Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Another random person hospitalized after unprovoked attack in Dublin city center

• Registered Users Posts: 14,072 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

yeah well she's probably from the village area, it was never a madhouse like other parts of Finglas

• Registered Users Posts: 5,903 ✭✭✭Cordell

What is best for society is to separate the criminals from it. I don't see how is this controversial, it has nothing to do with vengeance or having them learn their lesson but simply putting them away prevents them from harming the society.

America is violent because of its culture of violent justice, gun ownership and vengeance justice, and I don't think anyone wants armed police spraying bullets whenever something goes down. But not doing anything is not a solution either, and since we are looking at other countries for guidance, those failed states with no justice are much more violent than the ones with violent justice like America.

• Registered Users Posts: 23,695 ✭✭✭✭One eyed Jack

The point is TM that Northernlilly was earlier trying to make out that Amanda Brunker was just another so and so who couldn’t know what she was talking about when she said there were no facilities for young people to curb antisocial behaviour. I’ve no doubt your old man too was aware of the problems with Finglas and areas like it in Dublin and around the country when he was growing up.

Same as my mother was well aware of the problems with antisocial behaviour around the country when she was growing up, and when I was growing up she made the bold claim that there were no drugs in Portlaoise, this was in the early 80s, when antisocial behaviour and drugs were rife, and the willingness to turn a blind eye to it leads to where we are today when we can’t even turn a blind eye to it anymore because it’s everywhere, not just limited to certain parts of Dublin:

• Registered Users Posts: 1,131 ✭✭✭Stephen_Maturin

I’m confused, are you trying to suggest that there has been no development or improvement of facilities in Finglas in the last 50 years?

Because there most certainly has, hence Amanda Brunker’s personal experience of growing up there from 40+ years ago has little relevance to how things are today?

• Registered Users Posts: 518 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

very regular visitor to Italy myself and this is everywhere,not just the tourist areas...low key but very visible patroling...ive found them very approachable but as you noticed they dont take any shite...

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,644 ✭✭✭Sugar_Rush

In physics we trust....... (as insanely difficult to decipher as it may be)

• Registered Users Posts: 13,939 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

Jaysus, maybe the future FF's will do some good!

• Registered Users Posts: 82,321 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Boards.com right.

Ireland no doubt needs more prison space, it needs better rehabilitation facilities, but Ireland has to be ready and willing to face the cost of all that, and as you say, the attitude is they are dregs, will society pay to rehabilitate them? Eventually they will scoff at the cost, €100k or more per prisoner per annum. And there is no logic or sense in privatization, I must warn, it it's far too easily corrupted for profit motives (link).

As for tools go low and slow I would caution, remember when there were weekly tasering threads? I'm just flabbergasted Bodycameras are still TBD. In addition to a gangland shootings megathreads you wouldn't want a Gardai shootings megathread, if by tools you mean strapping the lads up with a bunch of shiny new firearms.

• Registered Users Posts: 40,291 ✭✭✭✭Gatling

Well some do already have access to h&K mp7s ,H&K 416s , shotguns,and various other goodies, can't really get better than that firearms wise ,

I thinking more along the lines of more and expanded highly mobile public order units who can protect citizens from there dregs of society, I'm borded so I stamped a man to death, send me to oberstown and bring me shopping for new trainers and tracksuits I won't do it again honestly, along with actual mandatory sentencing not guide lines or judges discretionary sentencing, assault causing harm minimum 10 years in prison not a holiday camp , murdered someone, minimum sentencing at 40 years, manslaughter 30 years no free legal aid make their parents liable for all legal bills

The free legal aid isn’t the problem it’s the €4M (at minimum) lifetime incarceration cost. Per felon. €1M/decade and that’s the current state of about €100k/yr. nevermind the cost creep in 20 years.

• Registered Users Posts: 86,027 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Man in his 30s dies following serious assault in north Dublin on Sunday. The assault occurred on Larkhill Road in Whitehall at approximately 4.30am on Sunday morning. Gardaí confirmed this evening that the victim died yesterday evening as a result of his injuries.

RIP

• Registered Users Posts: 4,903 ✭✭✭skimpydoo

• Registered Users Posts: 13,658 ✭✭✭✭briany

It tells us that the Taliban have a nice sense of irony. It is pretty laughable - you have Afghan nationals risking literal death to get to places like Ireland. Something tells me that they're not going to turn around because Talbot St at one AM is a bit dicey.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,547 ✭✭✭Foxhound38

Looks like Spain is the latest embassy to warn travellers about ongoing street crime and scrotery problems in Dublin.

What brought us to this point? There has always been thugs in Dublin as with every city of any appreciable size but I don't think it's ever been bad enough to have other countries warning their citizens about it before?

