Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Donald Trump the Megathread part II - mod warnings in OP, Updated 18/03/25

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 729 ✭✭✭Exiled Rebel

He is and doing a lot of damage to his companies especially Tesla. The markets reaction to the quarterly results could have significant implications for the company.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,488 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

And they won't do that because there are probably about a dozen people who want to be that king.

I agree their messaging could be more focused and consistent and that is something they genuinely can manage. But they are simply not going to have a talismanic leader anytime before about March 2028.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭poop emoji

Your Trump will play golf for four years thesis is naive after last few months

Trillions have been wiped out including another 1.4 trillion yesterday by investors who thought and told themselves delusions such as:

• Trump will be kept in check by checks and balances
    • Trump is afraid of Wall Street
    • Trump will play golf for four years
    • Trump tax cuts will lead to a bigger boom
    • Trump is now owned and influenced by crypto and tech bros

I used to think the same but in light of the economic, political and social disasters since January I have changed my mind and yea these opinions were extremely naive in hindsight

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,626 ✭✭✭✭Igotadose

100% agree. VP maybe someday. Hoping she primaries Schumer, it's long since time he was shown the door, and there's always a need for a strong voice from NY in the Senate, which it hasn't had for quite awhile.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,368 ✭✭✭thereiver

It takes months before tariffs effect the cost of goods like cloths shoes luxury goods since shops have stock to sell. I read young people are drastically cutting back on buying non essential luxury items and women only going to hairdressers when really necessary the housing market is slowing down as people are afraid to buy a house in a recession

Almost any person in a federal agency has to be fearful will I be sacked in a week or 6 months

We can see the signs of a recession falling stock market but the difference now the dollar is falling is government be bonds always a safe long term investment are falling.

We could be going towards a 70s type recession with high inflation Trump is dragging America's reputation thru the mud with his negative opinions on ally's and foreign countries

America used to be a beacon of hope liberty democracy and free speech

People who criticize Israel are now sacked or deported if they are foreign students the only hope is he has to leave office in a few years

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 29,661 ✭✭✭✭looksee

Grand QAnon Party. Though QAnon have gone a bit quiet, not certain they have gone away though - probably just that Trump is too busy tearing the place apart to pay them any attention.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,317 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,317 ✭✭✭✭Cluedo Monopoly

You didn't read my original post where I said he achieved zero except damage to the US. You guys are so uptight! I said he would play a lot more golf during the good weather. He will still be a pest for 4 years. And I said he had already damaged the US economy and reputation. Everything he has tried or promised has failed. I am not surprised the stock markets are falling again, he has completely spooked them. Reply to the original post if you want to challenge the content of it.

What are they doing in the Hyacinth House?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 359 ✭✭poop emoji

His golf courses are in Florida, the weather is always good there

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,409 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

And THAT is a problem. You are right. That is THE problem. They don't have another Obama or Clinton. Because, even if trump can't run next election, whoever runs is basically just going to be a Trumpuppet.

They don't have charismatic front man or woman. I think the US would even vote for a woman now if she was charismatic enough (Welcome to twenty first century). They tried with Harris. Too late and now "damaged goods" after the loss. They tried with AOC. Too combative. They need a photogenic, healthy looking person with a smile. Male or female to contrast the unhealthy-looking, scowl. I mean, that official portrait is practically a caricature.

But you are right. They have no-one. And it's a total missed opportunity. For anybody apart from the most blinkered trumpists, things are NOT looking good for the US. Sure, there are WILDLY differing opinions on why: Tariffs, transgenders, trade-wars, vaccines, Anti-science and regressive policies, drag queens. You name it. But, whatever they believe the CAUSE is, there is room for huge improvement. Someone coming in and restoring regular world trade would see quick benefits to people's every day. I don't know what they can do about low-skilled jobs without relaxing immigration policies.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,060 ✭✭✭MrMusician18

AOC is not going to be the answer in a country where a majority votes for Trump. AOC appeals to metropolitan liberals, a demographic where the Dems are fairly safe. AOC only speaks to the converted.

