Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Can we stop the “if you point out republicans are ahead”- you’re a sex offender posts please?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 291 ✭✭advisemerite

100% agree. Some people who post in support of Trump gets a warning for certain things said about Biden, then a Biden supporter gets away with the same thing about Trump.

Trump supporters report genuine personal abuse and receive no response.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,703 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

I don’t think any mod in fairness is going to address these issues from the last few weeks as simply the whole threads have moved on and it would just take way too much time with little positive outcome- but certainly if a “genuine” Trump supporter wishes to engage in debate then certainly they should be permitted to -

It must be said though if you’re supporting some of the statements Trump and camp have said about say “non-reproductive” women, and wish to have a conversation about that whilst supporting their stance , you may have to negotiate your way carefully - I’m afraid you’re on your own 😀

I started this thread complaining about abuse when stating “Trump is ahead in polls” when true. And purely stating it as fact not to rile people

Whether that continues who knows- I’d like to see more wider conversation and debate around why there are such views in America and why Trump has so much popularity and why such statements are being made- and if you truly agree then state your case and ask for a debate -I think discussion should be about learning and growth- it’s too easy to deride Trump and his policies, but he could well be the next president albeit possibly lowering chances of that as the days and weeks now progress - but doesn’t mean we can’t have a conversation around why such positions outlined by Trump resonate with so many in America- that’s certainly worth discussing .

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 36,465 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

Lest anyone doubt there aren't "centrists" flooding the thread with pro Trump \ anti Harris propaganda, take a look at the current exhibit on the thread, before a mod blitzes their account.

Claims not to be a Trump supporter, yet refuses to actually say anything bad about Trump.

Makes vague allusions to negative conduct by Democrats, can't even provide any when challenged.

Textbook.

A real "centrist" we would see a spread of posts, some positive, some negative about both sides. Importantly we would see them holding both sides to the same standards.

They never do. Instead we see a hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil about Trump and his reprehensible conduct.

Whereas for Harris-Biden even the most scurrilous mud will be slung.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 16,900 ✭✭✭✭MisterAnarchy

Are you insinuating that I am posting as a rereg on The Trump/Harris thread ?

You have sunk to a new low now.

I work very long hours, I dont have the liberty of spending my days posting tit for tat garbage on a forum like you and many others.

I have no idea what you might think that. Curious reaction given that my post doesn't even mention a rereg. If I thought you were posting as a rereg on the thread, I wouldn't insinuate it, I'd report it, as is entirely proper to do as per boards standards.

I'm just calling out so-called 'centrists' who pretend not to be Trump supporters, and yet never post any unprompted criticism of Trump \ Republicans, never take a consistent line defending any Democrats or their policies. When they are quite obviously Trump supporters or 'sneaking regarders' of him. Their pretence is transparent, and their denials lack all credibility when they cannot point to any posts that actually show any 'centrist' positions at all. Their posts look exactly like someone here to bash Democrats, not to bash Republicans, zero evidence of holding both sides to equal standards.
    And when it comes to Trump - hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil. Sometimes other posters can drag mealy mouthed weak criticisms out of them. But always their invective is freely delivered towards Democrats. The exact opposite of what an actual 'centrist' would do.

I'm sure you will agree any poster conducting themselves in such a manner in sinking to a "new low" by such a bad faith argument?

And in the context of this thread, probing questions about Trump's crimes, and court case for rape, are a quick way to puncture that facade.

And if that is what you think of the forum, it says more about you than anyone else than you take such an interest in it, and have many posts of your own on US politics. If you are as busy as you claim to be. And that's not me getting personal, you were the one who brought that onto the thread.

What you have posted is a thinly veiled attack on me, I am the centrist you speak of, you aren't fooling anyone.

You are doing as you always do, throw indirect insults.

Its you and others who arent transparent.

I have just about had enough of you and your overly aggressive and spiteful posting manner.

Your blind hatred for one man means that you are completely unable to discuss anything objectively.

