Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie
Hi all! We have been experiencing an issue on site where threads have been missing the latest postings. The platform host Vanilla are working on this issue. A workaround that has been used by some is to navigate back from 1 to 10+ pages to re-sync the thread and this will then show the latest posts. Thanks, Mike.

2023-24 UEFA Champions League

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,614 ✭✭✭The Golden Miller

Jaysus, I was way off with Atleti. Still, Pep undone again by, not the best defensive team, but by a good workmanlike team. Serious limitations to his style, and when there are good defensive and workmanlike teams, will always get found out when it matters

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 38,976 ✭✭✭✭eagle eye

I'm delighted Madrid won but they were blessed. City were by far the better team and just couldn't find the net. It could easily have been 3 or 4-1 on the night.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,124 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Nothing makes me happier than when Pep loses a game after controlling it all match and having all the possession.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,607 ✭✭✭TheCitizen

why do Man City fans sing hey Jude from the Liverpool band? What’s that about

1968 when it was released City won the second division. Google is your friend

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,635 ✭✭✭theoneeyedman

I think what they need I'd MORE central defenders, 4 or 5 big, defensive players is obviously not enough.

As I said yesterday, for all their possession, they didn't endanger the Real goal all that much, and a slip from the otherwise excellent Ruddiger gifts them the goal they did get.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭golfball37

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,049 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Lunin made about 15 saves, but they were all comfortable saves.

For all the possession, City didn't trouble madrid that much when you look at it from dangerous chances.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,610 ✭✭✭IncognitoMan

It's actually in hommage to the first European cup won by Manchester Utd in 1968 😂

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,518 ✭✭✭✭DvB

Looking at the highlights, for me City looked far more of a threat when Grealish was taken off. He might be a fine player but he's awful for slowing down the play & looking for free kicks (borderline cheating most of the time IMO) and I'm not sure he suits peps system to be honest.

"I will honour Christmas in my heart, and try to keep it all the year" - Charles Dickens

City have failed to beat a few sides over the years in Europe when they are well drilled and organized. Real aren't even a team that has a lot of practice playing this way but they do have the players to hurt anyone on the break so are always dangerous even when sitting back.

Real had a plan and worked it brilliantly. Calculated risk is what I would call it. You'll won't stop City (or any really good football side) from ever getting a shot. So accepting they will have chances you can make sure the quality and time they have to take those shots is as little as possible.

It will require some luck, a lot of ties in Europe require an element of luck. It's the nature of a cup competition. On another night City could have had everything go right for them and they walk into the Semi-finals.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,907 ✭✭✭munchkin_utd

and looking at the results Man Utd and Newcastle are specifically to blame because if they had not shockingly come last in their groups, they would have got a bonus for proceeding to the next round albeit in the Europa league, and then more points if they got some draws and wins against relatively easy opposition.

Newcastle had a rather hard group so could be excused (although if the english logic is right that Paris and Dortmund are from inferior sub par worthless leagues with no proper game practice, an English team worth a billion euro should have been beating them off the field, you would have thought) but Utd managed to come last in a group with Copenhagen and Galatasary which is inexcusable. Even if they just drew their home game to Galatasary, and them winning 2-1 with 20 minutes to go, they would have gotten 3rd and entry to the Europa league and England likely an extra champions league place as a result.

Donkeys.

They won the second division now called the championship and Hey Jude was the popular song at the time

• Registered Users Posts: 258 ✭✭Suvarnabhumi

In '68 the won the 1st division, now known as the Premier League. It was also the last time they won it without cheating.

you’re right had to google again there. 1967/68 was their second first division/EPL title. Franny Lee Mike Summerbee et al

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Yeah Man United were shocking considering the group they were in. Plus how they repeatedly threw away leads. It was funny to watch at how mentally fragile they are/were. No real fight/organisation.

The fact that the younger home grown lads McTominay, Mainoo stood up since should put the “high profile names” to shame. Garrnacho although not home grown did brilliant since he came in.

I think a lot of those Man United players that are in that side for a long time were too comfortable.

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

You might be shocked to find out that Scott McTominay is 27 years old… Home grown yes, but he is a senior member of the squad now.

Bang on with the rest of it though. It's as fragile a group of players as they come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,913 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Jayus, is he that old? I thought he was around 23 ish!

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

Yeah him and Rashford (26) are ones that everyone seems to still think of as young progressing players but the truth is they are in their "prime" now basically with years of experience behind them.