The alternative, like it or not, has to appeal to at least some demographs that voted for Trump. That means the candidate needs to move a bit towards them, at least partway. A substantial portion of the Dems activists also need to get over themselves and understand that if they want a Dem in, they will not agree with best candidate on everything. The absolute purity demanded from some quarters is totally unreasonable.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,380 ✭✭✭Wolf359f

And yet over half a million more Americans voted for women (Clinton & Harris) vs Trump in 2016/2024. So in America's view a women president is more popular than Trump. It's just the electoral collage skewing that result, making it appear that American's don't want a woman president.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,045 ✭✭✭✭Leroy42

The theory is not so much based on the weather as on Trump himself getting bored and fed up with the actual politics and work involved in running a country, including having to work with Congress, etc.

That was very much the case in his first term, where he very openly simply gave up on repeal and replace because it was a bit of hard work. But, the difference this time is he is bypassing Congress and the courts and simply running the country via EO.

Looking through a sample of these EO's, many of them are pointless, vague, meaningless and in some cases contradictory. But the EO result is not the point. The point is that he is very much getting everyone used to the fact that EO are normal and that POTUS can do whatever he wants whenever he wants via EO.

So there is no work for him to get bored with. He can carry out whatever fancy catches his imagination (the tariffs are the latest example of this). The entire conversation in the US shouldn't be about whether tariffs are good or bad, or what impact they may or may not have, It should be why POTUS is completely bypassing Congress and also ignoring SCOTUS on other matters. That is the real story.

Trump doesn't get bored when he gets what he wants. He gets bored with the actual real politics and work involved in getting bills through a partisan house and senate. But this time he is ignoring that and simply doing whatever he wants.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 15,004 ✭✭✭✭briany

The value of Trump in MAGA is that he's a charismatic figurehead. His main motivators in politics are simple enough: adoration from followers and revenge against enemies.

It's the thinkers behind Trump who feed Trump any kind of nuanced policy/strategy and try to influence his decisions, i.e. Elon Musk, Stephen Miller, Steve Bannon and Roger Stone. It really is like a king and his court where all these people are jockeying for the seat closest to the throne. None of the courtiers can ever be king because they lack the broad appeal Trump possesses, and Trump is never going to do any deep thinking on political matters because he is, eh, Donald Trump, but together, he and his underlings form a yin/yang system of sorts.

And this is why Trump can go and play all of the golf he wants. For him, the US presidency is not a job - it's a title. It's an exalted position the trappings of which are to be enjoyed. Leave the day to day shtt to the weird little men who vye for his favour.

• Moderators, Sports Moderators Posts: 29,488 Mod ✭✭✭✭Podge_irl

I'm not saying they have no-one. I'm saying no-one will be annointed now.

Obama was a relative nobody at this stage in the pre 2008 cycle. Absolutely no one thought he would be the next candidate. He had been a senator for about 3 months at this stage.

Maybe the US should have a shadow executive system like in parliamentary democracies. But they don't and that isn't about to change. The D presidential candidate and defacto leader won't be known till summer 2028. Jeffries, for all his faults, will be the closest thing if they take back control of the House.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,176 ✭✭✭✭J Mysterio

QAnon is genuinely the stupidest **** I've ever come across. It's an embarrassment, and does kind of underline how painfully thick many Trump supporters are.

The idea that fat pervy piece of shite would be engaged in some sort of secret mission to combat a cabal of sex traffickers, when he was very good friends of genuine sex trafficker Jeffrey Epstein is preposterous.

I would be surprised if Trump is not an abuser himself.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 42,365 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Obama was a relative nobody at this stage in the pre 2008 cycle

Obama burst on to the scene in 2004 after a keynote speech in Boston to the DNC.

He was an overnight "rock star".

He would be very much the exception.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,205 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

Not sure whether to put this in the Pope Francis thread or here but i could see Trump making waves in Rome when he attends the funeral of Francis - conservatives have been the order of the day in US Catholicism and that’s just the way Trump likes his Christian religious - Francis drew the ire of many conservative bishops and cardinals including American ones - I’ve no doubt Trump will be wheeling and dealing in Rome this weekend - he’s certainly not going out of “respect” for Francis - he likely can’t stand what Francis represented which was care for the poor and marginalised and a lot more progressive take on divorce and homosexuality and married priests - I’d say Trump will be out to advocate for a conservative Pope

https://www.theguardian.com/world/2025/apr/22/vatican-power-struggle-will-an-anti-francis-pope-emerge-from-conclave

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,510 ✭✭✭✭Penn

F*cker will probably throw a hissy fit if he's not in the front row, and will then try to claim that he should have a hand in selecting the next Pope because of how Christian America is.

