Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Will Andy Farrell get the adoration Jack Charlton got?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,239 ✭✭✭crusd

Now horse racing really is niche. The industry is starting to die. The success of the Coolmores and Mullin's are putting a gloss on a sport is in trouble. At most race meets there now are more "connections" than paying customers. Its revenue model is dependent on a gambling levy which now actually generates more from gambling on other sports. The UK is also turning away from the sport which is going to have a huge impact on its continuing viability here.

At this stage we would be better off as a country developing a vibrant professional league of Ireland rather than continuing to throw money after horse racing

• Registered Users Posts: 5,383 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

if you watch women's GAA she is a superstar. Ask the majority of people in Ireland who is Vikki Wall and they know her. Personally I have zero interest in trying to compare her to male equivalent, honestly not sure why you would either.

As I said wait till the 7s and see how much of a side show it is, for Ireland it will be a huge event, especially if they 15s progress in the World Cup. Also because it will be new people watching and the laws are easier it is simpler game to pick up for kids. In reality the minis game my kids play is more in common with 7s than 15s laws to make it easier for them./

When you listen to rugby players like ROG/Quinlan etc they all have favourite English soccer clubs. I think that says it all about soccer in Ireland. It's a sport that people watch, going forward if people want to play sport as a professional career the obvious choice will be rugby. Even GAA gives better options for young people to make a career etc than soccer. That's my point.

Also not sure why soccer fans think its great to have an organisation which has zero interest in creating an Irish league which people can go watch and also give their kids a chacne to play soccer while staying at home

Instead of whinging about rugby it might be better if soccer fans started whinging about the FAI

Nobody is turning away from horse racing. It is a huge industry and drives massive revenue. Just because a few fruit loops are on tv doesn't mean it is dying. Just because a few fruit loops are slowing down traffic are we suddenly going to stop using oil?

Yes like the rugby World Cup is not a huge event 😂

In regards to GAA, I don't think you support it if you don't know what goes on with the players

• Registered Users Posts: 3,585 ✭✭✭Mal-Adjusted

Farrell won't get the adoration Charlton got. It's a different world now. Italia '90 gave the plebs a distraction from their crap lives for a few weeks. That it happened right as the economy was about to turn around really helped. Today, nobody under 30 gives two f*%£$ about italis '90. If we win the world cup, there'll be a big hoo-ha for a couple of days, the usual suspects will do the rounds on the Late-late and then people will move on to the next big thing. Even if Charlton's sucesses were replicated today, he wouldn't get a fraction of the adolation.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,201 ✭✭✭yagan

Rugby is big in NZ because associated football grew in popularity elsewhere after NZ was mostly settled.

NZ was most agricultural than Oz where AFL and rugby league grew in the sprawling suburbs of Melbourne, Sydney and Brisbane.

Rugby union can be a great spectacle, but comparatively it is a brutal sport for injuries and life long consequences.

If I were a talented young sports person with options for rugby or soccer I'd pick soccer everytime, unless it was really important for to be based in Ireland.

780k watched the World Cup final in Ireland in 2022 based on a quick google. An average of 141k watched the Olympics. The biggest I found was Katie Taylor who pulled in 1.1m for her gold medal win.

As I said most people in Ireland don't know much about the 7s game and the IRFU haven't pushed much yet outside of rugby circles because they don't want to take the limelight away from the 15s, but once this competition is finished the media will push it and I would expect a huge following. Especially if a successful World Cup for the 15s. I could be wrong of course but the 7s already has a strong following online to watch the different competition as they haven't been put onto RTE etc yet

GAA players who are playing with county are looked after, companies etc will bring them in so they can continue to play/train and work at the same time. It goes on for years and as long as they are in the panel or within reach they will be kept in these positions.

Plenty goes on in every county to make sure the county players and even the clubs stars are looked after.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,236 ✭✭✭✭El_Duderino 09

I don't really get the point of the thread. I presume its an opportunity to say why some people dislike rugby and seeing people enjoy jumping on the world cup bandwagon.

I jump on the soccer bandwagon when Ireland's playing. I don't pretend to understanding football and I don't pretend to know why the manager should be sacked after every poor result. I just enjoy the craic.

