Hello all! Please ensure that you are posting a new thread or question in the appropriate forum. The Feedback forum is overwhelmed with questions that are having to be moved elsewhere. If you need help to verify your account contact hello@boards.ie

The Olympic Games 2024

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,821 ✭✭✭BionicRasher

Very tough opening game for Ireland in the hockey. Belgium are a seriously good outfit

All players will wear shinguards and some wear a small padded glove on leading hand but the ball is about as hard as a golf ball and much heavier than a sliotar. It really hurts if you get it full force. Plus the stick is 'sharper' than a hurley so getting a slap of it is also painful and dangerous

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 9,860 ✭✭✭squonk

The lads commenting on the swimming sound like they’ve been on the cognac all morning!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,318 ✭✭✭✭Strazdas

They sound awful - like a couple of rural fellas commentating on a local club hurling match. If that's the level of commentary, I'll watch the swimming on the BBC this year.

Shoeing Rugby now I see. There are sports like time trial cycling and beach volleyball they could show. Instead they’re just concentrating in one of the three sports they sure anyway. Boring and very poor.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 330 ✭✭giseva

Not sure who the commentators are on RTE2, but I'm pretty sure one of them is pissed!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 19,822 ✭✭✭✭Brendan Bendar

Adrian Eames seems to be the ‘Anchor ‘ in Paris as we stand.

No sign of the big hitters yet.

I wonder did Claire McNamara get her usual run out in these events.

Is Evane ní Chuilleán over there?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,690 ✭✭✭Bobson Dugnutt

She’s in the studio, Brendan. Was in this morning. I’d imagine you were still in the scratcher at that stage.

Being young is a great advantage, since we see the world from a new perspective and we are not afraid to make radical changes - Greta Thunburg

Ehh…..ok Bobby…thanks for the information.

Got up for a p1ss around 0640 pal.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 868 ✭✭✭amlinopta

Claire all over the 6-1 news all week. Evanne anchoring one of the day time tv programs. Dessie set for his first appearance on Sunday Sport tomorrow maybe? Busy with Up for the Match later.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,443 ✭✭✭KaneToad

John Kenny is very knowledgeable about swimming and Nick O'Hare is a former Irish olympic swimmer. I think their commentary is grand.

will Dessie get a gig in Paris when the GAA season cools down after the football final?

Or is he relying on ‘de partie’ for the ‘homecoming’

No ‘outliers’ being sprung from the bench yet…exciting times ahead

Kenny’s gig in Montrose is cricket, hit the jackpot out in the Antilles when Ireland beat Pakistan and he

got an eXtra three weeks per diems in the Caribbean.

I think there’s cricket in the next Olympics!!

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 18,175 ✭✭✭✭Mantis Toboggan

Just realised I've 62 Olympic channels on the dodgy box, happy days 😁

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 621 ✭✭✭ottolwinner

great game here in the badminton

They make hard efforts look easy.

You're incorrect to say he doesn't do swimming. Kenny has been commentating on swimming for more than 30 years. He covers domestic & international competitions.

He also covers motorsports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 32,809 ✭✭✭✭odyssey06

That is more than human mind can handle.

I'm struggling with 12.

"To follow knowledge like a sinking star..." (Tennyson's Ulysses)

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

I didnt say he didn’t do swimming, KT , what I alluded to was cricket was his kind of ‘speciality’ out in Montrose was cricket. They all have their little bailiwicks out there when the big trips are going, especially in the minority sports.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 3,731 ✭✭✭Montage of Feck

Should have got a dodgy box, in general I'm not much of a sports fans but the Olympics has me sitting on the couch since morning in crocs and sweaty underwear flicking channels for the most obscure sports like a crack fiend looking for their next fix.

🙈🙉🙊

I didn't enjoy their commentary (and I don't like Kenny as a soccer commentator either….he has quite a harsh, droning voice).

Maybe off topic but for anyone looking for all the sports all the time you can get almost everything covered by a subscription to Discover Plus

They have everything on multiple streams.

And its only 6.99 for a month. Well worth it for the Olympics

• Registered Users Posts: 503 ✭✭✭Happyhouse22

Have loads of channels on the dodgy box- but they are not labelled so hard to tell which sport is on!

Don’t have a problem with the RTÉ commentary, but don’t like the lack of choice or adds.

Spent the 6.99 on discovery plus, well worth it to be able to see anything I want IMO.

Having covered swimming for more than 30 years, he's pretty specialised in that too.

I get this free as a Sky subscriber so for anyone with Sky check the rewards section.

Free Palestine 🇵🇸

Eighth Olympics in Paris and two Paralympics, as per his twitter. A legend.

RTE going to breaks just for fun almost is definitely rubbish this time round. They’ve gotten a big ball of govt money this week. They aren’t hard up for cash. There is no need for the sheer amount of breaks they take.

