Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

Slowing down/aging

• 23-07-2024 12:59pm
    Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭

something a bit different. I am a year of year off 40 but by god can I feel the body slowing down a bit already compared to my early 20’s. Don’t have near the same energy. Granted a few knocks and injuries from then are an issue.
    I couldn’t get enough work back then, the harder the better, now I nearly try and avoid!

Do others start feeling similar around the same age?
    I heard a saying years ago, 20 years coming, 20 years in it and 20 years going. That could be maybe pushed out to 25 now with people looking after themselves better though.
    I’ll be trying to get the kids to think twice about what careers they choose in the future anyhow, the muscle you should work hardest is the brain!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,245 ✭✭✭Grueller

I'm 4 to 5 years ahead of you and you're not wrong but I do find that I get more done in a day now than back then. There is a better way than bulling and tearing.

As a good friend of mine always says, think like a lazy man.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 881 ✭✭✭grange mac

Im mid 40s…picked stones from teenager to mid 20s...Currently Reseeding a 4 acre field... Told contractor no way do I want it ploughed as too many stones... So got in a rake as not able for that kind work anymore...and rest of it was disked.

On other side had covid twice and definitely knocked me so took up hill walking and try be carrauntoohil summit every second wknd to keep body active

Post edited by grange mac on

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,019 ✭✭✭Kevhog1988

36 the other day but had gained weight again over the past year or two after getting into really good shape during the lockdowns. Really find the weight a killer and a 4hr round trip 3 days a week to work is making it harder to lose.

Anyone any tips on keeping the weight off when not active a few days a week?.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,332 ✭✭✭✭Furze99

Wait till you notice the change in your 50s. That is the decade it seems for many - you could be as fit workwise in your early 50s as say turning 30. But by the end of yer 50s, apparent in many ways that the years are adding up.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 605 ✭✭✭Jack98

Find out what your maintenance calories are to stay the weight you are currently, so if that’s 2500 calories for example try cutting back to about 2000 calories a day so you are in a constant calorie deficit and only eat lean protein sources, high fiber sources and filling snacks that aren’t calorie dense like popcorn etc that will give the effect of feeling full. When you can exercise if you’re trying to lose weight make sure to just do a long walk as going for a run or strenuous gym session will only make you more hungry and resort to poor dietary choices again. Walking is the best body fat loss exercise any human can do.
    The main thing for weight loss is that 80/90% is your diet the remainder is then gained through exercise.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 5,643 ✭✭✭roosterman71

Correct, though I'd disagree with the walking being best and the hungry after exercise bit. A slow run is the way to go for weight loss, and it would need to be a long one. Talking well over the hour here. After any strenuos activity, you need to refuel, just don't do the dog on it and stick to "good" foods and snacks. Can't really go wrong if ya can manage it. I've trained for marathons and when at that I could eat what I wanted. The constant running kept the kgs away. Unfortunately I gave up the running but still eat what I want. Just had a packet of burger bites here now. Yummy. I know I need to get back exercising, but motivation is on the floor.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,841 Mod ✭✭✭✭Siamsa Sessions

I think Bill Gates is credited with saying something similar: If I want a more efficient technique to get a job done, I ask a lazy guy to do it.

I'm 47 and definitely feel aches and pains more the last few years. I'm light and have always been active but any pulling n' dragging in the yard now and I'd feel it in my shoulders and neck the following day. I picked stones off a 4-acre field recently and I was sore for days after.

I think what doesn't help is that farmers were more farm-fit years ago whereas now we might only do a physical job like that once a week or even once a fortnight. Even if you're fit from playing sport or going to the gym a few days a week, it's a different type of fitness to being fit from doing physical work every day.

I'll be looking at those jobs like picking stones or spronging dung out of calf houses differently from here on.

Trading as Sullivan’s Farm on YouTube

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

ya I think you nailed it there, the older generation were very active, cycling everywhere, and at all times were physically active throughout the year. I heard stories of men turning turf, cycling home and playing a county match the next day.
    Suppose when in your 20’s your still naturally flexible and that. Trouble is the mind still thinks we are young and the body can’t keep up with it!

