Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Deposit return scheme (recycling) - Part 2

• Registered Users Posts: 4,702 ✭✭✭jj880

No. You responded to my list. Then when I responded to that with a question you dont want to answer you want to go back to my list. Dont think so. I can back up everything on that list but I wont be doing it until you answer my question. I wont be responding to you further until you answer it properly.

• Registered Users Posts: 20,940 ✭✭✭✭dxhound2005

What was the question again?

• Registered Users Posts: 11,012 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

I've a few cans here picked off the road with Return etc marked on them. All squashed a bit of course. What to do??

Should I toss them in my recycle bin that I pay for?

Or should I mail to Ossian Smyth and ask for a refund?

Or leave outside a local TDs constituency office?

Or what?

If we hit 90% tomorrow theyd probably triple the deposit due to lost revenue 🤣.

• Registered Users Posts: 14,871 ✭✭✭✭elperello

First off well done for picking up the cans.

The real culprits here are the people who littered.

Option 1 they become the property of your bin company.

Option 2 they end up in the department's recycling bin.

Option 3 you risk getting a fine for littering.

Another possibility is holding onto them until you get a chance to donate them to charity.

Seeing as their stated objective is 90% that's not going to happen.

• Registered Users Posts: 60 ✭✭Not made with hands

• Registered Users Posts: 788 ✭✭✭bog master

I ask again in case I missed a post, has anyone done a manual return?

They are not your property. Leave them back where you got them.

• Registered Users Posts: 11,012 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Well I've washed & dried them and now they have my fingerprints. So tossing back into the ditches mightn't be advisable. No way they'll go through a RV machine. But I'm mindful that one of the objectives of this scheme is anti litter and the idea is/was to encourage people to pick them, get deposits back and help keep the streets and roads tidy.

I'm thinking the Minister might be the best recipient, surely he knows what the protocol is? If I do, I'll let you know what the reply is.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,066 ✭✭✭Sarn

I’ve seen a Tesco RVM machine take fairly flattened cans and pay out, seems hit and miss.

Unfortunately we were stuck behind an individual with such cans, trying over and over until they were taken. The problem was that the cans also knocked the machine out of commission requiring a staff member to reset it…and then continued doing the same thing.

AFAIK none at the moment.

The charities in the Re-turn for Children scheme don't collect themselves.

https://re-turn.ie/return-your-bottles-and-cans-to-make-a-difference-to-a-childs-life/

Re-turn is inviting other charities, clubs etc. to get involved and I understand they will actually be collecting.

So I'm holding onto "roadkill cans" for now in the hope that some good cause will avail of them.

• Registered Users Posts: 28,839 ✭✭✭✭_Kaiser_

Nope.. It's already a ridiculous half-assed "seen to be doing something" nonsense scheme as it is.

Never ceases to amaze me how many people in this country will jump to reward failure and punish themselves some more on the altar of (allegedly) "doing the right thing".

It's no wonder that idiocy like this latest scam gets implemented, never mind off the drawing board in the first place.

Doesnt amaze me much. Theyre in every town. The kind of people who hang off a politicians arm for a photo while being robbed blind by their policies. Theyd be the head school lick growing up.

• Registered Users Posts: 2,083 ✭✭✭chasm

I've, as yet to return any bottles/cans for a deposit refund. Probably about 5 euro worth sitting in a box in the shed waiting to go back.

I was in McDonalds the other day, and bought my niece a happy meal which she ate "in store'. Just came across the receipt there earlier and noticed the 15c deposit fee for her fruit shoot drink ,which I must admit didn't even enter my head while I was in there! We just finished our meals, cleared our tray in to their (segregated) bins and left.

I know it's only 15c, but I wonder how much Mc Donald's pull in on this not being claimed by the customer?

• Registered Users Posts: 6,262 ✭✭✭con747

Now that made me laugh. "Well I've washed & dried them and now they have my fingerprints. So tossing back into the ditches mightn't be advisable. Can I ask what you think might happen if the Gardai dust those cans and find your fingerprints on them?

Don't expect anything from life, just be grateful to be alive.

• Registered Users Posts: 39,981 ✭✭✭✭Boggles

Into Lidl's over flowing general waste bin if that counts?

• Registered Users Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭reubenreuben

If it was 30c for small bottles, it would be more or almost more than that actual cost for some items. Small bottles of water in supermarkets for example.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,133 ✭✭✭reubenreuben

The naivety of comparing with Scotland is out of place here.