I doubt Farrell will be treated like Charlton for a few reasons. One is that everyone kicked a soccer ball about as a child. Rugby needs organisation so it doesn't work the same. Secondly, Farrell isn't looking for any kind of adoration. He seems a quiet enough person in public. Charlton was a good character and liked showing himself to the media. Farrell seems more private.

I think he'll get great credit for the work he's doing, but I doubt Christie Moore will write songs about him. I'm fine with that.

On the 7s we will wait and see but I’m sure we will have a similar the read next year telling everyone rugby is shite and will never pass soccer/GAA

in rugby overall not based on the current viewers and based on the current uptake in rugby. Who knows if it will surpass soccer or GAA

Personally I would like all sports to be a success and hopefully for the FAI to finally create a worthwhile soccer tournamemt and setup in ireland

I was living in Oz when 7s was been promoted it took nothing off AFL and League.

There seemed to be a good bit of money pit in it but it vanished as quickly.

Australia is probably the worst country to use a reference point for rugby, Rugby Australia have made a disaster for 20 years now and been knocked out at the group stages was just the latest

In Ireland it's coming from a different angle which has seen some great win and the qualification for the Olympics. Will it catch on more? who knows but the Olympics will help for both men and womens

"End of debate" because you said so 😂

Reminds me of the child who takes the football home because they are not winning.

I have to agree with others about rugby not surpassing others in popularity, but saying that doesn't mean I'm anti rugby and pro something else.

I saw it when I lived in the US where american football at college and pro level are premier TV sports event when it's on, real family get together stuff, but more people participate on a local level in baseball, basketball and soccer because they're simply easier to organise and are less punishing on the amateur participant.

Outside of college and the pro league there really isn't a lot of american football going on compared to other sports.

I said from the start rugby is 4th sport in Ireland and might never surpass other sports but growing.

In terms of Ireland I think GAA go is a great idea but they should cover a lot more games, like you say the college level etc. It's easy to cover. Also from a rugby point of view the quality in the AIL and the lack of knowledge about the AIL is a disgrace. Why not have a streaming service to show people, it's no longer expensive to set up. You don't need 50 camera and replays etc like international level. This is for both men & womens

Soccer? well honeslty until the FAI sort out the league I think the whole thing is a disgrace. But it is already on RTE so has coverage.

We should give people people better options. Im sure a few people on this thread have zero knowledge of the AIL or that a club is probably very close to them that plays in it

The greatest gift of an Irish RWC win is the winning argument that all island teams are better than split, for all codes.

• Registered Users Posts: 15,242 ✭✭✭✭Fr Tod Umptious

That's a very naieve take on it

Soccer is all wrapped up in politics and tribalism up north and is not changing anytime soon.

Soccer seems to be caught up in tribalism everywhere, that's not unique to Ireland.

The old saying was soccer is a game played by gentleman and watched by brutes, and rugby is a game played by brutes and watched by gentlemen.

• Registered Users Posts: 43,311 ✭✭✭✭K-9

But O'Brien gave them that huge subsidy because they couldn't afford to pay big money for a manager like Trap. IIRC Martin O'Neill and Roy Keane were funded by D O'B as well.

Off course we all know now why the FAI couldn't pay big money to top name managers. Thanks John.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

Would participation rates for hurling still be above rugby?

Maybe 10/20 years ago, not sure now. Draw a line between Dublin and Galway and North of that plays very little hurling, barring Antrim really. Most of those counties would have 5 or 6 hurling clubs, some less. Even below that line, Kerry and Wicklow wouldn't have much going on, barring strong pockets. The strongest clubs in Carlow and Kildare use the Kilkenny league to good competition.

You've really only 5 strong counties in Munster, Galway, Kilkenny, Dublin, Wexford and Offaly are coming back again.

Mad Men's Don Draper : What you call love was invented by guys like me, to sell nylons.

That should be easy to figure put if bothered by the amount of clubs that compete for hurling titles every year.

There are 2,200 GAA clubs and 51 Rugby clubs on the Island.

With a quick google in Tipperary and Kilkenny alone there's over 80 clubs that field hurling teams every year.

You don't think soccer is all wrapped up in politics and tribalism down here?

