Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Entitled Tillage farmers

• Registered Users Posts: 11,581 ✭✭✭✭Say my name

Back in the 90's and 2000's there were tillage farmers taking every acre they could. One especially was buying and renting everything they could in the area. Still are but they have the scale of bought land now. They farm in the thousands of acres now.

There were no social media or no giving out. You just had to get on with your own bit as best you could.

Difference now is there's social media and this them and us tribalism has been encouraged by the merchants and environmentalists to divide and conquer. The farmer doesn't benefit but they do.

That said that one tillage farmer has that scale in the area now but there's one dairy farmer now trying to emulate that tillage farmer in this age. He's gone like him and people are wondering have they gone cracked or what.

Mind your own bit and to hell with the crackpots be they either tillage or dairy. Those fools just want everyone else out of business for their own vanity.

• Registered Users Posts: 19,826 ✭✭✭✭Donald Trump

Article makes very little sense.

Complaining that "fake slurry movement" drives rental prices higher? And also complaining that dairy men want to plough tillage land?

• Registered Users Posts: 790 ✭✭✭Pinsnbushings

Ye it was a sad article I thought, how divided the farming community is, mainly driven by bedrugery.

There is wrong on all sides, those with agendas against farming must be delighted to look at it.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,432 ✭✭✭limo_100

God such tripe image how the beef farmer feels being squeezed by both dairy and tillage

• Registered Users Posts: 850 ✭✭✭duffysfarm

Do dairy farmers and tillage farmers not walk all over beef farmers?

• Registered Users Posts: 2,258 ✭✭✭green daries

Not wher I'm from its beef and sheep with young farmer entitlements who are driving it tillage area would be small and getting smaller

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,205 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

Is this yet another example of the law of unintended consequences. Dept said right we ll go after slurry exports and clamped restrictions on it so the only way dairy farmers can comply is to take the land in their own name.the out come in terms pratice might be the same as before but it will cause problems for everyone. In West cork there is a long tradition of beet maize straw cereals and silage moving west as farmers with the better land in the east grew the crops and the boys in the west milked the cows.we used to operate slurry export as it was meant to be with silage bought in and slurry spread on that ground.this past year we had to change some of our arrangements due the changes but what we were doing suited everyone grand as lads could claim their own entitlement s and was good farming practice as well