Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Honda Accord diagnostics in Dublin?

• 06-10-2023 5:31pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭

Can any of you advise where I could go to get my Accord plugged into a Honda diagnostics unit in Dublin? It's going into limp mode regularly for a long time now and my local mechanic doesn't know where to start to try to fix it. I'm in Dubin next week for a few days. I know any Honda garage can do it, just wondering if there is a better (ie cheaper) option. I'm just looking to get a list of faults to help diagnose the issue.

Thanks!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

What fault codes is he getting? Assuming its a diesel??

Limp mode on an accord is usually a number of things. The most common is the EGR pipe has broken or split. Usually you get a diesely smell in the cabin.

Looks like this -

Then Id be looking at the pipe that goes on to the top of the air filter box - again they split.

You need to get fault codes and it will narrow it down.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,049 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

Do you use a genuine Honda fuel filter, they can give faults with spurious fuel filters, try Icetronix in Greenogue business park for diagnostics

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭soldsold

I'm getting a TSA light on the dash. His scanner shows up as a high pressure fuel fault. The light used to come on during overtaking or on long uphill stretches. The car would seem to hesitate for a split second before the TSA light came on and the revs dropped to 2000 max.

I was chatting to Icetronix last week, they were very sound but said they wouldn't be able to do anything for me as they thought the car was probably fecked! Said a TSA fault with the symptoms I'm getting is probably going to result in a new high pressure pump, 4 new injectors, fuel tank cleaning and all fuel lines cleaned out. Said its not something they could do which I understand if it's a big messy job. It probably makes sense to ask them to do a diagnostic check though thanks. I'll pick up a couple of genuine fuel filters too thanks when I'm up, pretty sure my mechanic uses spurious ones.

No smell of diesel in the cabin but I'll check the pipes you mentioned thanks @Hellrazer

I've just had the alloys refurbished at wheel wizards in Finglas where they came back looking like new and the car has had a couple of dents resprayed this week and a paintwork machine polish ceramic coating applied over the last couple of days so I'd like to have it driving as good as it looks!

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 10,809 Mod ✭✭✭✭Hellrazer

Is it just the TSA light - any other lights? Is the engine light on aswell? VSA light?

Assuming its just the TSA light with or without an engine light - its is nothing to do with fuel - dont go changing injectors etc -whoever told you that is wrong - Im surprised Icetronix told you that - Ive dealt with the lads for years and theyre usually on the ball.

TSA stands for "Trailer stability assist" - its related to the ABS system - A few things it can be - faulty ABS sensor ,the VSA switch on the dashboard is gone, wheel bearing - probably a front one, brake light switch at the pedal or even an accelerator pedal. Worst case its the ABS modulator but that would be rare enough to fail.

The other thing it could be is that the brake fluid reservoir is overfilled - have you had brake pads done lately??

The reservoir has 2 compartments and the back one only should be filled - Ive had plenty of indys fill up both and it will turn on the VSA/ TSA light.

I actually suspect the fault shown is a boost pressure fault - (P1248 i think) is that the ECU picks up the wheel speed from the abs sensors and if one of them is failing or something is wrong with the ABS system it goes into limp mode with a boost diagnostic code.

Blocked fuel filters give a LOW fuel pressure fault on the Hondas not a high one so its not a a fuel filter issue - the code for low fuel pressure is usually P0087 so dont go buying a fuel filter - they are stupid money from Honda.

Id put my money on an ABS sensor / wheel bearing.

If you want to PM me I can give you the name of a good mechanic that will diagnose i for you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,244 ✭✭✭User1998

Icetronix in Greenogue are Honda specialists

Icetronix told the OP that he possibly needed injectors, fuel pump, fuel lines etc - I dont think they listened to the op correctly because a TSA light from my experience is almost always related to an issue with the ABS system and not in the slightest related to the fuel system.

Ive never done injectors, fuel pump etc because of a TSA light. Im not saying they are incorrect and they are used to seeing a lot more of the crap / weird issues than I did with Hondas but they shouldnt be scaremongering like that without actually diagnosing the issue first.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,244 ✭✭✭User1998

Sorry, I just read the post title and made the suggestion. I’ve read the whole thread now.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 552 ✭✭✭soldsold

Sorry for the delay replying here, I was waiting to get a diagnostics check on my Accord. Thanks for the replies so far, it's great to get some direction to aim for.

Attached are the diagnostics screenshots. The main one seems to be a high fuel pressure which I've seen at the last scan some time back. A few ABS/ steering/ battery faults too - I had a replacement steering rack fitted in July as the power steering motor died. I replaced the battery in August too as the battery was dying so these faults may be from July and August.

The guy who did the diagnostics check said I should change the fuel filter as the next step and check for fragments of metal in it when he changes it.

I had the alloys refurbished by Wheel wizards in Finglas recently and the paintwork was machine polished and ceramic coated after a couple of dents were resprayed - so the car looks great now, just hoping to have it drive as well as it looks after years of going into limp mode !

Having seen the codes now it makes more sense.

The "B" trouble codes are usually low voltage codes so it makes sense if your battery died and then the codes werent cleared so I would clear them and go from there and see if they stay off. Id say thats why the TSA light is on - low voltage.

P0088 can be a number of things.

High pressure fuel pump failing.

Fuel rail pressure sensor.

Corroded connection at the pressure sensor.

Timing chain starting to slacken - is it noisy on cold start up?

I dont think its the nightmare that Icetronix were making it out to be.Unless you take the fuel filter out and its covered in metal bits - but then again its still driving so I highly doubt its that. If there was metal in the fuel system theres no way that car would start or run.

I take it that its a 2.2 diesel?

My moneys on the chain being out by a couple of teeth.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,773 ✭✭✭roosterman71

I had TSA light come on mine earlier in the year (think there was another acronym too but can't remember it), and it was sluggish to start. Got it plugged in and was told that injector #1 wasn't 100%. They cleared the code and it's going grand since, even starting OK. Some times when it's idling ya'd here it slightly "miss" and the engine isn't running 100% smooth.