Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Ryan Tubridy Show **Mod: Read OP**

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,035 ✭✭✭RoTelly

Sorry in the last post I mean 2024 and 2025, don't mention 2023 :)

______

Just one more thing .... when did they return that car

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,903 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

Apparently he heats beans with a bunsen burner

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,903 ✭✭✭✭Ash.J.Williams

His PR campaign is too needy

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭GSF

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,028 ✭✭✭z80CPU
    Darth Randomer

Agree with you Ash but NO EXPENSE will be spared by Montrose in Tubbs rehab.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 873 ✭✭✭Peter Dragon

The “When a job doesn’t feel like work you’ve hit the jackpot” is illuminating.

Either he is blissfully unaware that’s exactly what he had in RTÉ (and blew through his own arrogance), or it’s an attempted dig at RTÉ (a “look at how great things are here, suckers!” type comment); both conveniently ignoring the fact that his annual “jackpot” was x times his current remuneration in Virgin. Bonkers.

Post edited by Peter Dragon on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭supereurope

It's amazing/hilarious/tragic that RTÉ thought that anyone would want to snatch Joe Duffy away from Montrose.

You have to remember that most people aren't diligently dissecting his PR campaign like we are here, they are passively consuming it while forgetting about him. This is why towards the end of the year RTÉ can quietly give him a small one of Doc towards the end of the year.

Ryan Tubridy's WB Yeats and Ireland or some such faux-PSB bollix.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 396 ✭✭nonetheless

He cannot seem to help himself. I believe his position at VRUK may become less secure as time goes on as they are consistently tweaking and changing things at that radio station and they are known to be like a revolving door for presenters. He should really be using his grey matter before making such statements irrespective of their intent as it is how they are interpreted that matters. He definitely doesn't do himself any favours.

Newstalk (allegedly) did……this was pre signing Pat Kenny btw.

I would imagine they’re thanking their lucky stars they dodged a bullet on that front in hindsight. Still, Newstalk’s loss was ultimately our loss as no doubt his agent managed to bump Duffy’s fees on the back of such an approach. In fact such was the incompetence in management in RTÉ at the time and since that the whole thing could simply have been made up as it were to extract more from the taxpayer-funded state albatross, I mean broadcaster. It seems on all available evidence to have worked. Repeatedly.

Bauer's business model is not the same has Communicorps but I think Communicorps business model was largely dictated by the dislike of Denis O'Brien by the regulators, to this end Communicorp had stopped buying up stations and was trying to gain audiences. IMO many of the "talent" at RTÉ would have helped Newstalk in the way that Pat has helped them, so I can imagine Joe Duffy taking on the Lunch time slot.

Bauer on the other hand seem to be able to buy up any Radio station they want, and they don't seem massively interested in "stars" rather expanding their suite of radio stations. To this end there is nowhere for RTÉ "talent" to go in terms of wages.

Where would any of them sit in commercial radio at a national level? Katherine Thomas has been forced to take a job on local radio in Dublin, its as if she's starting out again rather then having a name to herself, though she tends to be more TV, but I imagine that Vigin Media TV pay much the same as the Wireless group.

I just don't see any RTÉ people on any of the national bauer stations, unless they planned a big shake up, I can't imagine they are, other then ending their contract with Pat Kenny.

______

Yesterday

We have a suite of NK podcasts, next step NKFM? I mean these superstars are so talented, they’d hoover up all of the advertising revenue in Ireland…….

I’m not actually being serious here btw. But…..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,221 ✭✭✭CollyFlower

I only listen to JD for the first time recently, he is worse than Tubridy! It's the callers who drive the conversation on the JD show, he just interact with the odd "and what happened next" Mary,  and asking a few follow-up questions.
    It's understandable why people question the high salaries.

If you become a more regular listener you’ll get to hear him burp loudly into the mic on occasion. As far as I’m aware he doesn’t charge extra for these.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,975 ✭✭✭podgeandrodge

The piece from Tubs needs re-posting. It's actually unbelievable the fools they think the public can be taken for.

"…I had a great laugh with Chris Evans the other morning when he asked me had I seen the Jerry Springer documentary on Netflix. I told him I hadn’t and so we agreed to watch it that night.

Then he asked me had I ever met or interviewed Springer, and I told him that I didn’t know! I’ve interviewed so many people over so many years that I’m at this stage where I can’t recall everyone who joined me on radio or television in the decades I’ve been doing the job. Chris was laughing at this until it dawned on him – he couldn’t remember if he had met/interviewed Springer either.

Later that night, Chris sent me a screen grab from the documentary (of a man and the horse he had married). I googled away for a minute only to discover a clip of me introducing none other than Mr Jerry Springer to the audience on The Late Late.

The band played him on, we shook hands, the crowd started chanting ‘Jerr-y, Jerr-y…’ and so I had evidence that myself and Jerry Springer not only met but had an interview live on the television. I took a screen grab of that and sent it to Chris who had a good laugh but went one better when he told me to keep watching.

Sure enough, a few minutes later, who shows up in a brief clip, only Chris Evans on his show TFI Friday interviewing Springer about Oprah Winfrey. And so, three worlds collided and two men of a certain age with kind-of fading memories found themselves grateful for Google, Netflix and a TV archive to help prompt fading memories."