They are socialist and actually give a toss about their residents so are super careful about implementing new schemes .

Post edited by reubenreuben on

You have to question the logic. Get a money grabbing shambles in quickly to get things started and hope it improves later versus another country taking their time to implement a scheme that better suits their needs. Its farcical to suggest the first of those options is better.

If this thread is to believed our DRS company is going to be very rich. On the pickings of 15 and 25 cent deposits. The Scottish one went bust. They were looking for 20 pence.

https://www.bbc.com/news/uk-scotland-65965368

I have been comparing our scheme to existing ones, and ones planned in Portugal, Poland and elsewhere. They are the same model as Ireland, the polluter collects a deposit which the customer claims back. Very straightforward, and no need to go off into conspiracy theories about it.

• Registered Users Posts: 29,356 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

The scheme in Scotland hasn't even come into practice yet.

Ms Slater blamed the firm's demise on conditions imposed by the UK government such as the exclusion of glass.

Why are you inventing a "20p" conspiracy theory about why it went bust?

Isn't that blatant misrepresentation of the article you linked?

Will our scheme go bust because glass isn't included so? Why not?

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

The one in Poland starting next year is a copy of ours, and others. Is there a Polish word for Gombeen, that people would like to call them?

https://www.gov.pl/web/climate/deposit-refund-system-in-poland#:~:text=Empty%20packages%20covered%20by%20the,packages%20and%20returning%20the%20deposit.

"Money, material & data flow: In accordance with the principle of extended producer responsibility, the producers of beverages in packaging covered by the deposit system will finance the system. The deposit collected by the retailers will be transferred to the representing entity, and all financial settlements will be made monthly. Producers, will bear the costs associated with, among other things, the collection and transportation of packaging and waste, and keeping records and accounting for deposits. The system will additionally be financed by an unreturned deposit and the sale of recycled materials."

Is it a copy of ours? Already there are multiple differences between their version of the system and ours.

Deposit value: to be determined by regulation (still being processed).

All retailers, regardless of their area, will collect a deposit if they offer beverages in packages covered by the system… Empty packages covered by the deposit system will be allowed to be returned at commercial units with an area of more than 200 m2.

• Material type and packaging sizes covered by the system:
      • disposable plastic bottles of up to 3 liters,
      • reusable glass bottles of up to 1.5 liters,
      • metal cans of up to 1 liter.

So either you didn't read the article and just dumped it.

Or worse, did read it, and falsely misrepresented its content.

It is not possible to say, from that article, that it will be a copy of ours.

Another demonstration your posts are just excercises in pro-Return propaganda.

• Registered Users Posts: 483 ✭✭argentum

How are the costs covered in this , How does the retailer cover the cost of electricity ,staff and storage

If I buy 50 cans in Lidl and bring the empty cans to Aldi I can ask for cash back or just use the receipt to get a reduced price shop.

Every receipt I've handed over so far just gets thrown into a bin so how do Aldi get the money back that they have given me

They get a small amount per returned item processed, 2.2 per item iirc if done via the RVM.

• Registered Users Posts: 13,959 ✭✭✭✭Potential-Monke

This. We need people to realise that just because the machine isn't working they have to leave and find somewhere else. No. If the machine isn't working, then it's a manual return. Go to the customer service desk and tell them you want to make a manual return. The machine will be fixed quick, trust me. They can't refuse, they are taking part in the scam scheme so have to accept the returns. If people actually started doing this, we may be able to pressure the shops into refusing Re-Scam machines and not taking part in the returns (maybe they're not legally allowed). Yes, I know the shops are not to blame, but us giving out isn't changing anything, obviously. But if we can make it so annoying and costly for the shops, they can actually enforce change.

Twice I've had to initiate a manual return (with 2-4 18-pack diet coke boxes full of cans) in Tesco. Someone fixed the machine within a few minutes both times.

• Registered Users Posts: 3,245 ✭✭✭nc6000

I'm sure this has been asked before but why don't the machines take bottles or cans without the logo? I don't mean refund a deposit which was never paid, I mean just take all bottles and cans if their aim is to improve the rate of recycling?

I just thought of this the other while returning a few items and one of them was an older bottle without the logo on it. No big deal as I just brought it home and popped it into the recycling bin like I used to do for everything. I just thought it would have made sense for the machine to accept it even just to make sure it was properly recycled.

Maybe there's a good reason they can't do this.