Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

No Reduction in USC in Budget - Mod warning post #261

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭Ezeoul

Ah, more personal insults. 🦆 🚿

I never said it was a secret. As for "won't have an income from it [Airbnb]" you also revealed that you will have a card for the account the Airbnb funds are going into so you can make withdrawals.

The airbnb that is supposedly going to be operated by your parents-in-law, using a house in your name, while they also live there rent free (but from the goodness of their honest hearts they will voluntarily pay tax on the BIK). And the neighbour does the cleaning.

You do know airbnb are legally obliged to report details of homeowner's income derived from them, don't you? Is this the same address you intend to use for your social welfare claim? Or are you now going to say you'll be using someone else's address to claim from?

It's been fun and all, but would you pull the other one. 😏

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭Sconsey

Revenue: "Thanks DBTG, yeah we want to see your bank account, whats up with all this cash? are you getting the AirBnB money from the in-laws? the department of social welfare are aware of this right?"

Social Welfare: "Hey thanks for the heads-up Revenue, we'll just take a quick look at his account details too...what the? hotels.com? ryanair?...maybe we need to interview this TBTG guy..."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,786 ✭✭✭DownByTheGarden

Are you not reading either. Clearly not. Did I not point out to you how i can take cash out of the account. That its never officially mine. That tax is paid on it.

Look I realize that yourself and Ezeuol arent the sharpest tools in the box as has been evidenced over and over again here. But do you really thing revenue are going to come investigating me in the forensic detail you described like the CAB because you said i was doing airbnb above all the other easy fat targets they have on their radar. How do they know how much cash I have? How do you know? Why would they believe you about how much cash you think i have and what i am doing with it or where im getting? Are they real;ly bothered that relatives are giving me some cash. Each one below the gift tax limit?

No they would probably interview you are the first action to see what evidence you have, mark you down as an idiot and let you go home, while they laugh at you.

Now. Back on topic. So you think people might by any chance be getting sick of trading their livers for pay that is taxed at the rate we are taxed in Ireland? Do you thnk there is a point that people will mved from tax payers to tax takers because they are tired of supporting the whole sorry system? Do you think perhaps there are hundreds of thousands of people already finding it easier to take the tax than work and pay it?

Those who complain loudest about tax tend to not understand it. The amount of people I've dealt with who complain about paying too much tax, who have an effective rate less than 20% (across income tax, USC and PRSI) is ridiculous.

And a lot of them were the first with their hands out to claim PUP. And then moaned a lot about that being taxable income.

Again. How is this a problem for me? Please explain? Are in-laws not allowed to live in their daughters house. Are they not allowed to do airbnb because i dont want to do it but gave them permission to start a little business in airbnb? Who is going to report me for taking out a couple of hundred euoro from a revolut at an atm down the road whenever i feel like it? The neighbor get s paid for the cleaning. Her tax affairs are her own. So what if airbnb send details revenue. what does that do. In-laws are paying tax on their profit that they generate. Does social welfare think i'll be living anywhere else but my house. Why wouldnt i live there?

Hopw much has the tax payer paid for your posts today? All of which are totally idiotic.

I paid half my bonus last year to revenue. Also half of my overtime. Most people in my old company dont bother doing overtime now. In fact there was a bit of a showdown with the bosses when they tried to compel people to do overtime. Nobody was bothered with half of it going in tax. They asked for TOIL but the company said they needed the staff in so could give TOIL. So now there is a big OT problem in that company.

Don't worry mate, Airbnb gives information to Revenue on all people earning income on the platform. He'll be caught eventually.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Blut2

It doesn't bother me particularly, I'm free to use the airport as much as I want without being arrested. Its a nice sense of freedom really.

"Social welfare inspectors, working with gardai, airport and port police, have been screening departures and arrivals for suspected welfare breaches.

The Special Investigation Unit (SIU) cross-references passenger arrival and departure information with data on social welfare claimant lists."

You better hope you do better than these people who attempted to use the airport while on welfare. I'm sure they had great plans to fly in and out too.

Oh, you mean you haven't looked into all this?

After all, you're the one claiming to be such a mastermind, so you know what, I'll let you work it out for yourself. :)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,564 ✭✭✭✭blanch152

I think I am on a thread to discuss USC, but am not sure.

Anyway, to me, it is an excellent tax. It operates on a wider basis than income tax and is much much more difficult for accountants to dream up ways of avoiding paying it.

I firmly believe that USC should be increased while income tax reduced.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,346 ✭✭✭Gusser09

USC might be the fairest configuration but either that or PAYE has to go, Or rolled into one and heavily reduced.

We get **** all for our taxes. Shite hospitals, shite public transport, Dublin City falling asunder. No rail link to Donegal. No rail link to the airport. Still getting charged for the M50.

