Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Doping megathread - I can't even think of a witty tagline

• Registered Users Posts: 16,727 ✭✭✭✭dahat

He was hardly taking PED that worked at Old Trafford.

Another view of this is that athletes in certain sports are effectively assets with many people relying on them to perform or be fit to perform. This may force lead to taking PED in certain situations sadly.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 24,771 Mod ✭✭✭✭CramCycle

Cycling and athletics, particularly in this part of the world went after them selves hard. The truth is, in other parts of Europe, the Americas and so on, they really don't care at all. This said Ireland and the UK have blinkers then for other sports, it is almost accepted, a bit like wrestling, that you had to do it to compete. I worked in bars in South Dublin for years, you knew which Rugby lads were on stuff by the clearance rates of their kidneys. You have national players admitting to taking tablets and injections on radio to keep going. You have soccer players having team doctors admit to blood bags to aid recovery and not understand that it is doping. An in law a competitive runner could pick out the athletics runners who had started taking stuff. He laughed whenever anyone mentioned a new trend training technique after they had a good race, they would be gone from all the meets for a few months. Mo over in the UK was the very same, he raced against him and his coach pulled him from the finish line after he won a race after being a mid pack runner for ages with nothing indicating he would ever be a podium level runner at international competition. Lads in cycling here turning around at races when they seen the doping control being set up, one where the rider actually started hiding and then eventually just went home as a family member kept "accidentally" getting in the way while they looked for him. Tennis and their long holidays. At this point I don't care anymore. I am going to wait until I am, to the best of my knowledge, in my twilight years, and then I am going to take all the drugs, based on some of the ICVA races I have seen in the past I might even have a chance against some my own age. See a rider sucking an inhaler like its a lollipop after the Sky asthma story in the middle of a race and laughing about it down in Wexford.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,387 ✭✭✭Macy0161

United would want to have sacked the Doctor, given how often the f*cker was unavailable! Suits Juve though to be able to sack him.

See a rider sucking an inhaler like its a lollipop after the Sky asthma story in the middle of a race and laughing about it down in Wexford.

There's a certain high profile English football team that virtually the whole squad was asthmatic. They haven't performed to the same level since that noise rumbled around and questions started being asked.

Can only say I have asthma - my inhaler definitely hasn't turned this donkey into a racehorse (but does help me breath when the pollen count is high!)

• Registered Users Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭secman

Cram Quote : "At this point I don't care anymore. I am going to wait until I am, to the best of my knowledge, in my twilight years, and then I am going to take all the drugs, based on some of the ICVA races I have seen in the past I might even have a chance against some my own age"

You will have to check compatibility with the meds you could be on by then, blood pressure meds, blood thinners, cholesterol meds, viagra just to name a few 😉

You only have to be feckin 40 to join the vets - you must have lived a hard life secman!

Just like my youth, I will be going as hard and as fast as I can until suddenly I can't anymore

• Registered Users Posts: 25,685 ✭✭✭✭breezy1985

"you must have lived a hard life"

Well if he is taking Viagra he certainly has 😜

• Registered Users Posts: 6,296 ✭✭✭secman

By 66 you're very lucky not to be on some meds, cardiologist convinced me saying I'm a vintage car running perfectly and I'm just putting a few additives in to keep the engine ticking over nice and sweet 😊 . Thankfully no need for the Viagra yet but must admit....curious about it 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 1,791 ✭✭✭Mefistofelino

At 66, they'll probably prescribe Viagra to stop you rolling out of bed in your sleep and breaking a hip.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I don’t get the inhaler thing. Salbutamol does feck all for you if you don’t have asthma.

I’m open to correction.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

• Registered Users Posts: 940 ✭✭✭nicksnikita

• Registered Users Posts: 7,961 ✭✭✭cletus

Correct. Inhaled salbutamol has no ergogenic effect, however the study below suggests that if salbutamol is detectable in urine samples, it's likely to be administered either orally, or intravenously, which other studies have shown to have an anabolic effect.

