Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Dublin airport new routes 2024

• 25-10-2023 7:14am
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭moonshy2022

JetBlue to launch daily Dublin-Bos and JFK for 2024, no dates yet.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,804 ✭✭✭✭AndyBoBandy

Dublin to Palanga (Lithuania) recommences in April next year with Ryanair…

The route stops this Saturday (I’m currently on the penultimate outbound about to take off, returning on the last flight back in 2023 on Saturday).

This route is huge for us as we have a house about 5mins from PAL… and it serves the entire Baltic coastline from Lithuania up to Latvia…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Murph85

Link? LOL to that shambles aer lingus if this is true...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 382 ✭✭moonshy2022

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,580 ✭✭✭Noxegon

I'm really hoping this is true. The Mint product is both good value and top quality.

I develop Superior Solitaire when I'm not procrastinating on boards.ie.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 756 ✭✭✭lordleitrim

JetBlue to launch daily flights from Dublin to New York and Boston next year

Irish Times now reporting it. It will be officially announced later today.

That's some competition Irish travellers now have on the JFK and BOS routes (3 airlines each)!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,614 ✭✭✭IngazZagni

Jet Blue have a fantastic product. Easily my favourite airline in the US. I will definitely choose them if the prices are in the same ballpark. Good news for Dublin.

They'll need 321XLRs before they can reliably do transatlantic flights out of Chicago.

• Any of the usual echo chamber posters mention that Aer Lingus is a shambles yet?

Yeah...and giving out why JetBlue won't fly direct to Vegas from DUB.....

Post edited by Boards.ie: Mike on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,634 ✭✭✭john boye

He said in one of his tantrums before that he hates American carriers so I assume someone has hacked into his account above.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,944 ✭✭✭hynesie08

Has there ever been a carrier who did an early NYC to Dublin flight? Norwegian did it for a while and it was fantastic, surely there's a demand for an 11am flight arriving Into Dublin for 10.30pm?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 70,484 ✭✭✭✭L1011

Aer Lingus with the 757 in 2016.

https://www.aerlingus.com/about-us/aer-lingus-news/early-morning-flight-to-jfk/

I was under the impression it did OK but they have had other uses of the narrowbodies since.

I took the Aer Lingus service a few times. It left JFK at noon and got into Dublin just before midnight. I liked it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,067 ✭✭✭Murph85

Lads, you should get writing to Virgin atlantic, they are starting flights from manchester to vegas next year, they last did the route up to when covid hit. They will be flying an a 350 with no feeder traffic, you guys say no cargo, presumably not much business traffic etc... you must know a lot more than they do...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 436 ✭✭dublin12367

Any sign of any long haul expansion eastwards at DUB over the next few years? Singapore/ Saudia / Cathay Pacific/ Hanian? A third emirates perhaps?

With the existing 32 million passenger cap, its hard to see any significant new routes being announced until the cap is removed. DAA already asking EI and FR to trim adhoc services such as flights for matches.

Likely to be increased next year, planning application due to be submitted in the coming weeks and Taoiseach speaking to Business post today wants the cap scrapped also.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 9,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Singapore served via ME3.

Saudia are going to go head to head with the other 3.

Cathay are in recovery mode.

Hainan might be an option again. 3rd EK flight might happen. Probably too late for 2024 though.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,128 ✭✭✭EchoIndia

Hainan did run for a few months during S23 but seems to have stopped again.

Interesting to hear Saudia are going to be heading head to head soon with the others.

Hanian only returned one of their routes and it was only seasonal this year.

Thought Cathay might have returned as they are going from 4 currently to 6 per week in MAN next year. MAN seems to have a considerable amount more eastwards than DUB for an airport with a good few million passengers less than DUB.

Heading back west direction, weren’t the daa in talks with Latam earlier this year - nothing seems to have materialised from this.

It's true that the ME3 serve Singapore, but a direct flight will be somewhere between four and five hours faster.

It occurs to me that Scoot would be well placed to give this a go, especially if they could offer onward connections.

Westjet have slots again for summer ‘24 for Halifax and Toronto apparently. They also have slots in for Edinburgh. Possibly returning to east coast Canada-Europe routes again.

• Moderators, Motoring & Transport Moderators Posts: 9,982 Mod ✭✭✭✭Tenger

Stupid phone autocorrect.

I intended to say "Saudia arent going to go head to head with the ME3" Just my opinion of course.

Oh! The market eastwards has a lot of room for expansion. Saudia could do well as the other three seem to have very good load factors. Don’t Saudia also operate out of man which has the ME3 also?

Wasn’t there a time Ethihad operated double daily from DUB too or am I wrong?

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Kevin2808

Etihad did do double daily, think it was a 77W and A332 but think it was before Emirates did the second flight and maybe even before Qatar served Dublin

Hanian currently do not have the DUB - Beijing on sale for next year (which was two weekly this year. While it was announced today that man - Beijing is going from 4 weekly to daily next summer. DUB lagging behind again.

I wouldn’t read anything in to them not having it on sale. To be honest I think they had this years flights on sale on a few weeks before commencing the route.

Do they even have slots for next year yet ?

I read on news reports yesterday that while annual inflation went up by 5.1% to end of Oct, package holiday costs went up by something like 38%! This is probably reflective of the airfares people are seeing....

• Registered Users Posts: 21 Macrophage 449

Looks like WestJet are relaunching YHZ and YYZ on the 19th of June and the 1st of March respectively.

I always wonder how Toronto Pearson can sustain 4 airlines flying direct to it from DUB. Aer Lingus, Air Canada, Air Transat and now the resumption of Westjet?

It doesn't strike me as one of the top 10 cities people want to fly to. I know these routes probably include a lot of transit passengers for elsewhere in Canada but still...

