Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Trivial Things that annoy you - Mod Note in OP

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭apache

Txt speak, you're a grown adult so stop txting like a 14 yr old.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,714 ✭✭✭Mollyb60

Claimed money back from my employer on an eyetest recently. I'm an employee so obviously they choose to reimburse me by cheque rather than just in my wages. Such waste! Not sure if I'll bother next time.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,372 ✭✭✭✭EmmetSpiceland

Wasps. And their menacing carry on.

“It is not blood that makes you Irish but a willingness to be part of the Irish nation” - Thomas Davis

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,344 ✭✭✭SAMTALK

Just recovering from EP traffic and hassle and now the ploughing.

Jesus the traffic plan needs to be changed , def not working for them this morning

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,988 ✭✭✭spookwoman

Being able to see when someone is going to start acting out again and cause trouble.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 26,102 ✭✭✭✭Strumms

the neighbours visitor…they spent X time in the property & spend a couple of minutes on the doorstep saying their farewells, this eejit, also believes it is necessary to get into their car and as they drive away, always , loud prolonged honks on the car horn. Could be 9.15 am, 2.30 pm, 11.45 pm or 1.00 am. 1000% guaranteed to do it. “ cheers for a fun evening, I’ll give you a txt, bye “ is sort of going to suffice for 99.99% of us. So the horn blower antics ? inconsiderate weirdo…

the amount of absolute bôllocks written online by people claiming to be experts.

I have blood tests tomorrow but a fitness appointment in the evening. Medium - high intensity exercise…… can I still go after the blood work…. ? Some experts…”wait an hour” and drink lots of water..” others, wait…. 3/4/6/8 hours….. obviously I’ll ask the doc but .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,024 ✭✭✭✭gormdubhgorm

Able bodied Taxi driver who sits in a disabled parking bay all day every school day Fairview Area Dublin near a school “collecting Ukrainian kids”

And takes up the space on those who may require it. He has no shame.

Post edited by gormdubhgorm on

Guff about stuff, and stuff about guff.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,761 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I'll be as bad as those other blood-y experts, and say that unless you're donating a pint of blood, you'll be fine. The amount taken for blood tests is tiny in comparison. (But this is coming from somebody who has often cycled home after a blood donation, which probably isn't advisable.)

My trivial annoyance is my inactivity between 5 and 7pm…again. I seem to get in from work at 5-ish, sit down and suddenly it's 7 o'clock!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,380 ✭✭✭Archeron

Went for lunch with our team from work today, special for us as we never do it. Decided to go to a local place and it was a fully unpleasant experience.

The lady running the food bit was rude and seemed annoyed that we were bothering her, (place was empty) but the food sounded great on the menu, and like it might just maybe justify the price.

It wasnt and it didn't, absolutely basic of basic just bunged on a plate and dropped in front of us with a grunt.

Great being out with everyone but bloody hell what a sh*t food experience. Premium prices for average food and below average service.

Also TMI TA at drinking a lot of beetroot juice, forgetting you've drank it, going to the toilet, looking in the pot and screaming like Ned Flanders. (google tells me that possibly only 11% of people get the wonderful color effects)

• Moderators, Music Moderators Posts: 12,738 Mod ✭✭✭✭iamstop

People who destroy vinyl records in the name of 'art'.

• No, your bowl is NOT cool.
    • No, using a record as a canvas is NOT ok.
    • No, you destroyed a record to make a poxy clock.

The ONLY time it is ok to use a record for any of the above is if it is so severely scratched up and unplayable. Otherwise, sound can be sampled from the record to make something completely new. The same record can be sampled multiple times by different people to make many new compositions. Please stop destroying them.

Especially now with AI splitter tools, you can isolate basslines, vocals, drums or instruments and create fresh sounds and arrangements.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,032 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

Autocorrect . I posted in the Liverpool thread about wanting to see what Cheisa brings but it was changed to Chris’s or Cheese or something

Here for my blood test and already waiting 25 minutes after my scheduled appointment time… sitting on a seriously uncomfortable wooden bench as the waiting room is rammed full…. It's 'AM' how do you get that far behind… ? !

There better had be an apology whenever I'm seen..

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,938 ✭✭✭Deebles McBeebles

People whispering in the office. If it's that bloody important/top secret, go elsewhere and talk about it. I don't need to hear the wet smacking of your gossipy mouths as you discuss who got Laura from IT up the duff.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,973 ✭✭✭mikemac2

A person in the office asked today about Christmas music and Christmas jumpers 🤨

She was swiftly told it’s September

Grounds for dismissal tbh. No employment tribunal or judge would allow an appeal for this

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 921 ✭✭✭Deregos.

