Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

F1 2023 - Round 3: Australia

• Site Banned Posts: 12,341 ✭✭✭✭Faugheen

I think it was, considering how long it took them to clean up the track.

This is not the first time this has happened, btw.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,971 ✭✭✭This is it

A 5s penalty would see him last!? You'd hate to be a race director trying to figure this out

I know you have me on ignore because you can’t handle when your bollocks is challenged, but you have no problem when the rules are bent if it suits your agenda.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,568 ✭✭✭✭dulpit

Alonso gets his podium...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,529 ✭✭✭Luxembourgo

I thought the same in AbuDhabi, that was a robbery.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,483 ✭✭✭✭Vicxas

Race to restart with the previous laps order.

Well "race"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,529 ✭✭✭recyclebin

Hope no one breaks down on the last lap!

I’m stirring no pot. Anyone who thinks Abu Dhabi was ok but this isn’t needs to understand that what they cheered for in Abu Dhabi is now the precedent. Motor racing takes priority.

You were warned at the time but you didn’t listen.

If you want to go back further, you could argue there wasn’t a red flag needed in Baku 2021, but there was. This is not the first time this has happened.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,749 ✭✭✭✭ctrl-alt-delete

This last bit should be just done virtually. What a waste of time to complete the 'race'

Correct decision you feel, would have been very unfair to try and sort the order without a sector time. Bit silly they have to do a formation lap/final lap, but there you go.

I think they got it right. Everyone was treated equally unlike Abu Dhabi where some cars were not allowed to unlap themselves and some were.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,691 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

It'll be 2033 and some people will still bang on about Abu Dhabi with that giant chip on their shoulder.

There's as much drama here as there is at the race

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Longing

Race was not ended you were sturring the pot. Simple has that.

Sainz with a 5 second penalty

Sainz has a 5 second penalty

I think that is a very harsh penalty from that onboard.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 13,445 ✭✭✭✭flazio

It happened way before I was even born but that 1976 Japanese Grand Prix should never have run and Lauda was robbed of the title. 😋

This too shall pass.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 11,765 Mod ✭✭✭✭devnull

Lots of cars trying to stick to back of each other from restart now with Sainz having five second penalty.

Laugh if someone collided under safety car.

Kmag must be gutted that they changed the order. Could have been his first podium.

And Button with a valid point, the cars behind Sainz will be absolutely gunning it to be less than 5 seconds behind him.

It’s not a chip. Abu Dhabi set this precedent. And those who cheered Abu Dhabi are some who are calling this a disgrace and calling for the race director to be sacked.

I said at the time that manipulating the rule book in the name of entertainment and motor racing would come back to bite those who celebrated Abu Dhabi in the arse. And lo and behold, it has right here and they don’t like it.

Don’t call this a chip on my shoulder when I’m just speaking facts off the face of the same people whinging when a decision doesn’t go the way of Max Verstappen.

Lets not even get into Senna/Prost and Schumacher/Hill then :D

Race wasn’t ended when there were calls for the race director to be sacked, yet I’m the one stirring the pot.

Funny how that’s not an issue though, and me pointing out hypocrisy is.

Bit harsh but another disaster for Ferrari

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,783 ✭✭✭quokula

Ignoring the fact that Sainz tried to leave room and normally penalties are never given for incidents like that on turn one, applying a five second penalty under these circumstances is another absolute circus.

Gasly and Sainz were arguably the two drivers of the day and they’ve been completely robbed by this farce.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

I didn't say it was the first time. I also don't believe AD was correctly handled either. You need to stop assuming people who don't agree with you are automatically Verstappen fans who can't see reality. It's as tiring as the Verstappen fans themselves.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,041 ✭✭✭Brian CivilEng

This has descended into a farce. Dangerous announcing that penalty now.

There was still competent stewarding back then, I am going all the way back to 76 to find an example of organisational incompetence.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 516 ✭✭✭Lawlesz

That's harsh on Sainz

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,176 ✭✭✭Longing

You were the one who quoted me. You said : your boy won, lads. Stop pretending you actually car about anything else.

Race not ended and yes you were stirring the pot.

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators Posts: 10,708 Mod ✭✭✭✭Andrew76

Man I fecking love this sport. Even if it is a complicated mess at times. 😂

I was talking about Baku 21 when in reply to you. Red flag with a couple of laps left, full restart.

This isn’t the first time it has happened. And give me a full restart over SC finish every day of the week.

It genuinely baffles me how anybody could be opposed to it.

Max was never going to lose this race once the last red flag went out, so how is that ****-stirring?

Genuinely have no idea what your point is here.

Yeah the restart was great even if I was **** it as a Max fan. 😁

So Sainz was doomed to finish last cause there was no timing at the end?

Because everyone else passed the start/finish within 5s of him I think

That was well worth getting up for. Australia is usually shite as well.

Yeah I think the four DRS zones probably helped, I enjoyed that race.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

I’ve only posted here a few times but F1 fan for 30 years, I’ve had a few spells where I didn’t follow it as closely as I would have, Iam getting to that stage now, the Netflix series wrecks my head for some reason, the crazy stewards have messed up so much **** the past few years. It’s frustrating to watch at times, it’s pretty infuriating in regards to the inconsistency

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,545 ✭✭✭✭Cookie_Monster

so they can use the cameras and data to prove Sainz caused the crash and give him a penalty but cannot use the same cameras to ascertain car positions and instead reset to the last sector like nothing has happened? If nothing has happened then you cant give Sainz a penalty surely...

Why can they do one but not the other, either way?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,405 ✭✭✭KillerShamrock

The after magnesun restart was the right thing to do. It levels the field and actually adds to entertainment. The last lap was pointless they should count back and end the race instead. It's not the FIA's fault the drivers couldn't drive a few laps with out causing chaos. The sainz penalty is a farce did that lap exist or not?

First thing Hamilton says about his performance was to mention Russell’s bad luck.

Contrast to Jeddah.

Sainz deserved the penalty. A lot of cars didn't finish because of him hitting Alonso.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,990 ✭✭✭Cool_CM

Getting rid of that chicane last year was a great call!

Best race of the season so far i think, 3 weeks now until Azerbaijan tho

Shame Red Bull are so far ahead. Would be great if those 3 were all in closely matched cars.

Had that Sainz incident happened on the lap one start, I promise you that would have been chalked as a racing incident no further action. I think we might have another appeal like we had in Saudi a couple of weeks ago.

This too shall pass.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,036 ✭✭✭Carcharodon

Verstappen and Red Bull are miles ahead, will be a boring year at the top

Is that the most decorated podium ever? 11 world championships between them.