is a bit of edge with a decent presenter. I watched a show about Shay Healy earlier in the week and that covered nighthawks which was fairly innovative at tge time. I was just a small bit too young to really be tge desired demographic but it was good stuff.

im heading for 50 now but IMHO TLLS should have stuff that offends me at this stage. If they want a broad audience they need bands and comedians to suit me demographic (nostalgia) and stuff tge 20s and 30s demo find relevant. Not the safe bands that are usually on. What comedy are people in their 20s into?

Similarky I’m sure tge younger demographic now have broadly different views to relationships, drugs and other issues compared to myself. Air those. Get a debate going. Let me be scandalised by the stuff I hear. I’d tune in for all those.

Do away with the shîte valentines and country specials and misery porn. Nobody, and I Jean nobody wants the misery porn on a Friday night.

Callan’s Kicks is about as funny as discovering your family cat dead on the road.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,142 ✭✭✭mr_edge_to_you

I see a few comments referring to BoC. I reckon a) he's too smart to take it and b) he's more commercially valuable to RTE on the radio on Sat/Sun.

Rumours are that RTE are now in discussion with Sam Alderdyce and Harry Redknapp.

• Registered Users Posts: 502 ✭✭✭Alibaba

Ireland hasn’t done political comedy either before or since, like Dermot Morgan did political comedy with Scrap Saturday - and what did RTÉ do? Close the whole fcking show down.

Not a chance- HIGNFU is Paul Merton and Ian Hislop and if either of those two go, it’s dead- it’s been the same formula for over 30 years - Ireland never came close to it - Dermot Morgan and his team did, and they were whacked by the TV executive suits- Irish TV imitates world TV and in particular, UK and to a lesser extent, US TV- it doesn’t have an original bone in its body and crushes creativity and innovation

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,302 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Is Tommy Bowe a contender, he has been asking the hard questions on Ireland AM

I'd say weekly guest hosts to see who will fair best

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 306 ✭✭Rmgblue

When do we hope to find out?

The Saturday Live thing worked great back in tge day. Talk Show KN a Saturday night with guest presenters each week. Sometimes the presenters weee as notable as the guests. At one point they had Rhonda Paisley presenting, Big Ian’s daughter. Seems harmless now but was fairly notable at the time. Maybe try and resurrect tge guest host idea.

Not TLLS though - RTÉ are working the American model of big show and lesser show- but instead on same night, it’s the following night.

They may well adopt a “guest host” approach for TLLS ( albeit a dodgy strategy) but they will still require a main host- they know that we know that- there’s not one name mentioned in this thread I’d watch - all completely predictable no matter how far fetched- Miriam o Callaghan ruled herself out early on - I’m thinking she “might” become the chosen one and that this is all a charade and she’ll come out with a statement similar to “ I’ll do it for a few years and see how I get on”- thus completely neutralising the expectation and all that involves- and if it’s not her, I reckon the press release for who does get the role, will be a similar non committal low key affair, managing public expectation .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 33,909 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Maybe it's all set up for a big U-turn by Tubs, coming back on for another few series to save the day, and the show from collapse.

It's all turning into a big embarrassment for rte. The prime show in the country, supposedly world famous, biggest advertising revenue yet for some reason, no-one wants to host it.