Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

⚠️ Very unsettled spell of weather associated with Storm Gerrit Weds 27 /Thurs 28 Dec 2023

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 17,089 ✭✭✭✭nacho libre

Continuous rain rather than squally showers all morning. The fields are starting to flood. The colder weather in January, which should make things drier overall, can't come soon enough

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,066 ✭✭✭appledrop

Lashing here in NCD and very dark. Not as windy as it was during the night.

I was up with the 1 year old for a few hours during the night and the storm was unreal.

Winds were howling and rain lashing against the window for hours.

• UKMO HD showing some strong winds moving into Kerry and South Clare later on this evening.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,104 ✭✭✭mcburns07

Feeling wintry in Cork, squally heavy showers this morning have cleared to blue skies. Very gusty still. Give me this weather all day over mild drizzly muck!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,761 ✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

Is it me or are the weather gods punishing the south coasts a huge amount this year? Many of these storms seem to hit the south coast very hard and leave the rest of us relatively unscathed.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,172 ✭✭✭OldRio

Strong wind and rain last night. Flooding in the usual local places. The lawns are just quagmires.

Leitrim.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,940 ✭✭✭adocholiday

I think so yeah, and the SE too. Wexford, Wicklow, Kilkenny, and Carlow have certainly taken quite a bit more of a beating than usual, particularly in terms of rainfall. Really hope this cold spell being indicated on the models comes to pass, we really need an extended settled spell.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,526 ✭✭✭Hooter23

Lightning strikes off the west coast now...as the showers start to come in..showers getting more intense now as they move in

Only had very small shower yet but they are very intense...and this shower looked like nothing on the radar...compared to whats to come

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,901 ✭✭✭SlowBlowin

Huge strike here from a "hooked" shaped storm moving though the Reeks, big winds too.

It immediately fried my CCTV camera, no power.

7 Km north of Sneem.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,428 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

57kts at Roche's Point in the 3pm reports. That Orange warning may have to be extended to other coastal counties.

Gonna be squally everywhere.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 12,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

Wind picking up here in Kerry, sitting in the car in Fenit with big heavy showers of rain and hail powering through. Bit of thunderstorm activity moving inland, big storm off the South Coast moving E, NE

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,222 ✭✭✭✭Oscar Bravo

Very windy in the south now, 3pm:

Roaches Point gusting 56 knots (107 km/h)

Sherkin Island gusting 53 knots

Cork Airport gusting 44 knots

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭pureza

Very calm in Arklow relatively atm,suns out and around 20 to 15kmh

• Registered Users Posts: 4,693 ✭✭✭SleetAndSnow

Very heavy hail shower in cork city now, winds gradually increasing

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭Storm 10

Picking up in Galway now in heavy hail shower

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,384 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Heavy rain has started in cork and a really strange looking sky.

• Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 11,767 Mod ✭✭✭✭igCorcaigh

The sky has gone orange and there's a massive hail shower and rainbow.

• Registered Users Posts: 693 ✭✭✭Duvet Day

Sounded like the windows were breaking with those hail stones, didn't last too long.

• Registered Users Posts: 694 ✭✭✭cheezums

just got wild in east cork

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,293 ✭✭✭✭sligeach

Did you see any feckin eejits skimming stones? 🤣

4pm.

Sherkin Island gusting 64 knots! (119 km/h)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,987 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Double rainbow over Waterford a little while ago

Few squally showers in Galway but not bad this afternoon in between the showers. It was very wet overnight.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,227 ✭✭✭pad199207

119kmh at sherkin

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,339 ✭✭✭highdef

Was a nice afternoon in Trim, mainly clear skies and just a light, sometimes fresh breeze.

So far, it isn’t very windy in my part of the cork city suburbs, but looks to be vastly different along the coast! Noticeable drop in temperature though compared to earlier this week

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,693 ✭✭✭Dazler97

Latest wind gusts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,874 ✭✭✭CrowdedHouse

I see Galway is removed from the orange.

Seven Worlds will Collide

Still showing orange for me ,its gone very calm in Galway I recorded 40mph around an hour a ago but that's it so far.

Orange gone now ok for Galway, ME were on local radio this evening saying Galway was in for a very bad night with storm force wind rain and thunder and coastal flooding, high tide and no flooding not going to happen now.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 12,136 Mod ✭✭✭✭Meteorite58

Status Orange update - Wind warning for Clare, Cork, Kerry, Waterford, Wexford

Met Éireann Weather Warning

Strong and very gusty westerly winds will reach storm or near storm force for a time this evening.

Power outages and severe disruption is likely.

Dangerous travelling conditions.

Coastal flooding is likely.

Valid: 17:01 Wednesday 27/12/2023 to 00:00 Thursday 28/12/2023

Issued: 17:01 Wednesday 27/12/2023

Fair bit of lightning off the SW Coast

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,903 ✭✭✭pureza

Wind nudging 70kmh in the last 10 mins SW here in Arklow

• Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators Posts: 18,233 Mod ✭✭✭✭DOCARCH

Wind has ramped up suddenly in Greystones.

Pretty wild out there now, Cork city.

A shower of sleet been reported at Knock at 6pm . Temperature 4. Dew point 3

EIKN 271800Z 23014G25KT 200V260 9999 -SHRASN FEW008 BKN014 BKN019CB 04/03 Q0984 TEMPO 4000 RMK RERA

Some violent storm force winds going into clare and Galway for 7 and 8pm perhaps Galway shouldn't have been removed

6pm:

Sherkin Island gusting 54 knots (100 km/h)

It is wild in Cork, wind whistling down the chimney

Stronger signs of another storm on Saturday and if this pulls off it will be storm Isha

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,107 ✭✭✭squarecircles

The centre of every storm this year has passed directly over mayo,

so strange to see all the plants in the garden preserved in their autumnal state.

seems an age since we had a storm here.

forgotten what wind almost sounds like.

Thunderstorm moving on to the West Cork coast.

I think I saw a white flash of lightning west of the city...

Rough night here in Kerry , heavy showers ongoing and wind is picking up all the time. Latest guidance showing for kerry very windy for the next 5 or 6 hrs .

I see new ESB faults been reported between Clonakilty and Kinsale , a fair sized storm in the area. Is that a hook I wonder on the end of the rainfall echo?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,384 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

Cork city. I saw what I think was lighting to the south of the city. It’s what it looks like anyway a minute or two ago.

just saw it again. No thunder that I could hear.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,626 ✭✭✭✭M.T. Cranium

Peak wind gusts are 3-4 hours away, UK buoy west of Kerry shows gusts to 111 km/hr (18z), but I don't expect much of an increase, so perhaps 5 kt higher than yet-to-be-reported 19z gusts by 2200h - midnight.

Saturday, slight upgrade on European and slight downgrade on GFS, still a concern.