The likelihood is, if you are ingesting orally as a PED, then you get your doctor to prescribe an inhaler as a convenient way to explain the presence of salbutamol in your samples

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,186 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek

It could be a masking agent insofar as the inhaler is masking intravenous use.

As other's have said, taken orally in an inhaler to the prescribed number of puffs(?) per time period. The test that Froome failed was because it was over a certain level that (up to then) was thought couldn't have been ingested by inhaler and correct dose. Skineos successfully argued dehydration caused the concentration, rather than taking it by other means.

Just to add, iirc if you used it in a nebuliser you could get above the levels (and the performance enhancing benefits).

Thank god for horse racing, throwing shade elsewhere for a day or so

• Registered Users Posts: 21,648 ✭✭✭✭Squidgy Black

Rugby as well, Welsh scrum half playing in France tested positive for growth hormones, with the Welsh Rugby Union accused of supplying it apparently

This will be fun. The horse racing crowd are very touchy.

Nothing will happen there, look at what happened the French when it was put in a national paper a few years ago. The guy who wrote the article got the most abuse and there was no real follow up. Brian O Driscoll admits it (admittedly not even realising that it was against the rules) on Newstalk and a presenter who only brings up cyclists to mock dopers didn't even flinch, story died everywhere but here in a few days. Like I said, no one bar a few cycling and athletic fans and competitors, plus a few anti doping lab staff, care.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,635 ✭✭✭Paddigol

I look forward to every Irish jockey on the Late Late or whatever getting grilled about doping.

Rugby could be in the spotlight again Saturday as the 😝 flag bearer for South Africa's non compliance with WADA.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,749 ✭✭✭Large bottle small glass

I can't think of a field sport which would benefit more from doping that modern rugby.

Back in the amateur days the ball was barely in play; average play time was circa 10 ish second, lots of scrums, lineouts and very little continuous play.

Average test play phase is over 30 secs now, with much bigger and stronger men all over the field covering much more ground.

The aerobic conditioning needed to be a modern second row/back row/midfield is pretty catabolic given the strength and condition they need to maintain. And in the recovery from modern test/top level club and you have demands that are going to be massively benefitted by taking the right course of steroids/hormones etc.

I've never met a bunch of supporters more head in the sand about it over a lot of years. It's really obvious to me looking at them but nothing to see here.

I say that as someone who has played rugby isn't remotely anti the sport and will be roaring at the TV at the weekend.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,990 ✭✭✭G1032

Sure during the Wiggins jiffy bag debacle didn't Paul O'Connell and Shane Byrne go on Newstalk. Of course conversation turned to doping and Wiggins. O'Connell said, (and again the interviewer didn't flinch) that basically all rugby players take cortisone on a TUE but it's OK because it's "performance enabling and not performance enhancing". They get a totally free pass. Drugged up to their eyeballs and nobody bats an eyelid but a cyclist takes a panadol and he's the world's worst cheat. Media in Ireland are a disgrace tbh. Ignore GAA and Rugby doping to keep their listeners and readers happy but throw cycling and athletics to the wolves.

I don't care myself re doping. Let them at it. I've long ago accepted that if I am watching sport on TV, I am watching doped athletes. So I enjoy it for the spectacle and still marvel at some of the achievements. Amazing athletes, be it cyclists, runners, soccer players, rugby players etc, dope or no dope

I was actually surprised that UFC were even part of USADA. To follow up on the "performance enabling" comments above...

And UFC commentator Joe Rogan said in his podcast last month that the UFC should do in-house drug testing because some USADA policies are prohibitive to UFC fighters (naming the six-month rule and the fact fighters cannot take banned substances for healing while away from fighting).

https://www.rte.ie/sport/mma/2023/1012/1410396-usada-and-ufc-part-over-principled-stance-on-mcgregor/

Were you very surprised @Macy0161 😂

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 6,844 Mod ✭✭✭✭eeeee

Mod note: duplicates deleted!

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Raymzor

any speculation coming from Giro performances?

• Registered Users Posts: 937 ✭✭✭Raoul Duke

Has there been a performance that raises suspicion?

• Registered Users Posts: 350 ✭✭Raymzor

Total dominance might just be due to lack of competitor pedigree…….