Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Ian Bailey RIP - threadbans in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,899 ✭✭✭orangerhyme

It's difficult to know.

How often was Sophie in Cork over those 3 years? How much did she socialise in Schull?

He knew of her existence but beyond that we know nothing. It's possible he was infatuated with her.

If he was infatuated with her, he'd be asking Alfie Lyons about her or Jo Hellen maybe.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

The way Bailey said it something like " I only saw her once from a distance" seems like a lie to me anyway

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,492 ✭✭✭paddyisreal

Wasn't it Leo bolger who conveniently remembered 10 years later to seeing bailey meeting Sophie in Alfie's. Amazing how he remember this when in the middle of a drugs trial.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,604 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

I’ve been introduced to many people on the neighbourhood very briefly by people I know- don’t ask me who did the introduction or who I was supposed to have met- while I wouldn’t categorically say I never met X person, I’d absolutely say I’ve no recollection of meeting them.

Why would you go to ANYONES house in the middle of the night if you didn’t know them or even just vaguely know them?

The answer is, you wouldn’t - and even if you set out on the journey drunk, by the time 40 minutes of walking yourself less drunk took place, you’d start to realise just what a fool you are, and you’d go back home again - and if you were so drunk in the first place, it’s arguable you’d not make it there in the first instance.

It’s all cobblers at this stage.

• Registered Users Posts: 163 ✭✭Zola1000

Does anyone know of the theories you mention above were ever fully considered in Garda file..the pump house cinder block and why they went back for it. ...I'd imagine it is ...but just would like see the result of theories around this evidence...

• Registered Users Posts: 158 ✭✭easy peasy

I still verge ever so slightly towards the opinion that Bailey didn't do it. But god his behaviour and his drinking really made a rod for his own back.

I think he could easily have got the scratches when he was pissed drunk and fell into a bush, but he was a fool and the limelight meant too much to him. Its likely that things like "champagne clue" mean absolutely nothing and he wrote it, once again, when he was pissed trying to be a part of something bigger.

Between the incoherent drunken rambling in his diary to the constant need for attention, Bailey put himself in the firing line in this investigation and made no effort to remove himself. I think that, along with the amateur hour West Cork Gardai who were dying for a conviction, created the perfect **** how of an investigation. He was an easy target and I don't think he could see the noose tightening as he lapped up his new found attention.

I always hated that statement..it's like he said it so fleetingly...I so wish some evidence popped to light where he was seen on video ..if he was ..it be just massive leap. I know it's so wishful but the earlier poster here about guards trawling such evidence would be so substantial in way.

Sophie kept detailed diary and address book.

No mention of IB but everyone else is there that she interacted with.

I think we should take her word for it.

To me this is local and personal.

"First principles Clarice. How do we begin to covet? We begin coveting what we see everyday."

I could stand totally corrected here but on his civil cases, most of which he lost , without spending 10 minutes googling, wasn’t he found to be partially to blame given his unusual behaviour and the things he said, deliberately drawing attention to himself?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,304 ✭✭✭tomhammer..

Very true

If it was shown that they knew each other or were introduced it would be another red flag

Of course it can be argued he was afraid to be put in the frame

I agree with you on this but I'd reviewed that thinking bailey wanted to meet her... but she didn't want meet him..

So he took that upon himself after drinks and wanted his ego restored.

Still innocent till fully proven. I had no other theories bar that bailey had high life in UK near running his own journalist agency and was mixing was medium to high profile society I'd imagine..it all came crashing down with failure then of his marriage. Cork was to be his reprisal of sorts .if that is over thinking it. Maybe

But the arrival of french lady very high profile and surely he wanted to be seen mixing with that level to boost his standing too...I know it's completely fanciful...but maybe she wanted nothing to do with him. She Was private successful lady and maybe his resentment grew

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,827 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Whatever about someone going unannounced at 9pm or 10pm after an evening's drinking... at 3am? It'd be a mad impulse and you'd think the impulse would pass during a 2.5 mile walk on a cold December night.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Yes true . But I'm not just seeking the injustices towards bailey...someone else could easily have had the resentment or that rage to bring it to level they did.

I know what you mean on having that commitment to walk but we are still establishing earlier that more than likely someone walked there ..parked the car elsewhere but not outside the house...if it was make it more obvious..

It's possible but unlikely.

If he knew her wouldn't he tell the truth rather than be caught in a lie.

A lie is more incriminating than knowing her.