You and your cohorts have ruined every thread on this forum in which Trump is discussed, as others have said the US politics threads are an embarassment to the site.

The echo chamber blind hatred for one man means there can be no reasonable discussion of Trump, his policies, his family, demographics or society in general.

Each thread descends into the same group of posters trying to gang up on posters who disagree with the hive mind.

The hive mind bait and antagonise anyone who disagrees, mass report posts and act in collusion.

It is your side who is constantly acting in bad faith, constantly making excuses for Biden or Democrats whilst castigating Trump or Republicans for similar behaviour or policies.

I have repeatedly said I dont think Trump should be running for President and I have criticised his many failings, so your claim of "hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil" is utter bullshit.

I'm not here to accuse anyone directly or indirectly, I'm here to make readers of the thread aware of a pattern of posting on those threads. They can make up their own minds about the behaviour, determine for themselves who has engaged in such behaviour, and how to respond to that.

And you don't have exclusive rights to the use of 'centrist' or similar phrasings which have popped up on the thread. And there have been a few and still are positioning themselves as such.

The post is about a general posting pattern on the US politics threads, exhibited by multiple posters.
    Says a lot that you would assume that you are its only target, and that the description of posting style applies to you.

If you have made the posts you claim to have made, why would you assume it is an attack on your posts?

Any real 'centrist' or similar would have called out such posters on the thread, challenged them… do you have posts along those lines?

We should expect to see posts with unprompted defences of Democrats against false Republican attacks, with unprompted criticisms of MAGA Republicans and vice versa. We should expect to see the same standards applied to both sides. Is the standard of 'invective' directed at Democrats comparable with that directed at Republicans?
    Or do we see a standard of "hear no evil, see no evil, speak no evil" for Trump and Republicans, or do other posters have to drag criticisms out of them?
    Do we see that in your posting history? You can answer that question to yourself, as can anyone who has time to check out your posting history.

Some posters thinks they are being "harrassed" and "bullied" because they aren't allowed to repost any old crap Trump has come out with, without their post and the claims within in being challenged and discredited by other posters. And yes it may be multiple posters doing that, that is not ganging up, that's what happens when easily or already discredited Trump propaganda is posted, and other posters respond sincerely to point out the truth. There's no rule on boards that other posters have to stand back. That's not a hive mind. When one side posts lies, and the other side responds with the truth, there will be a lot of commonality in that response.
    Each poster is entitled to challenge another post in the manner they see fit, within the general forum and site rules.

IF you think the threads are such an embarrassment to the site, that it is just "tit for tat garbage" in your words - maybe you should be asking yourself what you are doing still posting there, and whether your own posts have contributed to that.
    I do not think of the threads in that manner at all.

Oh and saying "you don't think Trump should be running" or has "failings", isn't remotely the same thing as saying he has no business running for President and that those failings should disqualify him from running, or that in an election he would not be your preferred candidate.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,105 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

Well said, unfortunately the same gang of posters are left away with it by moderators who either friends with some of them or share the same views and you can see that with some of their contributions to CA threads unfortunately this has been going on for years.

It's a bad sign when one prominent member of the posters have had their X account (which they linked to a few threads) permanently suspended but continues to troll threads on here with no punishment.

You try and abide by the rules attack the post not the poster but yet that only goes one way the little snide comments from them you report it nothing happens you make a general comments about them on a thread and thread ban.

Yes they are at it day in day out.

The prominent poster you speak of just spends his whole day posting biased spam and propaganda on the forum, whilst maintaining the ludicrous pretence that he is an "independent" voter.

I and others are convinced he works for some political body, there is no other logical explanation for such fanatical behaviour.

He is also the biggest troll on the forum and seems to go unpunished so can constantly bait, and troll.

He is at it at the moment "you just sound bitter and extremely weird", we will see if anything is done about his trolling.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 6,781 ✭✭✭Flaneur OBrien

I dunno, is it trolling if someone's pointing out something factual?

Quite often, you do sound bitter. And sometimes, you do come across as weird.

