Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Enough is enough? Dublin north inner city crime

• Registered Users Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭saabsaab

They may not be able to travel if it's a good way out too much trouble and organization needed. Serve as a warning to others too.

True it would make another getto but it could have less opportunities for trouble if designed well.

As for cost if there was a mass Dublin clearance some properties could be sold for quite a sum to fund any new ghetto. Why should such troublemakers be housed in the most expensive parts of the country?

• Registered Users Posts: 9,659 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

They travel up and down to sell & score, they won't settle there.

But believe me, there's a lot more addicts from all over the country and beyond in Dublin than there are anywhere else in the country! That's been that way since before drugs when it was just booze, older men back from backbreaking work in the UK with chronic alcohol addiction. More places to sleep, more soup kitchens, more food, more charity, more hostels and more begging opportunities. But there seems to be little point in conversing with you any further. You seem to be miserable in your little bubble.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,539 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

They'd need sterilisation pre-puberty. They have started there convictions before then and breed ASAP.

• Registered Users Posts: 432 ✭✭Danny2580

As far fetched as this might be, I kind of agree. There simply isn't a deterrent for the type of behaviour that is going on. Armed garda, let the dirtbags take a bullet, ask questions later. Fully understand that this approach has its own repercussions but if there is no consequence, there is no deterrent. Offenders need their lives to be made difficult, in some way. There is a disregard for normal law and order, and indeed human life, creeping into Dublin City and it needs dealt with urgently.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,990 ✭✭✭Straight Talker

Well regardless of whether they live there or not, they're very noticeable and visible! I've always found the south city centre around Grafton Street to be a world away from O'Connell Street. The north city centre is quite obviously a place, that needs to be avoided if possible at this stage.

Cork 1990 All Ireland Senior Hurling and Football Champions

Jesus. @pjohnson & the purposeful prepubescent targeting. That's pretty rough stuff even for current affairs.

Your gas. I bring my kids there most Saturdays for food & shopping. I just showed my 11 year old your post, she's laughing at you! Hopefully @pjohnson doesn't target her for his cruel sterilisation jolly.

It'd stop one branch pre-bred career criminals.

Lawyers would be going out of business.

Stop the gaslighting mate. I consider the north city centre to be dangerous at worst and dodgy at best. I'm sure there's even locals themselves who'd agree with me.

• Registered Users Posts: 24,026 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

Garda retention IS in crisis.

Thousands of members are departing long before their service is up and their pension maxed. There are just under 1,000 fewer Guards now than the height of the pandemic. Each recruit class target is coming up 40% short of applicants.

Someone very close to me is among those leaving. He is 44, He has 18 years service and his physical and mental health, as well as his family life, can no longer withstand the toll that the shift work, the work itself and the constant overtime to compensate for staff shortages is putting on him. He is a guy that has always looked after himself, but he is aging prematurely before my eyes.

This is just one story. Its a widespread tale of housing issues, financial issues, mental health, intolerable and competing work pressures.

I've heard from more than a few coppers than Commissioner Harris' model of intensified specialisation has meant that there is less and less people left behind to do the bread-and-butter Garda role; patrolling the streets, community engagement, responding to petty criminal and anti-social behaviour.

Harris and Helen McEntee and anyone else responsible must learn what the people need and want on the street is the most important thing, not what some bullshyt Harvard management course told some arselicker Assistant Commissioner is the best generic way to run a police force. A boxticker in a pretty braided hat.

Ah tbf the sort that find that place "safe" generally dont target each other. They sniff out those with less than 20 convictions to prey on.

Gaslighting? Where did I do that? You think the Northside should be avoided, my 11 year old daughter thinks that's funny, there you go, cry me a river.

I'm sorry my truth doesn't live up to your perception. PM me for good eats on the Northside.

I think you have some sort of vested interest (a business owner or involved in the tourism board) with regards to some of your posts on this thread. It really is delusional head in the sand sort of stuff.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,138 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

Drop all this sterilisation nonsense

• Registered Users Posts: 8,168 ✭✭✭saabsaab

Many incidents don't even get reported or make the headlines. In spite of this stuff going on for a long time nothing effective has been done.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,880 ✭✭✭amacca

I've said it before and I'll say it again...

Have actual consequences that scumbags won't like been considered or would that be a mad idea altogether.

Can you blame any garda for doing feck all...even if they had the manpower they don't know when they go out to actually do their job if they are going to be the subject of an investigation they won't find out about for two years hanging over them for god knows how long.....look what happens when they do put it up to the scum.

There is something seriously wrong with a system where the end product is antisocial thugs with hundreds of previous convictions wandering around free as a bird to reoffend .... and the problem isn't that we are failing to rehabilitate them imo.

Bring back actual deterrents/consequences for scumbag behaviour and you won't eliminate it but you will reduce it to a more acceptable level.