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,367 ✭✭✭bikeman1

It is surprising that 4 airlines are still willing to battle it out. I think each of them brings something different to the table. Air Canada the higher paying traditional Canadian market. Air Transat good connections with other areas and a strong product. West Jet, slightly more low fare and Aer Lingus the Irish.

Huge amount of Irish living in Canada, concentrated in a much smaller area (Tornoto and Vancouver mainly), so you have family visits in both directions. Then Dublin is used by a huge number of Canadians heading to Europe for their holidays. I've come across loads in Europe the last number of years. Flying into Dublin gives you nearly every destination throughout Europe.

• Moderators, Entertainment Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 14,501 Mod ✭✭✭✭marno21

Flying into Dublin also has the perk of not having to double back anywhere (unless it's Kerry or Donegal that is).

As was said, huge amount of Irish in Toronto and Vancouver especially, and it only being 1 flight from Dublin or 1 with a short connection, many of them travel home frequently for whatever reason and have people coming to visit all the time.

It's the same heading to Sydney/Melbourne/Perth in the other way.

• Registered Users Posts: 175 ✭✭jwm121

Weren't Juneyao suppose to start services to Dublin in 2020? Nothing ever came of that or the talks that DAA were apparently in with Latam

Hainan were apparently wanting to up the Beijing service to 3 weekly for summer 24 but they don't even have it on sale

Cathay are operating 6 weekly at Manchester again next year and have opened some more routes so surprised that they have not come back here yet

I don't know how Dublin hasn't caught the attention of any big carriers in Asia like Air China, Japan Airlines, Eva Air, Thai, Korean, etc

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 898 ✭✭✭HTCOne

DUB was on the cusp of gaining major Asian expansion prior to 2020 but global events intervened.

CPA were highly profitable on DUB-HKG until the pro democracy marches and resultant crackdown by the authorities happened. PAX numbers plummeted and then COVID happened. The Chinese Authorities used facial recognition technology to ban participating CPA staff members from flying through Chinese airspace.

Cathay were operating to Hong Kong, and Hainan were operating Beijing and Shenzen. Hainan itself was profitable but the parent HNA group hit the skids and the airline was bailed out by Central Government. Juneyao were due to launch Shanghai in 2020 until COVID hit.

Singapore are the best bet going forward for sustainable service IMO. The only issue is they are a premium heavy carrier, IE you need big spenders to use them.

Post edited by HTCOne on

If CPA were to come back for 2024 would they be able to make the same profits again? Surely if it was extremely profitable it would be something they would be looking at again.

With travel demand high I'm surprised more airlines haven't started new Asian routes to Dublin, shouldn't HNA group be back in profits now so Hainan can continue expanding more at Dublin? Shanghai was also apparently a very popular destination from Dublin so surprised Juneyao didn't come back to that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,161 ✭✭✭✭Hotblack Desiato

According to Wikipedia Juneyao's long haul fleet is just six 787s (four more on order) so would Dublin really be that high up their priority list?

In Cavan there was a great fire / Judge McCarthy was sent to inquire / It would be a shame / If the nuns were to blame / So it had to be caused by a wire.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,626 ✭✭✭California Dreamer

Singapore or Cathay would make for some interesting competition with the Emirates/Qatar/Etihad lads for Australian connections.

It was meant to be an extension of their Helsinki route.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,533 ✭✭✭WishUWereHere

I recently bought a return to CPT. None of the long haul European airlines could come near to both Emirates or Qatar for price. Based on that I’m not sure if Singapore or CP would be a viable alternative to down under.

Hainan should bring back Shenzhen in 2024, CPA might return in 24/25 and more carriers are probably looking at Dublin.

Dublin airport chief said recently that airlines have been turned away and that growth incentives have been removed, anyone know what airlines were turned away or suppose to increase capacity that have not done so?

Using EK/QR to get to CPT is several hours more in the air when compared against LHR/AMS/CDG.

Personally I'd rather avoid the detour via the Middle East and would pay a premium for that. I expect that's why the pricing is different.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,305 ✭✭✭N64

Let's not forget that due to the Russian Ukraine war, non Chinese airlines aren't able to operate over Russian airspace, which means that the likes of Korean, Cathay and so have to take longer routes, which may make some routes uneconomical to operate due to more fuel needed. London - Seoul used to take 9 hours where as now, it takes 14 hours, roughly.

Was some talk from the Irish and Japanese government regarding direct flights before COVID hit. https://twitter.com/IEAmbJapan/status/1185371524338835457

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 223 ✭✭x567

I made that choice recently and chose to avoid the €4k premium (BA over QR, in J). The timings were such that in Ireland to CPT terms it wasn't all that much longer; and QR are really pretty good, particularly relative to the inconsistent BA J hard product....

For a €4K difference that makes sense.

I just checked a random date window in February, in Economy class. QR was €965 and KLM was €998 – with a 3h35 difference in block time.

The QR product is better but even allowing for that I'd gladly pay €33 to spend three and a half hours less in an economy seat.

Looks like Ethiopian is planning a return to DUB as a passenger destination from ADD.

https://simpleflying.com/ethiopian-airlines-european-expansion-plans-revealed/

Wonder if it it will be a direct return route unlike the previous ADD-DUB-LAX. There was talk pre Covid of a ADD- MAN- DUB route wasn’t there?

I'd expect it to be tagged on to another European or UK route. ET already do this on a number of European services IIRC.

• Registered Users Posts: 10 briano1979

Will be nice to have Ethiopian Airlines back - flew with them to Addis Ababa a few years ago and they were pretty decent. Could their return potentially push Egyptair out? Does anyone know how the Cairo route is doing?

Egypt air going back to 5 weekly (from 4 this summer) next summer so must be doing ok.