Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is the Internet Destroying Some People’s Lives? **Mod Warning In Post #131**

• Registered Users Posts: 12,872 ✭✭✭✭Rothko

• Registered Users Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Honestly I was a pretty introverted teen and spent plenty of time on forums and online gaming. That would have been fifteen or twenty years ago. I've turned out pretty grand, good job etc.

The biggest issue is fact versus fiction is a thing that plenty of people can't differentiate between and the increasing divisions politically were growing. The internet has definitely sped it up and a clear way to counter bullshit isn't really there when you consider the number of people who subscribe to QAnon, Pizzagate, climate change denial and vaccine conspiracies. (Pretty sure at least one of these will draw out some annoyed posters)

• Registered Users Posts: 250 ✭✭Paterson Jerins

Apparently the good Doc Bobson is only on the internet 90mins per day.

Talking absolute nonsense as usual. Trolling non stop

• Registered Users Posts: 13,964 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

My time has come again! But I'll start a bit differently this time, because of TaxAHCruel's recent posts.

I was born early 80s, so have a good childhood of outdoor activities and imagination to keep the days busy. I took part in the school sport requirements, and even attended clubs outside school, mainly because being a country boy you had to, it was the law even if you didn't last, you had to try. But also because there was feck all else to do other than use your imagination and farmers fields/barns. I kept up the sport side of things into secondary school, but gave up soon after that. Why? Because I was a: too short, b: not popular enough, c: not friendly with the managers son (who was the superstar), d: ginger. All that led to not being picked, so why bother. That's the lesson I learned from it.

But, I'm also a child of technology, and specifically gaming tech. While I didn't have the rich family, we did have a pong machine an Atari 2600 (or 4, thanks liquid damage!). Mother upgraded me to a SNES, and then a PS1, and I've bought the PS2, 3, 4, 4 Pro, 5, the Xbox 360, Series X, a Wii or two and built a (now defunct) gaming PC. I can't say gaming has ever let me down.

Up to 7/8 years ago, I was following the typical life; college qualification (Cert), state job (Garda), long term girlfriend, mortgage, potential for kids, nearly a pet. I tried to stay social with the weekend dos, the drinking for any occasion, trying to follow sport so i could be part of the conversation... I was deeply unhappy and just didn't realise. I made a massive life decision, ended the relationship (she wanted kids, I didn't), gave up the soul destroying job and am now back in "Customer Call Centre Agent" (as per my car insurance options). I sold the house at a loss and moved home. I don't have any kids or dependants, but I do intend to continue to assist and probably eventually look after my mother. My siblings (4) all have their own lives and kids and problems, so it makes sense I do this part, especially as my dad, her husband of over 50 years, died last year.

Anyway, because I'm not part of that lifestyle, I don't really have much in common with people with kids. I've given up trying to follow boring crap like sport. I don't drink anymore. I work full time, I pay all my bills and continue to pay my negative equity. I get no handouts or assistance from the government, but I pay my fair share of taxes on all my earnings, no under the table shenanigans.

The ONLY constant in my life has been gaming. It has never disappointed me. It has never left me down. It has never judged me (well, except the games by From Software). It has always been there for me. It has brought me more joy than 99.9% of the humans I've encountered. It allows me to experience worlds that don't exist, crafted from the imaginations of thousands of other people working together to create these games. I've travelled to distant worlds, I've saved humanity countless times in various ways. I spent 26 hours of last week being Spidermen. I regularly play car soccer online with people around the world. I've actual real life knowledge gained from factual games. I've come to respect my mechanic more because I've played Car Mechanic Simulator, and indeed I could have become a mechanic if this game was around in my teens.

I give a lot and take nothing. But because I spend most my time gaming there's something wrong with me. Well, just like the people in charge of sports in my childhood/teens, it's people like you who are doing nothing to change the mind of people like me. Why would I want to venture back out into the world when there are people like the OP out there? Such judgemental, holier than thou gowls who seem to think their opinion is the only one worth weight. People like you are why I am the way I am, and I've no inclination of ever changing. The gaming world evolves, humanity is devolving.

Tonight, I'm taking on Hades as Kassandra in a stunning visual representation of Greek mythology. You continue to mull over things that are most likely caused by people with opinions like yours. I know who will be having the better time (it's me).

• Registered Users Posts: 666 ✭✭✭taxAHcruel

I appreciate the shout out. I have to admit that I have read many of your posts for a long time and they have always plucked my heart strings.

