Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Wife looked at and comment made while out !

• 04-03-2024 1:07pm

Hi All,

A new experience for me and the mrs to be sure. Was out at a market on Sunday in the capital. Mrs was wearing leggings, a fleece top, long one, and a sleeveless jacket.

She was looking at some jewelry or something and three men of a certain background wearing what looked like thawbs made a look of looks at her and a few comments in a language I didnt understand, then followed by some type of tongue-clicking. They were staring at her while doing this.

I was right beside her, and when I saw the men looking at her and commenting I very nicely ( not really) told them to p1ss off and if they dont like people dressed up in clothes like that in a public space at 13:00 then maybe dont go out.

My Mrs said this would be a regular enough thing. Has anyone else experienced it?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,075 ✭✭✭Notmything

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,034 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Oh move on with your day!

There are a certain type of men who will do this , not just confined to Muslim men which you seem to be alluding to.

Thankfully a greater portion of men have been raised to be more respectful and know better.

Ask any woman and I guarantee she has had comments made about her, that even if they were "complimentary" she would rather the person making them kept them to himself.

I'd be more annoyed at my partner getting involved as it could easily escalate a two second interaction to a dangerous interaction.

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

Were they Alikr mercenaries sussing out whether there is a price on her head?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,170 ✭✭✭T-Maxx

Thawbs you say. In the capital.

• Moderators, Regional Midwest Moderators Posts: 11,163 Mod ✭✭✭✭MarkR

Weird. I and my thawb-wearing mates visited your country recently and had a terrible experience. Feeling the need for prayer, I asked a woman where I could find the local mosque. Unfortunately, I lost coverage on my phone (Darn you muslimfone!) and wasn't able to get Google Translate up. I remonstrated with myself (TSK TSK Abdul. You should know better), when suddenly this fine woman's partner became belligerent with me, just as my phone got its coverage back. I can't repeat what he said, but it was most impolite. 0/10, would not recommend.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,442 ✭✭✭NSAman

Did you go back to the hospital (seeing as you are a heart surgeon)? And then back to the camp tent?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,466 ✭✭✭JVince

hope you never pass a building site with her!

Or visit australia and look at the way pure white Irish paddies act in front of Aussie women (very very embarrassing to be seen as from the same country as them)

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,089 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

What was their reaction to your outburst?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

Why Are you surprised other men might express delight at how your wife looks op? Do you not find her attractive anymore?

• OP if you don’t understand the language they spoke how can you be sure they were speaking to or about your Mrs?

You made yourself look like a right eejit if you ask me having a go at three randomers for speaking.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 43,028 ✭✭✭✭SEPT 23 1989

Why didn’t you defend your wife’s honour by beating the three of them to a pulp like a real man?

women love that sh1t

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,509 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

Fashion Police from Tehran on holidays.

• Moderators, Education Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 10,842 Mod ✭✭✭✭artanevilla

Are these "thwabs" in the room with us right now?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 691 ✭✭✭hurikane

Thinly veiled I’ve got bird thread?

It's a long time since I saw the old Thinly Veiled wheeled out. Our younger readers may not know what it means.

https://www.boards.ie/discussion/2056768314/thinly-veiled-thinly-veiled-post/p2

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,392 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Most people will know full well what the OP is referring to. You don't need to know any language to understand lecherous looks and the intent behind them. OP - you should have quoted the Ten Commandments to them with specific reference to not coveting thy neighbours wife. If they were truly holy souls, they would surely have been humbled and smitten by the word of the Lord.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,559 ✭✭✭RoboRat

Most people will know full well what the OP is referring to. You don't need to know any language to understand lecherous looks and the intent behind them.

Could also be constipated and daydreaming of releasing their chocolate hostage in a toilet with a heated seat and a limitless supply of soothing aloe vera 4-ply cushioned toilet roll...

The look is quite similar.

• Registered Users Posts: 394 ✭✭KevMayo88

Welcome to the new Ireland sir, where diversity is our strength.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 763 ✭✭✭GSBellew

Need more info to make an informed decision

Well to be fair, these men come from cultures that brutalise and treat their women like absolute filth, so I can understand the OP's concern regarding a few of them lerching and salivating around his wife.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 7,194 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison

IBTL

• Registered Users Posts: 2,818 ✭✭✭Sunny Disposition

You've made your point, okay, your wife is ridey, well done for snapping her up. Great humblebragging.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,340 ✭✭✭jj880

Divorce her. Marry a swamp donkey.

Problem solved.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,085 ✭✭✭Rubberchikken

I fail to see any humour in a bunch of Neanderthal creeps making comments/noises, making acceptable wherever they were dragged up, but most decent men in our country today are better behaved and more respectful towards women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,118 ✭✭✭✭Annasopra

The op didn't mention any salivating. Very odd that you noticed all this saliva and he didn't. Who goes looking at saliva. Did you get a close up look?

