Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

150KTubs - future career in Virgin Radio and other soulful pursuits **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users Posts: 1,717 ✭✭✭GSF

I take it back actually. St John’s Wood is very badly served by public transport. The Tube is probably the only way to get from there to London Bridge - it’s not really designed for commuting from there. It’s ironically a lot easier to get to from mainline suburban rail stations

• Registered Users Posts: 9,019 ✭✭✭Gregor Samsa

The Jubilee line was shut before 8am last Wednesday (MyLondon's coverage begins at that time with a report that the line is already closed). He could well have been planning on getting into the studio at 8:30 and he still would have been caught out. He obviously kept his team appraised of the situation. Chances are, he was waiting ages for an uber or taxi on the company account like thousands of other stranded commuters before taking matters into his own hands and getting a bike. Anyway, his employers obviously had no real issue with it, otherwise he wouldn't have made light of it on Instagram. Seems a few people on this thread are the only people who it actually affected.

• I’ll just ask ChatGPT to render me an article based on my ramblings around London.

Result…

I'm Ryan Subsidy, and it's been quite a week for me since I made the move from Ireland to my bachelor studio flat. Last week, I found myself delayed on my way to Virgin studios for my mid-morning radio broadcast due to my habitual Underground service not operating. In a pinch, I had to explore alternative transportation options, and I ended up taking a motorcycle taxi, which turned out to be a successful choice in getting me to the studio on time. It was a reminder that even in the midst of unexpected obstacles, there's always a solution waiting to be discovered.

Over the weekend, I flew back to Dublin to spend time with my family. It was a simple pleasure to share a meal of chicken nuggets and chips with my mother, brothers, and sisters. It was a heartwarming reminder of the importance of family and the joy found in the familiar comforts of home.

During the week, I had the opportunity to dine out with a well-known figure in the culinary world. However, the experience came with its own set of challenges, as the restaurant had to be closed to the public to ensure that we could enjoy our meal without being constantly interrupted by fans. It's a glimpse into the complexities of navigating public recognition and the sacrifices that come with being a celebrity broadcaster.

Despite the excitement of my new life, I admit to missing the regular Dun Laoghaire pier walks back home in Ireland. These walks not only offer a scenic and serene backdrop but also provide an opportunity for me to connect with my fans, a reminder of the impact I have on others and the support I receive from my community.

As I continue to navigate the challenges and opportunities that come with my new life, it's clear that I remain grounded in the values of family, connection, and perseverance. Whether it's finding creative solutions to transportation delays or cherishing the simple pleasures of a family meal, my journey serves as a reminder that amidst the glitz and glamour of celebrity, there's always a human story waiting to be told.

Stay tuned for more updates on my adventures as I continue to make my mark in the world of broadcasting, all while staying true to my roots and the values that define me.

Wait a second! ChatGPT didn't write this... you did! 😮

A rare example of someone trying to pass off their own creative writing as that of an AI bot, contrary to the usual order of things. Very post-truth meta.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

• Registered Users Posts: 457 ✭✭DaithiMa

Compassionate criticism? I'm not too sure about that.

It's basically filleted him as a radio presenter/talk show host which has been his whole life's work.

He doesn't listen to interviewees and interrupts them, talks about the same kind of banal subjects all the time, is unable to find balance on his shows (eg far too much misery vs very little entertainment), prefers to avoid controversy (unless it suits his narrative) and is all talk, no action when it comes to charity work in the real world.

If that was written about a 20 something newcomer to the same job you could say there's room to improve, but a 50 year old who's been in the 'business' since transition year...

Fair play to chatgpt, although I'm surprised his exit from RTE didn't get a mention (maybe gpt doesn't like controversy either!).

It's funny, because ChatGPT was much more direct and critical of none other than chat-show king Michael Parkinson when I asked it the same question. No beating about the bush this time.

+++++++++++++++++++++++

Gregor Samsa: Write me a list of things Michael Parkinson should be criticised for.

