Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

How to go crawling back to a job that you quit?

• 21-11-2023 12:59pm
    Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭scrotist

I left a job in October as I was on a long term project that I really didn't like and there was no end in sight.

It's a cursed project that two people have been on previously without solving anything. When the previous person handed the project over to me, I asked for any tips or advice. They said "Yes, you stand out on the road there and I push you in front of a truck".

I was also dealing with a breakup of a long term relationship. It was all too much to handle, so I quit to get a bit of a mental break.

The team itself was great, work environment was fantastic, very hybrid and relaxed work space, great pay and benefits.

I went for a bit of a break and travelled out foreign for a few weeks to clear the mind, and now I'm back job hunting and think I made a big mistake. There is not much activity at the moment in my line of work.

I was thinking of approaching my old job and asking if I could go back. They did mention that the door is open, but that's probably a standard thing every workplace says when somebody is leaving.

I'm mostly feeling embarrassed and a bit stupid about crawling back. Also, I'd want them to put me on another project. Which might come across as rude.

Has anybody been in this situation? Or not even this exact situation, but something similar. Simply crawling back to your "ex".

Any advice?

Happy to answer any questions to clarify things.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,328 ✭✭✭SuperBowserWorld

Well, if you want to go back.

Just ASK them.

Then things will be clearer.

If they do say NO, then you can move on.

Post edited by SuperBowserWorld on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,518 ✭✭✭matrim

You don't go crawling back and treat it like them doing you a favour. You have skills and experience that are relevant to them so sell yourself.

Exactly what you say depends on how long you were away but start with a call to your old boss and say you're back from travelling and looking for work again, and ask if he has any openings.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 745 ✭✭✭tjhook

Yeah, agree with the posts above.

Remember, the company is a business, they didn't and wouldn't take you on just to do you a favour. The only reason they took you on in the first place is because you help them achieve their goals. If they take you on again, it'd be for the same reason. Some companies are reluctant to take on somebody who's previously left, so if they don't bite, it's not necessarily a reflection of your worth.

• Registered Users Posts: 231 ✭✭patmahe

You could take the angle that you left in order to deal with some personal stuff and as you weren't sure how long it would take you thought it better to leave the job. You have been able to deal with the personal stuff far quicker than you thought are available to work again if they need you. You have a lot going for you, you know the culture and they know you are a good fit, you can easily slot into a role which might take someone else 6 month or a year to develop into, that matters.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,033 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

The door is always open is not a standard line. So call.

But if they want to put you back on THAT project - bd very clear what resources etc are needed to be successful.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Hibernicis

Go back with your head held high. You did nothing wrong and it wasn’t even a “mistake”. You did what was right for you (and probably for the company) at the time. The is nothing to feel silly, embarrassed or sheepish about.

Suggest you put a call in to arrange a meeting, don’t try to do this over the phone. Depending on your relationship with your ex boss an informal meet over coffee might work. Open up with a chat about your travels, and move on to how are things going on his side. Then introduce your job search, possibly asking for his thoughts as an experienced professional on your career options. If he/they respect and value you then he/they may well express interest. Also realise that he may have issues to deal with; HR people typically loath scenarios like re-hiring leavers, so you may not get an immediate response.

From somebody that did go back once upon a time, you have nothing to fear. Quite the opposite in my experience.

Good luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,244 ✭✭✭✭rob316

"They did mention that the door is open, but that's probably a standard thing every workplace says when somebody is leaving."

lol no it isn't a standard line, ASK them can you come back. If your in demand and there is a vacancy they will take you back.

I'd absolutely rather hire someone that left, showing someone new the ropes is time consuming and expensive.

• If they said the door was open to you returning that’s positive. I don’t know who said it’s “standard” because they’re talking shite.

I mean the easiest thing is to contact whoever it was you would have been dealing with (manager, HR) and ask them if they would have a position for you as you’re looking to return.

Don’t be offended if they decline it is possible they just haven’t got any job for you at the moment or they’re a bit worried you are not serious about returning and/or sticking around.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,877 ✭✭✭Pogue eile

Your OP is perfectly clear and logical until you mention 'crawling' I really don't see how it could be considered crawling. And also ask yourself why you were given that project in the first place, it was clearly identified as problematic and difficult so they if you were chosen then you were obviously held in very high regard, the confirmation of this is the door is always open line.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,759 ✭✭✭oceanman

They may well take you back but not on the same pay or conditions.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,266 ✭✭✭✭Sleepy

Or they may have filled your old role but have a more senior one they think you'd be a good fit for... you'll never know unless you make contact.

I'd second matrim's advice to begin by reaching out to your old boss and letting him / her know you're back in the country and currently job hunting and ask them to keep you in mind if there are any vacant roles in the organisation that they think you might be suitable for. It leaves the door open for them to offer you other positions than on the project you felt was doomed and looks less like you're begging for your old job back.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,068 ✭✭✭runningbuddy

Absolutely no harm in asking. I have in the past😄. And they have said door is always open. Nothing to lose - do it !