It really wouldn’t surprise me if he made some comment on the election of the new pope - really, I just wouldn’t be surprised- that’s how fcking off the wall he is at this point

image.png

Francis looked absolutely ecstatic the last time he met with him and his family.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,518 ✭✭✭eightieschewbaccy

Qanon, the fact that conspiracy theories are the norm in it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 23,019 ✭✭✭✭Tell me how

Absolutely he was the exception, and truth be told, in hindsight, it wasn't ideal the way it played out.

It was fantastic for him to be President for 2 terms and to have won so successfully, but, he's understandably been ineffective since he stepped down and at a young age.

The "system" would have been much better served had he done 2 terms as senator before going for President. He was too good a politician and communicator to have used him so ineffectively.

Whoever would have won in his stead, right now, he could have been starting his second term after being in the senate for 2 terms or whatever. A much better scenario than him having come and gone so quickly in my view.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,409 ✭✭✭TheIrishGrover

"Do you know how many popes there have been? Lots. I mean LOTS. And romans. You know, like with knives and robes? and they. Beautiful people but they were mean to me. But that's OK. I don't. Popes. So many popes and no Americans. Can you believe that? hundreds. Have them all the time and no Americans. But the pope. Beautiful man but he said to me, "Mr President, you're my favourite president. But you need to forgive" And, y'know, that's not in MY bible. I said. Mr Pope. Did JESUS forgive? Co's y'know, the woke, they don't want to forgive. The loony Left want to forgive EVERYONE. Terrorists. Immigrants. People who stole…. And we won the election.

But I said "Mr Pope. you gotta… You gotta vote for an American pope. Cos. Cos Jesus. Did you ever see that movie? And he was. Very handsome man. I mean, not my type but. Handsome. Blue eyes. Women. So Mr Pope. You gotta do the right thing. Make Rome Great Again". And Biden. He. He said. Pope isn't even in Rome! Can you believe that? Like all "Pope doesn't live in Rome".

So, we're gonna get a pope from America. Maybe not the biggest pope because of corruption. You know those romans. But, we'll get one. We can/ Did you see that place? Looks like my houses. So classy. I mean. Gold. I said "Mr Pope, I may. you are copying me". But we'll get an election. I'll talk to him next week in Rome and. We'll get the pope. And he'll. New York. I mean. Hundreds of popes and not one pope from America. We're gonna change that. And taxes. Boy. Do they…….."

And on and on.

But yeah, he'll stick his oar in and try to get an American pope. Nevermind the vast majority of Catholica in the US are… them people from "sh*thole countries"… He'll be front and centre. Surrounded by his nodding dogs and his puppets.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 35,510 ✭✭✭✭Penn

Can't wait for next year's Easter service from the Vatican to be delivered by Pope Kidius Rockus I.

He was too good a politician and communicator to have used him so ineffectively.

The hilarious thing about that is, his own political coach right up to that speech in 2004 described his communication skills as "excrement".

Hindsight is rarely applicable for obvious reasons.

But for Obama the stars just aligned a just the right time, he was also a notorious hard worker.

Also I think McCain would have beaten Clinton.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,811 ✭✭✭✭aloyisious

That is the one thing about the MAGA people that amazes me, the US populace see them and Trump removing two foundation stones of the US, the constitution and the economy, the MAGA people think it's the way to go and the populace are doing nothing to stop them. King George got an angrier response from the North American populace over how his Govt was treating them. How much more are the present US N/A populace going to take from Trump and his shower of useless gits?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,591 ✭✭✭valoren

“How much more are the present US N/A populace going to take from Trump and his shower of useless gits?”

Considering the number of people who were idiotic enough to vote for him in the first place, I fear quite a bit more actually 😀

But don’t worry, they’ve sorted all those LGBTQ people and are defunding those horrible universities who preach human rights - you might not have a dime in your pocket but hey, you can’t have it all - Drill baby Drill !