Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

Trespass to land by a family member

• 23-04-2023 11:40pm
    Registered Users Posts: 2

As above…should the Gardai have any powers whereby a direct family member consistently trespasses on the land of a parent (not main family home) and tries to maintain the property and causes annoyance?

TIA

Post edited by Spear on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,354 ✭✭✭✭endacl

You, or whoever you're referring to, should probably just stop acting the maggot.

• Registered Users Posts: 2 justoutofcuriosity_

I’m afraid it’s not that simple

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,289 ✭✭✭Deeec

Are you the parent in the situation?

How is this person causing annoyance? Have they being told by the parent not to enter the property?

• Moderators, Computer Games Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators, Help & Feedback Category Moderators Posts: 25,532 CMod ✭✭✭✭Spear

This has nothing to do with DRP. Moved to a forum that's actually related to the topic instead.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,550 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

You'll probably find "It's a civil matter". Do you have any grounds to apply to court for an injunction to exclude them from access to the property or carrying out any work at the property?

As it is your parent's property, do they have grounds for an injunction and is it something they would consider doing?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 28,813 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Is that person causing annoyance to the parent or to the OP or other siblings? What is the nature of the annoyance? Have they been asked to desist? How much more is there to this story? Is the parent incapacitated and the person is trying to be helpful but the OP feels they are trying to establish a claim on the property (whether or not this is the case).

• Registered Users Posts: 650 ✭✭✭steinbock123

More details needed please.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭NUTLEY BOY

Impossible to answer in the absence of more information.

Generally, I am lead to wonder if the alleged trespasser is engaging in a course of conduct with a view to establishing some sort of right by usage. If that is what is at play positive steps need to be taken by the owner to stop the conduct or acquiescence may be inferred.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,306 ✭✭✭Claw Hammer

You are entitled to call the guards and say you have atrespasser on your property who refuses to leave. There is an offence of trespass with intent to commit an offence. If they are doing something unwanted to the property they are committing criminal damage.

It may also be possible to get a safety order from the District Court if there is a threat of violence to the parent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,716 ✭✭✭✭Peregrinus

This is so if "you" are the parent, or somebody acting on the parent's authority. If you're not the property-owner, or acting with the authority of the property-owner, this is basically none of your business.