Sorry to have to break to you.

Im the bitter and weird one ?

Thats hilarious.

Im not part of a cult who posts derogatory and negative comments all day every day on an Irish forum about one man in the United States.

A man who has been living rent free in these peoples heads for the best part of 10 years.

Thats bitter and weird in my book.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 25,352 ✭✭✭✭pjohnson

I think he called himself a centerist rather than independent.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 14,105 ✭✭✭✭Snake Plisken

The irony of calling you weird when they spend every waking moment on here.

We are told to report personal abuse yet nothing is ever done to that group. Go up against these guys and you are mass reported banned or threatened with it.

Post edited by Snake Plisken on

Yes its ridiculously ironic.

Theres no point in reporting personal abuse from certain posters anymore , nothing will be done about it, thats the sad truth now.

Heres a selection of todays friendly comments:

"You're making an absolute fucking show of yourself."

"It would take more than simple minded trolls for my blood pressure to rise or for me to take the day off.

You're not "too much" by any metric. You're just pathetic and sad."

"we have forced this simple minded persons hand"

"This is all they have folks, petty insults and insinuations. A terrified bunch, love it."

"It really was not back seat modding. I just wondered why people were still engaging with the individual, when his/her agenda was clear. "

There's no point in engaging with these cantankerous fanatics anymore, not when the deck is stacked like it is.

Post edited by MisterAnarchy on

The irony here.

You poor, persecuted right wingers.

Look, the simple fact is YOU don't engage. You dump and run. And you knowingly do it.

Take our last "engagement".

You post a video of two odious individuals (odious to the people you are trying to engage with) and instead of trying to sell it in any way, you post,

"They raise an interesting point in the first couple of minutes of a tactic regularly employed on this thread"

Yet despite people asking multiple times for you to further elucidate as to what this "interesting point" is, you utterly refuse to.

We try to engage, and I for one, tried to give you the benefit of the doubt three times and asked you what was the point you found interesting. At this stage, I've given up trying to engage with you in good faith. You've shown none.

To bring it back to this thread, if you support Trump, you are supporting a rapist, and a convicted fraud.

I always want to know what do people see in Trump that negates these facts. I just want to hear, "I accept he did those things, but I can move on from it because x, y, z outweighs the rape of a woman and fraud". Or "I don't accept the court/judges/juries findings and I believe he never did any of the many things he's accused of because x, y, z"

No you didnt try to engage, dont be disengenuous.

It was 2 minutes of a clip where they discussed one single point.

As other posters said all you had to do was watch it but that would not suit your tactic.

All ye want to do is let off some steam and abuse other posters. A bit of "craic" as you refer to it.

May I remind you of the OP in the The 2024 election thread

"Neutral ground for all your election talk. However some ground rules. This is not a thread for you to say the sort of things that may have got you banned from one or other existing thread covering the 2 candidates. It is not a thread for "Sleepy Joe", "Dementia Donald" or the like. It's not a thread for posters to accuse other posters of "supporting a rapist". It is not a thread to discuss Trump's legal cases - that can be done in the Trump thread. Basic civility is expected."

Didn't try to engage?

Let's see.

First post:

Second post:

Third post:

4th post:

Is that not trying to engage? What in Gods name do you class as trying to engage?

All you had to do was tell us what his position was on this mainly text based website and we could have moved on and discussed it.

As for your last part, I never accuse anyone of supporting a rapist. If they support Trump, they are, as a matter of fact, supporting a rapist, as a judge in New York said in the judgement against Trump.

No accusations needed when it's true.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 86,683 ✭✭✭✭Overheal

Your posts do come across bitter and weird, some of the stuff you come up with.

Also, what are you doing hiding in here, talking **** behind people's back:

image.png

And Snake, I don't know what to say other than I'm flabbergasted: if you're as big a stalker as this to know I no longer have a Twitter account you would have copped when I indicated I closed it, it wasn't "suspended." To be perfectly clear again, I closed the account permanently after Twitter revealed it was massively hacked under Elon's absurd ketamine and kitchen sink leadership. You say I was "suspended" like I ever violated the Twitter TOS - never happened. I got a warning from a mod just last week so your assertions I "go unpunished" are simply and patently false. I would worry about yourself.