EVERY conversation is a continuum. That is the one rule I have learned in life. And possibly the only rule that has not yet been proven false.

We sometimes look at the extremes of something like alcohol or gaming or gambling and think that the people who have ended up there are in a bad place. And in most cases we are right.

But. For some people. That is their best life. Who are we to say otherwise? You can plug them into a playstation at age 3 and they can die there from heart attack at age 70 - and they would not have had a more pleasurable life no matter what other path your well intentioned meddling would have wanted to put them on. We can wag fingers at them from our high horses and be totally fecking wrong.

If you are truely on your best path in life - I am nothing but happy for you :) Truely!

But - a little part of me wants to get you down on the mats :) I reckon there is a fighter in you still :)

(my own gaming path went from 2600 to Vic 20 to C64 - quickly through sega - and then mostly the Indiana jones games on PC until I discoverd Gabrial Knight)

• Registered Users Posts: 1,338 ✭✭✭AyeGer

I normally like twitter but I noticed recently it’s all Israel / Palestinian that is appearing on my timeline. A lot of the people I follow are talking about it too. I’ve blocked a few as some of it is quite disturbing. And if I see some heartless comment I can get drawn into responding. It’s all a bit depressing atm. Twitter has its good parts but it can bring out a nasty side in people too.

I woke up one morning last week and opened twitter and as I was scrolling through there was a Palestinian man holding a charred baby that had been pulled from the rubble. Extremely distressing image that can’t be unseen. Devistating for the man himself, its not good for peoples mental health to see it either.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,533 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I think part of the problem is that for some people, the internet has ruined socialising with people one does not know very well. I find it impossible to ask people the same questions about where they're from, the weather, etc when the internet is so much more engaging. I love seeing my friends but they're all married now and some are having children. If I end up in an uncomfortable silence, I just find myself wishing I could go home and enjoy a game, a book or a film. It's just so much better.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

• Registered Users Posts: 1,146 ✭✭✭ruth...less

The internet has just made everything more obvious.

It has made everything more instant.

It has increased isolation under a disguise of promoting social 'connection'.

I so miss going into a cd shop and browsing and carefully deciding what I was going to get...even if I had the option to do that now, I still wouldn't cause you don't need too. It's all there and it's there in abundance. It's not a rare little treasure you found.

There are positives but there are some things I miss dearly about a time before it and it's little things that you can't define and don't make sense because technically it's made everything easier but...it's like...you want to do some research for college? Don't need to go to the library..look it all up online be finished in no time...but it's not a rush. It's getting the bus to the library and the chat you had with the old grandad at the bus stop. It's the calming environment inside the library. It's the smile the librarian gave you, the date stamps on the book of all the people that took that book out before you. Meeting a friend randomly on the way home etc.

I was reading about my old library the other day and I got a memory of the feeling you'd get walking in and suddenly being so aware of how you had to be very quiet. I know library's still exist but you know.

I was a television version of a person with a broken heart...

• Registered Users Posts: 5,599 ✭✭✭CalamariFritti

I mean you're entitled to your opinion but you're using quite aggressive language practically all the time. Some might call it grandstanding. Insulting even. Putting everything you dont like into belittling boxes and then some more grandstanding and insulting.

I've had thread and forum bans for this myself in the past. I was accused of using language and showing attitude that was generally not along the lines of what moderation wanted boards to be. Not with those very words, but accused of basically 'sh1t stirring' and being mean. Not being civil. And possibly not having the right opinion on some things.

The latter may or may not be true, might just be my own personal 'conspiracy theory'.

You seem to get away with not being civil. Whats your secret?

You mean like this rant that they spewed out and are obviously embarrassed about?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,108 ✭✭✭CGI_Livia_Soprano
    Holding tyrants to the fire

That’s a pity, in my (lengthy!) experience it is incredibly rewarding to make small talk with strangers. Maybe it’s a generational thing.

Tis generational alright. Had no choice years ago as there was nothing else to do. Now, we don't have to waste time nor energy talking crap with people we don't know nor want to know. Far more interesting things to be doing.

Bit negative there, mate. There’s absolutely no harm in connecting with your fellow human beings.

There is, plenty potential harm. You come into contact with more and more greedy selfish individuals. I know enough already, thanks. And I have a small friend group which is more than enough for me, I don't need any more nosy people in my life. Most are self serving imo. But my decision to not engage with others has no bearing on anyone else, but the opposite side seem to think I need to be, no should be a social butterfly.