Scott is closing in on 200 Utd appearances and Rashford is closing in on 300.

Perhaps Google isn’t your friend given recent reports. I digress.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 22,287 ✭✭✭✭citytillidie

Semi-Final 1st Legs (20:00 Kick-offs)
    Tuesday 30th April

FC Bayern München (GER) V Real Madrid CF (ESP) - Live on TNT Sports 1 / RTE Two

Wednesday 1st May
    Borussia Dortmund (GER) V Paris Saint-Germain (FRA) - Live on TNT Sports 1 / Virgin Media Two

yea, champions league is on tonight but with the English media almost ignoring it, boards users seem to be uninterested too.

I'll be watching it. Hoping for a Real Vs Dortmund final.

Around the dinner table today at work, when I said "should be a good game tonight ", a Liverpool fan replied, "why who is playing".

Sums up epl fans. Nothing exists outside of the epl.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,661 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

Sure they couldnt even get motivated to play Atalanta at home in the Europa cup. European specialists me hole - but if they had got to Dublin for the final it would have been the most important game of the year in any competition international or club, obviously. (its still only the europa cup, even if your favourite team or trainer is in it or wins it)

Anyhow, yea, on paper and with the traditional help of the ref / "rub of the green" Real would be considered favourites both today and over the 2 legs but if Bayern can stay reasonably solid in defence and avoid rash challenges that only against Real you get frees/ penos awarded or lads sent off for, they could overcome Real. Theres enough world cup and Champions league winners in Bayern to not be too intimidated coming up against Real/ Uefa

On the other side, jesus, Dortmund are so inconsistent this year that you wouldnt fancy them, but if you were to ask that there liverpool fan from the dinner table they would tell you that teams foundering about in the league not having won it for decades can still make a run to a very unexpected Champions league final if not title.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,661 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

If it had been City I would have been very worried for it to be a one sided affair. But Real is something Bayern has done before and can do again. They wouldnt be afraid of them for sure. Come on Bayern!

Overcome Real/uefa. Yeah it's all a fix, sure that's the only reason they win so many CLs.

Or perhaps its Franco doing it.

• Registered Users Posts: 531 ✭✭✭Infoseeker1975

Atalanta were the better team so deserved to go through. You have serious issues with Liverpool:)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

should be a fun match. Think Real will take the tie comfortably enough overall with the second leg in Madrid, but I could see tonight’s game being tight enough.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,089 ✭✭✭✭Fitz*

Very little coverage of the CL semi finals in the English media. You wouldn't know they are on. Tbf, there's been feck all coverage in the Irish media either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,606 ✭✭✭Damien360

Anyone know if the Livescore app is restricted in NI ? Away for the night. It won't be showing the game but directs me to TNT via discovery plus.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,258 ✭✭✭✭y0ssar1an22

sky have always been crap at reporting on games they do not have.

torn on who i want to win tonight, prob just leaning bayern. real have won it enough and have a dodgy enough past. but i cant stand kane.

on the other side, dortmund.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,179 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Bayern should be 1-0 up in under a minute. Tame enough finish by Sane, keeper saves it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,023 ✭✭✭✭~Rebel~

I'd like a narrow Bayern win for tonight - think Real will definitely win in Madrid, so Bayern need to be going there with something to hold onto to keep it alive and exciting.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,041 ✭✭✭Pipmae

Leandro Trossard reffing the Bayern v Real Madrid game. 😉

the constant circle jerk over bellingham is annoying. he has a long way to go before you can compare him to zidane.

vini junior, 1-0

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,124 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

Very old school Carlito goal. 00's Milan style.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,528 ✭✭✭✭retalivity

That is criminal by Dier & mainly Kim, leaving that much space in the middle

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,722 ✭✭✭golfball37

some pass

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 33,248 CMod ✭✭✭✭ShamoBuc

Keeper really should have come for that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,507 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Good work from the cameraman picking up the hot women in the crowd.

Reminds me of the specific thread for one of Euros on here back in the glory days.

What's Kane's usual role in Bayern. He is playing almost midfield tonight, very deep and recycling the ball.

Real are very calm under pressure and seem happy to let Bayern have the ball in their own half. Bayern pressed deep for about 25 mins and then stopped.

Tuchel is incredibly animated on the sideline.

Surely the tackle on Bellingham in the last few mins should have been a sending off as it was last man and a clear goal scoring chance. Poor free kick off Kane resulted.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,462 ✭✭✭Acosta

Kim has been a disappointment this season. Expected a lot more from him