And yes MA, I am an independent, sorry. I have never been a card carrying member of either party, and have voted for Democrats, Republicans and 3rd parties. It's not my fault that the Republican establishment is dominated by the MAGA caucus, a shower of people for which rape is apparently not a deal breaker (though that hasn't been tested yet at the ballot, how many millions of Americans will vote for him and let that slide despite it now being proven in court), among a slew of other things that cross the line for me and tens of millions of others. I have a favorite in the presidential race though and unlike some people, I have the fortitude to say it and stand behind it (nor am I alone, even card-carrying Republicans are in agreement).

And no, I do not work for a political body, holy ****, you write "I'm not bitter" but your posts especially the past few in this thread tell a very different story, both derogatory and negative - "talk about the pot calling the kettle black."

As for the thread's actual topic, I don't think I've ever called anyone in this website a sex offender and I'd expect to be actioned and held accountable if I had. I just think it's weird as hell when people spend days and days at a time trying to downplay or even straight up deny the fact Trump has been found to be a rapist. It's hard not to see that effort as an in-kind donation to his campaign and many people on the threads call into question why people who claim not to be his supporters lend him support with such bad faith arguments.

The premise of this thread seems to be flawed.

The Republicans are not ahead

Trump is a sex offender

I post this info so people including mods can make up their own minds about some of the arguments and assertions put forth on this thread.

There is no opening mod warning in the current 2024 election thread about Trump being a rapist. If someone brings up the character or personal qualities of the candidates then it would be absurd if the legal finding of Trump being a rapist could not be brought up. It is defacto supporting a rapist if a poster attacks the character of Democrats but never makes unprompted criticisms of Trump. And inevitably the thread will go in that direction as Trump has no policies.

Phrases have been thrown on the thread, derogatory comments like 'cult' and for posting frequently about US politics on an Irish forum. Well take a look at the post count of the posters making such claims across CA and Political Satire threads and decide for yourself if it has merit or made in good faith or if it is projection.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

This gang of posters always end up by claiming that what soneone else has said is actually a super-secret dog whistle with a hidden different meaning.

Then they throw out insults based on this 'real' meaning that they have supposedly uncovered.

Of course this shouldn't be allowed. It makes a nonsense of any kind of 'debate'.

You are the biggest troll on this forum Overheal.

I will say that to your face and I already have in the past. You are a bully.

You spend all day every day on here trolling, goading and being uncivil to people who arent conditioned to your narrow minded way of thinking.

Im not hiding anywhere.

You are getting away with murder on these forums, you can literally say what you want without reprieve.

I got a warning yesterday for saying something innocuous.

"very good, I hope she gave you extra lunch money for school"

Whilst you can say I am bitter and weird which is uncivil and attacking a poster not the post as you well know.

You also made these posts yesterday about other posters on the same thread

"Jesus Christ it’s like that speech last night punched MAGA into last month they are still going on and on about “Brandon”

"I repeat: punched into last month"

"Since some users are still politically concussed into last month I’ll just repeat the question I asked last month"

"Maybe these “small d” folks"

"it’s just fcking weird."

"you’d almost be better sticking to the shyte you were previously spewing then dig this new hole."

"Can you keep your dishonest narrative straight for more than an hour please"

"I don’t know what you’ve been smoking but he absolutely can"

Am I to believe that these posts are civil ?

What about these posts by other posters on the same thread:

"You're making an absolute fucking show of yourself."

"It would take more than simple minded trolls for my blood pressure to rise or for me to take the day off."

You're not "too much" by any metric. You're just pathetic and sad."

"we have forced this simple minded persons hand"

"This is all they have folks, petty insults and insinuations. A terrified bunch, love it."