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,602 ✭✭✭Hibernicis

If you are suggesting that any employer with half a brain would seriously offer someone their old job back with reduced pay or inferior terms, that makes little to no sense. I can't think of a worse way to demotivate somebody and sow the seeds of long term discontent.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,751 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

There seems to be a prevailing attitude that your employer is doing you a favour by employing you, it's the opposite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,942 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

We have taken many lads back, when they realised the grass wasnt always greener they requested to return.

And as it is hard to get people with the expertise needed, we would be fools not to take them. They did lose tenure though, which really only resulted in losing extra days holidays they had built up by being here for years. Pay etc was the same as when they left

We have refused others though, just because we were glad they left in the first place.

• Any attitude it’s a favour for either side is dead wrong. It’s simply a mutually beneficial business agreement to output work in exchange for money, favours don’t come into it!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,142 ✭✭✭Former Former Former

If you were well regarded and weren't too specific about reasons for quitting, it won't be a problem.

Play the 'relationship break-up' card for all it's worth, tell them you just needed to decompress and it helped you realise how good a place it was after all.

Be grand.

• Registered Users Posts: 102 ✭✭Gunner5

Do you know anyone that is still there? You could just ask them to see what opportunities are there in the company.

I would say though make sure you are going back for the right reasons and not panicking cos you're in the job hunting and rejections phase( especially if there is a danger of being on this terrible project) . If the job previously didn't help with your state of mind it might be okay for a while but if life stuff gets on top of you again then you are back to square 1.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,944 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

A number of years ago I left a company for what I thought was a way better job for way better money. Turns out the money was way better but the job was the pits. I gave it 3 months but then rang up HR of my old company and asked could I return. They rang me back about an hour later saying their was a new group of rainees starting in 2 weeks time, could I start the same day as them?. I went in on my first day, and my former manager said "Thank Christ you're here. There's a new group of trainees here, can you give them their training?".

Nevermind crawling, they might be delighted you got back in touch.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 266 ✭✭taylor3

I have a motto in life if you don't ask you don't get. And yes I did the same thing years ago, I was in a job a few years and needed a change, the change unfortunately wasn't working out to well and I quit after 6 months, I was living at home at the time no major toes so I could do that. I had kept in touch with one of my old workmates as we got on well, she knew the story with me leaving the new job and she happened to mention casually that I had left the new job in conversation with the old employer he asked her if she thought I'd be interested in returning back to them as my job would or could be there for me, so I Rang them and arranged to call in for a chat, so officially offered me old job back and I accepted, all the old staff were happy to see me back and it turned out well. It does happen, Good luck with it. Go for it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,447 ✭✭✭✭Flinty997

I've worked in a few places were people came back. Can't remember their ever being problems. Usually they slot in like they never left.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,004 ✭✭✭LimeFruitGum

It happens often enough! I've done it twice for entry-level work when I was a student who needed a few gigs. Later on in my career at different organisations, I've had to deal with the person who used to do my role, leave, come back a few years later and end up supervising me. Taking a boomerang employee is usually an easy win for most organisations. They usually return with a fresh perspective and some new experience/skills.

Is there scope to negotiate your return on condition you don't work on that crap project, or do you not think they'll agree to that?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,495 ✭✭✭✭bucketybuck

A lot of people pretty sure that the OP will be welcome back, I think they are conflating people who leave for a good opportunity with those who leave because they don't want to do that job. Two very different things.

Somebody who was made an offer too good to refuse? Fair play to them, I shake their hand on the way out and welcome a call further down the line.

Somebody who quit and had to take a break because they were struggling with the role? I wish them well, but if they come back to me later I have to wonder how long they will last this time around? If it is not better to roll the dice with a new hire than reappoint somebody who already walked away once.

You don't ever go crawling back, but if I were the OP I wouldn't walk in billy big balls either, looking for more senior roles or thinking I could pick and choose. At least dress it up by saying that you had other things going on, and that the break has given you some fresh ideas on the project that you wouldn't mind trying out.

Thats if you do go back at all, personally I wouldn't advise it. You left for good reason and high probability is that you will be no happier this time than you were the last.

• Registered Users Posts: 223 ✭✭scrotist

OP here.

It has only been 6 weeks since I left the job. It may be too soon. I might try in the new year and continue job hunting elsewhere.

Maybe I need more time to think about this.

@bucketybuck that project is cursed. It's not really fair to say I was struggling with the role. They put two people on the project when I left. Any other project I did was enjoyable and successful and got great feedback.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 681 ✭✭✭farmerval

Where I work we've a guy back after about 6 months. He moved to a company close by, didn't like it we were delighted to get him back. Our industry is specialised, lots of people have moved around the few companies in it. Lots have returned to their original employer at some stage.

The point is really simple, if they felt you were good at what you did they'll be delighted to get you back.

It takes a long time with a lot of uncertainty with new employees whether they will cut the mustard or not. A known quantity is quite valuable.