That's very true, though I suspect a lot of our parents came up through the early mechanisation years and slowly got lazier as machines took over. Our grandparents though, proper fit. My great grandfather used to cycle 15 miles of a morning up the mountain, to break rock and stone by hand to make a road over the mountain, and cycle home in the evening. He'd milk before and after too, and was an avid hurler in the local club. Be no problem for him and his pals to cycle to Dublin for the All Ireland back then, or cycle to a dance at night and back after it full of porter. And all the manual weeding and thinning of crops, manual harvesting, etc. And probably surviving on a few spuds and butter.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,601 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

52 and have had back problems since late teens and a car accident in 2009 was a major set back.
    Try and keep moving, walk 5k maybe 4 times a week, I’d love to cycle more but get out every 2 weeks or so. 5’11 and maybe 90kg

I can do hard work in short stints but if I do a long day I could be laid up for a few afterwards so usually avoid it. We keep farming very simple as a result and it was major driving factor in selling out the cows. Had opportunity recently to double our land block but let it go as I’m just managing what we have. My day job is mostly driving and paperwork, had to leave maintenance as just couldn’t keep up.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

A few years back I had a few a he's and pains and was finding jumping gates and the like tough going until I started back playing soccer.it took years off me and I think it's a catch 22 situation.if you're not active you feel you can't do it and if you feel you can't do it you won't do it.80 year old man near us climbed carantohill last year and the lads with him said it was no bother to him.it s all in your head.im 55 by the way and I thought it was just agging for me but it wasn't,it was just bad habits and using agging as excuse

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,207 ✭✭✭✭wrangler

Well I'm 72 and make no apology for being lazy,my knees have improved 100% since i decided to do nothing which proves I'm doing it right.

My GP claims that muscle loss is the biggest cause for not being able to survive without carers, so I walk 5kms every morning with the dog…. good for the body and the mind.

At this age I'm not going to die young

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 1,947 ✭✭✭farawaygrass

yes that’s true too. Hoping to go back to the gym in the winter. I hope it’s as easy a fix as that!

• Registered Users Posts: 79 ✭✭Farney Farmer

Early 40’s here. Definitely don’t have the same energy as 15 years ago. Usually fall asleep in the evening before I reach the bed.

• Moderators, Society & Culture Moderators Posts: 3,227 Mod ✭✭✭✭K.G.

A few years back I did a run of circuit training and it helped to loosen us up.

• Registered Users Posts: 1,850 ✭✭✭older by the day

Ah Jay's ye are all fecked.

Seriously don't forget to get a check up and get your bloods done. Maybe testosterone. Tell the doctor if you are unusually tired.

Pfizer ain't selling viagra every day because every man is going great.

And don't forget it's OK to take an hour off for yourself everyday to walk or rest or whatever.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 8,447 ✭✭✭FintanMcluskey

Don't rule out intermittent fasting. I was advised it by a doctor.

Eat your food between 1-4pm. After the first few days it becomes natural and changes your relationship with food. You won't eat for enjoyment

Eating a breakfast, dinner & evening meal is absolutely not required for someone who's not working heavy manual labor every day.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 209 ✭✭Farmer Dan

Apt name for this discussion 😁😁..

Great advise though, very important to get bloods done, even once a year for starters.

I was always tired, lacking energy etc and discovered I had a underactive thyroid that I'm on medication for now so get bloods done every 6 months. No harm get a psa test when we're this age either.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 362 ✭✭iniscealtra

@farawaygrass The phrase in Irish is ‘Fiche bliain ag fás, fiche bliain faoi bhláth agus fiche bliain ag tráth’ I’ve never heard it in English. A rough translation is twenty years growing, twenty years flowering and twenty years receeding. I’m sure that can be put better. But it would suggest 40-60 is a time to wind down slightly.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,638 ✭✭✭Cavanjack

I’m Mid 40’s and luckily don’t carry much weight. Can nod off on the couch the odd evening. Blame that on the two jobs so don’t feel guilty about it. Other than that I wouldn’t think I am falling apart yet. Try to make things as easy as I can on the farm to avoid wearing myself out. Luckily the old man is still very active.
    Biggest thing I notice is the pints. A good night out now would take me half a week to recover from. It’s 3 or 4 for me now and home. That might be only every 6 weeks at that.
    Had Covid a few times and it took weeks before I was back to full energy levels.
    It’s Important to get a yearly blood test done just incase.

