Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

School kids in uniform buying booze.

• 22-05-2024 2:10pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭

I was in the off license earlier and was there was three shool girls in front buying booze. Id's were checked so I assume they were 18 but it looked odd. Is this even allowed/legal? I'm guessing it's legal but I doubt the school or parents would be happy. Has anyone seen this before?

Edit. I didn't want to google schoolgirls, uniform, alcohol into a search engine for obvious reasons.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 656 ✭✭✭Gary_dunne

Once they're 18 or over it doesn't matter what they are wearing. The school may have some policies in it about "representing the school" when in uniform but really there's no punishment for this.

Why would the parents care if they're over 18?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,863 ✭✭✭LambshankRedemption

"Im guessing the school or parents wouldn't be happy".

Probably not, but if IDs were checked, that's just their hard cheese.

If they are over 18 they are legally entitled to buy alcohol, it might be awkward for the off licene to refuse just because they are in a school uniform.

If I were their parent I would have preferred they come home and change before going to the off-license.

Would many parents have an issue with an 18-year-old drinking alcohol?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,119 ✭✭✭Tails142

20+ years ago I tried legally buying beers in my school uniform with my passport as ID.

The fecker in the off licence refused me and said it was their store policy to only accept garda age cards as id. I was raging. The age cards were only being brought in at that stage. Just went to another off licence near by though and got served no problem.

A nephew of mine is being roped in by a family friend who is a garda to do test purchases so watch out if you work selling alcohol!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,098 ✭✭✭Pauliedragon

I'm guessing that is against school policy to bring alcohol onto the premises. If they bought it and brought it home then I still don't see where the issue is, 18 year old legally buys alcohol.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,480 ✭✭✭Patrick2010

Fair enough, could have been a tough mornings school. Might have needed a few drinks before afternoon classes.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 41,164 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

If they are over 18 it's none of anyone's business just like it is no ones business that you were in an off licence at lunch time.

Also if they are over 18 they are not kids, they are adults.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,065 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Guaranteed it's their school graduation!

Yes not a great look, but Jesus Christ you must have had a miserable teenage life if this is what's bothering you.

Let them enjoy their night in peace!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,761 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

The Secondary schools around here get a half-day on Wednesdays, so maybe they were just having a midweek chill session. At their age, they wouldn't be getting hangovers in the morning, anyway. 😄

Or the extremely more likely story…they are on their way to an early afternoon, fancy dress party or hen 'night' on a Wednesday, dressed as schoolgirls. 😉

'When you have eliminated all which is impossible, then whatever remains, however improbable, must be the truth.'

Jesus lads I thought by putting it in AH people would realise it was a tongue in cheek post. I would've put it somewhere else if I was serious.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,243 ✭✭✭witchgirl26

I was 18 for the whole of my 6th year in school so it's not beyond the realms of possibility that they were of age to purchase. There is nothing in law about what you can and can't wear to purchase alcohol. And while the school might not be thrilled about it not much they can do except say "please don't do that in uniform". I know there were some cases where schools tried to impose detention on students for things done outside school premises & hours while the child was in uniform (as they were representing the school by wearing it) but these all got successfully challenged as the school had no jurisdiction there.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

Bushing/Knacker Drinking/cans from the Outside Inn is a quintessential part of being a teenager. Great to see it’s still going on.
    I’m nearly 40 and still love heading to the local park with a few friends and a massive bag of cans. Nothing like an outdoor piss either after a few sticks of Heinomite.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,222 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

If a workplace has a policy saying no buying alcohol or gambling in our uniform, then you can bet they can be enforced. School policies should apply equally- it is a very poor look for the school.

• Registered Users Posts: 665 ✭✭✭Baba Yaga

often grabbed a few cans at lunchtime when i was that age,grand bit of a beer-buzz for the afternoon!

"They gave me an impossible task,one which they said I wouldnt return from...."

ps wheres my free,fancy rte flip-flops...?

pps wheres my wheres my rte macaroons,kevin?

"You are him…the one they call the "Baba Yaga"…

Only a matter of time before you found this a disgrace.

A workplace can give you a warning or dismiss a person, what are the school going to do to a few girls no doubt graduating in the next few days. Let them be young and enjoy themselves.