Continue to allow the revolving door to revolve and the associated industries thrive and the bullshit will continue...its a pity the scumbags can't be geofenced into leafy south dublin suburbs or similar well to do areas around the country...I'd say they wouldn't be long changing their behavior.

• Registered Users Posts: 303 ✭✭davepatr07

I was thinking about writing to TDs including local TDs about certain issues in this country that are needing to be badly tackled and addressed (justice, health, housing) inc to the MOJ.

This incident has tipped me over into actually getting down to contacting them by email and by letter... I don't give a sh@te how many times they ignore me but there's no use complaining on boards or online news media forums, ya need to get out there and contact your TDs keep hounding them and if they come around canvassing to your door address it to their face, and threaten not to vote for them in the elections..

I wish we were as motivated as the French to protest. TDs are a public service, and spend our taxes. We should have a say and give them feedback on how this country is being run instead of turning a blind eye or just hoping for the best things will magically turn out OK.

As the saying goes, insanity is doing the same thing over and over again and expecting different results. Change needs to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,670 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

The justice system may be a joke that needs serious reform but if Garda are present on the street, and people see them, it will make people feel a lot safer particularly around the area in question.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Northernlily

I read your post as "Ah sure it's grand"

And that's the problem. Being comfortable with mediocrity. I'm alright Jack. Don't expect better.

We can always do better and we should always be improving. Not going backwards as we so very obviously are due to the lack of investment into policing, dereliction, infrastructure like prisons, metros and everything else that should happen automatically in line with population increases. It's not a time to be tightening the purse strings.

It's not hysteria, Dublin is a tiny city centre with a huge suburban sprawl. The problems are happening in a very small concentrated area where tourists, workers, addicts and degenerate scumbags share the same pavements. That makes it more noticeable and there should be no excuses on resolving the issues as it now threatens to severely damage our reputation and worst of all innocent people are dying because of it.

That is happening.

Post edited by Northernlily on

• Registered Users Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

To those who think going into Dublin City Centre (Northside mainly), is safe and all that, please tell me what reason anyone would have to visit there? The Rotunda, the Gate, Chapter one. Anything else?

I was waiting for a friend yesterday on Westmoreland Street at the junction with Fleet Street. Thousands of Dubs and tourists milling around. Two dead zone zombies asleep outside a shop at 11am. They appear to have had nowhere to go to the jacks also given the state of the path around them. I phoned the gardai, who are across the road in Pearse Street, and they noted it and said a patrol would be around soon. My friend, the fecker was half an hour late which put me in a mood anyway, but no Garda arrived in that time. I did see that both men were breathing, so they were alive but sleeping dead.

Fed up with the way the natives are treated, to hell with the tourists. We have to live here all year round, and there is very little to entice me into the city anymore, even on the Sythe Soide. Not an outside cafe, not a bench, must be designed to just keep you walking and moving, no loitering. Sure we are all criminals and junkies right?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,658 ✭✭✭suvigirl

And wait till November when he spreads those frontline uniform members currently on 4 units over 5 units instead........

• Registered Users Posts: 2,997 ✭✭✭downtheroad

Admirable but unfortunately you just get a stock answer, copy and paste, your point is well noted, policies are being updated blah blah blah amd nothing changes.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,953 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

The most obvious thing to me is that those who make decisions about Dublin seem to have little or no connection with the place. That is not right. Garda Comissioner, Minister for Justice, City Manager, all AFAIK live outside the city centre and have no conception except in their head about how things really are on the ground.

Sick of the inaction. Don't know what to do about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,841 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

• Registered Users Posts: 25,317 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

The law, quite simply is no longer a deterrent.

why ?

not enough Gardai

not enough prison places

a distinct lack of credible and effective judges

and at the top, piss poor politicians with no political will or interest in safeguarding wellbeing, property, finances of decent law abiding people….

country is fûcked and we are nowhere near as fücked as we will be in say 7 or 8 years…

• Registered Users Posts: 10,381 ✭✭✭✭tom1ie

And the scum won’t care as they know they’ll be let straight out.

Ok, but I didn’t say that the guards couldn’t act kind to decent people?

I can't apologise for the fact that you can't or refuse to enjoy what I enjoy. I'm surprised it's met with suspicion and conspiracies on your behalf. As I said at the get go one man's Botticelli is another man's Hieronymus Bosch, what you find dangerous my 11 year old daughter doesn't. Get your head around it, get over it.

Speaking of art & subjectivity, there's an Andy Warhol exhibition in the Hugh Lane Gallery in the North inner city starting in October. I'd strongly recommend. Again, PM me for good eats in the area if your'e interested.

Yeah I get what your saying but if you add more guards, arrests will increase which looks great- until you realise they’re arresting the same people the judges are letting out all the time!

• Registered Users Posts: 1,167 ✭✭✭Quitelife

Tourists should be warned about the dangers of staying in hotels or walking round the north inner city - the government should admit it doesn’t control parts of the north inner city anymore - It’s now controlled by scummbags.