Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Clerical Officer NSSO

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 145 ✭✭Gympodie

Not yet, I emailed them, they said they are currently in the shortlisting process, and we will hear feedback in the coming weeks. Yikes

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 yuppiaa

well lads, I applied for Tullamore and have just heard back about next stage. Best of luck to you all

Same here, is there a minimum number of questions you have to answer in time allocated? Will you be practicing beforehand?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 106 ✭✭dells35

Did ye complete the apptitude test yet? How did ye find it? Didn't do it yet myself

Not yet, I want to practice first. Hopefully, in the next few days.

I went on to go practice too ,and it's just bringing me straight to the exam....can't seem to find the practice questions like in previous apptitude tests

Yeah, that is a pity. I am practicing using those free aptitude tests that you find online. It's not great, but at least it's something. I wonder is there a minimum limit of questions you have to answer. I remember the Garda Siochana aptitude tests - you had to answer like 30 q's in 12 minutes. Crazy stuff!

I done it this evening one of them was 34 questions in 20mins . Can't remember how many questions was in the other one. But I completed both before the time ran out. But saying that I don't know how good I done.

Some were and some weren't,I thought the questions at the start of the verbal reasoning ones were difficult and didn't make sence to me

I completed mine today. You are right about the Verbal Reasoning, some through me off, I didn't know whether some were 'false' or 'Cannot Say'. I completed them all, but some were guess work. I wonder what the threshold is.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23 yuppiaa

hey everyone, what did you all think of the online assessment? I feel nearly out of breath after doing it but glad it’s done. They don’t make it easy on us anyways!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 131 ✭✭rosknight

Anyone hear back from this.

Not yet, it is at least two weeks since the closing date for completion of the assessments. I wonder how long does it take them to give feedback.

Awfully slow process. At this rate the start date could very well be after Christmas!

Passed through to the next stage

Well done dells35, do you mind me asking what score you got and what batch they put you in?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 jack40

What are peoples opinion on the questions in the exam?

Way over the top for CO grade and too "British" related.

Mid 50ties they said they would be interviewing either quarter 1 or 3 of 2025

I got the exact same result. Long enough before we are interviewed.

Ya that's what I thought too,raging it's so far away. But at least we got through to the next stage

Did you go through to the next stage?what number did you get?

Say hypothetically, it is late into quarter 2 when we are interviewed, and they are running another campaign this time next year. Will our time be expired, or be carried forward onto the next campaign?

I don't know,but this panel is 18months. That's what's on the application

The time frame for this is wild, potentially a year until you're called for interview… to be on a panel? They were better off just picking one batch of candidates and running a new campaign next year if they needed to.

Yeah, I hope that the timeframe for the interviews aren't set in stone, and that we will be called earlier.

I was pretty shocked when I seen it first. You wouldn't want to be just solely waiting for this role.

Hopefully ,but I doubt it will be earlier. Bit disappointed too that it is so far away

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Birchcat

I received my panel placement for Tullamore three days ago, scored a spot in the mid twenties (batch 1, I got lucky as my interview got moved up from batch 2). No idea how many vacancies they have, I'm expecting nothing until next year. Also agree with most of you regarding the online test, a lot of it seemed entirely irrelevant and purposefully confusing. Best of luck to anyone who still has interviews ahead!

WEll done. Did you find the interview hard? I'm in batch 2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2 Birchcat

Not too bad, although it was my first competency based interview and I personally don't like having to "prepackage" perfectly fitting scenarios to match the questions. For example, I've never worked in a directly customer facing environment, but still had to deliver an example of "a time when I delivered excellent customer service". I'm not surprised that some people just make up experiences, because it feels somewhat punitive to be straightforward in those cases. The interviewers were lovely though, one was from Sigmar and the other from within the NSSO.

Congrats. You'll be amazed how the nonsense of online testing matches the real world of payroll and customer expectations.

As soon as you get access to the HR side of your login, register for mobility moves. You need to wait 2 years but the clock starts ticking from application date.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 beem50

Does anyone have an indication of the time period between receiving formal offer to an actual start date? Thanks

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5 kikicatena

beem50 I got my formal offer on September 12th and then last Friday (20th) I was given my start date of mid-October!