• Registered Users Posts: 9 Gabriel Swan

No alcohol while in school would be a good rule. I would also say that I'm glad to see alcohol becoming less "cool" among 18 to 20 types lately.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,175 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

Quote the statute that gives schools or a worplace, a legal right to apply a code of conduct on an adult who is not on their property? Particularly when that conduct is perfectly legal.

If a school does not wan't it's image recognisable beyond it's precincts via the wearing of a uniform, then it shouldn't have a mandatory uniform policy.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,292 ✭✭✭Buddy Bubs

I remember buying alcohol in school uniform in the 90s but a lot more was acceptable then, and I wasn't 18 until just after finishing school. So I suppose I was 17, I imagine it was 6th year.

The bus driver gave me funny looks when I paid him the under 16 fare, which we always did, with a visible bag of cans with me.

30p was the under 16 fare back then I remember, 55p over 16s.

I believe a lot of shops won't sell cigarettes to school uniformed people now, even before it went to 18.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,688 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Meh, who cares?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,493 ✭✭✭tohaltuwi

Where are they getting money to buy the booze? Odd jobs presumably, goodness knows though. I’m sure the school wouldn’t be happy and would have something to say. People starting young at the booze are most likely to become alcoholics, and a a nation we appear to have a grá for the notion of the auld harmless alcoholic, but in hard reality they are not nice people to be in the company of.

Young developing brains are very susceptible, and the more ready access a young person has to it the more likely they have a destroyed life ahead of them. I got a belt across the belly from an alcoholic I invited into my home, pretended he didn’t recall afterwards. Sober initially, didn’t take long to get through a bottle of Jamieson and for an abrupt change of personality, a total Jeckyll & Hyde scenario. This person in particular had early access to alcohol.

The odd over-indulgence as a young person can teach a valuable lesson, and part of growing up, but the constant frequent access is where it is damaging.

I think anyone in a school uniform aged 18 looks a bit daft, but that’s just me. I left my uniformed school aged 15 to do my LC in a non-uniform school. The very thought of continuing to wear a uniform revolted me.. and I wasn’t buying any booze 😁

True… one can find oneself taking an AH thread actually seriously… need to lighten up meself 😁

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 20,175 ✭✭✭✭cnocbui

My last year of HS I was driving to and from my school in my own car, while wearing the bleeping uniform. I'm pretty sure that looked daft also, but such things are inevitable so long as schools can dictate adults wear a uniform.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,434 ✭✭✭AlanG

Lots of people in school uniforms drinking in the pubs in castleknock over the last week. I am pretty sure the gov made it illegal to refuse to serve an 18 year old based on age a few years ago. Does look odd however.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,132 ✭✭✭GIMP

I did my LC in 1992, I was 18 for all of that school year as were many of my friends. We often went for a pint or two after school in uniform before the bus arrived. It was never an issue once you had id!

Workplaces would also struggle to enforce that policy if the person is not on their premises or working at the time. Also major difference between a workplace and a school as you sign a contract with a workplace. Not so much with a school. The point is that the school has no jurisdiction to impose anything on students outside of school hours or school premises. I'm not saying drinking in the park in the uniform is a good look, just that the school can't actually do much about it.

Ah yes those few Barcardi Breezers I had as an 18/19 year old have really led me down the path to a homeless alcoholic……or not. Alcoholism is not caused by starting to drink young - problems with alcohol, maybe, but alcoholism is a lot more nuanced than that. As for the money - I had a job when I was 16 so I would have had my own money for buying whatever I wanted. And as I was an adult at 18, my parents let me use my money however I wanted. 18 isn't early access to alcohol - it's the legal age limit. If they were in primary school uniforms then that's a bigger issue on a few levels!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 983 ✭✭✭GAAcailin

ALot of Off-licences look for 21's ID, certainly near me. My DD will turn 18 in fifth year and be 19 for the last term of 6th year.

School kids in general are older these days then in my generation. Almost none of them starting college at 17..

Most follow the "Challenge 25" rule but they had ID to show that they were 18. There is no 21's ID for people to show, passport or age card and they can't refuse you.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,847 ✭✭✭✭elperello

Changed times.

One thing for sure the nuns would not have been amused.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,102 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

there is no legal precedent for any organisation attempting to stop people doing things that are legal and in good taste like shopping while wearing their uniform..