People might say we are a low tax country in comparison to the scandi countries but we get hammered with stealth taxes. Also we don't get anywhere near the level of public services they get.

We are very heavily taxed for what we get in return. Make no mistake about it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,605 ✭✭✭Sconsey

You are the one not reading, I said the assessors will clearly see a black hole that can only be filled by cash, and they will ask where the cash is coming from....let me spell it out again for you since you did not read (or maybe did not comprehend) the last one....

How are you paying your bills? with money from your bank account, not cash. How are you buying your flights and hotels? with money from your bank account, not cash. Those two alone will consume your legitimate dole money.

So then the logical next question is how are you paying for groceries? must be cash, what cash? how are you spending money abroad? must be cash, what cash? etc.

Please stop claiming people are not reading properly, I read how you are taking cash from the in-laws account. You are limited what you can do with cash. If you are investigated they know how much it costs to live, you will not have any evidence of where the cash to cover living expenses (or holidays) is coming from. It is not hard to figure someone is living beyond their means, it is their job to catch this.

Yeah im scared I wont be able to go on holidays. I wont be able to go on short breaks.. I wont be able to go abroad to "look for jobs". Yeah im really on their radar.

If only you would read before you put your foot in your mouth. Scroll up. It will save the tax payer a fortune in wasted wages on your pointless posts

ALso have a look at the tax that comes out of your OT or bonus etc if you are already on the high rate.

I'll take that as confirmation that you haven't. Your increasing defensiveness (and personal insults) is very telling.

Final thought for now, imagine being of such character as to drag your elderly (presumably retired) relatives into some ludicrous grand scheme and making them complicit in your attempting to defraud the State.

I couldn't imagine ever stooping to such a level.

Im not defensive. Its just that my tolerance for your idiotic replies has gone. Sp take that as a win if you need to. You win. Now go back to work and stop wasting tax payers money being an idiot.

It's impossible to avoid, unless your earnings are less than €13,000. Great tax. So easy to avoid income tax, many many ways around it.

Where would you run a rail line to Donegal from? There is a flight to Dublin that is cheap and takes less than an hour. The population of Donegal and the size of the county itself hardly warrant a rail line.

Sure, you're not defensive at all!! Your petty childish insults speak volumes.

I'm on holidays. Legitimate ones. 🏖️ 😎

They should extend USC to all income, even at a rate of 1-2%, so that everything is captured.

I didn't say I thought it would be increased, but increasing USC rates by 1% and lowering income tax rates by 1% would see an increase in government revenue.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,249 ✭✭✭Blut2

The system is automated, its nothing to do with "being on their radar". As soon as your passport, which is attached to your PPS number, which is attached to your welfare claim, is shown as checked in for a flight into the country it'll get automatically flagged. Then on arrival you'll have a fun interview with a social welfare inspector and the gardai. There are plenty of articles out there about this happening to people.

Hopefully you come back to the thread to tell us how that goes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 290 ✭✭Honey50000

Eight pages of back and forth arguing over whether you can get away with claiming social welfare while not looking for work. I thought it was supposed to be about USC.

Couldn't agree more. Earn €100 in a year, pay €1 in USC. Everybody should put something into the pot.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,379 ✭✭✭✭zell12

Agree. If anything, expand it to include everyone and any income. Ideally, abolish USC and income tax and bring in a flat tax

A flat tax refers to a single tax rate being applied to every taxpayer regardless of income. Typically, involves no deductions or exemptions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Yes I believe USC is a fair tax, no getting away with it by any means - on declared income of course.

Now back to another gripe I have. LPT. Why is is only home owners that pay it? Surely everyone benefits from the services provided by their local council? So renters either private or social do not pay anything towards the upkeep and maintenance and so on of their city or county. Look I know the rents are high for private renters, but seriously? Is there any other country out there where local taxes are not levied on all dwellers in the catchment? I know landlords pay it, but does say Dublin City Council as a landlord to many pay LPT on behalf of its tenants?

And another thing, there are murmurs that a new media license will replace the TV license, to be collected by Revenue. But what if you are not a taxpayer and have no record with them? I can't see Revenue chasing up everyone with a PPSN only. But maybe they will.

Seems to me that if you are not a taxpayer, or if you are renting there are many levies that you don't pay. I may be missing something though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,242 ✭✭✭✭Geuze

UK property tax = Council tax = occupier pays

France: there are two property taxes, one paid by owner, one paid by occupier.