"It really was not back seat modding. I just wondered why people were still engaging with the individual, when his/her agenda was clear. "

"Let's face it, anyone who still supports Trump is just in it for the racism and fascism. Anyone who says different is a moron and a liar.

"I'm guessing JAQ-off "both-sides", "neutral", "genuine" posters will become rarer as they are being sent to the frontlines in Ukraine and even more so after the elections."

"Everyone is well aware of how you pretend to be a "centrist"..

These posts are all civil it seems.

Enough of the charade.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,036 ✭✭✭growleaves

Again let me just say that there is no starting point for a discussion if people are not allowed to, at a minimum, represent their own point of view.

If I say x and you say I am secretly saying y and not x, we have no basis for even speaking to one another - and might as well be on each other's Ignore list.

So these threads are not discussions at all but only accusation fests.

Is that a failure of moderation? Yes it is.

That is some load of gish gallop, and straight up name calling etc.

I don’t know how you think you are bullied. And you have the gall to claim that while objecting to getting warned for making infantilizing comments such as "very good, I hope she gave you extra lunch money for school" as a response to me mentioning my mothers interest in politics in a mundane manner and directed at nobody in particular, yet you describe your response jumping on that comment as “innocuous” while accusing others of trolling and bullying? Do you really not see the problem here with your lack of credible standards? Do you really believe your comment was civil??

most of your gish gallop quotes I’ll remind you were at a user who picked up a threadban, you’ll have to ask the admins why but it appeared to be because they were not arguing in good faith and on a windup, digging holes and spouting shyte as it were, and they themselves asked others to “note the small d” hence the commentary in line with what they said there. “It’s just **** weird” isn’t about a poster, is it? Doesn’t sound like it. At worst it sounds like I attacked a post and not a poster, in keeping with the standards set. I see no reason to engage in your other whataboutery and gish gallop about other users I have no stake in. All I can say is if you have issues with those posts you should report them, despite your indication in this thread you don’t bother to - begging the question what standing do you have to complain about it here if you aren’t interested in taking the first practical step for handling it.

How can you have a discussion if there are posters misrepresenting their point of view and posting disingenuously in bad faith?

That should be actionable by mods but would require them to be aware of thread content / context / overall post context.

Theefore it needs to be open to posters to draw attention to a posters history of posts on the forum where it contradicts a pretence adopted on a thread.

Open to posters like yourself to decide is it, to do the moderators work for them.

The hive mind bait and antagonise anyone who disagrees, mass report posts and act in collusion.

Just curious, is there some kind of leak or failure of the integrity of the reported posts system happening here?

How are you claiming to have any knowledge of whether a report was formally reported, reported by a single user or reported by many users?

"Collusion" … do you have any evidence for this conspiracy theory?

Its a thread in the feedback forum. I assume moderators are part of the audience or what is the point. Curious you would have an issue with allowing people to make up their own minds based on publicly available info on boards. Remarkable you would have an issue with attention being brought upon such things.

So once again readers of the thread can decide for themselves if thats a good faith description of my words when I actually wrote:

"So people including mods can make up their own minds about some of the arguments and assertions put forth on this thread."

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,703 ✭✭✭Oscar_Madison
    #MEGA MAKE EUROPE GREAT AGAIN

It is defacto supporting a rapist if a poster attacks the character of Democrats but never makes unprompted criticisms of Trump.”

That position is just plain absurd - you mean to say, if I criticise Harris in some way, but don’t in the same breath criticise Trump, you’ll essentially call me a rapist sympathiser?

Or that you’ll be stalking my posts for the following number of days and if I don’t criticise Trump in some way but criticise Harris again , that I’m a secret Trump supporter?

FFS- what you’re actually doing is censoring what people say about the democratic candidate no less policing the thread itself which is against boards and forum charters.

That’s just fcking bizzare so it is- I’ve nothing good to say about Trump so I tend to say nothing - it’s all been said at this stage and Trump has done nothing “new” to comment on.

But Christ, that’s just a scary and crazy position to take - no wonder the threads are a clusterfck with that sort of thinking