Spot on my forehead . . Some Dick joked that my powerlight was on. Don't want to squeeze it in case it gets bigger.

I'm to old to be getting feckin spots.

probably the easiest task whilst operating a motor vehicle is parking it…. It’s done at ultra slow speeds, you have time, mirrors and more often than not now, cameras and sensors…Yet I observe, witness and experience daily now, drivers with space, time and in smaller vehicles… who are unable / unwilling to make any significant effort to…. simply navigate their vehicle into an ample gap between two fücking white lines ! and thus enabling others to have ‘their’ space to do the same…. 🤌🏻🤦🏻‍♂️

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,688 ✭✭✭✭whisky_galore

Revisited my favourite swimming spot, a fairly remote pier/slipway only to find dog turds, rubbish and a used condom. What the actual fcuk is wrong with people?

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Doctors and the NHS. To even have a chance of seeing a GP, I must either fill out a 5-minute eConsult at exactly 8am hoping my browser or internet connection don't crash or wait for at least half an hour on the phone. Once there, I get sent to another clinic which seems to be a dumping ground and the doctor I did see sort of skimped over checking my issue. I've realised something about it which might be relevant but it seems like the sort of thing that she might have seen were I not rushed in and rushed out.

I should be grateful I suppose that at least I didn't have to pay for anything, aside from a prescription I am sceptical will work, but it's just a bit depressing. She's confident that I don't have cancer so there's that.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

Leviticus 19:34

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,478 ✭✭✭apache

Queing in a shop and the cashier is having a chat with the customer at the front. Jesus have your chats somewhere else!

I realise I may be old and cranky.

People.......

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,761 ✭✭✭Badly Drunk Boy

I have elderly neighbours who often take in packages for me while I'm at work, whether it's from An Post or a courier, and that's lovely of them. One of them even looks behind my bins if he thinks a courier left something there, which is a bit much but done for the right reasons.

When I ordered a new electric bike recently, I didn't want the neighbours to feel they'd have to deal with it, so I put my work address as the delivery address, meaning I could also put the bike together on work time (apparently it should only take 20 minutes). The expected delivery time was vague, between 4 and 14 days, but what difference would that make?

I just happened to book two days off work (today and tomorrow), and of course, the bike arrives in work this morning. I've been too busy to collect it so far but it looks like I'll be going in on my second day off, tomorrow. 🙄I want to get my hands on the bike, but it seems wrong to go in on a day off. 🙃

The stupid coin basket on tollbooths. I have the arms of a stretchy gibbon and i still find them too awkwardly placed.

• Moderators, Category Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 40,261 CMod ✭✭✭✭ancapailldorcha

Can text messages have attachments? My local GP has sent me a form via text that I need to bring to a clinic for a blood test. The issue is that there is no form I can see.

I hate the NHS.

The foreigner residing among you must be treated as your native-born. Love them as yourself, for you were foreigners in Egypt. I am the LORD your God.

I would be wary of any attachments in a text. Can they not just email it? Text delivery of something like that seems very odd and TA too

Sage advice but there isn't even one and I've several from my practice on the chain so I think it's fine.

Another TA: I can't even find a generic form on Google.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,594 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

Why is it virtually impossible to dispose of a clump of dog hair that you missed during hoovering through an open window without it either sticking to your fingers, or a gust of wind suddenly appearing, and thus said clump ends up blowing back inside amid the bedlam?

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Perhaps they tried with an MMS, but it didn't work.

My phone is quite old so I don't know. I'll see if they can email it. It'll only take a 60 minute call.

• Moderators, Arts Moderators, Recreation & Hobbies Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators Posts: 77,252 Mod ✭✭✭✭New Home

Could you ask the clinic that's supposed to receive it if they have a blank copy to send you/give you? It might be easier than going through the doctors again.

Probably. It's out of the way though and I've three days off next week so if I could get the thing sent to me from my GP, it'd be a lot easier. The obvious thing to do would be to call them but last time I called my GP it took 45 minutes to speak to someone.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,959 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

Vox pops. I really don’t care about or want to listen to the opinions of the man and woman on the street.

Could you ring the recipient? Hope you get sorted anyway.

Just got it. Took a mere half hour and about a minute of actual conversation. I consider that a marked success.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,222 ✭✭✭Bredabe

Ppl dumping their negative judgements of a situation when their simplistic solution to what they perceive as a simplistic problem, isn't a workable solution for the ppl involved.