The fact that landlords have to pay levies and property tax is one of the factors that increases rent here relative to other countries where the occupier pays.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,100 ✭✭✭✭Spanish Eyes

Yes, it is odd that the occupier of a rental property (service user) does not pay LPT themselves. As mentioned above, UK charges council tax on the occupier. It can be quite a high charge, depending on property band I think, but it is fair in the sense that if you live in a council area, you avail of the services and you pay whether you own or rent. Their council services while not perfect include bin collection which really should be brought back to the local councils. We seem to be paying for services in dribs and drabs here, I think I'd prefer one charge to cover everything.

Anyway, this thread is about USC, and apologies for derailing it a bit.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,192 ✭✭✭kennethsmyth

I never said I was paying 52% on all my earnings, I said I paid it over what is essentially a low amount and that it discourages working harder to do better for yourself. But you knew that didn't you. You just wanted to manipulate the agenda.

YEs it should be like the council tax in th UK. Should be based on the amount of people in the house using the facilities in the area, not who owns the house.

I bet if you went out now and slaved away in a field pulling turnips for €100 you would have to hand half of that over to the tax man. People who never have never been in the situation of watching half of any extra money go up in smoke just wouldnt understand.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,829 ✭✭✭Nermal

I'd imagine that for investigatory purposes the information of when someone has been in and out of the country is easy enough to get. But they don't flag it in real time as such. To suggest that DSP systems are linked with DFA / DAA to rasie "flags" is nonsense.

Also if you look at some Welfare fraud cases you almost always read that the person has been witnessed flying in and out. Not recorded.

This was supposed to be a thread on USC not 8 pages of social welfare talk

Well I didn't start it. It was the lad talking about defrauding the taxpayer.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,629 ✭✭✭✭suvigirl

I pay half my wages and any overtime to the tax man, I still have more money then if I didn't work, when you have bills to pay, it's still worth more to work.

I would imagine it's more to do with bank accounts, if they can regularly see flights being booked, or overseas accommodation, easy then to go to the airport and catch them coming or going

So you dont think it unfair at all ? Happy with handing half of your overtime/slary increases etc over to the tax man?

I thought we were finished discussing this. You make it sound like they can just go through your bank accounts and then have agents at the airport stake you out :) All the criminals and drug mules doing it at the moment not getting caught and you think they are going to point the resources some random law abiding long term tax payer who has just signed on :)

Anyway its all sorted since yesterday anyway. Wasnt going to post about it because some people would get upset with the result and I thought the thread was back on topic. Turns out all the doomsday posts were wrong. Im going on my holidays. No issues at all whatsoever. Even getting back dated money and when asked about future trips abroad the reply was, thats grand, just let us now what days you are not available for work and we will adjust.

I wasn't discussing with you, merely answering another poster. And yes they do review people all the time, probably not on benefit though, just allowance.

And they review all someone's bank accounts. That's not unusual or a big deal. I never suggested you can't go on holidays, everyone is entitled to holidays, people on the dole get two weeks a year. I have never even remarked on your plan.

Of course I'm not happy, but I still have more money then if I didn't work!

No, not wrong.

As you were advised, one two week holiday per year is allowed. No one said any different.

So, you've been looking into the airports, hmm? We must have got you worried. 😏

(eta) Noticed you added the following amendment to the above post since first quoted:

"when asked about future trips abroad the reply was, thats grand, just let us now what days you are not available for work and we will adjust"

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 900 ✭✭✭sameoldname

Just to put an end to this discussion. You posted this 6 days ago and no one pointed out the obvious. A married couple earning 40k between them would have a take home pay packet of €37,743 and that's with no deductions. Not the 22k you claimed. The fact you don't know this means it's more than likely you've never actually paid income tax. You just heard 48% tax rate and ran with it.

Lads, you've probably been arguing with a teenager.

Still not reading eh? Its 3 weeks we are going for. 3 weeks and a few days to be exact.

You havent been keeping up with the discussion at all have you? If we were to remain working and to get another €20k for ourselves, yes we would need to earn double that. If you never had to pay half of anything you earn in taxes you wouldnt understand how that feels. Anyway, thats mine sorted now. It wasnt the big drama people said it was going to be at all. And check out Ezeoul telling us he knew all along that the holidays would be fine. Theres a career in politics yet for you Ezeoul - and the bonus is you can continue doing no work while sucking on the tit of the tax payer.

It was so easy actually. Next step the wife will be going down to them in October. See how that goes. Probably going to be just as easy would be my guess. Queue lots of people here telling me again how it will be impossible.

Oh, I asked what im I miss the collection by a few days if I was sick too. Jesus you guys would hate to hear what the answer was to that :)

And as for work patterns ... LOL ....

sameoldsameold - Tell me what is so attractive about working 40 hours a week plus commute time and travel expenses to earn that money, when you could earn it for doing nothing. Cant beleive it took me decades to realize what half the country are taught from birth.