Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

"The 2 Johnnies’ Late Night Lock In review: A hellish experience"

1235»

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

Well it is a fact that testing is non-existent in GAA, drug use is prevalent in every major sport, and GAA players look about two stone heavier than they did twenty years ago.

But that’s just lean chicken and rice, right? And “goin to the gym.”

• Registered Users Posts: 1,736 ✭✭✭dirtyden

In society in general the use of weight gaining and muscle mass building supplements, namely whey protein is more common now than 20 years ago. This is not just gaa but a cultural shift. Look it up.

20 years ago gaa back rooms were a manager and 2 selectors, now you have teams of 20 with all sorts of specialists.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,537 ✭✭✭pgj2015

We are getting off track here, take it to the GAA thread maybe? this is a thread about the 2 johnnies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 646 ✭✭✭DangerMouse27

Riiiight. Google PED use in GAA and I'll find it alright...Doesn't mean it's true. And that not evidence.

Making such roundhouse statements on the past, makes me really believe that, ok, you may have watched a few GAA games from 20 years ago, but you haven't met too many of them up close. Some of those lads were absolutely massive!! Way bigger than a lot of the players today that make up Inter County panels in hurling and football.

PED use in GAA is absolutely not rampant. Because that stuff is, despite the best beliefs of Google scholars, are reasonably easy to spot. And it's not in gains. It's massive gains. It's Vo2 max readings that are off the chart. Vado Dilation (though you can get this with a good amino acid).

I do agree with the poster who said this was a post for a GAA forum. But I can see why you linked the two out of confusion. The 2 Johnnies certainly appeal to a predominantly rural, community based sport, fan base, but lazy tropes do not help with any conversation, whether the TV/radio show is any good 👍

God bless now 😉

Typo.

Vaso Dilation.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,885 ✭✭✭✭yourdeadwright

Its for country folks who love the crack & are mad bastard's

As a dub i will never understand how there found funny but i'm also aware not everything is aimed at Dubs ,

Didn't one of them go out with your one form Limerick who has 100s of thousand follower on Instagram, She thinks it because she sound & "great crack" but it's only because she hot as f*ck

hot as fcuk? 🤔 where is she? she is average looking.

never saw that picture of yer man with no socks, hate that.

https://extra.ie/2022/12/31/entertainment/celebrity/2-johnnies-girlfriend-pic

Ahh now to be fair to her if you ever seen her out an about with the joe public she is a stunning girl

Maybe not compare some other "instagram " girls but in real life she is stunning & all natural

Take a walk around any Irish town or City and you will see lots like her, not hating on her or saying she is ugly or anything but im just being honest.

Its all about opinion but shes a former miss Limerick was in Miss Ireland & is a model the girl is clearly very attractive & yes there are lots of attractive women in Ireland

If you don't think shes good looking id love to see your misses ,

I agree there are loads of attractive women in Ireland, thats why I dont think she is so stunning. maybe she just isnt my type or something.

• Registered Users Posts: 33 Dubmany

But it's not just Dubs to whom a lot of their humour is alien, I've heard similar from people from other cities and even country people. It's certainly got its demographic but it's a lot more fractured than people think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,153 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

I haven’t watched it but would be like an ‘Up for the Match’ type thing for the younger country crowd?

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭saabsaab

They are like an Irish Ant and Dec..

• Registered Users Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭buried

These 2 lads are just riding the shtick of the "small town local loud mad ladeen" character that has been endemic throughout rural communities the last 15 years since the crash. Everyone that lives in the countryside knows the type, young lads that come bounding into the pub/shop with a forced personna of jolity, loudness, the dreaded "craic". Its grand for like 4 minutes, but it gets old and tiring really really fast. "The Hardy Bucks" success was down to satiring this sort of character, RTE have somehow thought this sort of annoying character is to be celebrated and glorified, probably because their executives have never had to deal with this sort of annoying vapid character in real rural life.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

God. There's always someone trying to intellectualise lads who just want to have a harmless enough laugh. So middle of the road, they would strain to be offensive.

'Everyone that lives in the country side.' Spoken like a right townie. 😂

Annoying, vapid. Tell us what you really think.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,097 ✭✭✭bcklschaps

I assume the previous poster is referring to Bulmers. I imagine they were about to sign on the dotted line.... until the Tubridy scandal broke.. and everything RTE became toxic.

Drinks companies might be fairly cautious ever since the Bud light fiasco in the US.

There is a long delayed piece of legislation going through the Dail regarding Drink sponsorship, (RTE don't ever mention it, naturally), but I imagine RTE were hoping to sneak in one last big pay day.

I wouldn't fancy working in RTE's commercial dept. in the brave new world of having to actually make money.

But every cloud has a silver lining, so lets hope its the end of the RTE #woke agenda for starters... for example... Who really watchs Women's sport? Women certainly don't and men just watch out of curiosity or voyeurism (they all have lovely bottoms) .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,003 ✭✭✭enricoh

The fella off the chase Paul is good craic, I'd go one of his gigs, Louis Walsh not bad either.

I don't get all the hate for it tbh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,640 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

Have to admit I’m enjoying it, something different and not too serious.

Would watch it over the late late any day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,254 ✭✭✭saabsaab

• Registered Users Posts: 12 musk_o_vite

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,199 ✭✭✭mistersifter

"Johnny Smacks"

F*ck off.