Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

New tractor to the Irish market....

• Registered Users Posts: 6,994 ✭✭✭kevthegaff

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

If it's a pile of rubbish that's worthless after 2 years it's not better value than a Gator.

• Registered Users Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

Image 5 looks like an Arbos. Wonder if there is a link.

• Registered Users Posts: 598 ✭✭✭Fine Day

You be better off with a second hand from tried and trusted brand of the same cost as one of them new. I wouldn't like to be the guinea pig with a new make to the market. And who knows they could be the finest. Trading it in might be an issue when the time comes after.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,583 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Chinese tractors.

Hope they do well and are somewhat mechanically proficient.

The monopoly on tractor manufacturing in the Western hemisphere is worrying.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,583 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

• Registered Users Posts: 1,427 ✭✭✭hopeso

Let's hope the tractors are a bit more polished than the tour guide......

• Registered Users Posts: 19,827 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Would be far better buying something like a MF240 or MF350, or if you wanted something that felt a little more modern, something like this https://www.donedeal.ie/tractors-for-sale/massey-ferguson-4215/34543683 . They'll be cheaper than those to buy now, you will be get parts easily, and they'll be worth more than the Chinese yoke in 10 years.

I think there are even companies that make those old 200 or 300 series MFs on licence for export and I think they would be similar price or less than those Chinese yokes. Not the Hattatt type knock-off but actual branded MF on licence. And there was that garage in Kerry that built either a 135 or 165 from parts for less than that

I'd say you'd be unlikely to get a Chinese brand that would stand the test of time. I think in the 90's when you started seeing the likes of Valtra, they were met with suspicion. And also later with Kubota to a lesser extent. But neither of those were Chinese.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭148multi

They must be fairly confident, 10 year warranty. I know a few lads that would test it.

Might just be confident that they won't be around in a few years to honour it

• Registered Users Posts: 2,215 ✭✭✭DBK1

There was a local man here bought a new Chinese loader around 6 or 8 years ago. A few weeks after he got it I met his brother one day and asked him what the loader was like as price wise it seemed very good value.

His answer was; “If you want a machine that you can bring to a scrapyard in 10 years time and it’ll be worth absolutely nothing, then that’s the machine to buy!”

They’d have been doing very little work for the size of a machine it was and would be top class machinery men when it’d come to maintenance and servicing and they still got plenty of grief with it. It was sold on around a year ago for very small money and they were happy enough to let it go.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,807 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

I worked for a company before that supplied industrial machines to process metal parts such as gears, drive shafts, hydraulic manifolds etc. To give you an insight into the difference between German Engineering and Chinese engineering - We sold machines to this German company that produce really top quality transmissions (don't want to name them but well known). They sent over a team of Engineers and went tru everything with a fine-tooth comb. Every component, every wire, every hydraulic pipe had to be labelled. Even the machine manual, they sat down and went tru every single page. Took over 6 hours for that alone.

Now in contrast, the Chinese arrived over another time and just looked briefly at the machine. Asked no questions, disappeared and headed off shopping again. We thought it was hilarious, as we normally get grilled with questions with new customers. They just looked at the colour of the finished parts and as they were told that a good part was a certain colour when processed right (not true), they were happy with that.

Post edited by patsy_mccabe on

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭jaymla627

New holland switched a good few components bearing wise on their tractors from 2017 onwards to factories from China, anything below this year would last twice as long gearbox wise if minded serviced regularly....

• Registered Users Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

China makes sh1te products for people who want to buy sh1te products. It also makes the iPhone and numerous other highly advanced products for people who ask them to make quality products.

I recall the same being said when Japan first started exporting motorbikes and cars.

Well if you are confident about those Chinese tractors, you can buy a few while they are still cheap. Then just wait until everyone else recognizes their quality and watch their value soar

• Registered Users Posts: 18,992 ✭✭✭✭Del2005

We already have too many tractors, don't need anymore sitting in the shed.

SAIC, Geely, Ora and BYD have entered our car markets and have good cars. The big European brands are struggling to get decent EVs to market.