Say a school vice principal or whomever, saw a student Kate, buying a few Bacardi breezers in uniform, on a Friday after school. It’s May, She is 18 years old since February .

He reports back and they decide to discipline her…. To do so either way safely would require proof. Would the VP want to be taking a photo of the girl ? Because if I was a parent and I was cognisant that a school / state employee was in a public place, taking photographs of school kids ! Errr.

it wouldn’t be a conversation I’d be having with anyone at the school myself as a parent it would be via a solicitor and perhaps Gardai if appropriate.….

Post edited by Strumms on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 21,717 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

If the school makes it against their rules, I think a parent would be wasting money on a solicitor.

https://mtsm.ie/Page/General-Code-of-Behaviour/226803/Index.html

"The consumption of and/or possession of alcohol is strictly forbidden at all times on any part of the school premises and grounds as well as on or during school outings and also during normal school hours while the school uniform is worn. Students in breach of this rule are liable to disciplinary action."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,102 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

dunno. ‘Normal school hours ?’ If the student isn’t in school I’d interpret it as not being a normal school hour.

That rules seems just made up without practical thought being applied on behalf of the management of the school. Doesn’t make much tangible sense.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,065 ✭✭✭Princess Calla

Yeah which is grand if the child is in second year.

However given the fact they had ID it would be fairly safe to assume that this is probably their last day of school ever.

They probably got an extra bit of a kick at the novelty of buying alcohol in their uniform, knowing that the school can do/will do feck all about it.

The Debs is technically a school event and copious amounts of alcohol gets consumed there!

It might not have been during normal school hours though. My school had a half day on a Wednesday so lunchtime on Wednesday was outside of normal school hours. A lot of schools had similar.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 30,280 ✭✭✭✭Wanderer78

fcuk, this is a weird thread!

…so what!

• Registered Users Posts: 6,412 ✭✭✭Jequ0n

”Kids”

It’s not the only trigger but it is a very well known one. Genetics, environment, personality, trauma play a big role, but a lot of alcohol taken whilst brain is developing is a major factor. There is tons of scientific literature on this, most of which I can’t post because academic science links not allowed. Here’s one that is.

yes the Transition Year pushes the age at LC back. No TY available for me in 1978, would have loved it. Did my LC not long turned 17, and if early school had pushed me ahead the way they wanted to I would have been not long turned 16 leaving school. I was dreadfully immature and unfocussed.

….if you think alcohols a problem, wait till the full extent of early use of class a's truly kicks in!

No weirder than when it was discussed 10 years ago. And it is a topic for discussion on forums in different countries. Australia seems to have a widespread policy among shops not to sell alcohol to anyone in school uniform. I saw it in operation in Tesco yesterday.

https://www.danmurphys.com.au/help/rsa-commitment-content

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,018 ✭✭✭skallywag

A nice try at 'Oh it's not going as I expected, let's pretend it was all a joke, haha'.

…so we decide what age such drugs can be sold, but now they must or must not wear certain types of clothing!

…say wha!

We don't decide. Schools and shops have rules.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,032 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

As an aside , while not alcohol related , while mitching school and playing snooker , in a sem uniform they were alot stricter than if you were from the tech

If I was serious I wouldn't have put in in AH. I don't give a **** who sells booze to who it was an unusual site to see and found it amusing and also curious. I know bookies won't serve them or supervalu. Relax lads it was definitely tongue in cheek I thought I'd get funny answers not legal advice ffs.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 742 ✭✭✭Kurooi

I would hope the store checks their IDs, but other than that I'm not sure what you would like to happen?

If they're 18 they can do as they please, what their parents or the school think doesn't invalidate their ID. They're free to cut allowance, issue suspensions or whatever they want but they don't override the law, school rules have no power over the shop keeper.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 39,785 ✭✭✭✭Mellor

Why were you buying booze during the day and eyeing up teenagers?

A workplace has no say in you buying alcohol or gambling, unless you've agreed to those terms in a contract.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,222 ✭✭✭✭Mrs OBumble

Whilst you are wearing clothing that identifies you as working for a particular company, that company has a great deal of say over what you can and can't do.

And when children are enrolled into a school, their parents do indeed sign up to a contract to uphold the school rules.

Post edited by Mrs OBumble on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,959 ✭✭✭Greyfox