On the plus side, we as a nation and RTE by extension, do have respect for all our Olympians. Watching swimming on BBC last night, they had a 100 or 200m with Adam Peary competing. All evening there were little vignette movies shown about Peaty and generally massive coverage as he’s a a gold medal contender. Once the race got underway I noticed there was a second UK swimmer. Whoever he was I’ve no idea as he got literally zero coverage, and this was the BBC! He was in no danger of troubling the podium so seemingly was completely ignored with all the focus put on the “superstar”. I felt bad for the guy’s family and friends back home. He is still a Team GB Olympian and deserved a mention and 5 minutes coverage at least. For all our faults, we’re not there yet.

RTE look like they put the Tokyo set in the shed and resurrected it this time around as well with a snag bit of redressing

• Registered Users Posts: 681 ✭✭✭Morris Garren

Where's Myles Dungan for the rowing? He is the voice I associate it with. And looking ahead, will George 'Danger Here' Hamilton be doing the Athletics? Where is he at these days? It just seems like RTE have a mostly GAA staff chancing their arm alongside a knowledgeable expert in each of the sports. The showjumping guy-- he has a military 🪖 type humour -- was my favourite in Tokyo so hoping he comes out to play also.

• Moderators, Technology & Internet Moderators Posts: 11,931 Mod ✭✭✭✭icdg

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 4,999 ✭✭✭griffin100

RTE need to spend less time talking endlessly about every Irish performance and show more live sport.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 40,394 ✭✭✭✭Itssoeasy

just curious can you watch stuff on demand with discovery plus ?

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 829 ✭✭✭adam240610

Just watched the rugby 7s final a few mins ago, yes

They are totally overdoing the studio analysis, to a ridiculous degree. This is the Olympic Games, a once every four year event with multiple sports and TV streams available. People want to watch the actual Olympic sports, not listen to boring GAA types on a couch in a small studio droning on for hours and telling us nothing. It's like a bad episode of The Sunday Game.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭patob

I am reasonably happy with RTE focussing on the Irish competitors and having an expert on each sport in the studio. If I want the bigger picture I use other media, even the BBC when they are not obsessing on certain individuals like Peaty.

Thought the 3 day eventing was spectacular today in the Versailles sunshine and rugby 7s atmosphere was amazing yesterday.

There's too much talking though. Even the BBC are mostly showing live action, not cutting back to the studio every five minutes for reaction and analysis of what we have just seen - we don't need to be told in forensic and minute detail how an Irish competitor has just performed, we can see for ourselves. This type of analysis would be more suited to a late night highlights show.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 2,586 ✭✭✭kowloonkev

They don't even need a studio at all. It should be constant commentary and put all the experts in the commentary box interchanging when appropriate.

God forbid RTE change the same formula they use for every single sport.

Siobhan Madigan doing the Boxing gig…. great woman for rolling the 'rrrs' if a 'foreign accent' is required.

No sign of Dessie yet, probably not till after 'de party 'for the Football Final.

Greg Allen resting up after the OPEN?

Should be a big influx of serious grifters early next week.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 56,778 ✭✭✭✭walshb

Kenny want to brush up on his math. He said (after pausing to think) that Mona was “only” .9 of a second behind the Chinese world champion. .9 is a huge amount behind. Mona was .09 seconds behind

That’s the problem now though. The place is awash with GAA presenters and they have to use them somehow. I enjoyed the dads when you had Jimmy McGee commentating who had never been near Croke Park or a county final in his life. There was a big delineation between GAA and the Olympics. The GA crew went back into their box when the Olympics started. I know you can’t have a presenter with a background of interest in most sports but at least keep the studio stuff mainly for the big finals. Right now at qualifying let them qualify and maybe have 3 minutes of crap GAA presenter interviewing an expert.

Yes, Greg being kept in reserve for the athletics having landed the short straw with the opening ceremony on Friday night. He’s excellent at the track and field, and David Gillick very good on the interviews. Myles Dungan’s days must be over. What about Ronan Collins for some weightlifting during the week maybe, as was the case in previous Olympics?

Jaysus yes, I remember he was based in Marietta for the ATLANTA games, there will be a few 'ringers' slotted

in for sure, we should have a prize for the first sighting.

Brenda Donohue could be an outsider in the race, getting big bucks for little apparent input(thank heavens)😯

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 24,454 ✭✭✭✭Larbre34

I much prefer Conor Morris calling the 7s. Hugh Cahill is a pain in the swiss.

Can RTE please stop telling the pitch side interviewers to stop the “Talk us through the race/round/session” question? Like who bloody cares! Plenty of time for that bollix on the Late Late if they get a medal.

More Adam Peaty shíte on BBC now. I know the guy had his challenges and fair play to him for conquering them but watching the BBC at the moment with messages from his family about how he’s great and he’s always welcome at home no matter what is just X Factor style rubbish. Just concentrate on the bloody swimming.

• Registered Users Posts: 240 ✭✭patob

Some finish in the men's 100 Breaststroke, great win for Martinenghi. Not enjoying the hype about the English lad on BBC.

Timmy McCarthy is back for the basketball! Bloody great commentator! You never hear him except during the Olympics.

• Registered Users, Registered Users 2 Posts: 12,618 ✭✭✭✭siblers

Not Gary O'Toole…..I believe it's Nick O'Hare