ChatGPT:

Sure, here are some potential criticisms of Michael Parkinson's interview and presentation techniques:

1. Lack of Preparation: Failing to adequately research guests beforehand, leading to superficial or uninformed questions.
    2. Interrupting Guests: Frequently interrupting guests or talking over them, which can hinder the flow of conversation and make guests feel unheard.
    3. Insensitive Questions: Asking insensitive or inappropriate questions that may make guests uncomfortable or offended.
    4. Limited Diversity in Guests: Featuring a narrow range of guests, possibly favoring celebrities over experts or individuals from diverse backgrounds.
    5. Ignoring Non-Verbal Cues: Failing to pick up on non-verbal cues from guests, such as discomfort or disinterest, and adjusting his approach accordingly.
    6. Monopolizing Conversation: Dominating the conversation and not allowing guests enough time to express themselves fully.
    7. Lack of Empathy: Displaying a lack of empathy towards guests' experiences or emotions, potentially leading to superficial or insincere interactions.
    8. Repetitive Questioning: Asking the same questions repeatedly, leading to predictable and uninteresting interviews.
    9. Insensitive Handling of Sensitive Topics: Mishandling sensitive topics or personal issues, potentially causing distress or embarrassment to guests.
    10. Resistance to Change: Failing to adapt his interviewing style to changing audience preferences or societal norms, resulting in outdated or stale content.

+++++++++++++++++++++++

The contrast between the two is quite shocking, actually. Some might say unfair. But can AI be unfair?

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭jmcc

Michael Parkinson does have one obvious issue when it comes to "improving" his interviewing technique: he's dead.

Regards...jmcc

So what you’re saying is that Tubridy has the potential to be a better presenter and interviewer than Parkinson? Not a view I’d personally subscribe to, but I can see your logic.

• Registered Users Posts: 218 ✭✭Loblox

So where was the famous Vespa in his hour of need?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭tom23

Is that vespa he got of Bono from the very famous band U2? The same vespa he name drops at every opportunity?

Hey ChatGPT

Does Ryan Turbridy know U2?

ChatGBT… oh ffs he got a hairdryer scooter of them and he hasn’t shut up about it since.

It’s most likely in Dublin. Importing a vehicle like that into Brexit-Britain would be an expensive administrative nightmare.

Please don't misrepresent what I posted in order to favour Tubridy. Parkinson was a professional and a much better interviewer than Tubridy. Tubridy is not even in the same class.

The big problem with AI is Garbage In, Garbage Out. If AI software like ChatGPT does not have sufficient input data then it cannot provide reliable output data. It often provides generalites rather than specifics. AI is not really intelligence but rather a rules based software that depends on a large corpus of data. The software had no awareness and did not take into consideration the fact that Parkinson died in August 2023 (as did Tubridy's RTE career).

Regards...jmcc

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Karppi

He was also fancied himself with the ladies, and would be rather suggestive at times. The best interview is with Diana Rigg. She had him under control from the word go.

Don’t really want to get hung up on the ChatGPT thing, but if you actually read it, it’s a critique of Parkinson’s techniques, not him as a “living” person. One could validly critique the techniques of Michelangelo or George Best without specifically mentioning their death.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,744 ✭✭✭Karppi

Loving the sting in the tail of your post 🤣

• Registered Users Posts: 819 ✭✭✭alzer100

It is not pertinent what time the Jubilee Line was closed at. What needs to be noted is that Tubridy was contacted by his producer to make him aware of the closure and this should not have been necessary. It takes about 20 minutes on the tube from St John's Wood to London Bridge St. If Tubridy had to ditch every other transport method and bike it, it would take him the guts of an hour.

Tubridy supposedly arrived at his workstation at 09:58. That is not leaving ANY margin for error and there is absolutely no time for any prep. It is quite likely that Tubridy is traveling post 9am by tube - assuming that he will arrive at News UK HQ at 09:30 or at sometime before 10am. Still no margin for error here. For a presenter it is a basic expectation that they would be on site regularly and prepped 1.5 hours before the slot begins and in Mr Tubridy's case there is absolutely no obligation on his employers part to make him aware of any cancellation or delay pertaining to any mode of public transport that he chooses to get to his place of employment. As he is supposed to be an experienced broadcaster, he and he only is supposed to make provisions for that. Tube delays or any public transport cancellations are irrelevant.

As unforseen public transport issues could cause difficulties for him, maybe you could advise him in the use of AI to voicetrack his show and ChatGPT to do his show prep for him.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,993 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Wrapped at the butchers counter, you can't beat MSG.

Also the best sausages are usually from you local butcher.

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

Much of it is written as if Parkinson is still alive. Item 10 is an indication of the cessation of current data but there's no detection of why.

"Resistance to Change: Failing to adapt his interviewing style to changing audience preferences or societal norms, resulting in outdated or stale content."

This is why believing the non-specialist media accounts of the capability of AI is quite dangerous as most technology journalists have no expertise in Technology, software or algorithms let alone AI research. This has led to some optimistic expectations for the capabilities of AI.