It was so much easier to blame it on Them. It was bleakly depressing to think that They were Us. If it was Them, then nothing was anyone's fault. If it was us, what did that make Me? After all, I'm one of Us. I must be. I've certainly never thought of myself as one of Them. No one ever thinks of themselves as one of Them. We're always one of Us. It's Them that do the bad things.

Terry Pratchet

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,233 ✭✭✭nachouser

You missed out on a hape of camels there, op.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,412 ✭✭✭corner of hells

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 655 ✭✭✭Sonic the Shaghog

I love how some people are more concerned with telling the OP get over it cause it's inferred they would be let's say "New Irish" sexism and misogyny apply regardless of your ethic background, doesn't matter if we've loads of our own doing it.

Vomit inducing but no suprise from some in here.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,599 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

Thinly veiled "I'm on boards long enough to know what a thinly veiled post is".

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,822 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

I’d say it did, probably at the hot meat counter, the lads saw a spached chicken dripping grease and kinda ‘ got string’.

It can happen.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,387 ✭✭✭Padre_Pio

When I was a young wan I experienced unwanted attention of lots & lots of Irish males. In the 70s-80s there were t too many foreign guys around. Sitting upstairs in buses I had make hands down my crotch, manipulating me until I’d shout out and shame them publicly. The nearest thing to porn then was well-hidden imported stuff. Once, when I was 14 and walking along the Merrion Road to visit my diabetic cousin in SVUH I had a 15 year old lad asking me how much I was charging for my body. I wouldn’t mind but I was dressed in dark green corduroy trousers and some ragged looking top, I certainly wasn’t sexy dressed like that.

If you take a random sample of 100 Irish men and a random sample of 100 "men from a certain country" and enquire about their attitudes towards women, I'm willing to bet that the vast majority of the Irish men would have complete respect for women- the other sampling- well, lets just say, I would also be willing to bet that that group would think about women in a very, very different way.

Take that one to your local bookie. They always know the odds. But they will ask you to nominate a percentage, rather than a vast majority.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Education Moderators Posts: 27,283 CMod ✭✭✭✭spurious

Ah, but we can't blame that on the brown foreigners. Gerremow!

Your experience wouldn't be unique among Irish women, as I'm sure you know. I'm not sure it's much better nowadays.

Post edited by Boards.ie: Paul on

Just to come back on some of the posts there.

No, it was obvious that they were speaking about her, looking at her directly as she was the only person looking at the jewelry ( if that's what it was)

No, I didn't have an out burst, I actually stood there for a second or two until the tounge clicking thing started and just said, lads what are ye looking at and that's it's how people dress in public.

I don't think that would classify as an outburst.

And yes,I know what a thawb is, I work close to a mosque and talk to lots of the people who go there.

• Registered Users Posts: 9,849 ✭✭✭buried

You should have said "dead right lads, come on woman get yourself home and get into a binbag liner and keep yourself in it if you want to go outside"

Then all the neo-liberals up in here would have given you a standing ovation.

"You have disgraced yourselves again" - W. B. Yeats

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,704 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

Have you asked Irish women about the attitudes of Irish men at all?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 24,089 CMod ✭✭✭✭Ten of Swords

Fair enough, no outburst so.

In any case, how did the three thawb-clad gentleman react to your polite enquiry?

• you said in the OP you told them to “piss off” that sounds like an outburst to me.

Did you climb atop the stall and body slam the three of them like Triple H?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,901 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

So what story can I make up to allow me to be racist on the internet today.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,689 ✭✭✭notAMember

Congratulations, you experienced ~20 seconds, of what many women and girls experience throughout their lives from the age of about 8 or 9 years old. Well done also on hopefully correcting these attitudes, and posting about it.

It's probably the leggings, but can also be uncovered hair, bare shoulders or exposed elbows.

Some men believe women wearing leggings are obscene, and that the woman deserves to be gang-raped for that transgression.

Disappointing but not surprised to see the comments thinking this sort of behaviour is somehow a compliment.

There's a certain culture where that horrendous mentality towards women is widespread- and it's not amongst Irish culture. Astonishing to see so many on here downplaying it as something trivial.

Here we go, someone attempting to draw a parallel between the behaviour and attitudes of Irish men towards women en masse, and the behavior and attitudes of middle-eastern men towards women en masse. They are worlds apart sir, and you know that.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,704 ✭✭✭✭AndrewJRenko

So no, you've not spoken to Irish women about their experiences than, that's what I thought.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,387 ✭✭✭✭o1s1n
    Master of the Universe

When you say 'Irish Culture', do you mean modern liberal Irish culture built on our current system which affords equal rights to women, bodies and all?

Or do you mean the Irish 'Immigrants out!' nationalist idea of 'Irish culture', which is very very different in it's treatment of women.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 27,349 ✭✭✭✭super_furry

Your wife was obviously leading them on.

I recommend divorce, taking up a new hobby and travelling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 822 ✭✭✭raspberrypi67

Sure Look, they were probably looking at the rings in the window and couldn't believe how expensive they were, cheaper west of the Shannon...!