According to the article a confidential garda report described Dublin as being "under siege". I don't know if I would go that far (especially given that a siege normally entails assault from without, and the people engaging in this carry on in Dublin seem to be overwhelmingly "our own") but surely it's a reflection on their own failure to actually police the streets of the capital.

Maybe another garda escorted walkabout by the Justice Minister will sort it?

• Registered Users Posts: 14,730 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

The Gardai didn't say the city was 'under siege' that was a third party's comment on the report, but nice try.

The vice chair of the Dublin Joint Policing Committee and veteran city councillor, Mannix Flynn, said: ‘This report provides us with a portrait of a city under siege and a police force that is under siege.

• Administrators, Social & Fun Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 76,128 Admin ✭✭✭✭✭Beasty

threads merged

• Registered Users Posts: 23,634 ✭✭✭✭Kermit.de.frog

This has a lot to do with housing policy. At the end of the day if you're going to cram social housing, drug treatment centers and hostels in to the city center these are the results.

Dublin City Center is now like Ballymun was.

• Registered Users Posts: 25,213 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

Always been thugs in Dublin but never was the city centre ever considered as a plainly violent and as dangerous a place as it is now..

I hope more countries update their advisories to people travelling here…..it’s only fair that if you are spending serious money and looking forward to something, that there is fair and accurate information so people can make a safe and appropriate decision…

McEntee will do SFA…. She has all the hallmarks of another FG careerist…. …. She’s another by the looks of it, photo ops and walkabouts…. Might be worthwhile to remind her that when the likes of us go strolling past junkie misfits and ner-do-wells we don’t have several Gardai in tow….in fact we’d be lucky to encounter them at all on a trip into the city these days…

• Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 12,721 Mod ✭✭✭✭JupiterKid

Feral scumbag (and that is what they are, or in the words of my dear late dad, "lowlife") tried to nick two of my shopping bags whilst I was waiting for a bus on Monday evening last. Ran after the tracksuited scrote, well into his 20s, and got my bags back, he looked off his head on drugs.

Not in Dublin city centre but on the Navan Road in Dublin 7.

Visible Garda foot patrols in the city centre and elsewhere are badly needed as is a massive overhaul of our legal sector to bring in a proper sentencing system for crime.

The only way these scumbags will soften their coughs is when they know they will be arrested and will actually be jailed for their crimes. Sadly Dublin now has many pockets not just of multiple deprivation but also of a culture of criminality and a total lack of respect for law, order and the rights of others being passed from one feckless generation to the next. That cycle has to be broken.

Post edited by JupiterKid on

• Registered Users Posts: 261 ✭✭Fox Tail

This is true. The North City Centre has too much social housing and rehab space.

Social housing in city centre should be for working people only and the drug centres should be out on the industrial estates.

The city centre should be a communal, well policed, safe space for everyone and those that cant abide by those simple rules should be barred from entering it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Jizique

Well, Harris who took over from McEntee when she was on her career break, should know all about crime in the North Inner City.

As Minister for Higher Education, he was briefly based on Marlborough Street, but soon demanded and got an alternoffice on the southside near Stephens Green.

the drug centres should be out on the industrial estates.

Oh, yeah, the business lobby will get a real kick out of that one.

If you're going to ostracize recovering addicts from the community it doesn't make sense to kick them over to industry's doorstep, it seems most conducive to retreat them out in the countryside somewhere.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,533 ✭✭✭suvigirl

The navan road really isn't one of those areas though.

Wouldnt have a problem wih your approach either. but logistics of getting them out to the countryside is maybe more difficult.

Plenty of unused spaces in industrial estates that are close to population centres, but wherever they go, they shouldnt be in the city centre.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭Jizique

Which business lobby? The shopkeepers lobby and the tourist lobby should be pushing for it, and there are plenty abandoned warehouses that would do it if the money was good.

Just don't shove them in some depressing empty lot business park hellscape I don't think it helps ;)

IF THERE ARE UNUSED SPACES IN INDUSTRIAL PARKS, maybe the govt should set up recreation centers, hobby centers, etc. in these, get people off the streets, have them playing with model trains and reading books and ****.

IRELAND NEEDS A SCIENCE CENTER.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,317 ✭✭✭gameoverdude

Where are you living in Dublin?

Many placed that were considered dodgy. Nyc and Berlin as well.

Size can be a detriment. Especially male.

I completely agree with you on disgusting attacks on homosexexuals, transsexuals, blacks/white or blues. Again it's disgusting and generally what people from Ireland are not like.

I'm a mongrel, but there are so many threads about "durty dubs" it's annoying.

If you want REAL trouble walk into some areas of Rome, Paris, Barcelona and nyc and come back to me.

Exactly. We need to stop the tail wagging the dog.

99.9% of society shouldnt have its city centre ruined by 0.1% of the population, especially when that 0.1% (druggies and scrotes) pays and contributes f**k all towards said city centre, or indeed anything.