Thanks so much for the reply! Congrats on getting your start date! Did you have to do Garda vetting first or how does it work? Sigmar told me NSSO would be in touch within a week (it’s been about a week now), and I’m dying to get a start date and away from job I’m in

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42 Saul Goodman 91

I placed 31 in Dublin. I was wondering if anyone could tell me how fast the panel moves?

I was lucky to be interviewed in the first batch, but I am aware it could take some time until I receive an offer of a placement.

Thanks a million!! I was the same, I'm just dying to get out of my current job and couldn't wait to hand in my notice 😅 Sigmar told me a week also and that was on the Thursday and then the following Friday the NSSO got in touch with a start date and then a load of forms to sign and fill out including a form to give permission for garda vetting, I've returned them all but i haven't gotten the link yet for the e-vetting. So hoping to get that soon.

I was placed 3rd in Galway, I got the email telling me my place and the next day I had a position offered! So they obviously had a certain amount of positions to fill straight away!

lol I placed third in Galway too 😂 thanks for all the info, it’s such a relief to hear, was worried it would be Garda vetting first and then start date so I’m delighted they do it all in one! I’ve heard they do the short Garda vetting so only takes like 1-2 weeks so fingers crossed ☺️

Congratulations!! 😂 Were we joint third?? 🤣 That's a coincidence!! Sure I might see you in a few weeks then! Hoping to get the vetting link soon so everything is set before I start!

I’d say we must have been on 2 different panels if you’ve been called first 😆 I heard they had a good few positions to fill.. at least there’ll be plenty of newbies, we’ll all be in the same boat 😅 I’m sure you will, and at least you’ve a start date now so they have to honour that ☺️ best of luck with starting 🍀

Thanks a million, I hope you hear from the NSSO today or tomorrow, get the ball rolling!! Best of luck!

Can anybody please advise how quickly the panel for Dublin moves? I would greatly appreciate any insight or feedback.

I am now located at the low 20's and am not expected to be called this year. I know they are interviewing a second batch of people in the new year.

At the moment I am unemployed and am looking at options to get a job in between if I can. I really would love to be back in a routine again and having no financial worries.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1 allgoodthings

The NSSO are also filling CO appointments using the 2024 Open Clerical Officer competition, so even though you are ranked low 20’s, it’s anyone’s guess how long it will be considering the are using their own panel AND the open CO panel. Were you told by Sigmar that you won’t be placed this year?

Thanks for your response. Sorry for my delay in only seeing it now, I never received the notification.

Yeah, I basically was told I wasn't being placed this year by Sigmar. They said that of course this was open to change.

As much as I want the job, I am not going to wait around for it and am going to continue to interview for other positions as well.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 MBM71

Hi just wondering if anyone applied and got placed in NSSO through the 2024 Clerical Officer Panel expression of interest. If there is big demand for it and they already had run a campaign through sigmar this year I’m just wondering why they did another EOI. I applied just wondering if I should forget about it and apply for other departments.

I applied for the NSSO directly. I was shown the link to apply by my welfare officer, who told me it would be a great foot in the door, etc. I followed their advice and applied, put big effort into each stage of the recruitment process and even paid for an interview skills course. I did the initial assessment in April, then another assessment in June. I was interviewed in July and then heard in early September that I was placed low 30's for Dublin on the panel and I was overjoyed. It wasn't the highest score, but I was pleased to be on the panel at least.

I thought maybe by now I would probably be called. I have been told by a friend in the civil service that they are crying out for staff and they can't get them because of the low pay. He said that because I went through Sigmar it is possibly the problem, although I did apply initially through the government website.

I am not going to hold out for it anymore; as when I am called, I know it will then be another long process in checking my references, etc. My Welfare has been cut to the bone already and I need a job soon. I would advise to you to maybe look at other departments.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28 MBM71

Thanks a mil for your reply. Fingers crossed you get something soon I don’t blame you being browned off waiting. I’m in no rush really as I’m working, so happy to wait it out. . I just really would love that one, was thrilled to see the NSSO EOI go out. My background/experience in that area and location suits me perfectly. To get it would be all the stars aligning tbh and I’d be willing to wait until they get to me I’m just afraid I’ll get to clearance first and be placed in another department then be pulled off the NSSO panel 🙈 First world problems I know!