"Have you ever wagged your tail so hard you fell over"?-Brod Higgins.

why the Eurosport director during the live snooker keeps cutting off to shots of the audience applauding and reacting, when the balls on the snooker table are post shot still in transit to their destination …. Show the play, then the resulting audience reaction if you have a fetish about that…. You wouldn’t have in soccer a free being taken and them cutting shots of people in the stands. Was going on in the last tournament so what’s his manager at… ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,594 ✭✭✭✭castletownman

When a customer you have an agreement with to leave parcels at their door refrains to tell you they are on holidays for a few days, yet still get a parcel or two. Only a neighbour told me, it'd have been left outside for as long as they are away , increasing the odds of it getting taken or destroyed. Said neighbour offered to take parcel in, but out of pettiness I wrote out a docket since they didn't inform me of their travels.

A heads up would be nice.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 234 ✭✭Charlo30

And people wonder why An Post gets a bad name

The gobshîte security in Blanchardstown shopping centre who clamped the Brinks cash in transit van. Surely common sense can be used and a photo and email sent to their management as opposed to clamping a vehicle possibly with a five or six figure cash sum onboard which was parked on a central reservation and not blocking any fûcker….. 😵‍💫

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 31,118 ✭✭✭✭freshpopcorn

Speaking of those Cash Delivery vans.

How about when the driver presses a button and sends out an an alert saying.

Driver needs assistance, contact the Gardaì and do not approach.

You then ring 999 for the driver to wobble out of the back of the van after accidently pressing the button.

league of Ireland refereeing…. 😳. It’s actually getting worse. Derry vs Rovers… yellow cards handed out for nothing but shîts and giggles, then clear a cut penalty for handball just ignored…. Bizarre, awful officiating has been the scourge of that league since forever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,032 ✭✭✭✭cj maxx

That I couldn’t sleep . Despite tablets and being quite tired , I seem to get new energy in bed .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,128 ✭✭✭✭Dial Hard

People with absolutely massive TVs in their bedrooms. The TV shouldn't be the focus of any room, let alone a bedroom. My mum's neighbour's young teenage son has a TV so massive you can see what he's watching from her house, and they live on a pretty wide road. It's bananas to me.

I was looking at mattresses recently and in one of the shops, they'd a bed with a dedicated stage at the end which could rise and fall via remote with the TV on it. Seemed excessive.

• Moderators, Science, Health & Environment Moderators, Social & Fun Moderators, Regional West Moderators Posts: 60,792 Mod ✭✭✭✭Gremlinertia

Oh wow I remember that being a big feature on cribs/celebrity homes years ago.

Current TA is pain, yet again, mid or lower ribcage to neck on the back

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,988 ✭✭✭spookwoman

With the XL Bully ban coming in the amount of charities etc trying to offload XL Bully's is sickening. Lot of charities have these restricted breeds on offer and lets face it not all are going to go to responsible owners.

Seem to be chafing in my legs after I go to the cinema for some reason. Maybe it's the sitting down.

Also, I've a job interview on Monday. I've done very little prep as I don't really know what to do other than googling potential questions and the company.

1. the gobshìte on the Boots website, who gives the following review with 5 stars 😵‍💫 for a foot care product that I’m now browsing and comparing…The review : “I bought this Scholl product & it hopefully it will work.” ……How can you give it five stars, if you haven’t used the fûcking thing yet…or haven’t seen the results…. Eejit.
    2. Watching the South Africa vs Argentina rugby match… Argentina getting completely ridden by the officials….forward passes, offsides, shots off the ball by the springboks just ignored, right under the noses of the ref and his team. And the Pumas getting pinged for anything even marginal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 34,441 ✭✭✭✭NIMAN

The constant subtitling on YouTube shorts.

Why the need for them?

having to hide my change jar because it’s constantly being pilfered…. “ I’ll just get a newspaper so I’ll borrow x of change ok…..” is one regular one.

If you hand the shop employee a tenner, twenty, fifty, whatever, there is a whole known system of payment that includes reimbursement of change… About 80% of the time I never see the cash back, no biggie but…. If you only have a tenner, they’ll give €5.60 back, you don’t need change….

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,600 ✭✭✭Sgt Hartman

A big gang of teen scrotes outside Fine Wines in Parnell Street Limerick on Friday evening. One skinny fella was strutting around without a t shirt trying to look hard. The door was rightfully locked by the staff but it meant that I couldn’t buy a few Friday evening beers to bring to my parent’s house. Luckily though I had some beers in the fridge from my last trip to the parent’s house.