That Chris Evans hadn't already heard, or seen, that there was a clip of him interviewing Springer on his show in this Netflix special is unlikely, but not remembering whether he ever met Springer or had him on his show is extremely hard to believe. That Tubs didn't 'remember' that he had interviewed, as Peter Dragon pointed out, one of the most famous tv show hosts in American history, bigger than Oprah at one point, is bullshít of the highest order.

This piece of nonsense from Tubs is one of the worst yet. Surely even the Irish mammies on his Instagram account must be sniffing this one out.

"…I googled away for a minute only to discover a clip of me introducing none other than Mr Jerry Springer to the audience on The Late Late…."

Another prime example of amazing flukes, like Sinead O'Connor happening to walk by him as he stood outside a pub, and the pub in London where he just happened to bump into Paul Mescal, etc. etc. The man is caught up so much in trying to create an aura of relevance that he can't stand back and see his attempts for the nonsense they are.

For those in their position it is very insulting to the memory of anyone (celebrity or otherwise) for them to flippantly forget that they interviewed that person when the pair of them know damn well that they did. But that is just a classic example of their attitudes or maybe I am being too harsh as it could well be the case that both of them are in some sort of competition to display a dilapidation of brain cells and if that is the case, well they have my sympathies.

RTE?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 583 ✭✭✭Dr Karl

The headline is misleading. While no one from Newstalk would comment officially, they did unofficially:

"NewsTalk has refused to comment officially on the claims but senior management at the station have admitted they are frustrated at the constant speculation.

"It's no secret we'd like to get a big name but we don't want to get drawn into a bidding war," the source said.

"There is only a small number of people who would fit in with what we want and Joe Duffy isn't one of them," he claimed.

"Dropping 'Liveline' into our schedule just wouldn't fit and the figure of ?600,000 is ridiculous. Even Eamon Dunphy wasn't to get that.

"Joe would send us the odd Christmas card congratulating us on our coverage of this or that and it's obvious he wanted to set up some sort of relationship.

"If that helped him to get a better contract at RTE, then fair play to him."

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/duffy-snubs-massive-double-your-money-offer-from-newstalk/26368983.html

This is from George Hook less than a year ago. While he maybe persona non grata in Newstalk, I'm sure he still has some contacts there and in the media in general.

https://www.irishmirror.ie/news/irish-news/no-room-newstalk-joe-duffy-32097575

The next step might be to charge for extra content like Yates and Cooper's Path to Power podcast. It is the only NKM one I listen to, so the others may well be charging already.

Are they charging? I haven’t listened, I just assumed it was free tbh.

Noel made quite some noise about having secured the most lucrative sponsorship in Irish podcast history, a shame it was pulled before the first episode aired (or perhaps it was the second?) - either way it was cancelled pretty quickly.

Is their podcast doing better than Tubridy’s numbers wise? I’d assume so, and honestly can’t be arsed checking. They’re both (in different ways) better interviewers and more “a people person” than Tubridy, and you’d assume their content would be more suited to the format than Tubridy’s light and fluffy “tell me about your favourite book” filler.

Now that Mr. Dunphy is sadly retiring from the podcast game I’d normally give them a chance, but unfortunately the NK connection forbids me from doing so.

Oh I’ve little doubt they don’t want or need him now, but go back 10-15 years pre-signing PK and I think it’s fair to say it likely would have been a different story. Different times, different media landscape….and Newstalk wanted (and needed) a big name.

Is he still describing himself and his clique/club “the nerd herd”?

Yes, and rumours were that was the name he originally wanted to give his slot, they even had a serious production team meeting with Mike Cass at VRUK, they were ready to go with a logo too...

Apparently Mike suggested that they should go with The Ryan Tubridy Show.

On the question of factions among the public refusing to pay the licence fee, Hook added: “All these people who don’t pay the licence fee is horse sh*t, it’s not because they’re objecting to Tubridy or whatever.

“They’re just saying ‘I’m not paying’ and this is a great excuse. The licence fee is probably dead in the water. If RTE suddenly had to become a commercial organisation like Newstalk, they wouldn’t be able to do it.”

I'd disagree I think people who would normal pay the license fee and were often unhappy with RTÉ were proven right and this gave them a good excuse not to pay.

Though I agree with almost everything else he says.

______

Yesterday

Refreshed the page but same list of songs on Q102 site.

______

Yesterday

Robbie Williams was Kids not Millennium. Don't really know what is going on with Q102.

______

Yesterday

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,883 ✭✭✭GSF

I can imagine that the atmosphere at Q towers is not exactly festive right now

Not following fully here….Williams did have a song called Millenium…

Are you saying they played Kids, but the display is saying Millenium? Kids was a duet with Kylie, so if they played Kids they should at least include her too surely?

They played Song 2 by Blur not Parklife

They played Kids by Robbie and Kylie not Millennium

However they displayed Parklife and Millennium.

______

Yesterday

maybe Ray D’Arcy is manning the desk for them today?

