Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Electric Picnic 2024 **No Ticket Sales / Requests** - Waiting in line, terrible time, over familiar

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭sh89000

I was was originally annoyed when ACDC clashed with EP....not anymore

LG/ kasabian in Belfast and ACDC weekender it is instead for me.

What a pile of piss

• Registered Users Posts: 5,098 ✭✭✭scruff monkey
    Snarky Snark Snark

In a way we deserve it, to paraphrase Jerry Sadowitz, the problem is that half of us listen to absolute shite and the other half let them.

I'm predicting it now, the skies will absolutely shite down on us to make the point if we hadn't gotten it already.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭Wooderson

• Registered Users Posts: 99 ✭✭Ruanmcg

That line up is an absolute joke, and honestly an insult to the legacy of Electric Picnic. Obviously it's only been going in one direction but as others have said, even last year had a decent array of alternative type bands. The only acts on there I'd remotely be interested in seeing are Irish ones who play all the time in small/medium size venues and at pretty much every other festival in the country. It's sad what they've done to what was once an institution of Irish culture

• Registered Users Posts: 100 ✭✭Anything4883

What a brutal lineup ! Do yourselves a favour people - target a European Summer festival instead - better acts and guaranteed good weather.

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭MsMojave

Blasting through the list and it seems the girlies with guitars from last year have been replaced by sad boys.

• Registered Users Posts: 234 ✭✭sh89000

Pukkelpop have a decent line up in Belgium same weekend if that's any use to anyone

• Registered Users Posts: 2,011 ✭✭✭boomdocker

I'm wondering where the quality EA and Rankins Wood acts of the last few years are in that lot?

Compared for example to Fontaines, Young Fathers, Viagra Boys, Joy Crookes, Khruangbin, Wolf Alice, Jamie XX, overmono etc...

Hopefully more to be announced...

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

I'm assuming now that I was right in them just really dropping the ball on organising acts this year. The fact that they had so much time and money and moved the date and still only had this to show for it makes me feel like acts they wanted must have fallen through and were scrambling to fill slots with whatever they could. By all accounts its not being well-received even outside this self-selecting thread, and I'm sure they know enough that they knew it wasn't going to go down well. It surely can't bode well for the 2025 festival. A lot of people will be going for the social experience and only mildly bothered but there has to be a fairly significant enough portion of people will have felt burned now by buying so early on trust alone.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,730 ✭✭✭CZ 453

Does anyone know do the pinkmoon camping crowd offer upgrades?

• Registered Users Posts: 388 ✭✭Peterd66

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭gkhant

I put on that pathetic excuse of a radio station, today fm, just to catch any announcement and even yer wan (can't remember her name, they all sound identical but she has awful taste in music… does some cupla focal) wasn't leaping with excitement.

Apparently, 'the organisers' (I presume Melvin) are being interviewed on that ray foley show in the afternoon…

If some of you really have a masochistic streak in ye…

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Sweevn

Not sure if ye are familiar with the term “TikTok rizz party” but if you take an educated guess it’s something like this.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,656 ✭✭✭C14N

I'm kind of wondering that too. I'm scrambling around looking for any places where people are excited about it. The most optimistic responses around seem to be either some variation of "well I suppose there's a few worth seeing" or "well look sure we'll have fun anyway, there's plenty of stuff beyond the music". I'd need more evidence to buy into the framing that this is a deliberate stategic decision that is courting a large group of people that I'm just not a member of.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,666 ✭✭✭Mucker46

Afraid to do Clashfinder this year as worried if I put those names into comptuer google/YouTube etc. Will send me lots of sh1te

• Registered Users Posts: 6,608 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Lol I'm afraid to make a playlist on Spotify for it in case it throws off the algorithm for me and they recommend sh1te for the next 6 months.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Fanirish

I suppose mcd got greedy putting likes of Liam G in Dublin, Belfast and Limerick as he would have been an acceptable headliner for a decent portion of people.

A good few acts played last year that have blown up like last dinner party.
    would expect CMAT to be added after her fairview show

• Registered Users Posts: 64 ✭✭MsMojave

Okay I may have a new gym playlist obsession in Horsegiirl. Unhinged.

• Registered Users Posts: 371 ✭✭Gary_dunne

Speaking about the line-up announcement, Festival Director Melvin Benn said, "Electric Picnic is the slightly earlier jewel in the crown of the festival calendar this year of course and what a crown it is.

"A crown that 75,000 people get to wear and be part of and what a lineup they have to be part of. The Wolfe Tones returning was a must. The Scratch and The Waterboys are unmissable for me.

"Noah taking the world by storm and Calvin blowing our minds and then…. Kylie! What more can I say. The Picnic really is my joyous weekend."

• Registered Users Posts: 1,221 ✭✭✭Dreamweapon

Thee Sacred Souls not bad. Soul/Motown vibe. Playing the Academy in May. I'm clutching at straws here.

Eyedress has a Kevin Shields remix. Seems to be a one man Yank version of Sleaford Mods without the charm.

Big on the all mouth and trousers scene

• Registered Users Posts: 384 ✭✭thebusher

Is there anything to be said for another mass?

• Registered Users Posts: 485 ✭✭DubLad69

The most confusing one for me is Kylie. I would have put her as a throwback act two or three slots before an actual headliner.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,748 ✭✭✭Fanirish

nah Padam massive hit, always has a hit or two every album

• Registered Users Posts: 1,865 ✭✭✭hold my beer

Kylie is the biggest name on that lineup by a country mile.

• Registered Users Posts: 12,577 ✭✭✭✭bodhrandude

I personally think EP had avoided Calvin Harris for 20 years and that Calvin Harris should never ever play EP. So now that he's in the line up we are well and truly fcuked, Swedish House Mafia would have been an improvement.

If you want to get into it, you got to get out of it. (Hawkwind 1982)

• Registered Users Posts: 748 ✭✭✭declanleo

• Registered Users Posts: 23,638 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

Kahan can do "Stick Season" a few dozen plays to headline.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,008 ✭✭✭Wooderson

lol what a joker - needs to be ran out the place

• Registered Users Posts: 71 ✭✭gkhant

Soz, Melvin has got a Noah Kahan acoustic set planned for there…

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 21,298 Mod ✭✭✭✭Brian?

I just texted my mate: "Remember, its a bag of cans not a bag of can'ts."

It is by far the worst lineup ever for the EP. Not even close. I will go and enjoy myself. Looking forward to Kojaque and Kneecap.

they/them/theirs

And so on, and so on …. - Slavoj Žižek