I try to not eat anything between 6 pm and lunch time the next day since I slowed down, I find I feel a lot better.

I've an orange in the morning to keep the tablets down.

After the Ozempic being so successful last autumn until it became unavailable, I went back on it again three months ago to experience horrendous side effects so have had to abandon it unfortunately

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 616 ✭✭✭Silverdream

Late 50s here and like many others have lower back issues. I've had it since my 30s. It's a constant pain that is always there. On a scale of 1 to 10 it's a 1, but it doesn't go away, you have to manage it.

Spent the other day tagging, debudding, vaccinating some calves that were born outside over the Summer, and putting tags on cows with missing ones. It was pure torture and mayhem. You can imagine trying to do anything with young calves, I thought to myself I'm getting too old for this sh1te as one cow kept trying to hit me with her head when I was trying to tag her.

Ageing is real, I see folks who like me live on the coast their skin is badly weathered and sunburnt, lads just not protecting themselves from the Sun.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,390 ✭✭✭blackbox

I used to find myself exhausted when the buzz of coffee would wear off. It took me ages to work out what was causing it.

I have way more energy now since I gave up coffee and other caffeine rich drinks. If you must have coffee, use decaf.

This won't work for everyone, but it's something to consider.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,009 ✭✭✭tabby aspreme

I find the intermittent fasting great, on Saturday and Sunday I eat breakfast and dinner that evening, nothing during the day.

The other thing I would recommend is Pilates or Yoga, the stretching gets blood flowing into muscles that normally don't get much use, it takes a while to get used to it but it's worth it.

Like any road, when you get over the hill you pick up speed, definitely deteriorating faster from 60 to 70 than from 40 to 60

Right. I'm going to get back doing a bit of running and eventually some gym work. My day job is sitting on my arse and when we used to go to the office there'd always be lads up for a run and a bit of craic would be had. Working from home has me turned into part of the chair I sit on. A lot of lads here around my age with some minor ailments. Now is the time to nip those in the arse and not let them fester and grow. I'll report back in a day or 2 on how my first run in 15 months goes!

Edit to say, check your balls too. And the ladies to check their udders

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,601 ✭✭✭✭_Brian

try not to eat between 8pm and 10am but I’m not pedantic about it. There’s definitely something to it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 10,865 ✭✭✭✭patsy_mccabe

Mid 50's here and on medication for 2 ailments. I was drained of energy before I started taking the medication. Really thought there was something seriously wrong. Said enough times above, but you really do need to see a doctor as you age. It dawned on me one day when I had a list of like 15 things to do and right at the bottom of the list was 'see a doctor'. I had servicing the tractor way above it.

I don't carry weight even though I eat some crap. A devil for coffee, chocolate, ice-cream etc.

I find it's hard to figure out the balance between actually getting old or feeling like your turning into a lazy fecker.

'If I ventured in the slipstream, Between the viaducts of your dream'

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 265 ✭✭boardlady

The single best way to keep the weight off is to watch what you are eating. Keeping weight down is 20% activity, but a massive 80% diet. Best of luck with it.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 11,303 ✭✭✭✭Base price

I'm now in my late 50's and within the last year or so I know I haven't the same drive that I had two years ago. I feel sore after a day on the tractor topping, spreading slurry or sitting in the lorry drawing cattle or hay/straw - I'd be like the stereotypical Hinde postcards of years ago of the auld one/fella. I'd bent over for a few steps after getting out of the vehicle but would straighten up after a few yards. I would had done a awful lot of manual work over the years.

I think us women are more aware and proactive about our physical and mental health be it nattering/chatting to our friends about stuff/problems. We're more aware about checking our breasts regularly for lumps, bumps and anything unusual and every women should be well aware of how their breasts feel. We have breast check and cervical checks for free. There should be a similar free test for prostate cancer.

How many of ye men check your scrotum regularly - your wife/partner may do it for you but TBH your better off been intimately familiar with your own body. The shower is the best place to have a good feel about as it's a regular constant temperature/environment.

I strongly recommend that male farmers of any age get an annual blood test through their local GP. Your GP is the only qualified person to advise you. As you get older ensure that it includes for PSA (Prostate specific antigen) test.

Post edited by Base price on