They started charging a few months ago. They still issue a free one, but if you subscribe you get an extra one and they will answer subscribers questions on the paid one. Today it is the third most popular podcast in Ireland, while The Bookshelf is 87th. This is subject to change though, but it seems it is regularly in the top ten, higher than similar podcasts from The Irish Times, Examiner, Independent and RTE.

https://pathtopower.supportingcast.fm/

Below is VRUK's playlist that registered on ukradiolive.com for around that time period (if I am correct). Timestamps are not 100% accurate and I was not listening but from what I can make of it I don't think Tubridy was interviewing anyone. The extended time gaps between songs are usually due to ad-blocks and Tubridy's links.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,269 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

Find it strange that Tubs seems to think that people who read are nerds.

What a strange angle to take on something that so many people do.

play list seem a little better, but they have 2 on their website.

Previously played and what's currently playing.

Previously played is 2 songs ahead while currently playing is also 2 songs ahead.

I am every woman (I never thought I'd say that!) is playing, while on their list it was played 2 songs ago, while currently playing according to them is purple rain

______

Yesterday

If you compare both during the simulcast you may find that the VRUK playlist is more accurate and you will see that the Q102 playlist sometimes does not match up and the timestamps can be WAY out of sync.

It makes sense that Q102 RDS display data maybe affected also.

https://ukradiolive.com/virgin-radio-uk/playlist#other-radios https://irishradiolive.com/dublin-s-q102/playlist#other-radios

I look back at all of these "hits" and remember that few are the ones I would ever return to, its real easy listening nostalgia with few interesting songs (generally the singles from the bigger artist of the day) on VRs set list.

Tubs is a benign host in the background, warbling away into the ether, unnoticeable in such a role, nobody really needs to listen to the rapid speech, its just noise between songs, could well be an nostalgic ad for flake between songs or an old weather report.

Ireland lives rent free in tubs head, he mentions an Irish act that the UK will follow, isn't that a turn around and then today the cherry tomatoes bridge in Dublin, thinking of setting up an avocado on toast bridge in the Midlands!

______

Yesterday

The wonderful use of AI, with the photo containing such a contrast of expression between Tubs and the other commuters - although one of them is looking like they may not be too happy with his presence. What it does highlight is that Tubridy doesn't really read books but he is getting great entertainment looking at that brown leather bag. Maybe he carries that 150K around with him, minus tax of course.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,748 ✭✭✭maebee

His constant bragging about being a reader, is beyond childish.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,212 ✭✭✭yagan

Maybe it's all just positive self reinforcement to help him finally through the 400 page barrier.

Maybe his colouring pens are in the bag.

I’ve seen less staged performances in the Abbey and the Dáil.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,990 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

He has a very limited vocabulary, not something I would associate with people who read a lot.

He’s many things, but a voracious reader is not one of them. It’s all bolloxology, and as part of the carefully constructed brand as The Toyman and the world’s kindest man acts were. There’s such a depth to his shallowness a blind man could see through it all.

I’d forgotten about the 400 page comment, thanks for reminding me!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,269 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

ALso, surely it's would be hard to read on a moving train? With the movements of it, your hand, the book, passengers moving past you?

And, if a friend of mine happened to be standing in front of me in a London tube carriage, I'd think I would notice him and put the book down to say hello.

Instead he says hello, then "hey you wouldn't get a photo of me reading and make it look like you caught we unawares". And how come it's posted on Tubs insta, and not the friend who took the photo? Tubs talking about Tubs in the 3rd person.

A fraud of the highest order.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 7,990 Mod ✭✭✭✭HildaOgdenx

ALso, surely it's would be hard to read on a moving train? With the movements of it, your hand, the book, passengers moving past you?

Exactly, and with the speed at which the Tube moves, it can be quite tricky betimes, even maintaining your standing position, never mind making it more awkward for yourself and others.

I would definitely need to be seated in order to be able to hold a book comfortably to read. Plus I'm assuming, again, given the speed at which it travels between stations, that his journey is not very long. Hardly worth producing out a book for.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,135 ✭✭✭Hyperbollix

And of course the book is the size of the Beijing phone directory….

You would think such a voracious reader who uses public transport would buy himself an e-reader to save from lugging around the complete works of Dostoevsky and Tolstoy.

You could only be embarrassed for him.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭Loblox

You can share stories on instagram, so whoever Oisin is posted it as his story, then Tubridy shared it to his story, like a retweet.

Just bear in mind, like Tubridy none of it is real.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 774 ✭✭✭supereurope

I'm amazed someone as famous as Tubs rides the Tube…all those adoring fans.

Joking of course, I bet he is just hoping to get spotted. He probably pays Oisin to ride the tube with him and gets him to shout out every few stops "Oh my God, everybody look, there's Ryan Tubridy, Ireland's biggest TV star!"

As someone who lived in London for some years you can read on the tube - but you better be seated if you want to attempt to do so. It’s difficult to stand as you say at times, let alone stand and read a book on a moving train that stops and starts frequently whilst also holding a briefcase in the same hand? Come on, this looks completely staged, and whatever about Oisín posting it to his Instagram, Tubridy subsequently sharing it is just one giant “LOOK AT ME!”.