So by that logic let's assume he's telling the truth.

Being caught in a lie is more incriminating than admitting to knowing her.

• Registered Users Posts: 124 ✭✭Sheedy234

What about the friend of Sophie who said she was going to meet with him and referred to him as Eoin bailey ,he wanted to talk about poetry. This is in the murder in wets cork on netflix.

It sounds like BS.

The friend only mentioned this years later.

Why not say this immediately after she was murdered? Seems like an important detail.

The amount of false information and stories around this case is crazy.

Ok I do understand your point. But for me he knows road and knows Lyons house...that always suggested to me he would be told someone was living in the other house..and that still narrows view he knew of her...which he has said...and we have family member saying she was chatting with writer maybe about meeting. But look it's all fabricated too. It's long shot but we don't have any much go on.

Hard to put much weight on these memories that are only aired years later.

Mr Girard did not come forward until more than two years later in March 1999, when he flew to Ireland to make a statement at Bantry garda station.

But here's some tidbits:

A friend of Mr Girard's, Vincent Roget, a film producer who had worked with Ms Du Plantier for two years before her death, also spoke to gardai in 1997 but he made no mention of Ian – or Eoin – Bailey. "She never discussed any fears she had with me. I do not believe she was fearful of anybody," he said. He also claimed that Sophie told Guy Girard that Mr Carbonnet was "a psychopath who followed me", although he said he was not accusing Bruno of doing anything to Sophie.

AND... the mysterious man from Marseilles.

in a second police statement, which has not previously been published, Mr Carbonnet described an "odd meeting" between Ms du Plantier and a "man from Marseilles" in Schull... "He came over to our table and introduced himself. He talked to us and asked where Sophie lived. When she told him he said he had tried to buy the same house. He asked me was I a hunting man and I said no." ... A fisherman, originally from Marseilles, but who lived in West Cork, took his own life three months after Ms du Plantier's murder. It is understood that this man did not feature as a suspect in the garda's original investigation file.

https://www.independent.ie/irish-news/film-director-is-key-sophie-du-plantier-witness-say-french-authorities/30242064.html

https://www.westcorkpodcast.com/episode-14/transcript

Does anyone think if she has first gone out to meet them down road there would have been proper light to identify them .so ultimately she seen them at house in light and this is started from there ..

He knew of her existence and where she lived.

Beyond that I think he's telling the truth.

I know. We are just starved of real evidence. Everyone points it towards bailey and it's like we are programmed. And of course he is easily innocent.

I think I can still settle with..this person knew her...to go level they did...and especially keeping the place as they did with no evidence. Again I could be wrong..

That “odd meeting” account has way more suspicion attached to it, especially with the subsequent death and “confession” of having done something bad, than any of the stories surrounding Bailey and his connection to the murder

It is a very odd meeting, especially the reference to the house, and why ask such a question. It is so bizarre I doubt Carbonnet made it up.

Although re: the confession, that rumour is associated with a different name that pops up, the German musician Karl Heinz Wolney who gave a statement to the Guards saying he did not know Sophie and committed suicide in February 1997.

According to this article, Wolney had no alibi, and a history of violence and heavy drinking. He lived a mile from Sophies.

https://www.irishpost.com/news/developments-in-sophie-toscan-du-plantier-case-244944

Ah sorry right - thanks for the correction

Still, nether person can be questioned now which is an awful pity

It's extremely suspicious considering he knew where she lived.

In some respects it can be the simple things when it comes to murders- you don’t have to go looking for Albanian mafia or an organised hitman or a gang of copper pipe robbers - some mad weirdo with a grudge that you nabbed the house he wanted is sometimes as good as it gets in terms of motive.

They should show his photo to Marie Farrell.

The amount of people who knew the location of her house must be very few, he's one person who knew at least.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

How often and for how long was Sophie in Ireland and how often was Ian at Lyons' house? Ian's and Sophie's paths may seldom if ever have crossed other than the time Alfie was '90% positive' he pointed her out to Ian.

Not knowing of, let alone not knowing an occasional visitor who lives over 4km away is perfectly reasonable. Without something to point to a closer connection there is no reason to assume one.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,530 ✭✭✭FishOnABike

I think he lost on all claims that the newspapers made stating he was the main suspect, primarily because he said the same himself.

He won against the newspapers claims that he was violent towards his ex wife as the newspapers did not provide any evidence to support their claims. If they had any, I'm sure they would have produced it.