Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Is Dublin really safe?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,611 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

I wouldnt recommend going swimming there ;-) I remember kids used to take canoe classes on the Canal, now its being used a public toilet so it wouldnt be safe

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,500 ✭✭✭yagan

I was chatting with someone who moved to Ireland for a job in Google and basically they said once it got dark most people stayed in as the silicon docks was just too dangerous, and this was before the pandemic.

The trend seems to be a lot of these arrivals end up planning their escape not long after their initial enthusiasm is shattered by the crime fest surrounding them.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,833 ✭✭✭John_Rambo

Again, not my experience. I worked with Twitter and even the ones that got let go are still working here in Ireland, I'm still in touch with lots of them and I'm involved in a sport that a lot of them participate in. They love Dublin and are here to stay, a lot of them are getting older and beginning to have families. This is real life experience, not barstool talk.

I've also sat having drinks al fresco right there outside the theatre and it's really lovely, particularly in the summer. Genuinely a lovely peaceful place.

One person's chill is another person's challenge.

It doesn't change my feeling on it.

Well, feelings are important and if you've sat there socialising and felt in danger that's your experience.

I lived long enough there to not feel any other way about.

Apologists are just inured to the menace.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 385 ✭✭thereiver

The prisons are already overcrowded with drug dealers muggers. Serious criminals there's no way young lads are going to be arrested for stealing a bike the gardai don't have time or resources to deal with teenagers robbing bikes

We need to build more prisons to build a prison in Ireland takes 20 years. Don't hold your breath waiting for that the problem is Ireland is a rich country with a rising population meanwhile medical and gardai staff nos are about the same as they were in 2008 when we were in recession

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,977 ✭✭✭✭The Nal

Problem in Grand Canal Dock are the feral scum from Pearse House, Whelan House in Ringsend, Oriel St, Sheriff St etc.

This lot basically. Took the city over at night during covid.

Its what happens when loads of kids grow up in tiny little flats with nothing to do

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,970 ✭✭✭Tenzor07

Are you conducting a survey on boards here or something, go ask the people you see around the GC dock being terrorised by feral sc*m…

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 87,288 ✭✭✭✭JP Liz V1

Fagan and his gang targeting tourists

https://www.newstalk.com/news/european-pickpocket-gang-targeting-dublin-city-centre-hotspots-1756659

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

<Mod Snip> Do not discuss a case that is currently before the courts

Post edited by Ten of Swords on

• Registered Users Posts: 390 ✭✭slay55

Mod Snip - Before the courts

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,537 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

<Mod Snip> Removed quoted post which discussed a case before the courts

But Helen tells us the streets are safe.

All this after Crotty a few weeks ago.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,585 ✭✭✭baldbear

• Registered Users Posts: 991 ✭✭✭Mike Murdock

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭mikethecop

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,428 ✭✭✭✭Witcher

<Mod Snip> Removed quoted post which discussed a case before the courts

It's a bit much to be accusing someone of lies, to a layman once they see bail they think -> released. They more than likely are not familiar with the procedures around bail.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,358 ✭✭✭mikethecop

bull

that's exactly the kind of thoughtless shite posting that gets some one innocent hurt because some internet idiot is too lazy or stupid to understand a very simple concept ,

if people are so interested in being outraged at least be outraged at the facts, they are bad enough , no need to make crap up

I did. I know a good few people that live there, that's why I was there socialising. They say it's fine, the odd bit of hassle from children but nothing dangerous. No hassle when I was there. Were you ever there and felt in danger?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,611 ✭✭✭✭silverharp

hay ho , at least the tourists will feel at home

"Pickpocket gangs are targeting tourist hotspots around the capital, including the likes of the Guinness Storehouse, Temple Bar and Dublin Castle."

https://x.com/NewstalkFM/status/1825940945977663957

A belief in gender identity involves a level of faith as there is nothing tangible to prove its existence which, as something divorced from the physical body, is similar to the idea of a soul. - Colette Colfer

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 27,188 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

Pickpockets targeting tourists? The horror

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,288 ✭✭✭Quitelife

It used be a few locals one time- now theres dozens of roma at it - industrial scale pick pocketing, the Inner city Irish are too busy selling & Injecting drugs to do much pick pocketing mostly shop lifting they do be at and attacking others for a laugh

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 euzyqua

A relative of mine, a non assertive type it must be said, was followed from Abbey Street all the way to the bottom of grafton street by a roma woman begging for money, before ending by spitting on him.

There's a romanian man that haunts my local vicinity and to say his begging is aggressive is putting it mildly. Fierce angry face when you say no for the umpteenth time. He's about two or three more instances away from getting a free stay in the hospital.

But thats just one cohort of many.

The fact of the matter is that there are less gardai now than in 2008, which is quite the impressive feat considering the unprecedented amount of people that have arrived willy nilly into the country since then.

Add in the bursting to capacity prison system and here we are.

The actual amount of crime and intimidation on the streets is surely multiples of what's reported, into the bargain.

Word is well and truly out, this place is turning into a scumbag paradise and everyone on earth is welcome to the party as if it wasnt bad enough.

There's a reckoning coming for this country in some form or fashion, and rightfully so.

Theres been Romanian men spitting on people in town (including myself) since the 90s.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18 euzyqua

Well now there's more.

Less gardai, no prison space = less people arrested, less of those arrested sent to prison.

The situation is no mystery. Dublin City centre especially is a more intimidating place than before, someone was only saying to me the other day that the mere idea of "going into town" doesn't exist amongst her friends and family anymore.

Again, you look at the basic ingredients, there's hardly a surprise of what you end up with.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 274 ✭✭Yvonne007

To be fair, after reading that report, I was under the impression that he was out too.

And I think most of the outrage was stemming from the severity of the alleged assault and the fact that bail would even be considered

I'm assuming by your username that you might be a little more familiar with the system.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,436 ✭✭✭✭Thelonious Monk

Roma aren't Romanian ffs, they can be from many different countries