Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The accelerating fall in Sinn Féin support

• Registered Users Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

You must be really important for a personalised ad to be sent directly to you. Or, and hear me out, it is a campaign based on a clever algorithm…

• Registered Users Posts: 4,130 ✭✭✭bigroad

Im convinced they dont want power yet for some reason.

How could ya fook up so bad.

They had it all and let it slip through their fingers.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,386 ✭✭✭Clo-Clo

They have been doing that for years, between all the money pushed into the dodgy online accounts for years in Eastern Europe, the number of pirate flags disappearing over night when Ukraine got attacked was interesting

To the amount of money pushed into their online supporters to go around abusing everyone and anyone online

Then you look at the amount of videos etc been pushed across all social media

They have been spending huge quantities of money for years, none of it on telling everyone about their fantastic policies, nah just the sort of noise and nonsense you see if you live in the US

Then who can forget all of the flights and gala dinners SF run overseas to tell everyone how great they are and that everyone in Ireland is living in squalor and its all FF/FG fault :-)

• Registered Users Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭standardg60

• Registered Users Posts: 68,798 ✭✭✭✭L1011

No, they place an ad and you saw it

You seem to have very little understanding of how this works.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,567 ✭✭✭✭Frank Bullitt

It’s genuinely entertaining that someone thinks SF sent them an ad DIRECTLY on YouTube. Thats made my day.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

They reflect your browsing history.

Drop your hard on for fenians under the bed and your ads will change accordingly.

It's like the Tory mp who complained about escorts advertising on his Google account until it was pointed out it was based on his history.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,826 ✭✭✭✭Danzy

• Registered Users Posts: 6,776 ✭✭✭SouthWesterly

The did a hard push on the Ukrainian vote. Local candidate in my area paid the centres a visit and they all came out in force to vote for the person.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭riddles

you just have to look North and see Sinn Fein in action. Collapsed the executive for secondary reasons when tough decisions regarding budgets were in the works.

• Registered Users Posts: 18,270 ✭✭✭✭namloc1980

Early tallies not great for Sinn Fein in the locals. They'll claim a victory because they will do much better than 2019 but some early predictions that they'll end up with less council seats than FF and FG.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,466 ✭✭✭MFPM

It's a terrible result for SF, winning 3 MEPs won't put a gloss on this result.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,754 ✭✭✭✭padd b1975

Something tells me the backroom of a pub with no windows somewhere off the Falls Road is being reserved for an EGM.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,813 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

Bearded and bald men smoking pipes.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,523 ✭✭✭✭Dav010

There is a wake tonight in party HQ.

• Registered Users Posts: 5,239 ✭✭✭Widdensushi

Equal but opposite reaction etc,, likely rise in popularity next election.…

• Registered Users Posts: 4,699 ✭✭✭standardg60

Mary Lou's poster with change starts here has an unintended vibe to it now.

• Registered Users Posts: 10,922 ✭✭✭✭martingriff

It's all because of those people you know and thr ones who just talk to you from other threads you tell us

• Registered Users Posts: 25,410 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

the electorate so far look to be sending a VERY big message to Sinn Fein.

84 seats filled, of that 84, SF have a grand total of 1…

If you give the two fingers to your electorate, the citizens of this country, this being a democracy, you might get the same back, but with interest. That’s happening.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,460 ✭✭✭✭kowloon

No point in advertising to you if you're already a SF voter, they want to entice you into changing allegiance. I can sense you weakening already…

• Registered Users Posts: 25,410 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

3 out of 119 so far…. It’s a dark auld night for them… be very interesting to see what Mary Lou thinks of it. See who or what events or circumstances will be the target of her blame…..

• Registered Users Posts: 7,074 ✭✭✭Jeff2

Mary lou will sue.

Sounds like a song but that's about how they keep people from saying what is truth and taking them to court.

I hope they are ended.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭donaghs

Can someone realistically make a leadership challenge in Sinn Fein?
    Adam’s was leader from 1983 until 2018, there was never a hint of dissent in the party against him, ever. When it came time to depart, there was no competition or discussion, McDonald was crowned leader and O’Neill made vice-president.
    maybe they are unique in Irish political parties for having an unanimous hive-mind.

Or as you say, maybe the back room figures will decide now if McDonald stays on, or announces her retirement from leadership.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,380 ✭✭✭tom23

So apart from the cohort feasting on the carcass of supposed Mary Lou’s demise, what next for Sinn Fein? Don’t think I’ve ever witnessed such a collapse in support. Was it the 300k gaffs or fencing sitting on immigration? Have to say I feel sorry for her.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,919 ✭✭✭Peter Flynt

"maybe they are unique in Irish political parties for having an unanimous hive-mind."

Not quite as Fine Gael recently did the same with Harris & Humphreys

• Registered Users Posts: 2,742 ✭✭✭donaghs

Why make such a ridiculous post? We’ve seen plenty of leadership competitions in Fine Gael? Just look at 2017 when Varadker and Coveney were the front runners. Same with all the major parties, except Sinn Fein - maybe they just agree more on everything, all the time? 😀

A ridiculous post which is factually correct information? FG have a coronated leader and deputy leader. There was no election.

• Registered Users Posts: 7,410 ✭✭✭Jinglejangle69

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Home & Garden Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators Posts: 22,379 CMod ✭✭✭✭Pawwed Rig

I think a good proportion of their base have concerns on immigration which the party does not reflect so people have moved elsewhere or just not voted. Surprised at how poorly they are doing but if the numbers keep up for FFG then I can see an early general election called

To what extent has SF's fall in popularity got to do with the fact that Leo Varadkar is no longer taoiseach and leader of FG?

I'd say it's a significant factor.