The reason the FAI wouldn't want to join with the North is because they would have to shut down the organisation and start a new one, potentially stopping all the money people are fleecing from it

Way more than 51 rugby clubs. I guess the 51 is who play in the AIL. But you have loads more

Just for Leinster see below

https://www.leinsterrugby.ie/domestic-rugby/club-finder/

Yes it's tribal on both sides.

Very different dynamic from rugby.

No rugby is the same but they managed to come together for the good of the sport

Nothing will chnage in Ireland if people throw up their hands at the first time of any issues and say it can't be done

In reality Ireland isn't big enough to have two seperate international teams and would be stronger together with a proper league. It's also the small minority who would have an issue. The big issue is the people at the top robbing the money out of the organisations

Funnily enough I think Liam Griffin, the Wexford manager when they won the AI in 96, put a motion to congress last year calling for all GAA clubs to have hurling and football teams. Apparently it is in the rules that they should have both, never heard of that before.

The GAA never replaced the last Hurling development officer when he left in 2019, which is ridiculous. Fermanagh had 1 club, Lisbellaw, for years, though I think they might have another 2 now. Cavan and Longford wouldn't have many.

My own county Donegal had 1 club 20 years ago, well they had 2 but the County Board fell out with the second one and kicked them out! We've 5 or 6 senior clubs and 3 or 4 junior clubs which I'd never thought I'd see. Not much thanks to the GAA on that. Inishowen which is strong soccer country now has 2 hurling clubs, that is great going for us. I'd say if you had 50 clubs in the 8 counties of Ulster besides Antrim, it wouldn't be far out. Connacht outside Galway maybe 20 at most. North Leinster not a lot going on there either.

Will you ever stop with the BS.

"No rugby is the same but they managed to come together for the good of the sport"

What rubbish.

The reason rugby is different is because there is no difference in the organization or the support base. The organization and support base both north and south was and still is the same, i.e upper class and professional class.

So back 100 years ago there was no animosity between them.

The Catholic elites in Dublin didn't really mind who was running the country, London or Dublin as long as they were running it correctly.

It's no surprise that the big rugby schools in Ireland are run by Catholic church orders, because the Catholic hierarchy liked to be in with the elite, and rugby was a sport for the elite.

So there was no difference between the Belfast elites and the Dublin ones.

Soccer on the other hand was a working class sport, and there was a lot more animosity between working class northern Protestant loyalists and working class Catholic republicans in the south.

Working class people were actually killing each other on the streets of Belfast in the early 1920s.

Plus you had a big Scottish influence, Scotland was not only a very sectarian country but it was also a big soccer country.

That's why the Free State went on it's own, because they were not getting a fair deal from the IFA in Belfast.

And you still see it today, no way could you imagine a united Irish soccer team with the types of fans both have.

😂

So tell me who set up the FAI? who are these working class people? putting the HQ into Merrion square was a centre of the working class was it?

Over the years, the move to professionalism etc have seen plenty of changes in rugby in Ireland. Strangely none of them came down to religion.

You want to waffle on about working class and religion when nobody else does. It's 2023.

Lots of excuses in your posts.

Well you can't lay all the blame on the Catholic church for animosity between Protestant and Catholic working class in Belfast. There's a reason Liverpool and Glasgow have strong Socialist and Trade Union backgrounds but Belfast, a very similar industrial city, never did.

Whenever the working class was starting to get organised in the late 1800's and early 1900's, you just sent in the Orange Order and a few fire and brimstone Church of Ireland and Presbyterian ministers into the likes of Harland & Wolfe and you got Catholic pogroms to chase the Fenians out. That soon takes minds off organising trade unions or Socialist movements.

The Catholic church wouldn't put up too much protest, wouldn't want reds under them good procreating beds.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

The closed bubble stuff works both ways. In a Tyrone hotel bar, I turned the tv to watch Ulster in a Heineken Cup semi-final and quickly realized nobody else had any interest in it all. Sad.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,558 ✭✭✭Ardillaun

We could play better than we ever have in a QF and still lose this match. If we win the semi-final should be easier which makes no sense.

You can walk into a pub in South Dublin and turn off the GAA for the rugby and get met with jeers. Honestly the story sounds made up, any time I went into a pub and asked for a sport, any sport they will either turn on or point you in the direction of another room to watch it on.

This is the point, we could play the game of the season and still lose.