Regards...jmcc

Sorry, I’m just an amateur enthusiast in all this AI stuff - probably out of my virtual depth. You sound like you have much more professional expertise.

Could you perhaps recommend a more reliable AI tool that could give a list of accurate criticisms of the interviewing and presenting techniques of both Tubridy and Parkinson? Could Stable Diffusion draw one?

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 10,524 Mod ✭✭✭✭humberklog

I woulda thought most sausages have msg in some form in them.

I listened into the show for about 20 minutes on/off today but didn't hear Tubs. Just records and lots of ads.

One thing has me scratching my head- he's been gifted a show in the UK and a column in an Irish edition newspaper... the perfect chance to turn a crisis into an opportunity by a slight rebrand ("a punk Tubridy, pub Tubridy") but he's just giving off lame horse vibes since the move to London.

The pitch he's giving as a booky nerd on radio isn't cutting mustard and his constant shout outs and harp backs to "the ol' country" is surely only alienating the casual UK listener.

His basic skill sets as a broadcaster have been exposed as atrocious-- stepping on intros and outros, stumbling over phone numbers, constantly not finishing sentences and leaving oddball place names such as Dolphins Barn out there for the UK audience to figure out is off the wall.

The IMoS column is such a great chance for him to expand his persona in a refreshing and interesting way. As a writer and reader he should be capable of putting flesh on his bones and yet it's simply navel gazing, needy Transition Year dirge.

This was the moment to showcase himself into a broader public... "this is me, come and get me". He's been given all the tools by the industry to pick himself up and yet...he can't.

Could NK really go into a bigger station looking for a tastier contract and say... "Now this is my boy! Only big-bucks offers considered" and be taken seriously?

I've asked before but- has anyone here who previously enjoyed his shows in Ireland enjoying his new one?

• Registered Users Posts: 29,914 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

We need to position a volunteer boardsie to stand outside VM office and report on Tubridy's typical arrival times...

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭Dr Karl

Oldhausen's is just a brand name as well now made by Mallon's in Monaghan. They also supply own brand sausages to Dunnes. And make Clonakilty sausages. Who knew Clonakilty was in Monaghan and not Cork (IE 406 EC is Mallon's code). One of Larry Goodman's companies makes the Superquinn sausages.

• Registered Users Posts: 493 ✭✭Dr Karl

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

No. The sausages should never be browned. Skehan needs to man the **** up and simply boil them.

And using waxy potatoes is as un-Irish as getting off the middle doors on a bus.

This recipe is a horror show.

Brown sauce and cabbage on the side!? What on gods earth is wrong with people. Candy sauce maybe but that gloop of HP shouldn't be anywhere near there.

It's an abortion. A horrible London backstreet abortion.

That’s shockingly bad in fairness. I’d rather eat AI coddle. And by AI I mean artificial insemination.

Maybe Tubridy, as a dyed-in-the-wool Dub, could undo this abomination and introduce the Brits to proper coddle.

Or if that’s too traditional, to the fusion “coddle full Irish breakfast” I pioneered.

Ah now Gregor you've just given yourself away...mayonnaise? Some sort of oat milk or baby gravy in a glass, no sauce covering the beans and, for the love of God, a buttery knife resting on the table with more butter on the table than on the bread? .. nah, not having it. Obvious troll is obvious.

It’s a fusion dish - a mixture of two Irish classics - coddle and the full Irish breakfast.

Boiled sausage, boiled rashers, boiled mushrooms, a lightly poached egg, boiled beans (I washed the sauce off because I don’t like spicy food), a mayonnaise dip. Unfortunately that day I had to microwave the bread as my toaster was broken. Washed down with what I like to call a “Milk MiWadi” - a splash of milk in water. Not as hard on the tummy as a full glass of milk.

There’s no butter - that’s mayonnaise. Proper coddle should aim to keep everything as white as possible - hence no carrots, for instance (but parsnips are fine). Yellow Irish butter doesn’t fit in, and I’m not using French butter or lard again.

My kids love it. I admit that it’s a bit shocking to a traditionalist, but sure Hawaiian pizza is too.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,377 ✭✭✭tom23

Oh jaysus that’s an abomination. an insult to coddle and a full irish. 🤮

Alright, I probably shouldn't have posted the coddle breakfast. It's not the thread for it, and it's only going to distract from the topic at hand, which is Tubridy's burgeoning career in London.

I guess we got derailed by the Superquinn sausages.