If it's coming across as negative to you, well, that's how I feel due to the actions of other humans over the years. I've had enough so I don't engage anymore. And I'm mentally better off for it.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 38,533 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

I agree but it seems to be very context dependent for me. Like, I was in a Parisian restaurant and I ended up giving some Aussies a history lesson about William the Conqueror and tourist tips for their trip to London. Then again, I forced myself to go to the local Irish pub last month and I just sat there miserable.

Aye, this is it. Small talk is more important than the name suggests. It's how bonds get forged but since what's on your phone is objectively more interesting, the skills either atrophy or never develop to begin with.

We sat again for an hour and a half discussing maps and figures and always getting back to that most damnable creation of the perverted ingenuity of man - the County of Tyrone.

H. H. Asquith

Or, just maybe, the thing on the phone is far more interesting than what the locals think of each other, or how the latest millionaires sports game went, or what vapid individuals are on reality tv or soaps... There's far more scope and availability for someone to do what they like vs having to do what everyone else does out of lack of options. I've very thankful, because I hate small talk. I hate the expected norms and typical conversations one is supposed to have with everyone else. Simply because A: we probably have nothing in common, and B: I'm sick of trying to explain my side to people who can't don't want to understand. You see the reaction to people in their 30s who still play games (I'm actually 40, so probably even more weird to some). Why would I want to face that in real life? I don't have to. It's great. More people should try it and leave me the feck alone.

Honestly, the stuff you two are coming out with sound very sad.

It’s fun and healthy to engage in your hobbies for a little, such as video games, exercise or watching sport.

However, to totally immerse yourself at them in order to completely isolate yourself from other people sounds genuinely pathetic to me, if not indicative of some sort of depressive illness or disorder.

Grown men whining over and over again about how much they hate small talk and sneering at other people’s own passions don’t sound like well-adjusted, happy adults to me. They sound like the people who were bullied in school (or some other formative trauma) who never got over it and rail against the world about it decades later.

If I heard anyone over the age of about sixteen crying about the hardships of amiable chats with strangers I would either suggest they go for counselling to help them deal with whatever trauma they’re still processing or tell them to give their head a bloomin wobble. Go out and touch some grass, as the kids say. You’re not the main character.

I've no idea why you feel the need to make up nonsense like this. I see no point in engaging further.

H. H. Asquith

So you weren’t sneering at people watching “English” football matches then? That was a bizarre sectarian comment, I hasten to add.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,071 ✭✭✭Hangdogroad

Youre right. Some posters on Boards spend a truly abominable amount of time on here.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,527 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

That's the most bizarrely judgmental of posts. Personally, I loath small talk with randomers unless we have a common interest. I've been like that since I was a child. (Partially due to being on spectrum probably) I'll happily have conversations with friends, family and work colleagues.

There's nothing disordered or mentally unwell, it amounts to a personality type. You should probably be more accepting of the fact that people vary and don't necessarily wish to approach life the same way as you.

Another nasty comment. Not a good look at all.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,699 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

I’d imagine there is a lot of lads who nearly have the skeleton pulled out of themselves while watching misogynistic gonzo porn. Needing to watch harder and nastier stuff to get their kicks. Mix that with poor social skills and you have a potent brew that can manifest itself as a hatred of women (especially strong, successful and confident women in the public eye).

Might need an internet detox facility like they have for drink and drugs. Lads would be encouraged to read books, take part in exercise, take up a new hobby, eat well, and discuss their addiction with other addicts.

Little do they realise its people like that that turn us the way we are. Great sig too...

Missed the sig. They open with pretend concern and finish with scorn and contempt. "Touch grass" is exclusively a phrase used as an expression of derision.

Anyway, a new DLC for my favourite game just dropped so that's me sorted for a while.

H. H. Asquith

If you’re talking about me: I was showing genuine concern and I was reacting to posts that showed incredible, way out of proportion cynicism towards small talk with strangers.

The truth is that humans are social animals, and connections between humans, even fleetingly can be rewarding.

I really believe anyone who shares the views you two were espousing last night really must be suffering from some sort of unresolved trauma. It’s just not right to react so strongly at the idea of sharing space with strangers.

There's nothing genuine about any of your posts. That last part is particularly disgusting.

• The Gaza pictures are among the most distressing I’ve ever seen, I have to scroll past as I’d have nightmares forever more, and staring at the pictures won’t help one of thdm. Glad I got a glimpse all the same, as at least I know what is actually happening.

• Another internet hobby