Well given the price of second hand yokes, you could probably sell a 10 year old recognised brand and buy a brand new bigger one of that Chinese brand.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,230 ✭✭✭Tonynewholland

Is that around the time the Dynamic command came out

• Registered Users Posts: 6,689 ✭✭✭jaymla627

No would be a few years earlier, dynamic command is another kettle of fish, its basically a automated powershift gearbox, it's the same concept as the direct drive box john deere have and we all know the horror stories with them boxes, once they get the hours up they have a habit of eating themselves and the repair bills are well north of 15k in most cases

• Registered Users Posts: 1,251 ✭✭✭twin_beacon

I can't see these making any impact in Ireland. I sat inside a DFH tractor (Chinese copy of a Fiat) in one of the Brogans yards in 2004, it was like someone ordered a 100-90 from wish.com. I don't know how many were sold, but I guess who ever bought one was stuck with it. I seen one that someone tried to pass off as a New Holland 90-90 on Donedeal 2-3 years ago. If a 03 reg blue 90-90 didn't set off alarms, there were plenty of other warning signs!

With so many farming youtubers around these, if the dealers/manufacturer is confident then a year demo of the tractor on a busy farm would do more good than any media advertising.

• Registered Users Posts: 4,130 ✭✭✭davidk1394

Sat in an Arbos at Agritechnica a few years back. Cab was poor quality so I could only imagine what the rest of the machine was like. I'd love to give the new Zetor crystal a go.

• Registered Users Posts: 602 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Prices look competitive.

I think the main Tractor manufacturers have created cartels that screw the farmers. You no longer can repair a tractor yourself, you need specialist equipment just to diagnose a problem, and then its main dealer parts and main dealer repairs. Just look at the price of any Tractor parts they are outrageous, and that's if they'll let you have the part, most likely they'll only provide the part if they are doing the repair. Any type of a repair on a new Tractor today is costing thousands, long gone are the 500 euro repairs.

I'd love to see one of those outside manufacturers make inroads, if only to give the two fingers to the likes of John Deer , Massey and CaseIh

• Registered Users Posts: 37 international xl

Roomy cab but the transmission is rubbish there sales are in decline for a reason oh and we have bought loads of zetors down through the years there just scrap now pity there engines are still mechanical injection all there doing now is buying in parts from out side suppliers its like a company full of marketing people and zero engineering so its hard to respond to what farmers require as there sales are getting worse and worse the next generation of there models will have a zf powertrain and zetor engine will no longer available

There are some brands that still have reasonable ranges for stockmen tractors without too many fancy additions.

But lads also get used to the comforts too - oil transmission and electronic shuttle is nice to drive but it's just going to cost you a lot when they have to split it to go replacing clutch packs. But when they are working fine, you like the comfort.

One thing I will say though is that you can often get access to parts manuals with diagrams or find workshop manuals online even for more modern yokes which you can use to replace minor things on them if you are handy enough and willing to take your time. It's easier to access the parts yourself these days. Although some things you just have to bring to the experts

• Registered Users Posts: 8,245 ✭✭✭funkey_monkey

I knew someone said that previously, but I couldn't remember who it was.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,517 ✭✭✭148multi

• Registered Users Posts: 8,426 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

It's the emissions protocols that have caused the complications and expense regarding the engines.

After that every farmer wants comfort so that adds complexity in the drive systems and controls.

The reason the farmer can't repair himself is he won't have the knowledge.

John Deere, New Holland and Case all offer budget simple tractors, but nobody wants them

I believe the budget spec tractors from NCH & JD just have there stickers on it where fact the machine is made by by a third party often in Asia. JD used to have Renault's one time and even used zetors in other markets.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,045 ✭✭✭endainoz

They did indeed, this is a zetor 9540 dressed up as a John Deere, made for the south American market I believe.

That model of zetor was a great machine. Know of one and still going strong with big hours on it. Granted it did get an engine overhaul at 15k hours.